View Full Version : Cork AUL 2023/24

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 [53] 54 55 56

Ballwasthere
10/06/2024, 12:02 PM
Why are Springfield looking? The result will change nothing they can’t be relegated?

KevinJBarry
10/06/2024, 12:17 PM
Why are Springfield looking? The result will change nothing they can’t be relegated?

Maybe they just want the points?

Harsh ref
10/06/2024, 12:18 PM
I’m assuming he’s saying looking at the Aul tables not their looking at table Ball

Jason Bourne
10/06/2024, 12:50 PM
I would take it that when Grattan were awarded their 3 points for an illegal player taking part , any subsequint appeals based on the same issue would then be awarded the points.

But only if clubs appealed.

Ballwasthere
10/06/2024, 3:47 PM
I understand that, but the season is done now, they don’t gain anything from the extra 3 point, I just couldn’t see it being worth the hassle personally

Springsilver
10/06/2024, 4:16 PM
I joined this forum at the beginning of this season in the hope that I would be able to get information about the various games and enjoy some previews and reviews of matches across all the leagues as I have a small involvement in one of the clubs currently playing in the AUL. To say I'm disappointed is an understatement.

This forum appears to be just a place where people who are either bitter or have huge chips on their shoulders about other clubs or the AUL committee come here to rant. There is very little constructive criticism, there is a huge absence of objective analysis and it appears most of the conversations revolve around 2 or 3 clubs from one area of the city.

What has amazed me all year is the lack of support from some clubs towards other clubs. There is obviously huge issues in the AUL with more clubs leaving than joining due to various reasons but instead of people trying to help there appears to be some stupid idea if one of my rivals is in trouble then it will be better for me. That may be true in the short term but it is a very shortsighted view of the big issues all clubs have with the AUL structure.

The belief that the AUL is out to get one or other club for years doesn't make sense to me as I review the results and decisions made by them over the last few seasons. There is no doubt that they have many failings and that the top table personnel is still in place despite the exodus of clubs from the leagues over the years would baffle anyone but to say they favour one club above another simply doesn't stand up to even the smallest level of scrutiny. I think we can all agree that the AUL have made some disastrous decisions over many seasons that have affected different clubs at different times. This season alone the league title that Grattan deservedly won almost ended up being awarded in a committee room instead of on the pitch. Last year they failed to award the Linnane trophy. There 'Team of the Season' award is a complete lottery and realistically could go to any club who are flavour of the month with the top table.

There are some supporters of certain clubs on here that feel if they rant long and loud enough they may get favourable decisions from the AUL or the refs or they might turn other clubs against their rivals. Give it up. It's a childish exercise and one that shouldn't be encouraged or supported. In fact it would serve everyone better if this forum was used for what it should be - a place where AUL clubs can get together and sort out the issues that are dragging the league into oblivion. Support each other to make the league a better place to play football otherwise the next forum we'll be using will be one for the CBL of the MSL.

Jason Bourne
10/06/2024, 5:29 PM
MFA would of insisted it was addressed across the board to be fair.

KevinJBarry
10/06/2024, 5:44 PM
I understand that, but the season is done now, they don’t gain anything from the extra 3 point, I just couldn’t see it being worth the hassle personally

They went from 6th to 5th and qualified for the Europa league??? ;)

KevinJBarry
10/06/2024, 5:46 PM
Village are going to need a second dressing room . At the rate they are going they may have to enter a B team. Pa Long still going strong fairplay to him

fruice
10/06/2024, 6:17 PM
Glenthorn will be under fair pressure now!!

Ballwasthere
10/06/2024, 7:04 PM
That’s Pa and Gorta after jumping, they need to go down a division or two IMO

FOMC
10/06/2024, 8:17 PM
That’s Pa and Gorta after jumping, they need to go down a division or two IMO

If the rumours I'm hearing about who's going into manage Glenthorn are true then I'd put my house on them for Premier A!

KevinJBarry
10/06/2024, 9:23 PM
If the rumours I'm hearing about who's going into manage Glenthorn are true then I'd put my house on them for Premier A!
What you hear ? Spill the beans boy

AULBUSTER
10/06/2024, 9:57 PM

Agreed . Very good manager already in there . The two boys already agreed to village . Gorta was always going to head back to village at some point

AULBUSTER
10/06/2024, 9:59 PM
finger on the pulse Magic … finger on the pulse . I hear they are after the other Corcoran playing for Cathedral and the two centre backs out of cathedral . I know Skilly was there before but he is pushing on now

Village are looking to improve. Can’t see them two boys getting into the village defence

AULBUSTER
10/06/2024, 10:05 PM
Talked to a member of village in the pub the other night and in his own words, Leonard is trying to sign too many, every player in the north side no matter the standard they play apparently, ti’ll be tough to keep so many happy, especially with only one team there.
if there’s any truth to Doolans cow folding there’s a few very good players there hell be looking at as well

Complete nonsense. Leonard is only after mayfield lads. Bar Pa Long the entire squad is from Mayfield. I was told if players don’t work hard in training he has no interest in them .

The Cow folding let’s be honest there probably only one player on that team good enough for the AUL premier. There a bang average pub team .

