View Full Version : The Official Cork City FC v Djurgarden IF Thread

25/08/2005, 9:32 AM
Ok boys, all news, updates, scores and reports can go here.
Does anyone else get that knot in their stomach before a big game like this?
I'm sick with nerves.
I grind my teeth during the game unless I have chewing gum.
Terrible way to be but that's football for you.

Is there a buzz around town?
What's the weather like?
Are there tickets still left?
Any Swedes around?

25/08/2005, 9:48 AM
My stomachs in bits! I think it may be all I drank last night, but I'll put it down to City nerves! ;)

Best of luck. Do us proud! Be a positive advertisement for our league.

25/08/2005, 9:51 AM
Yip with the knot like
Buzz around town definitely this morn, saw a few city jersies around 8amish
Weathers sunny, should be nice for kick off
Very few tickets left afaik. Kid's Sold Out im hearing
Swedes were around last night at training.. circa 20 of them. Was in the horseshoe with them for a few pints after.. they saying now only be 70/80 of them. The rest were overnighting in Shannon / Limerick then travelling to Cork today. the lot i spoke too were v v confident.. typicaly arrogant swedes.
they expect 3/4-1 to DIF

Their training session looked nothing spectacular.. and tbh Amoah looked the only guy who impressed.. some excellent cross's from him and he looked up for it.. he's starting on the bench though apparently so shud be an impact sub to come on for them 2nd half

Cant wait for this one

Eire06
25/08/2005, 10:12 AM
Best of luck lads do us proud :)

25/08/2005, 10:13 AM
Is there a buzz around town?
Yes

What's the weather like?
Wet

Are there tickets still left?
No

Any Swedes around?
Some football players I belive

on_me_head_son
25/08/2005, 2:03 PM
Anyone know if the game is being broadcast on the web? I checked the red fm site but there isn't any info on there.

Thanks in advance.

C'mon City!!

25/08/2005, 2:07 PM
theres a much better buzz in the unofficial thread. far too starchy in here!

sullanefc
25/08/2005, 2:09 PM
Has it been p!ssing rain in the City like it has out here in West Cork? I hope it doesn't rain tonight. Especially if I get stuck in the St Annes end. Might have to get there early to get a seat in one of the covered stands.

25/08/2005, 2:11 PM
Has it been p!ssing rain in the City like it has out here in West Cork? I hope it doesn't rain tonight. Especially if I get stuck in the St Annes end. Might have to get there early to get a seat in one of the covered stands.

sunny all day

sullanefc
25/08/2005, 2:16 PM
sunny all day

Good to hear. It's been on and off all day here. Sunny one minute and p!ssing the next. I hope I don't bring it in with me.

25/08/2005, 2:17 PM
It's been on and off all day here. Sunny one minute and p!ssing the next.

Ah how I miss the summers at home in West Cork. ;)

25/08/2005, 2:20 PM
Well it's been sunny, then p*ssing, sunny, p*ssing, sunny, p*ssing, p*ssing, p*issing down here in Currabinny......:(

Fair_play_boy
25/08/2005, 2:42 PM
sunny all dayThat post was deffo by somebody who wants to ensure there is a seat left in the covered areas. ;)
Let's put it this way, at work today I have heard a lot of sentences containing a curse word or two near the words "Me Washing" :p

Xlex
25/08/2005, 8:21 PM
Congratulations Cork... Well done...

25/08/2005, 8:27 PM
Congratulations Cork... Well done...

Echo what Xlex says,
You played all the football. :)

25/08/2005, 8:43 PM
well done cork, great result for everyone. some crowd there tonight and a unbelivable atmosphere

Gareth
25/08/2005, 9:11 PM
Super stuff lads. A pleasure to watch. Everyone fought and played well. They dominated play, they controlled possession and used their heads. If only one fault, that was the lack of a killer finish. Kearney was superb, as was everyone on the pitch. I just think you needed someone to finish in the final third. You get that and who knows....

