View Full Version : Limerick2000???

thelimerick
24/08/2005, 2:39 PM
What are the opinions on organising a Limerick2000?, a big push to get 2000 into hogan park for a designated fixture, possibly cobh or the last game of the season (would be especially good if we were in contention for promotion or playoff). We were going to call it Limerick5000 because we're very funny but alas were not that funny afterall. If we had a bit of backing from the club it would make life easier, aswell as allowing the club to reap the financial benefits, ie: gates obviously plus selling flags and scarfs by the turnstiles etc, they could look into particular initiatives like half-time entertainment or one-off special offers or prizes for the game etc. We could push for EVERYONE to wear blue, get the radio, the post, the leader behind it, hand-out leaflets etc... Could promote in such a way to get families out for the match aswell (but keep them far far away from the shed for obvious reasons!) I think some-one suggested getting the visiting team's supporters club to organise their version of Galway500 on the day aswell...

24/08/2005, 2:43 PM
I think some-one suggested getting the visiting team's supporters club to organise their version of Galway500 on the day aswell...

Oh No! I'm not watching a game with 500 Queenstown fans :eek:

Seriously, good idea tho, fair play for trying. I could probably drag 4 or 5 people kicking and screaming to the ground (friends you understand, not random people :D ) If all the regulars manage the same we won't be far off :ball:

24/08/2005, 3:30 PM
its a great idea and yea i think the queenstown game would be the one. I wish we had scarves to sell, i gave mine away to a little english girl who was over with her daddy from Luton the other day, my other one went to a kid in a wheelchair in derry some years ago so come on club where are them scarves? :D

LFC in Exile
24/08/2005, 4:16 PM
Fair play thelimerick.

I agree that the Cobh game is probably best one to go for - its a month away so enough time to organise, local derby, better chance of away support, its a meaningful game, the games between us are always eventful. Only problem would be bringing children to see them - might be considered abuse. :)

If the game was a good one then you may get benefit in subsequent games whereas leaving it to last match means that you get no knock-on effect.

I agree about shooting for 2000. Its very achievable and if we get more on the night all the better. The entertainment/family aspect would be important and the club should get behind it as much as possible. This would be a great chance to mend a few bridges.

I'm willing to help any way I can (beforehand or on the night). Of course I will try to grab as many friends and family to go as possible. I can get you a very willing volunteer to put up posters/hand out leaflets etc. Just say the word. :ball:

26/08/2005, 2:07 PM
So are we settled on the Cobh game so for Friday 23rd of September? Lets all get behind this one lads and give it a big push. We may need some practice though in getting ppl along so bring them to the Galway game before that so they know their way ;)

widow
26/08/2005, 2:45 PM
Yes a very good idea, all for it!

LFC in Exile
26/08/2005, 3:06 PM
Just for information - don't think it will necessarily detract from Limerick2000 -but Munster are scheduled to play Llanelli Scarlets in Thomond Park the same night as the Cobh game.

Pauliwallnuts
26/08/2005, 4:56 PM
A great idea with twelve games left and promotion a very real possibility.
It will be great to see McGrath making his home debut also. Ex Villa boss
John Gregory described him as the most natural left sided midfielder in the Premiership a few years back adding that he had a left foot like a wand.

I wouldn't be listening to too much gregory had to say about anyone !!

26/08/2005, 5:06 PM
A great idea with twelve games left and promotion a very real possibility.
It will be great to see McGrath making his home debut also. Ex Villa boss
John Gregory described him as the most natural left sided midfielder in the Premiership a few years back adding that he had a left foot like a wand.

so whos days are numbered so...young is gone down the pecking order big time so does this mean Donnellen?

