View Full Version : O'Leary to manage Ireland?

14/08/2005, 11:46 PM
David O’ Leary has admitted he would be interested in the Irish managers job but only once he has achieved all he wants to in club football.

The Dubliner still has 3 years remaining on his current Aston Villa deal and at 48 hs still plenty left in the tank at club level. However the former Arsenal man did admit the Irish job appeals to him. He said “I loved playing for Ireland, the buzz of the national anthem and it’s something I’d like to do as a manager. After the daily involvement, it would be the icing on the cake.”

O’ Leary, who was in the running for the job when Mick McCarthy left also had much praise for current boss Brian Kerr. He said “I heard so many fancied the job, I was delighted one of our own got it. Brian had done so well with the younger teams, it was great he was taken in the same context as men from other countries and clubs.”

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=18664

15/08/2005, 8:45 AM
David O’ Leary has admitted he would be interested in the Irish managers job but only once he has achieved all he wants to in club football.

The Dubliner still has 3 years remaining on his current Aston Villa deal and at 48 hs still plenty left in the tank at club level. However the former Arsenal man did admit the Irish job appeals to him. He said “I loved playing for Ireland, the buzz of the national anthem and it’s something I’d like to do as a manager. After the daily involvement, it would be the icing on the cake.”

O’ Leary, who was in the running for the job when Mick McCarthy left also had much praise for current boss Brian Kerr. He said “I heard so many fancied the job, I was delighted one of our own got it. Brian had done so well with the younger teams, it was great he was taken in the same context as men from other countries and clubs.”

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/irish_soccer_detail.asp?newsid=18664
fair play to dave i didnt think he would have that opinion on kerr. certainly could be a future manager.

15/08/2005, 8:50 AM
Is this the beginning of the end of the Kerr era :confused: Bye Bye Kerr :D

15/08/2005, 8:52 AM
why would you say that :confused:

15/08/2005, 9:07 AM
Its just because the timing of O Leary being linked with the job

15/08/2005, 9:27 AM
Bit of a non-story really. O'Leary is saying nothing there he wasn't saying when he was managing Leeds. he believes international managment is an older mans job and not to be stepped into until done with club managment.

zinedineontour
15/08/2005, 10:46 AM
O Leary is such a ***** imo ... oh id like to manage ireland at the end of my career ... its not a retirement job dave ffs ... treats the position with little respect and would not be happy if he ever got the job .

15/08/2005, 10:48 AM
O Leary is such a ***** imo ... oh id like to manage ireland at the end of my career ... its not a retirement job dave ffs ... treats the position with little respect and would not be happy if he ever got the job .

Well said that man.

15/08/2005, 11:33 AM

have to say i think the opposite that he is treating it with respect when he says that he doesnt think he would be up to the task untill he has years of managerial experience under his belt.

15/08/2005, 11:35 AM
I think he's saying "I'd rather get all the cash now & then look forward to the sinecure that is the Irealnd job when I've made all the lolly." But we'll agree to differ :)

Aldini98
15/08/2005, 12:07 PM
Well said that man.

Hear Hear !!!!!

O'Leary is an awful manager, whats he won? NOTHING, yeah NOTHING, ah but he got Leeds to a Champions League semi? big deal, he basically got them in financial dire straits thanks to buying sh*te players too :)

15/08/2005, 12:25 PM
ehmm correct me if i am wrong but those "shyte" players got him to the cL semi finals. the problem arose when they didnt have the financial clout to continue supporting the wages of their players which had nothing to do with o leary what manager wouldnt spend if they were told by the chairman they could. i thought o leary done a very good job at leeds and was unlucky to get the chop there and i also think he has done a reasonably good job at aston villa without the financial backup . anyway thats just my two cents worth.

15/08/2005, 12:37 PM
Hear Hear !!!!!

O'Leary is an awful manager, whats he won? NOTHING, yeah NOTHING, ah but he got Leeds to a Champions League semi? big deal, he basically got them in financial dire straits thanks to buying sh*te players too :)

Myth. Utter Myth. I'm a Leeds supporter and have my own issues with the guy over his handling of various issues and his greedy, opportunistic and godawful book.

But it is a matter of stone cold fact that he got a team to the champions league semi final which was scarcely able to train together such was the traffic of legal people in and out of Thorpe Arche. It was a fcuking miracle. nothing short of it.

He didn't get Leeds United into a penny of debt as he didn't have the cheque book. He asked a question at his interview "What do ye want me to do for Leeds?" The answer he got involved "consistently qualifying for the CL" and O'Leary said "fine -I'm going to need him, him, him and him".

He didn't negotiate contracts (40K a week to Seth Johnson), he didn't agree transfer fees (7 million for Seth Johnson) and he didn't borrow off Peter to service the interest on the loans from Paul.