Looking forward to the draw tomorrow. Either a small or big team, I hope you go out and play them off the pitch. I'd love if you got someoen like Everton and bet them.

HarpoJoyce
25/08/2005, 9:16 PM
Well done, Cork City.
Great result over both legs.

25/08/2005, 9:19 PM
Great result city...well done :) :)

25/08/2005, 10:07 PM
Well done Cork! I was proud of yez anyway. Your man Concha should've been off and I thought Georgie got lucky a few times. Greg O'Halloran and Kearney were your best players, imo.

Well done again. :)

25/08/2005, 10:16 PM
....Well done,great advertisement for our league.

kingcolers
25/08/2005, 10:35 PM
the headline says it all. brilliant.

http://www.uefa.com/competitions/UEFACup/FixturesResults/Round=2207/match=81570/Report=RP.html

25/08/2005, 10:37 PM
Well done Cork City in both legs.... Longford Town.. that is how to perform in Europe.... Best of luck in the next round and hope ye make the Group stages.

25/08/2005, 10:46 PM
:D Congrats, go on to kick arse!

kingcolers
25/08/2005, 10:49 PM
okay, it did say "Classy Cork deny Djurgardens" - changed it to "Calm Cork..."

JDB
25/08/2005, 11:10 PM
you should know all about editorial perogative...I reckon the reporter on the ground got carried away with the "Classy" description and UEFA had to change it after calls fom DIF fans. Great game - City were in fact both calm and classy!! Atmosphere was the best ever..

Dyl10
26/08/2005, 12:27 AM
Well done cork!
lets just hope you don't get one of those decent middle of the road teams and stay away from the ****in french!
Btw if you get a really big tie like roma I doubt you will play it in the X so wre will you play it?

Fair_play_boy
26/08/2005, 12:37 AM
Jebus, I must be the first CCFC supporter to get home, langers or not, and the buzz around town is unbelievable.
I have not seen grown men (in their 50s) crying before. Tonight, the tears flowed.
I do not know how many disappointing nights they have seen at Flower Lodge or at Turners Cross. But tonight . . . .
Tonight two rivers flow through Cork, and one of them is made of people in green shirts. The atmosphere is a mixture of noisy, raw excitement and quiet wonderment. Cork must be the safest place in Ireland tonight. Everywhere I walked, people seemed to be caught up in the glow of the win. It reminds me of the night of Ray Houghton's goal in the Giants Stadium in USA 94. Everybody seemed to want to talk to each other about it.
Tonight my children have gone to sleep with the widest grins on their faces, with the names of Dan Murray, little Liam Kearney and Danny Murphy on their lips. My daughter aged 9 has seen something which she says she will never forget.
Somehow, I think she is right.

Dyl10
26/08/2005, 12:40 AM
Jebus, I must be the first CCFC supporter to get home, langers or not, and the buzz around town is unbelievable.
I have not seen grown men (in their 50s) crying before. Tonight, the tears flowed.
I do not know how many disappointing nights they have seen at Flower Lodge or at Turners Cross. But tonight . . . .
Tonight two rivers flow through Cork, and one of them is made of people in green shirts. The atmosphere is a mixture of noisy, raw excitement and quiet wonderment. Cork must be the safest place in Ireland tonight. Everywhere I walked, people seemed to be caught up in the glow of the win. It reminds me of the night of Ray Houghton's goal in the Giants Stadium in USA 94. Everybody seemed to want to talk to each other about it.
Tonight my children have gone to sleep with the widest grins on their faces, with the names of Dan Murray, little Liam Kearney and Danny Murphy on their lips. My daughter aged 9 has seen something which she says she will never forget.
Somehow, I think she is right.

Nomination for post of the month! :)

sullanefc
26/08/2005, 12:44 AM
the headline says it all. brilliant.

http://www.uefa.com/competitions/UEFACup/FixturesResults/Round=2207/match=81570/Report=RP.html

Wow, that mach report was spot on. Neale Fenn was absolute class in the first half and Danny Murphy was a real hero in the second half. He denied them so much in the second half and got my MOM for the game he was immense. Kearney played well but Murphy saved our bacon in the second half.