Kerry Blue
26/08/2005, 5:26 PM
Ex Villa boss John Gregory described McGrath as the most natural left sided midfielder in the Premiership a few years back adding that he had a left foot like a wand.
So can we expect to see him playing down the RIGHT wing for Limerick then? :rolleyes: :D

26/08/2005, 5:42 PM
:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

27/08/2005, 11:28 AM
With Darren Young clearly invisible to Noel O'Connor (even Willie John used to rave about Darren on here) I'd hope that Brian Donnellan would be pushed onto his favoured right side and Chris Kearns would make way. I'd go with...

Mooney

O'Mahony Molan Finucane Tobin

Donnellan Sweeney Keating McGrath

Kelleher Barrett

JohnD
27/08/2005, 11:35 AM
Great Idea on the Limerick 2000. Lets all get behind this. The Club have showed (Good man DD & NOC) great ambition in the John mcGrath Signing and
we need now to push on and get the hell out of this division.

Like SLK's Team especially as Tommy is finding the net these days.

Over in London for a few games this weekend and watched my other team QPR last night, almost as bad as the Kilkenny game, not Kidding :o . Great story re the Rangers chariman who was ousted by another group last week. It involved the brandishing of a revolver and forcing people to sign documents...That sounds like something from a Gangster movie :eek:

All the best

JohnD

27/08/2005, 1:09 PM
Good idea, I might be able to drag Nempton along for a game for a change :p

Westside
27/08/2005, 6:05 PM
With Darren Young clearly invisible to Noel O'Connor (even Willie John used to rave about Darren on here) I'd hope that Brian Donnellan would be pushed onto his favoured right side and Chris Kearns would make way. I'd go with...

Mooney

O'Mahony Molan Finucane Tobin

Donnellan Sweeney Keating McGrath

Kelleher BarrettWould agree with most of your selection but I would move Molan to left back and bring in Buckley.His aerial presence at the back and for set pieces in the opposing half will be vital for the big push towards promotion/playoffs

4tothefloor
27/08/2005, 6:48 PM
John McGrath has only signed until the end of the season - with a view to another 12 months. He'll be hoping to make a good impression so a full-time outfit like Cork City will pick him up for next season. Ultimately he wants to play and train full time. That's the reality of the situation. If he shines and helps us go up, the other side of the coin is that a bigger club will end up signing him. He's a good short term acquisition and I suppose that has to be applauded. I just hope he won't be played out of position, but that's like hoping it won't rain tomorrow.....

Aaron GUFC
27/08/2005, 8:00 PM
...you might get as many into Hogan park as you brought to Terryland lads :D :eek: :o The embarrasment...The most succesful plan in el history the Galway 500! lol

28/08/2005, 3:27 PM
...you might get as many into Hogan park as you brought to Terryland lads :D :eek: :o The embarrasment...The most succesful plan in el history the Galway 500! lol

There wasn't 500 people in the whole ground that night so whatever about us I think that the home club should have been a bit embarrassed.

28/08/2005, 3:50 PM
What are the opinions on organising a Limerick2000?, a big push to get 2000 into hogan park for a designated fixture, possibly cobh or the last game of the season (would be especially good if we were in contention for promotion or playoff). We were going to call it Limerick5000 because we're very funny but alas were not that funny afterall. If we had a bit of backing from the club it would make life easier, aswell as allowing the club to reap the financial benefits, ie: gates obviously plus selling flags and scarfs by the turnstiles etc, they could look into particular initiatives like half-time entertainment or one-off special offers or prizes for the game etc. We could push for EVERYONE to wear blue, get the radio, the post, the leader behind it, hand-out leaflets etc... Could promote in such a way to get families out for the match aswell (but keep them far far away from the shed for obvious reasons!) I think some-one suggested getting the visiting team's supporters club to organise their version of Galway500 on the day aswell...Are ye the same crowd that organised the Sligo 5?:confused: :rolleyes: :D

LFC in Exile
29/08/2005, 9:04 AM
Are ye the same crowd that organised the Sligo 5?:confused: :rolleyes: :D

Yeah, and they haven't been seen since. Free the Sligo 5! ;)

JohnD
29/08/2005, 9:13 AM
I heard one of them (LIMs till I Die) was locked up because of dodgy Highlights !!! ;) One other as he was chatting up all the local Women (Guess Who?)

declan hide
29/08/2005, 9:44 AM
what? they have women in sligo? or did you mean to type sheep? :D

thelimerick
29/08/2005, 10:44 AM
Cobh match is is then... Would be good to see where the club stands on this, maybe willie john could get on to us at thelimerick@hotmail.com... We'll update theLimerick.95mb.com site with all the info on this during the week... We will also have leaflets at the Galway match with info but its the regulars who can make the biggest impact by draggin' people to the match and spreading the word... any ideas or initiatives on this are more than welcome, roll on September...

29/08/2005, 11:10 AM
There wasn't 500 people in the whole ground that night so whatever about us I think that the home club should have been a bit embarrassed.
Have a look at the attendance stats and you'll see that there was more than 500 at the game. ;)

LFC in Exile
29/08/2005, 12:10 PM
Have a look at the attendance stats and you'll see that there was more than 500 at the game. ;)

There are lies, damn lies and eL attendance figures. :)

29/08/2005, 12:38 PM

Yes. And we average 1000 people at our games. :D

29/08/2005, 2:18 PM
I heard one of them (LIMs till I Die) was locked up because of dodgy Highlights !!!

Thankfully my cell mate didn't think they suited me either :eek: :D

As for all the Galway fans insulting the 500: Firstly, that was a slight pi$$take we knew we would never get that many but we managed to frighten your stewards, :) the fact you expected 500 people to get into their cars in the piddling rain on a Friday evening so they could drive 60 miles to sit in traffic on the outskirts of Yuptown displays an abundance of ignorance on your part rather than a lack of enthusiasm on ours.
Secondly, the Attendances and general athmosphere in Terryland are bordering on the Crap side which suggests maybe you should get your own house in order before coming on here insulting inititave ;)

Anyway, Roll on the Limerick 2000 :D

Rambler1
30/08/2005, 11:35 AM
Oh No! I'm not watching a game with 500 Queenstown fans :eek:

Lets face it ....Forget about Sligo and Dublin City....if you had a pick of any side that you would most like to beat all season, it would be us.....thats why ye are picking this game.....predictions
Ramblers 3 Limerick 2
Limerick 1 Ramblers 1
Ramblers 2 limerick 1
Limerick 0 Ramblers 1 in front of 2000 should be good fun! Cant wait.

LFC in Exile
30/08/2005, 11:46 AM
Lets face it ....Forget about Sligo and Dublin City....if you had a pick of any side that you would most like to beat all season, it would be us.....thats why ye are picking this game.....predictions
Ramblers 3 Limerick 2
Limerick 1 Ramblers 1
Ramblers 2 limerick 1
Limerick 0 Ramblers 1 in front of 2000 should be good fun! Cant wait.

Then why don't you try to organise a Ramblers500 to come up and see them. :ball:

30/08/2005, 12:09 PM
Then why don't you try to organise a Ramblers500 to come up and see them. :ball:

Perhaps they could organise a half-day from school? :)

Rambler1
30/08/2005, 12:57 PM
We cant even get 500 at a home game.....not to mind all the way up there!!
Will make the trip myself though .......if I can get off school early that is.

30/08/2005, 1:02 PM
Will make the trip myself though .......if I can get off school early that is.

Well leaving all the banter and messing aside... it'd be nice to see as many of you there as possible (and not just cos of the gate receipts). :p

Rambler1
30/08/2005, 1:04 PM
Well leaving all the banter and messing aside... it'd be nice to see as many of you there as possible (and not just cos of the gate receipts). :p
Ya looking forward to going to a game where theres not a 100 or 200 there. If ye get anywhere near 2000 it should be a cracking atmosphere. Best of luck with it and I will pass on info to as many as I can.