...and as for the Ireland job - I think there's a degree of merit in what he's saying. I can see counter arguments too but still.

youngirish
15/08/2005, 1:00 PM
I think O'Leary is an excellent manager. He's done a good job with Villa so far considering the players they have. I wonder if Kerr will still be about for the EC qualifierrs if we fail to even make the play offs for the WC.

CraftyToePoke
16/08/2005, 2:09 PM
Hear Hear !!!!!

spot on

while at leeds he constantly peddled the excuce that the side was too young to win anything and needed more time together as a constant,self serving tactic designed , to take pressure off himself,despite having millions to chuck at building a side.

at villa,its the old ''the squads too small and times are tight'' method he is using,a different tactic to gain the same outcome,ie: no pressure on him.

at arsenal,i believe o'leary's nicknane was jack,as in ''im allright jack'' and his one eye on the Ireland job as some cushy end of career wind down or plan b if top clubs wont employ him any more is just more of the same from him.

i dread the day he gets this job,the excuses would be a ready made combo of his leeds and leeds and villa ones, cant spend on the side(obviously)and limited squad.and he wouldnt be shy about using them.

16/08/2005, 2:52 PM
spot on

while at leeds he constantly peddled the excuce that the side was too young to win anything and needed more time together as a constant,self serving tactic designed , to take pressure off himself,despite having millions to chuck at building a side. Surely you can se how -tactic or not -he might have been trying to take some of the pressure off the team and take some of the steam out of the stuff in the papers.

I'll remind you that not 18 months before it was all blown open the so-called in-the-know football hacks (even Dion "I love ManU" Fanning) were talking about "the powerbase of English football moving east across the Peninnes" It was indeed rich stuff about a team playing attractive football but who -as someone fairly pointed out -hadn't won anything.

at arsenal,i believe o'leary's nicknane was jack,as in ''im allright jack'' and his one eye on the Ireland job as some cushy end of career wind down or plan b if top clubs wont employ him any more is just more of the same from him. Hold the front page ...first ever self centered professional footballer discovered.

i dread the day he gets this job,the excuses would be a ready made combo of his leeds and leeds and villa ones, cant spend on the side(obviously)and limited squad.and he wouldnt be shy about using them.

...and that'll make him the first international manager ever to make an excuse for anything ...do better Crafty will ya. :rolleyes:

CraftyToePoke
16/08/2005, 3:29 PM
Surely you can se how -tactic or not -he might have been trying to take some of the pressure off the team and take some of the steam out of the stuff in the papers.

I'll remind you that not 18 months before it was all blown open the so-called in-the-know football hacks (even Dion "I love ManU" Fanning) were talking about "the powerbase of English football moving east across the Peninnes" It was indeed rich stuff about a team playing attractive football but who -as someone fairly pointed out -hadn't won anything.

Hold the front page ...first ever self centered professional footballer discovered.

...and that'll make him the first international manager ever to make an excuse for anything ...do better Crafty will ya. :rolleyes:

lionel,i have considered your points, but i genuinelly dont believe he was feathering any nest but his own when appearing to take pressure off his team,as you see it. his book aptly demonstrates his willingness to do this ahead of leeds welfare.

footballers are notiorously self-centered,yes,but he was considered self centered by footballers themselves

and as for the excuses,yes they all make them,but oleary at times seems to do little else,and credits the public with little intellegence into the bargain.

zinedineontour
16/08/2005, 3:47 PM
He has come out with this crap when mick was sacked and we were looking for a new manager. he was asked would he be interested and he said " I will look at it when i retire " .. Well **** off dave your no mourinho or ferguson ffs dont treat the job with such little respect and expect us to come calling .. would be disgusted if we hired him ...

16/08/2005, 5:23 PM
There's another thread running complaining about Don Givens. I say give the U21 job to O'Leary for about 3 years. Let him work his way "up" to the Ireland job, not "down" as O'Leary seems to think.

Whatever people say about Kerr, I loved it when he said at his first press conference that for him it was the best football job in the world. Only a soundbite maybe but take note David!

jimbob117
16/08/2005, 11:49 PM
I agree with Lionel. I was looking at the premiership yrs last week and O'Leary got a good young team together playing excellent football. He's done well at Villa considering he's working for "deadly doug" who hasnt given him much money. Villa play some nice football and with the addition of Phillips and possibly Baros, will stand a chance for europe.
And eventually, I would love to see him get the Irish job and see what he can do.

17/08/2005, 9:20 AM
There's another thread running complaining about Don Givens. I say give the U21 job to O'Leary for about 3 years. Let him work his way "up" to the Ireland job, not "down" as O'Leary seems to think.

