View Full Version : U21 Players 2023/24
samhaydenjr
12/08/2023, 2:52 AM
Top tier of PL2 started tonight and Mark O'Mahony was on the scoresheet in Brighton's defeat to Leeds; Andrew Moran set up Albion's other goal; Killian Cahill was in goal: https://www.brightonandhovealbion.com/news/3628540/albion-beaten-in-premier-league-2-opener
elatedscum
12/08/2023, 9:10 AM
Video here: https://video.leedsunited.com/video/dm9kJTdDMF9rMWd0c3IwdyU3QyUyRnBhZ2UlM0ZzbHVnJTNEaG 9tZSU3Q2hvbWUlMkZsaXN0JTJGMCUyRmZlZWQ%3D
Moran and O’Mahony both do well for the first goal with O’Mahony initially winning the ball and then getting a nice flick for the assist.
Killian Cahill doesn’t have his best game, with the injury to Tiernan Brooks - he’s probably second choice after Keeley for our 21s campaign starting next month.
Off the bench, Cian Coleman involved for Leeds and Jamie Mullins for Brighton
CraftyToePoke
12/08/2023, 1:31 PM
We had 10 across the 5 PL2 games last night, 7 started, 2 got minutes from the bench.
O'Rielly
Henry-Francis
Moore
Cahill
Moran
O'Mahony
Mullins
Coleman
Bloxham
Fraser
liamoo11
12/08/2023, 1:36 PM
Kone Doherty with a goal and assist for Liverpool 18s today he will be in the 21s this season at Liverpool. Was injured basically all last season after the world Cup, went to the 17s qualifiers in March without playing for Liverpool for months and was injured ahain and only came back in preseason. Had a super first season at Liverpool until his injuries
elatedscum
12/08/2023, 2:15 PM
Kone Doherty with a goal and assist for Liverpool 18s today he will be in the 21s this season at Liverpool. Was injured basically all last season after the world Cup, went to the 17s qualifiers in March without playing for Liverpool for months and was injured ahain and only came back in preseason. Had a super first season at Liverpool until his injuries
https://twitter.com/lfc/status/1690356776900653056?s=46
18/08/2023, 7:21 PM
Trent Kone-Doherty promoted to the Liverpool U21 team tonight against derby, and he's scored the opener
CraftyToePoke
18/08/2023, 9:47 PM
Trent Kone-Doherty promoted to the Liverpool U21 team tonight against derby, and he's scored the opener
Still 17, playing and scoring EPL2. O'Mahony scored for Brighton tonight too, still 18. Counted eleven of our players getting minutes, most starting across the nine PL2 games earlier. Callum Kavanagh got the last fifteen for Middlesbrough & Coventry played 90 for West Ham, Emmanuel Adegboyega played 90 again for Norwich after his recent move over, among the more notable mentions.
Kavanagh has shown he's already too good for U21 football. Boro should really look at a loan abroad rather than sending Kavanagh back to somewhere like League 2.
Eirambler
19/08/2023, 8:00 AM
Kavanagh seems to be one player who is particularly struggling to make the jump from development football to the senior game. His stats at Under 18 and PL2 are excellent, then he's only at three goals in 31 games down in League 2. Just shows again how difficult it can be to make that jump. I wouldn't mind seeing him going to the SPL for a season, it's less physical than League 2. A good loan to a St Johnstone or Livingston type of club could really help him kick on.
Olé Olé
19/08/2023, 10:56 AM
Kavanagh seems to be one player who is particularly struggling to make the jump from development football to the senior game. His stats at Under 18 and PL2 are excellent, then he's only at three goals in 31 games down in League 2. Just shows again how difficult it can be to make that jump. I wouldn't mind seeing him going to the SPL for a season, it's less physical than League 2. A good loan to a St Johnstone or Livingston type of club could really help him kick on.
Ryan Cassidy signed for Tolka Rovers this week. Just over 12 months after leaving Watford.
20/08/2023, 11:41 AM
Ryan Cassidy signed for Tolka Rovers this week. Just over 12 months after leaving Watford.
He was absolutely brutal at Bohs last season.