The Goldfish
10/06/2024, 10:48 PM
What you hear ? Spill the beans boy
I heard the castleview assistant manager is nailed on for the job

Harsh ref
11/06/2024, 8:46 AM
Welcome back fish were you working abroad.

The Goldfish
11/06/2024, 10:57 AM
Welcome back fish were you working abroad.

I was working out in the Dam for the last couple of weeks. I just want to congratulate coachford on winning the Aoh cup for ladt 3 seasons thats some achievement has it ever been done? Congratulations to castleview and to gratten aswell on winng there respective leagues.

Harsh ref
11/06/2024, 12:32 PM
Grattan unbeaten to only the best team go unbeaten haha im hearing few from Cow joining village brigade.

KevinJBarry
11/06/2024, 1:46 PM
I am hearing of a new team being entered in Division 3 , a B team

AULBUSTER
11/06/2024, 2:05 PM
Grattan unbeaten to only the best team go unbeaten haha im hearing few from Cow joining village brigade.

Village want to improve why would they chase players from the Cow

fruice
11/06/2024, 4:41 PM
Presumably Watergrasshil will enter their second team there.

Is there another one Kevin?

These teams are fantastic but they will only balance the scales if we believe Grangevale and a few more going.

Play it out
11/06/2024, 4:55 PM
That's Watergrasshill and Hibernians who have advertised their B teams. It may stay in the 40s entering again even with Grangevale and others at risk. Still think the lower divisions are too small. 4 Divisions may be for the best. Funny considering how long it has taken leagues with 14 games to be completed.

fruice
11/06/2024, 6:54 PM
To be fair the rain has been heavy all season long.

The amount of complete wash out weekend was the worst ever

The Goldfish
11/06/2024, 9:24 PM
Any idea why watergrasshill v richmond game was called of this evening??

Ballwasthere
11/06/2024, 9:30 PM
I heard the same in Murphy’s rock recently, I hope it’s true, a nice fella and his team this year played lovely ball, I just think he needs a good few players in. Because that squad was slapped together second half of the season, and they lost the club captain in gurta and also their best player as well in Pa

Ballwasthere
11/06/2024, 9:31 PM
To be fair the rain has been heavy all season long.

The amount of complete wash out weekend was the worst ever

this year was unprecedented, and to say that in this country is certainly something

Play it out
11/06/2024, 9:39 PM
Glenthorn must be delighted with the appointment. Pa Long may join Village, he may not, he's still a Glenthorn player. End of day he's not the old Pa Long. He will be a good player in a good team, Glenthorn and Village will have good players.

Harsh ref
12/06/2024, 9:41 AM
Rumours going around is the Jonny Cooney might be taking over Premier team next year I wonder wonder who that could be.

KevinJBarry
12/06/2024, 11:31 AM
Rumours going around is the Jonny Cooney might be taking over Premier team next year I wonder wonder who that could be.

What team? isnt he already the manager of a premier team? so if the answer is UCC we already know ;)

Harsh ref
12/06/2024, 11:46 AM
Speaking to my source yesterday Jonny gone from Ucc.

KevinJBarry
12/06/2024, 12:02 PM
Speaking to my source yesterday Jonny gone from Ucc.

Ok so what team is it then?

Harsh ref
12/06/2024, 12:31 PM
Back home to glenthorne

AverageJoesGym
12/06/2024, 2:39 PM
Arent we all pub teams realistically? The Cow have a great front 3 and with Tony Reilly lots of goals to be scored any AUL team would snap them up in a heartbeat, that 4 better than most Premier Teams. Some good signings for Village, where do they all fit in tho?. Still need to strengthen their defence, left side looks goodish but right side is very suspect, I'd fancy my chances even at my age. I heard on the street today Johnny is heading up to Glenthorn maybe Gurta and Pa should of hung around for another few weeks before maybe decisions, Johnny will get some good signings up there. Also hearing Mayfield United are putting in an AUL team any truth in that? The banned main John C from the Glen is supposedly setting it up.

Jd2793
12/06/2024, 3:04 PM
arent village and doolans covering that demand up there atm? unless mayfield pull their msl junior 3rd div team and put them aul? are there really that many players to go around?

Play it out
12/06/2024, 3:05 PM
It's a different manager moving to Mayfield from AUL.

You couldn't trust John Corcoran in charge of a team. He will be off to Ringmahon. He was joining them in January until he got the ban.

AverageJoesGym
12/06/2024, 4:02 PM
Doolans are going I thought? I'm hearing Mayfield will have their MJL and a separate AUL team. Plenty of players around the Mayfield area 90% of them aren't even playing for Mayfield United.. Wonks, Skilly and the rest would follow anywhere he goes I would imagine. Lots of grapevine talk so far season hasn't even finished. Best of luck to Grattan in the final, being a converted norrie I'd like to see as many cups as possible up in the northside.

fruice
12/06/2024, 5:11 PM
The likes of the team being spoken about are what’s wrong with the AUL here today gone tomorrow.

Might even win a trophy put at the expense of hard working clubs.

I have to laugh he slates the AUL at every available opportunity but still keeps coming back for more

Play it out
12/06/2024, 5:14 PM
He's not going there to manage a team. Don't believe everything on the forum.

KevinJBarry
12/06/2024, 6:27 PM
Back home to glenthorne

Home to Glenthorn? Wasnt Johnny Cooney a Leeds man most of his life?

Idiotchecker
13/06/2024, 9:16 AM
Village want to improve why would they chase players from the Cow

Because if you have watched any games outside of the AUL you’d realise the cow have been one of the best junior teams in cork. Taking into account performances in provincial and national tournaments

Ballwasthere
13/06/2024, 12:54 PM
Mayfield united won’t have an AUL side, they’re junior msl side can’t get numbers most seasons why would they set up another team, especially with Village, the cow Jaybazz and ash there, we all have our feelings and opinions on the shipping league but there’s a lot to said for fellas just wanting to play with there buddies, most of mayfield senior team aren’t even from mayfield , most young fellas who came up through that schoolboys system want nothing to do with the club, look at the ringmahon side in the final recently, McAlavey and Kaka their two best players, want nothing to do with the club

Jason Bourne
13/06/2024, 1:07 PM
Feck that's about an honest assessment fo a situation as iv ever read in here.

2 often than not lads throw grenades on here an walk away.

That actually hit the nail on its head .

Great post

Ballwasthere
13/06/2024, 3:03 PM
Arent we all pub teams realistically? The Cow have a great front 3 and with Tony Reilly lots of goals to be scored any AUL team would snap them up in a heartbeat, that 4 better than most Premier Teams. Some good signings for Village, where do they all fit in tho?. Still need to strengthen their defence, left side looks goodish but right side is very suspect, I'd fancy my chances even at my age. I heard on the street today Johnny is heading up to Glenthorn maybe Gurta and Pa should have hung around for another few weeks before maybe decisions, Johnny will get some good signings up there. Also hearing Mayfield United are putting in an AUL team any truth in that? The banned main John C from the Glen is supposedly setting it up.
The fella Keegan centre half for them is an exceptional player, played many years centre half at senior level, better than a lot of centre halves at premier level, they’re a decent side, they wouldn’t be going deep into the Munster and fai cups every other season if they weren’t all decent players at least

AULBUSTER
13/06/2024, 6:05 PM
The fella Keegan centre half for them is an exceptional player, played many years centre half at senior level, better than a lot of centre halves at premier level, they’re a decent side, they wouldn’t be going deep into the Munster and fai cups every other season if they weren’t all decent players at least

Who did Keegan play at senior level with for many years .

Bar Jamie Murphy the rest of them are bang average.

AverageJoesGym
13/06/2024, 6:59 PM
Agreed, they always seem to make it out of Cork every year and had a a unbelievable run in both junior cups in 2020. Their back four is very solid would walk into any Premier team imo, And I already mentioned the front four some firepower. Jamie Murphy played with Cobh Ramblers and Cork City sure ffs. As previously mentioned their a group of friends who just wanted to play ball together when Mayfield United didnt want them and they did. They've had the same squad for 10 years that's unheard really. If they do go and sign for Village they will bloster that team big time. Mayfield United must be kicking themselves with the talent they have let slip away. Rockmount have Jake Courtney, Mahon have Maca, Kaka, Chris Hull. Midelton had Dean O Connell. Avondale had Dave Kiely and Greg Kelly. Not to mention the Village lads. Absolutely crazy that none of them involved with the club

Harsh ref
13/06/2024, 8:54 PM
I heard rumour fella in work told me there that Castleview junior manager offered senior job if true fair play good manager and good player and servant to the club.

Average Baller
13/06/2024, 9:40 PM
Good weekend of ball coming up fellas, every game with a cup or league on the line.

Mossie Final - Grattan v Coachford
Whichever side wins will be ending their season with a double and probably AUL team of the year on top of it. The Cross will probably suit Coachford a bit more and I can see them coming through this by a couple of goals.

Presidents Cup Final - Coachford B v Strand B
Don’t know too much about either side but it’s a testament to both clubs that their Bs are competing in a final. Looking at the league table you’d have to fancy Coachford.

Division 1 - Shandon v Watergrasshill
WGH coming off a very surprising result last weekend but have a chance to all but wrap up the league on Sunday morning and should get over Shandon.

Division 2 - Los Zarcos v Grattan B
A draw will be enough to clinch the league for Los Zarcos whereas a win for Grattan will take it to a playoff between the two. I think Los Zarcos will have too much pace on their home patch against an aging Grattan side.

Division 3 - Rathcormac v Kilbrittain
Rathcormac have a chance to make it two successful weekends on the trot as a win will clinch the league for them. Kilbrittain need at least a point to keep their own promotion hopes alive.

I’ll probably head to the two games in the Cross myself. Is anybody else on here heading elsewhere?

Harsh ref
14/06/2024, 7:16 AM
Coachford watergrasshill los zarcos if players not gone to cork game haha and Rathcormac coachford B my predictions for weekend think Coachford will have to much out in cross for Grattan but we’ll give it ago and enjoy the day.