But thats not to take away from the rest of the players. Really classy performance and every player did us proud. I'm so proud tonight. I hope we get Everton or Roma in the next round and put them to the sword.

Class!!!!

Fair_play_boy
26/08/2005, 12:46 AM
Well done cork!
lets just hope you don't get one of those decent middle of the road teams and stay away from the ****in french!
Btw if you get a really big tie like roma I doubt you will play it in the X so where will you play it?I am hoping for somebody a bit closer to home, so that we get huge support at both legs. Hibernians or Middlesborough would be attractive. Everton don't join until a later stage, I think.
As regards the venue, 7000 people jammed into Turners Cross tonight. It was a bit like the school buses at St. Annes end, where we were three to a seat in many places. Really it only caused a problem when we sang "Sit Down for The Cork City". I reckon we shoul;d and will play our next game here, no matter how big the opposition.

Schunter Netz
26/08/2005, 12:56 AM
I hope it won't be the last time your daughter sees the likes of that at the Cross.
Back to the game - Kearney was sensational, best game he ever played for Cork. O'Flynn was great and Fenn was just top drawer briliant. Djurgarden hoped that Hoggie was a weak link and he showesdthat looking like one is part of his strength. They were all great, an astonishing performance of maturity, class and courage. Bring on whoever UEFA chooses to send this way tomorrow morning.

Fair_play_boy
26/08/2005, 1:04 AM
They were all great, an astonishing performance of maturity, class and courage. Bring on whoever UEFA chooses to send this way tomorrow morning.This is the sort of post I like to return to months later, to remind me of the fantastic night we have just witnessed and been part of. :ball:

26/08/2005, 1:33 AM
I reckon we shoul;d and will play our next game here, no matter how big the opposition.

If it is a big game then just put more screens on Patrick Street !!

Simple solution !!

The Sheliban
26/08/2005, 6:00 AM
It wasn't just the result, it was the manner of the performance. The Swedes barely had a decent chance all night, and had no idea how to break yous down. It all boils down to belief. Genuinely delighted, a terrific result. Playing like that, the next round might not be the psychological barrier it has been up to now.

26/08/2005, 8:17 AM
yeah i totally agree about the belief thing.. I think a lot of irish sides didnt think they could get results in Europe but they can now. A lot of it is showing the opposition that you belive you should go through and not giving them a reason to play.

Any time Djurgardens tried to get into the game there was a confident Cork response. I know a lot of people slate him but Dolan did give his side a lot of belief and he did do a lot of good things for Cork. Richardson progressed that.

Looking back at Shels European games, I cant help but feel that Nutsy got it all wrong, that we were so brittle playing. Hopefully Shels (if we can make it to Europe this or next season) will learn from this.

26/08/2005, 8:24 AM
Totally eclipsed the best performance I think I've ever seen by an Irish team. :)

Two years in a row, Irish teams in the first round proper of the UEFA Cup, keep flying the flag lads! :ball: Fingers crossed you can make the group stages!

Ronnie
26/08/2005, 8:25 AM
Absolutely top class. I'm not a big fan of Fenn, but last night his ability to hold the ball up and allow his midfield and wide men to play off him was superb. Patsh and co, we were all City fans last night and best of luck for the draw today. (We'll get back to slagging next week!)

26/08/2005, 8:44 AM
A triumph for the coach (I say "coach" because most Irish teams employ managers who alternately pick the team and mouth off to the media, Cork's performance last night was that of a team which had been comprehensively drilled and moulded to the requirements of the situation as it presented itself.)

The more technically capable individuals (Fenn, O'Callaghan) displayed flawless tactical discipline. Gamble was deployed in a more conventional DM role than he'd normally adopt, and joined up play superbly.

I wouldn't say Cork "played them off the park" (teams don't get played off the park at this level unless there's something seriously awry, and Djurgardens created better and more numerous chances), but the victory was well-merited.