Jolly Red Giant
22/08/2023, 5:10 PM
Cahill, O'Mahony and Moran started for Brighton U21s against Leeds - Mullins was on the bench. Brighton won 3-2 and O'Mahony scored one -
https://www.brightonandhovealbion.com/my-albion-tv/videos
Brighton U-21's currently in action in the EFL Trophy against Walsall and up 2-1 at half time. Both goals for Moran (O'Mahony also starting up front). Oisin McEntee got the Walsall goal (Maher and Tierney also starting).
22/08/2023, 7:11 PM
O'Mahoney got the assist on Moran's second
Tierney assisted McAtee's goal
Jolly Red Giant
22/08/2023, 11:43 PM
Brighton U-21's currently in action in the EFL Trophy against Walsall and up 2-1 at half time. Both goals for Moran (O'Mahony also starting up front). Oisin McEntee got the Walsall goal (Maher and Tierney also starting).
Leigh Kavanagh, from Bray Wanderers, also started for Brighton and Cahill and Mullins were on the bench - Mullins came on as a sub.
samhaydenjr
23/08/2023, 12:53 AM
Round-up of the weekend:
Dara McGuinness had a good game against Wolves, scoring the winner and getting an assist for Stoke's opener. Nathan Fraser scored Wolves' only goal: https://www.stokecityfc.com/news/2023/august/21/potters-under-21s-off-the-mark-in-pl2/
Josh Keeley was between the sticks for Spurs in their 4-1 win over Newcastle - Alex Murphy played for the magpies: https://www.tottenhamhotspur.com/news/2023/august/spurs-u21s-v-newcastle-u21s-match-report/
Back at Brighton, Mark O'Mahony scored the winner in a 3-2 comeback win over Chelsea - Moran and Cahill also featured: https://www.brightonandhovealbion.com/news/3639452/albion-complete-stunning-comeback-to-beat-chelsea-in-pl2/
Joxerbrowne
23/08/2023, 6:00 AM
Patrick Casey got a goal off the bench against Wigan for Charlton u21s on Monday
https://www.charltonafc.com/news/u21-report-charlton-2-wigan-athletic-2
23/08/2023, 11:05 AM
Highlights from the Walsall - Brighton U21 game
wlMdx7Fc5QM
kennedmc
23/08/2023, 11:40 AM
Round-up of the weekend:
Dara McGuinness had a good game against Wolves, scoring the winner and getting an assist for Stoke's opener. Nathan Fraser scored Wolves' only goal: https://www.stokecityfc.com/news/2023/august/21/potters-under-21s-off-the-mark-in-pl2/
Josh Keeley was between the sticks for Spurs in their 4-1 win over Newcastle - Alex Murphy played for the magpies: https://www.tottenhamhotspur.com/news/2023/august/spurs-u21s-v-newcastle-u21s-match-report/
Back at Brighton, Mark O'Mahony scored the winner in a 3-2 comeback win over Chelsea - Moran and Cahill also featured: https://www.brightonandhovealbion.com/news/3639452/albion-complete-stunning-comeback-to-beat-chelsea-in-pl2/
TKD ? scored for Liverpool in PL2 also over weekend
samhaydenjr
24/08/2023, 2:00 AM
TKD ? scored for Liverpool in PL2 also over weekend
Crikey, missed that - I skipped over the Liverpool result because I thought we had nobody in their U21s, forgetting about Kone-Doherty. Fair play, only turned 17 over the summer and already scoring for the U21s - definitely one to watch over the next couple of years.
CraftyToePoke
24/08/2023, 3:17 AM
Crikey, missed that - I skipped over the Liverpool result because I thought we had nobody in their U21s, forgetting about Kone-Doherty. Fair play, only turned 17 over the summer and already scoring for the U21s - definitely one to watch over the next couple of years.
We were talking about him up the same page of this thread & his scoring in PL2 at that age.
24/08/2023, 8:01 AM
Highlights of the game are on YouTube, Kone-Doherty's goal is at 4:51
Good finish.
LTNX29uPdyVnXrcf
There's a near identical chance a few seconds earlier in the highlights
25/08/2023, 6:04 PM
Cathal Heffernan in the Newcastle U21 team tonight, alongside Alex Murphy in defence
Noel Hunt managing the Reading team
Good to see Newcastle have been using Murphy as a LB so far this season in the PL2 games. With Roughan playing as a CB it might open a place in the U21s for Murphy if Roughan partners Lawal rather than Anselmo whose yet to play this season.
25/08/2023, 7:14 PM
Nice goal from Nathan Fraser tonight
25/08/2023, 7:48 PM
Who is Trent Kone Doherty?
https://www.thisisanfield.com/2023/08/who-is-trent-kone-doherty-17-year-old-winger-joins-liverpool-training/
Is there a slight possibility he'll be in the U21 squad to play Turkey and San Marino next week, given that he's overage for the U17s, and the U19s qualifying round isn't until November?
CraftyToePoke
25/08/2023, 9:04 PM
Mark O'Mahoney with two more for Brighton tonight, Mullins got one as well. Goals for Adegboyega, Kavanagh, Coleman too.
Who is Trent Kone Doherty?
https://www.thisisanfield.com/2023/08/who-is-trent-kone-doherty-17-year-old-winger-joins-liverpool-training/
Is there a slight possibility he'll be in the U21 squad to play Turkey and San Marino next week, given that he's overage for the U17s, and the U19s qualifying round isn't until November?
Can't see it being honest. Think he'll be doing well if he starts for the 19s never mind getting an U21s call up.
liamoo11
27/08/2023, 1:25 PM
Glen McConnell made his debut for Cambridge yesterday . He is a forward think8ng player it seems. 2005 born so eligible I think for the 19s along with Bloxham at Blackburn who tets highlighted as been on bench for Blackburn today.
01/09/2023, 2:41 PM
Fulham are streaming their PL2 game against Southampton on their website at the moment: https://www.fulhamfc.com/news/2023/september/01/EFL-Trophy-Live-Stream/
Ollie O'Neil opened the scoring, currently 1-1
<EDIT>
Finished 5-1 to Fulham, with O'Neil grabbing a second on 88 minutes
samhaydenjr
02/09/2023, 3:40 AM
Nathan Fraser scored Wolves' third in their win over Palace: https://www.wolves.co.uk/news/under-21/20230901-u21-report-wolves-3-2-crystal-palace/
Mark O'Mahony scored the only goal for Brighton against Forest. Leigh Kavanagh, Killian Cahill and Jamie Mullins all featured: https://www.brightonandhovealbion.com/news/3664750/omahony-nods-in-against-forest-to-continue-winning-run
MancIrishWolf
02/09/2023, 9:57 AM
Five Irish lads and one on the bench according to this (every Irish fans second team now) - looks like O’Mahony was heavily involved - Franco Umeh scored against us also (Fraser is a beast of a lad - can see him coming through sooner rather than later with our inability to hit a cow’s arse with a banjo!)…
- Cahill, Kavanagh, McConville, Mullins and O' Mahony and Ireland u19 left back Jacob Slater on the bench
https://www.northstandchat.com/threads/albion-u21s-v-nottingham-forest-u21-fri-1st-sept-7pm-at-lancing.403236/page-2
liamoo11
02/09/2023, 11:54 AM
Five Irish lads and one on the bench according to this (every Irish fans second team now) - looks like O’Mahony was heavily involved - Franco Umeh scored against us also (Fraser is a beast of a lad - can see him coming through sooner rather than later with our inability to hit a cow’s arse with a banjo!)…
- Cahill, Kavanagh, McConville, Mullins and O' Mahony and Ireland u19 left back Jacob Slater on the bench
https://www.northstandchat.com/threads/albion-u21s-v-nottingham-forest-u21-fri-1st-sept-7pm-at-lancing.403236/page-2
Be nice to see mcconville switch
05/09/2023, 10:16 AM
Fulham are streaming their PL2 game against Southampton on their website at the moment: https://www.fulhamfc.com/news/2023/september/01/EFL-Trophy-Live-Stream/
Ollie O'Neil opened the scoring, currently 1-1
<EDIT>
Finished 5-1 to Fulham, with O'Neil grabbing a second on 88 minutes
Highlights on Fulham's YouTube channel, O'Neil's goals at 0:20 and 2:32
yYlko2IEIDo
He's involved in a lot of Fulham's highlights
19/09/2023, 11:10 AM
Cathal Heffernan named in the Newcastle U19s for their UEFA Youth League game against Milan
Game is live on uefa.tv - https://www.uefa.tv/match/live/249385/2039386
(Alex Murphy (b. June 2004) and Reece Byrne (b. October 2004) are both overage - cut off is 1st January 2005)
20/09/2023, 11:55 PM
Lee Kavanagh is included in the Brighton squad for the Europa League, albeit as a B-squad inclusion
https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/clubs/2601105--brighton/squad/
elatedscum
21/09/2023, 5:42 PM
Lee Kavanagh is included in the Brighton squad for the Europa League, albeit as a B-squad inclusion
https://www.uefa.com/uefaeuropaleague/clubs/2601105--brighton/squad/
he's had an awful time with injuries for years. He was part of the u17 team with Sinclair Armstrong, Evan Ferguson, Andy Moran, Tayo Adaramola, Ollie O'Neill that were described by Paul Osam as the most talented group he'd ever worked with. They won their group and then covid cancelled the elite phase and tournament. He was picked alongside Anselmo at centre back, ahead of Lawal.
