First Division
Friday 8th
Bray v Galway 19:45
Kerry v Longford 19:45
Treaty v Wexford 19:45
Finn Harps v Waterford 20:00
Saturday 9th
Cobh v Athlone 19:45
Wexford are currently 5th on 39 points. 7 rounds remain. Longford on 37, Bray on 35 and Treaty on 34 are still in the playoff hunt.
Shearer
08/09/2023, 12:05 PM
Bias aside I think that Treaty v Wexford is the game of the weekend as it impacts greatly the 5th spot for a few sides.
Treaty need a win and nothing less otherwise season is over.
joey B
08/09/2023, 1:05 PM
Bias aside I think that Treaty v Wexford is the game of the weekend as it impacts greatly the 5th spot for a few sides.
Treaty need a win and nothing less otherwise season is over.
If Wexford play like they did last week you’ll have a good chance,they were awful against a desperately poor Harps team....
sbgawa
08/09/2023, 1:59 PM
Forgot that the first division were playing through the international break.
Might have gone to have a look at Galway in Bray but ive booked a table in the local to watch the egg chasing tonight ;)
Suspect the crowd will be fairly thin.
ForzaForth
08/09/2023, 4:33 PM
Are Wexford missing four players due to international duty tonight - Owen Mason, Eoin Kenny, Luke Browne and Kaylem Harnett? That seems a very unfair burden.
2 Year Contract
08/09/2023, 5:11 PM
Are Wexford missing four players due to international duty tonight - Owen Mason, Eoin Kenny, Luke Browne and Kaylem Harnett? That seems a very unfair burden.
They have the right to call it off once they’re missing three players due to international call ups (that requirement could possibly be only 2 actually I’m not sure). They must not have opted to postpone for some reason
culloty82
08/09/2023, 7:39 PM
Again tonight, Kerry are able to at least maintain parity going in at the break, it seems to be the final half hour where game management has deserted them in recent months.
joey B
08/09/2023, 8:48 PM
Left early tonight,I dread to think what Pats will do to us next week......
culloty82
08/09/2023, 8:50 PM
A scoreless draw takes us on to 8 points - will we get to double figures by season's end?
cláirseach
08/09/2023, 9:01 PM
Harps, a truly poor team (though a different poor team, since the eleven-signing summer window) battered by a Waterford team that I would still be a little worried about tonight.
Every performance against Waterford this year has been an embarassment to the club.
Shearer
08/09/2023, 9:04 PM
Treaty United season is over
legendz
08/09/2023, 9:10 PM
Terrible night for the playoff chasing pack of Longford, Treaty and Bray. Waterford have secured their playoff spot, not that that was ever in doubt. If Waterford don't beat Cobh, Galway will be travelling to Kerry to win the league.
A hard fought draw for Kerry tonight. They defended the corners well and can be pleased with a first home league clean sheet. 3 home games remain. Two of which are Galway and Waterford.
thebronze14
08/09/2023, 9:10 PM
21 goals conceded against Waterford this season. This fraud needs to leave our club, but we are stuck with him for the foreseeable. Pat's could hit us for an absolute cricket score next week. I really fear how bad it could get, we are an absolute rabble. For possibly the first time in my life it's a chore going to matches.. embarrassing. Battered all season by poor enough teams. Grim times
08/09/2023, 9:12 PM
I don't think we'll make the playoffs.
08/09/2023, 9:20 PM
21 goals conceded against Waterford this season. This fraud needs to leave our club, but we are stuck with him for the foreseeable. Pat's could hit us for an absolute cricket score next week. I really fear how bad it could get, we are an absolute rabble. For possibly the first time in my life it's a chore going to matches.. embarrassing. Battered all season by poor enough teams. Grim times
Could be worse bronze. Ye could have stayed up last season!
(I can empathise with the "chore" sentiment this season alright)
08/09/2023, 9:37 PM
Very disappointing result tonight for us after the high of our win over Galway last weekend. Tough few games v Waterford and Wexford await. Blessing in disguise that we are out of FAI Cup!
legendz
08/09/2023, 9:40 PM
Unfortunately tonight's positive result for Kerry was marred by an alleged racial incident towards a Kerry FC player by a member of the Longford Town team after the final whistle, as confirmed by Billy Dennehy post match.
It is being investigated by the Gardai.
Olander
08/09/2023, 9:50 PM
Kerry players were pointing at number 18 for Longford at full time and then there was a scuffle. 18 is Viktor Serdeniuk, the Ukrainian.
Hilariously poor result for Longford. Lifted their game as usual for their cup final against us, then draw against Kerry.
da bishop
08/09/2023, 10:16 PM
Really poor first half at the MF second half livened up by the sending off and Wexford missing the pen,Wexford certainly took advantage with Treaty down to ten ,Referee poor for both sides ,hard to see Treaty making playoffs now but fact is only nine wins out thirty tells its own story and most of those on the back of End Curran and setpieces.
Shearer
08/09/2023, 11:00 PM
Kerry players were pointing at number 18 for Longford at full time and then there was a scuffle. 18 is Viktor Serdeniuk, the Ukrainian.
Hilariously poor result for Longford. Lifted their game as usual for their cup final against us, then draw against Kerry.
Stream ended shortly after FT but yes can immediately see players pointing at him.
joey B
08/09/2023, 11:09 PM
Seems to have been a right ruckus outside the dressing room's from what I seen on Twitter....
Watched Harps - Waterford last night, comfortable win for Waterford, Camera work was odd. is it that Pixellot thing mentioned on here?
09/09/2023, 7:05 AM
Watched Harps - Waterford last night, comfortable win for Waterford, Camera work was odd. is it that Pixellot thing mentioned on here?
Yes. It's brutal.
culloty82
09/09/2023, 9:09 AM
Seems to have been a right ruckus outside the dressing room's from what I seen on Twitter....
Surprising that Longford haven't issued their own statement yet, unless they feel it would be inappropriate to comment in the circumstances?
total hoofball
09/09/2023, 10:05 AM
I could be wrong looking back towards the end of the Kerry/Longford game on LOITV I'm thinking the origins of the incident started at the 90 minute mark when there was a free kick/yellow card given to a Kerry player with a bit of tussle between a couple of different Longford players and then same Kerry player remonstrating at the referee pointing towards the Longford player in question, then at final whistle further pointing
bohsmug
09/09/2023, 10:47 AM
I don't think we'll make the playoffs.
Haven't seen Harps this year but saw a photo of Rogers with a few of the players and it didn't look like a senior team. Didn't look like they'd give you the fabled "tough game" up in Finn Park at all.
joey B
09/09/2023, 11:05 AM
Haven't seen Harps this year but saw a photo of Rogers with a few of the players and it didn't look like a senior team. Didn't look like they'd give you the fabled "tough game" up in Finn Park at all.
We'd still give Bohs a game!
But seriously since Febuary 2022 we've 5 won league home games out of 34,we've been rubbish at home for a long time....
bohsmug
09/09/2023, 11:15 AM
We'd still give Bohs a game!
But seriously since Febuary 2022 we've 5 won league home games out of 34,we've been rubbish at home for a long time....
Well last year's Harps team would've been considered poor and we only won 1 out of our 4 league matches, including a 9 man Harps team equalising in Dalymount in injury time. So I'm not in a position to doubt you..
Olander
09/09/2023, 11:19 AM
Another magnificent result last night for Pep junior, Ian Ryan.
People were saying that Bray would finish ahead of Waterford / Galway United this season. Delusional.
The most overrated manager the league has seen for many years, failing to get a play-off place two years running in a weak First Division. Oh, but his teams play nice football.....!
WoodquayBoy
09/09/2023, 11:44 AM
We absolutely stole the 3 points last night.
Like Longford the week before, we were second best in the first-half.
We awarded a laughable penalty in second half and scored two goals in injury time. We’re falling over the finishing line but as long as we cross it first, who cares.
Olander
09/09/2023, 12:07 PM
We absolutely stole the 3 points last night.
Like Longford the week before, we were second best in the first-half.
We awarded a laughable penalty in second half and scored two goals in injury time. We’re falling over the finishing line but as long as we cross it first, who cares.
Wouldn't say we stole the three points. We were poor in the first half, but Bray were no great shakes either. 1-1 was probably fair.
There was only one team that was going to win that game in the second half. 4-1 definitely flattered us a bit, but we were deserving winners.
It was a fairly patched together backline last night with the players we're missing, and Manning is a huge loss.
WoodquayBoy
09/09/2023, 12:25 PM
And playing McCormack at right back is hurting us in the middle as well, but we can’t risk O’Connor there against Dundalk and I don’t think Horgan or O’Keeffe will be back
09/09/2023, 1:29 PM
Thats has to be close to some league record even beyond LoI. When you consider that our former mad chairman/Jim Magilton rejected Rogers when he was one of very few candidates for basketcase Dundalk tells its own story. 11 players in, on top of existing squad, as development of a squad long term stinks of a scattergun approach and imo means a manager doesnt have an eye for players. Doesnt always mean theyre a poor manager, just that they need a scout that can spot real potential. Thats said, and maybe said before, but even a group of kids can be organised and show an ovious setup and hopefully incremental improvement. That is absent at Harps and that 6 year contract just gets stranger and stranger, a millstone around the clubs neck as I doubt Rogers would be the type to walk to keep any dignity intact.
thebronze14
09/09/2023, 3:03 PM
Thats has to be close to some league record even beyond LoI. When you consider that our former mad chairman/Jim Magilton rejected Rogers when he was one of very few candidates for basketcase Dundalk tells its own story. 11 players in, on top of existing squad, as development of a squad long term stinks of a scattergun approach and imo means a manager doesnt have an eye for players. Doesnt always mean theyre a poor manager, just that they need a scout that can spot real potential. Thats said, and maybe said before, but even a group of kids can be organised and show an ovious setup and hopefully incremental improvement. That is absent at Harps and that 6 year contract just gets stranger and stranger, a millstone around the clubs neck as I doubt Rogers would be the type to walk to keep any dignity intact.
It's a 6 year contract now???lord give me strength!
legendz
09/09/2023, 3:27 PM
Kerry FC Statement
Kerry Football Club is aware of an alleged ‘racial’ remark directed at one of our players during last night’s SSE Airtricity Men’s First Division game against Longford Town.
The club continues to work with the FAI and the League of Ireland to kick ‘racism’ out of the game.
Kerry FC stands with the player affected and he is receiving all support available to him at this time.
We condemn discrimination in football and will not tolerate any form of hate towards any of our players or staff.
Mounthawk Park and Kerry FC is a community where all people are welcome regardless of race, ethnicity, and other diverse backgrounds.
The matter has been referred to An Garda Siochana.
Kerry FC will be making no further comment on the matter at this time as investigations are ongoing.
Shearer
09/09/2023, 4:06 PM
Silence from Longford, surprised they haven't acknowledged it.
09/09/2023, 5:07 PM
It's a 6 year contract now???lord give me strength!
Maybe its 8, details details - 2 weeks was too much!! Either way it is, by loI standards a long term cotract and a risky one too for a completely untested manager.
EAFC_rdfl
09/09/2023, 7:21 PM
I'd always heard 4 years, some kind of agreement will have to be met, or is he that thick skinned that he'll continue spoofing along?
thebronze14
10/09/2023, 11:28 AM
I'd always heard 4 years, some kind of agreement will have to be met, or is he that thick skinned that he'll continue spoofing along?
You'd hope the former but I'd expect the latter, in which case we'll be in a world of bother unless there's a drastic turnaround
Rodgers would be stupid to do any kind of deal, how in earth he managed to get Harps to give him a long term contract (whether 4, 6, whatever) is beyond me but when they sack him (and they will have to) he should take them for the entire contract. Not his fault someone stupid enough to agree to that.
joey B
10/09/2023, 1:22 PM
I dont see Rodgers not being there next season.....However long he lasts next season is another question.....
legendz
10/09/2023, 4:11 PM
First Division
Friday 8th
Bray 1-4 Galway
Kerry 0-0 Longford
Treaty 1-2 Wexford
Finn Harps 0-4 Waterford
Saturday 9th
Cobh 1-0 Athlone
Cobh are 10 points clear of 6th with 6 games to go. Bray and Treaty seem to be out of contention for the playoffs. Both play next Friday. A win for either will keep faint hopes alive.
11/09/2023, 12:26 AM
Rodgers would be stupid to do any kind of deal, how in earth he managed to get Harps to give him a long term contract (whether 4, 6, whatever) is beyond me but when they sack him (and they will have to) he should take them for the entire contract. Not his fault someone stupid enough to agree to that.
4 years with options to extend - the validity of such options are to be tested in a pending employment law case supposedly. Any updates on that, patsdad? I'm not totally having sly dig here, it is potentially a precedent case that impacts on the wider game and Mr 10 point plan Rogers.
D24Saint
11/09/2023, 6:24 PM
Surprising that Longford haven't issued their own statement yet, unless they feel it would be inappropriate to comment in the circumstances?
https://ltfc.ie/2023/09/club-statement/
Hot off the press.
legendz
11/09/2023, 6:49 PM
https://ltfc.ie/2023/09/club-statement/
Hot off the press.
Club Statement
Longford Town FC is aware of an alleged incident at our recent game against Kerry FC at Mounthawk Park last Friday 8th September.
After conducting our own investigation and speaking with players and staff, Longford Town FC is extremely confident that the alleged incident did not occur and we are fully behind the individual in question.
We will work with the relevant authorities to establish the facts of the matter.
Longford Town FC condemns all types of discrimination and racism.
The club will be making no further comment at this time.
2 Year Contract
11/09/2023, 7:08 PM
That statement absolutely stinks without revealing any detail whatsoever about how they can be "extremely confident that the alleged incident did not occur"
11/09/2023, 7:29 PM
Christ's sake. What good does that statement do anyone?
Shearer
11/09/2023, 7:32 PM
The victim has no reason to make it up, the perpetrator has every reason to deny it.
Longford should have kept their mouth shut and said they'd comply with the investigation and comment then. A brainwave from their outspoken employee no doubt.
total hoofball
11/09/2023, 10:21 PM
I still wonder exactly when was the alleged incident claimed to have occurred, was it around the scuffle at the 90th minute as I suspect or was it after the final whistle?
Longford would want to be more than extremely confident more like 100% confident in the witness statements of their own players and staff
11/09/2023, 10:28 PM
The victim has no reason to make it up, the perpetrator has every reason to deny it.
Longford should have kept their mouth shut and said they'd comply with the investigation and comment then. A brainwave from their outspoken employee no doubt.
I know quite well who wrote that statement its a certain town committee member who I have had major issues with in the past. I have left Section O messager group and Longford Town FC Supporters club cos he was on it. I wont mention his name as I dont have proof but it has an air of arrogance about it and the certain town committee member accused one of the Section O lads of being a racist earlier in the season when it was never the case. Me and another Section O member were witnesses to this and all he said was blind *** not black ***.
Whats the idea about alleged twice mentioned? Why did they not hire a legal professional to draft that statement?
Im never being so ashamed to be a Longford Town fan tonight!