26/08/2005, 8:49 AM
A triumph for the coach (I say "coach" because most Irish teams employ managers who alternately pick the team and mouth off to the media, Cork's performance last night was that of a team which had been comprehensively drilled and moulded to the requirements of the situation as it presented itself.)

The more technically capable individuals (Fenn, O'Callaghan) displayed flawless tactical discipline. Gamble was deployed in a more conventional DM role than he'd normally adopt, and joined up play superbly.

I wouldn't say Cork "played them off the park" (teams don't get played off the park at this level unless there's something seriously awry, and Djurgardens created better and more numerous chances), but the victory was well-merited.
Ronan should seriously think about installing you on the management team after that analysis, Sheridan! :p

fosterdollar
26/08/2005, 9:01 AM
Well done Cork. Sweet result.

btw Thanks for the tip CTID. I'm sure it's duly noted :rolleyes:

26/08/2005, 9:04 AM
Liam was outstanding!
Fenn was composed and slick.
Danny Murphy was the dogs undercarriage! How brave is that lad!
Mick Devine was alert and in control at all times. (Don't mention the back pass) ;)
Georgie was tricky and inventive.
Joe was solid and disrupted their build up play.
Greg was tremendous!
Hoggie was even better than he normally is, and that's saying something.
Flynnie was a threat.
Benno was brilliant! Hope the injury isn't too serious.
Dan was strong and lead from the back.
Roy caused trouble when he came on.

All round it was an impressive performance.
Very professional and we deserved to progress.

If it wasn't for the All Blacks winger that Djurgardens had between the sticks, we'd have beaten them on the night.
How big was that keeper!?

I was pleased with the performance of the officials.

RTÉ have had 3 huge games in the last few weeks and they have to feel they've got value for money.

26/08/2005, 9:07 AM
By the way, who were the two Longford Town fans that Darragh Maloney was talking about?

sullanefc
26/08/2005, 9:07 AM
If I had one criticism of the team last night was our reluctance to shoot. There were oppertunities there to have a smack but the passing continued, it's only a small gripe as I thought we kept the ball well anyway.

26/08/2005, 9:10 AM
If I had one criticism of the team last night...

Today is not a day for criticising the team.
What we've done is fantastic and validates our success last year.
I'm sure you could find a lot wrong with the performance if you went looking for it but the most important thing is that we worked together as a team to get the result we needed.
Lets just savour the moment.

sullanefc
26/08/2005, 9:19 AM
Today is not a day for criticising the team.
What we've done is fantastic and validates our success last year.
I'm sure you could find a lot wrong with the performance if you went looking for it but the most important thing is that we worked together as a team to get the result we needed.
Lets just savour the moment.

Agreed.

26/08/2005, 9:33 AM
Just to put things into perspective, before last nights game we had a coeffecient of 1.375 and Djurgardens IF had a coeffecient of 10.076

Going forward,
Hamburger SV have 24.166
Everton have 20.864
SK Slavia Praha have 35.223
AJ Auxerre have 51.324
PAOK FC have 35.715

Hamburger SV have qualified through the Intertoto Cup.
SK Slavia Praha and Everton dropped out of the Champions League.

Make no doubt about it, we're in with the big boys now!

26/08/2005, 9:49 AM
fair play to cork, only saw the first half but this is a victory for positive football by an el side - the contrast with shelbournes european "effort" could not be more marked - and marks the gulf between Rico and Fenlon in attitude to the game

26/08/2005, 9:52 AM
fair play to cork, only saw the first half but...

They came at us a bit more in the second half but that brought the best out in our game.
Kearney was like the Damien Duff of Ireland the way he tormented defenders and midfielders alike.
I think Kenny at Derry will mean that the eL will be well represented next year in Europe again.

26/08/2005, 10:00 AM
Fair play to Georgie in his interview after the game. He recalled how the previous management were the ones three years ago that set the ball rolling, and gave them the belief not to be 'mediocre' any more.....

I know most of ye have goldfish memories..nice of Georgie not to. :ball: