View Full Version : Cork v Shels

15/08/2005, 7:26 PM
Cork 1:0 up at half-time - decent goal from Horgan (nice set-up by Gamble).

A good first half overall - fairly frantic, with a lot of close play, but definitely entertaining. Never seen that Kearney guy for Cork before, but he looks very handy (though someone needs to have a word with his hair-dresser.... :D ). Him and Hoolihan worth the entrance money alone.

I'd expect that most of the barstoolers who've sat through the first half of that will tune in again for the second...

Shels need to up their game a lot, so should be cracking second half. Can't help but suspect the next 45mins may get dirty though...

15/08/2005, 7:46 PM
What is Fenlon at taking off Jason Byrne? I thought he was having a good game...

shedite
15/08/2005, 8:16 PM
:) Champions 2005 :)

15/08/2005, 8:18 PM
:) Champions 2005 :)

Is the match over?

15/08/2005, 8:24 PM
Yeah Full time Cork City 1-0 Shelbourne. Well done Cork, good match tonight. I still hope Derry win the league though :p :)

15/08/2005, 8:30 PM
I have to say, Cork are looking good. Very solid defensively.

A win tonight has taken a lot of pressure off them ahead of Friday as well.

Feck - it feels like the end of the season already, and we're not even in the Final series of games !!

15/08/2005, 8:31 PM
Best team on the night, and in the country so far this year, won; Congratulations.

:(

15/08/2005, 8:38 PM
Cork did what they had to, no more, no less. If pushed I'd say they had another gear or two in reserve.

But Shels were absolutely awful.....they wouldn't have scored if they played until tomorrow.

Some bizarre decisions, Byrne off so early and ignoring Skeletor for some unknown reason.

Bring on Friday night, hopefully we'll give the Champions elect a better game.

15/08/2005, 8:42 PM
But Shels were absolutely awful.....they wouldn't have scored if they played until tomorrow.

I hate to say it, but I agree :( May as well have been Harps for most of that game.

15/08/2005, 8:49 PM
I hate to say it, but I agree :( May as well have been Harps for most of that game.

No need to insult poor harps like that :D .

Cork were very good tonight, gamble was unreal. Fair play Cork, well deserved. Shels have a fight on now for 3rd spot? (btw the intertoto has been scrapped hasnt it?, so 3rd ant a euro spot anymore??)

Btw another moaning **** at shels that seems to go unnoticed is crawley, moaning the whole time like a child :rolleyes:

15/08/2005, 8:54 PM
(btw the intertoto has been scrapped hasnt it?, so 3rd ant a euro spot anymore??)
Nope, it isn't, so yep, it is.

Didn't think it was a great game myself - fairly few chances, only one decent save that I can remember. Far too much hoofball overall - Crawley has to be the most predictable player in the league! I think the commentator noted that Cork were attacking down his side quite a lot! Honestly thought the game was sterotypical eL - plenty of trying, but very little end result in front of goal. Having said that, quality finish for the goal. Shels could well finish fourth this year - be very interesting to see what'd happen to them next year if that were the case...

15/08/2005, 9:00 PM
Shels could well finish fourth this year - be very interesting to see what'd happen to them next year if that were the case...

If Bohs were to beat them at the weekend, and Longford were to win they could find themselves in 5th come 9.30 this Saturday night.

anto eile
15/08/2005, 9:03 PM
entertaining game, if not top-quality.
shels show themselves to be a bunch of petulant bad losers again, with a real stupid sending off, and general non-stop whinging at the ref.
decent crowd, a little over 6000,id say 6100 (1850 sell out in main stand, 1000 opposite main stand, 1250 shed, 2500 in st annes end)

15/08/2005, 9:33 PM
At least Nutsy kept calm eh? :)

anto eile
15/08/2005, 9:37 PM
entertaining game, if not top-quality.
shels show themselves to be a bunch of petulant bad losers again, with a real stupid sending off, and general non-stop whinging at the ref.
decent crowd, over 6000,id say 6350 (1850 sell out in main stand, 1000 opposite main stand, 1250 shed, 2250 in st annes end)

surprised you didnt notice the appalling maths in the previous post!