Both himself and Gavin O'Brien of Bohs who captained the side (now of Longford), they basically disappeared after that. Fingers crossed for him anyway. Would be very impressive to come through the other side of all those injuries
24/09/2023, 12:22 PM
Jack Henry Frances returned from injury for Arsenal's U21 side against Manchester United yesterday, and scored the second goal in a 4-2 win for the Gunners.
Goal below at 1:20, takes a wicked deflection off a defender
CUvy_PFpLTs
tommy_c12000
24/09/2023, 12:23 PM
Mark O’Mahoney was supposed to have scored a good equalizer against Heffernan’s Newcastle yesterday. Anyone have a link? Since Ferguson graduated, Brighton U21 coverage been poor!
24/09/2023, 12:30 PM
Brighton are pretty good about putting highlights of their U21 games on YouTube, might take a day or so
25/09/2023, 6:29 PM
Mark O’Mahoney was supposed to have scored a good equalizer against Heffernan’s Newcastle yesterday. Anyone have a link? Since Ferguson graduated, Brighton U21 coverage been poor!
Uploaded earlier today, O'Mahoney's goal is right at the end
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WaNMT-D702s
Brighton have disabled embedding for the video, so can only link to it
29/09/2023, 6:20 PM
Four Irish players in Brighton's U21 team tonight against Derby
Mullins just scored to put them one up
kennedmc
30/09/2023, 8:09 AM
Four Irish players in Brighton's U21 team tonight against Derby
Mullins just scored to put them one up
O'mahony hot the 2nd.
I think it is 5 irish because I read somewhere Slater is Irish declared.
30/09/2023, 8:43 AM
Didn't know that. Did some checking and he was called into two training camps at Under 19 level while he was still with Preston, but didn't make the final squad
May 2021: https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/u19-mohan-looks-at-u19-options-at-uk-camp
January 2023: https://www.fai.ie/ireland/news/mu19-25-invited-to-uk-training-camp
05/10/2023, 1:19 PM
Calum Kanavagh and Mark O'Mahony nominated for PL2 Player of the Month for September
https://www.premierleague.com/news/3718495
10/10/2023, 10:45 PM
Goal and an assist for Jack Henry-Francis tonight against Exeter
Assist at 2:21, and the goal (which takes a deflection) at 3:41
UJzO8nLarNo
MancIrishWolf
11/10/2023, 7:59 AM
Calum Kanavagh and Mark O'Mahony nominated for PL2 Player of the Month for September
https://www.premierleague.com/news/3718495
Tommi O’Reilly also referred to as Irish on the Villa website. Is he not eligible? Seems to be some debate, but bizarre it’s not amended on their site…
https://www.avfc.co.uk/players/u21/tommio'reilly/
https://www.villatalk.com/topic/22690-tommi-o’reilly/page/2/
samhaydenjr
21/10/2023, 1:55 AM
A few recent goalscorers in the Premier League International Cup:
Nathan Fraser in Wolves' 2-1 win over PSV Eindhoven: https://www.premierleague.com/match/108496/premier-league-2/2023-2024/wolverhampton-wanderers-u21-v-psv-eindhoven-u21
Jamie Mullins and Mark O'Mahony for Brighton against Valencia - I make that twelve goals for O'Mahony for club and country - it's October: https://www.premierleague.com/match/108493/premier-league-2/2023-2024/albion-u21-v-valencia-u21
24/10/2023, 1:31 PM
Zefi nearing a comeback according to this
I met Kevin Zefi: he told me that he is about to return from a serious shoulder injury and assured me (I don't know how much this is worth) that he is staying at Inter
liamoo11
24/10/2023, 8:06 PM
Zefi nearing a comeback according to this
That's great still a top prospect