15/08/2005, 9:45 PM
At least Nutsy kept calm eh? :)
Got a text to say he'd been sacked... Shels' fans hear anything?!?

15/08/2005, 9:47 PM
No. Doubt it tbh, he's one of the best managers we've ever had. And we're still in contention for runners up, to sack him now would be stupid!

15/08/2005, 9:51 PM
Well done Cork i like to see yereselves and Derry doing well and it seems ye will be the top 2 this year,fairplay.It's good to see teams outside Dublin been the top 2 in the country.

15/08/2005, 9:52 PM
No. Doubt it tbh, he's one of the best managers we've ever had. And we're still in contention for runners up, to sack him now would be stupid!
Couldn't agree more tbh. But giving the last few weeks i could believe it if he walked...

Dyl10
15/08/2005, 9:55 PM
I thought Fenlon was banned??? :confused:

15/08/2005, 9:56 PM
Got a text to say he'd been sacked... Shels' fans hear anything?!?
Got the same text myself.

BohsFans
15/08/2005, 10:06 PM
No need to insult poor harps like that :D .

Cork were very good tonight, gamble was unreal. Fair play Cork, well deserved. Shels have a fight on now for 3rd spot? (btw the intertoto has been scrapped hasnt it?, so 3rd ant a euro spot anymore??)

Btw another moaning **** at shels that seems to go unnoticed is crawley, moaning the whole time like a child :rolleyes:

Shels are already out of the cup and if indeed the intertoto has been scraped, it'll be no euro footie next season for money bags $hel$!! :D :p

redgav
15/08/2005, 11:15 PM
Shels are already out of the cup and if indeed the intertoto has been scraped, it'll be no euro footie next season for money bags $hel$!! :D :p

unless city or derry win the cup

Vitruvian Man
15/08/2005, 11:19 PM
unless city or derry win the cup

I thought the runner-up in the cup gets the UEFA spot if it is won by somebody already in Europe.

Either way it won't matter because we are going to finish third. :p

What's with Nutsy playing a centre-half up front when he has a whole bench full of strikers. Ditto for playing a defender in midfield. He's being doing it all season - Not that I mind of course.

15/08/2005, 11:36 PM
Couldn't agree more tbh. But giving the last few weeks i could believe it if he walked...

To where though...?

Candystripe
16/08/2005, 12:08 AM
Any more word on Fenlon getting the boot?

I got the same text and have since spread it all over work! :eek:

16/08/2005, 1:04 AM
I thought the runner-up in the cup gets the UEFA spot if it is won by somebody already in Europe.

They do or at least used to, that's how we got into europe in 2001, Bohs won the double, we were cup runners up.

16/08/2005, 1:27 AM
I would be stunned if Shels sacked Fenlon. He has a five year contract and if they sack him they'd have to pay it out- and with a real possiblity of no European games next season that would be another hammer blow to their financial situation. I thought at the time they were mental to give him such a long contract- things change very fast in football, and very few managers last five years. Especially ones with huge resources and who're expected to win things every single season.

16/08/2005, 1:57 AM
Fenlon didn't get the boot but if he keeps taking the píss with team selections, subs and tactics it might not be that unrealistic.

16/08/2005, 6:40 AM
Why are so many $h€l$ players petulant, whiny, sneaky little toerags?

Byrne slapping Alan Bennett acros the face, that little cnut Houlihan stamping on Roy o'Donovan, Heery elbowing Hoggie in the face, Crowe elbowing Devine in the face, Baker throwing the ball at Murphy and hacking down Kearney, Rogers constantly kicking Fenn and digging him into the back and neck and on and on and on........
Pathetic little scumbags the lot of them, is there even one decent person in that sh*tty little club at all?

16/08/2005, 6:49 AM
Me! :)

Roverstillidie
16/08/2005, 7:25 AM
To where though...?

Rovers....

16/08/2005, 7:37 AM

Quality EnDai :)

I think for the league as a whole, we'd all be better off if Shels got into Europe next season. They'd be seeded in the UEFA first round, so should win through to at least the second. That would help the coefficient.

What would happen if it was a CCFC -v- Derry FAI Cup final?

I honestly think we could do with their experience in Europe.

16/08/2005, 7:46 AM
Fenlon didn't get the boot but if he keeps taking the píss with team selections, subs and tactics it might not be that unrealistic.

I think you can add his dealings in the transfer market to that list. I really dont see what Reynolds and Fleming can give Shels -even on a short-term basis, Baker seems to get sent-off anytime he plays, Ryan never seems to play and must be the league's most expensive ball-boy. And Crowe and Hawkins have only performed reasonably - if I was a Shels fan I would have expected a lot more from them. A lot of money has been invested in these guys with little return. If a broker had made as many bad investments as Fenlon has done in the last year he'd be cleaning toilets at this stage.

16/08/2005, 8:08 AM
That would be a damn unlucky broker ! Most of them DO lose a fortune of other people's money & get richer and richer ...................

or end up in Galway.

16/08/2005, 8:20 AM
What would happen if it was a CCFC -v- Derry FAI Cup final?

I beleive in that situation it goes to 3rd in the league! I'm praying for that to happen, but they'll prob meet in the semis or something!

16/08/2005, 8:28 AM
I think for the league as a whole, we'd all be better off if Shels got into Europe next season. They'd be seeded in the UEFA first round, so should win through to at least the second. That would help the coefficient.

I honestly think we could do with their experience in Europe.

Why don't we just abandon the League and put Shels and Cork forward every year.............

The top two teams and the cup winners deserve to get to Europe. Its the same format in every country.

Coefficient my a*se.

16/08/2005, 8:38 AM
or end up in Galway.

:D :D :D :D

16/08/2005, 8:50 AM
Why don't we just abandon the League and put Shels and Cork forward every year..............
Yeah, because that's what I said :rolleyes:

The top two teams and the cup winners deserve to get to Europe. Its the same format in every country.
Yeah, they deserve to get into Europe, where exactly did I say they didn't, I can sure as hell have a preference on who I'd like to see get those three slots.
IMO, Cork, Derry and Shels will gain a lot more in European terms for us than Cork, Derry and anyone else.

Coefficient my a*se.
An argument only someone who hasn't a clue could make, we'll see how interested you are in the coefficients next year when UEFA are sorting out Derry's seeding and you're looking for the best draw possible.

Narrow minded rubbish :rolleyes:

16/08/2005, 9:03 AM
Fair play, a lot of you are decent people, and I don't include the fans in what I posted.
I'd agree with Tiktok, I rather see $h€l$ in Europe than say Longford or Drogheda (sorry Drogs fans, Doolin simply isn't up to it), but Bohs or $h€l$ would do a better job for the league (I think Farrelly has learned a lot from the Gent games).

16/08/2005, 9:16 AM
100% Professional performance by City.

Games like these will never be end to end but i thought enough passing football by City when they could.

I'm all the more surprised City won when O'Flynn, Fenn & O'Donovan didn't get into the game at all.

I was calling for it but good decision by Rico to bring Colin O'Brien on for O'Donovan near the end.

Osam was predictable again on tv3 - what do City have to do get some respect from him? Osam just syas the same thing every week. :rolleyes: Scully was a lot more enthuasistic again.

16/08/2005, 9:22 AM
Selfish, self-interested ........................................ You ever been to a delegates meeting in Merrion Square ?? :rolleyes:

You got seeded this year because of the UEFA coefficient, you should have been playing in the second round of the competition like we are. That's worth money to YOUR club and there are long term benefits for YOUR club.

The UEFA coefficent is important, and it's narrow minded to suggest otherwise.

I'm a CCFC fan first, but an EL fan second, I always support whatever team gets into Europe, our league as a whole will benefit in the long term with improved european performance and seeding will help us achieve that. If that makes me selfish, fine.

I could as easily suggest that a Longford fan is bound to play down the UEFA coefficient given the balls they've made of European competition the last two seasons.....but I wouldn't, because most of your fellow supporters actually 'get' the idea.

16/08/2005, 9:26 AM
An argument only someone who hasn't a clue could make, we'll see how interested you are in the coefficients next year when UEFA are sorting out Derry's seeding and you're looking for the best draw possible.

Narrow minded rubbish :rolleyes:

Shels are out of the Cup so the only way they can qualify for Europe proper is through the League. The cup winners have to go into the UEFA under UEFA's rules AFAIK.

Therefore what do you want me to say? Let them go above Derry for the common good?!?!

And why is it when anyone disagrees with the overemphasis on the coefficient they are automatically assumed not to "get it"? I "get it" fine.

I welcome good performances by EL teams in Europe, but I think the disproportionate focus on here on coefficient is counterproductive (see "Longford should never be allowed back into Europe again" type arguments).

In the medium to long term the coefficient is surely only a proxy for the general standard of the League?

Which came first, the chicken or the egg?

16/08/2005, 9:27 AM
Osam was predictable again on tv3 - what do City have to do get some respect from him? Osam just syas the same thing every week. :rolleyes: Scully was a lot more enthuasistic again.
He just comes across as childish in the extreme. He had to be forced to say something good about City, and even then wanted to talk about $h€l$.
It is petty and just makes him look even sillier than his wooden attitude already does.

16/08/2005, 9:37 AM
Shels are out of the Cup so the only way they can qualify for Europe proper is through the League. The cup winners have to go into the UEFA under UEFA's rules AFAIK.

Therefore what do you want me to say? Let them go above Derry for the common good?!?!

The question I asked was what would happen in the case of a Derry -v- CCFC FAI Cup final, would Shels being in third then get them into the UEFA cup.

Jesus, try reading before you respond

I never said they should be there at the expense of Derry, for the record, I think the teams best equipped to play in europe are CCFC, Derry, Shels, Bohs, if someone else gets there, I'll support them in Europe regardless.

You're the one who went off on one........ "co-efficients my ar5e".
That kind of statement makes me think you don't 'get it'.

16/08/2005, 9:46 AM
'than say Longford or Drogheda (sorry Drogs fans, Doolin simply isn't up to it),'

No need to apologise, I reckon you'd get a good few drogs supporters that would agree with that comment :(

16/08/2005, 9:57 AM
The question I asked was what would happen in the case of a Derry -v- CCFC FAI Cup final, would Shels being in third then get them into the UEFA cup.

In that scenario 3rd place in the league gets Uefa Cup. You;d get long odds on that though as means both team have to win their Cup games & avoid each other in quarter & semi final draws.

16/08/2005, 10:57 AM
Hopefully (if) the FAI take over the day to day running of the league these issues regarding clubs playing in Europe can be sorted out once and for all by a independent third party.

Im a shelbourne support and obviously a EL supporter too. Ill be cheering on CCFC when the play Djurgardens at the Cross because its good for the league to see clubs doing well in Europe.

The league will rise, the general public will be more intrested in it and hopefully things like attendences and stadia will improve etc etc.

As for Shels in Europe next season, its up to Shels to make second position, if its a Cork Derry final in the cup then Shels would make it through to the UEFA Cup by finishing second AFAIK.

Still finishing third for Shels is not acceptable, something must be seriously wrong at the club if we cant finish second with all the players bought.

16/08/2005, 11:33 AM
Anyway, well done to Cork. Congratulations, and thanks.
Cross looked great on telly -- brilliant atmostphere and crowds.

16/08/2005, 12:40 PM

In that scenario 3rd place in the league gets Uefa Cup
That's right, yep; fourth goes to InterToto. It's how we got in in 2000! :)