Whatever people say about Kerr, I loved it when he said at his first press conference that for him it was the best football job in the world. Only a soundbite maybe but take note David!

S88 I agree with and understand your passion and sentiment for the team and the job of running it but it's that sentimentality that's getting in the way of glaring facts.

Any premiership managers paycheck would tell him that most international managment jobs are in fact a step down.

I'm not sure what BK earns -but I'm fairly confident it's not in the league of what DOL get's from Villa.

I know the FAI put in a more reflective scale before Mick took over (that had proper exclusivity of contract clauses tied to it) because of the criticisms of Big Jack taking off "on an earner" too often. Into the 1990's with two qualifications under our belt Jack was reputedly on £50,000 a year from the FAI. This he topped up to over half a million by putting his name on anything and everything.

But even if the FAI brought the salary up to those levels it's still not competetive with what a manager at a decent sized club can expect to make.

Further -to take a microcosmic example - Northern Ireland couldn't persuade -was it Jimmy Nicholl(?) to take their managment job because it didn't pay as well as his assistant managers job at Dunfermline.

zinedineontour
17/08/2005, 10:22 AM

agree totally ... Dave seems to treat the Ireland job like something to do when he retires and his attitude towards the job is totally wrong .. Brian has the right attitude which has to be commended .. O Leary should have a stint with the u21s and if the fai like what they see interview him for the main job along with other candidates .

17/08/2005, 11:00 AM
Any premiership managers paycheck would tell him that most international managment jobs are in fact a step down.

Sure, I agree. I'm not so naive as to think he'd leave Villa at the height of his earnings potential to manage Ireland tomorrow. But generally I think O'Leary is out to get what he can from every opportunity (that book), is quick to take credit for everything that goes right and quick to pass the blame to his chairman when things go wrong. I thought he treated Robbie poorly at Leeds & I've rarely heard him express any interest in Irish football since he retired. Maybe it's because he feels hard done by under Charlton.

Dave was my hero, along with Brady & Stapleton, when I was a kid but I've little time for him now.

17/08/2005, 2:34 PM
It's an uncomfortable fact -and one we Ireland supporters don't readily like facing up to -that virtually every manager who's had an option has ended up looking to someone other than Robbie for a regular supply of goals.

17/08/2005, 3:01 PM
It's an uncomfortable fact -and one we Ireland supporters don't readily like facing up to -that virtually every manager who's had an option has ended up looking to someone other than Robbie for a regular supply of goals.

Again, fair point, but did Smith & Viduka & whoever else he was competing with actually get more goals? I can't remember but I carry the impression that Smith in particular was often lucky to be picked ahead of Robbie. If anyone has the stats to hand I'd be interested to see.

17/08/2005, 3:35 PM
Again, fair point, but did Smith & Viduka & whoever else he was competing with actually get more goals? I can't remember but I carry the impression that Smith in particular was often lucky to be picked ahead of Robbie. If anyone has the stats to hand I'd be interested to see.

On Smith I'd be inclined to agree. don't have the stats though. Robbie and the duke would scarcely have competed for a starting place though.

Aldini98
17/08/2005, 4:43 PM
On Smith I'd be inclined to agree. don't have the stats though. Robbie and the duke would scarcely have competed for a starting place though.

Ah yes, the duke, footballs soldier of fortune, just goes where the money is, a c**t.

18/08/2005, 10:04 AM
Ah yes, the duke, footballs soldier of fortune, just goes where the money is, a c**t.
:confused: :rolleyes:

Dublin12
18/08/2005, 10:09 AM

And has also been known to score 4 against Liverpool ;)

18/08/2005, 10:20 AM
And has also been known to score 4 against Liverpool ;)

...ah ....that's what put the p1ss in aldinis vinegar :D

Aldini98
18/08/2005, 1:42 PM
...ah ....that's what put the p1ss in aldinis vinegar :D

Yeah that and the fact hes overweight and always injured. O'Leary mimicking his celebration at the end of that match makes me hate O'Leary more :)

(Jaysus, I gotta calm down)

Dublin12
18/08/2005, 2:05 PM
[QUOTE=Aldini98] O'Leary mimicking his celebration at the end of that match makes me hate O'Leary more :)

Maybe when Dave is old and fat he could be doing the same celebrations as Irish manager as we win the European Championship ;)

Aldini98
18/08/2005, 3:49 PM
[QUOTE=Aldini98] O'Leary mimicking his celebration at the end of that match makes me hate O'Leary more :)

Maybe when Dave is old and fat he could be doing the same celebrations as Irish manager as we win the European Championship ;)

Maybe you should stop smoking that doobie :)

Dublin12
19/08/2005, 8:31 AM
[QUOTE=Dublin12]

Maybe you should stop smoking that doobie :)

:D Maybe you need some,you still seem stressed after that cup final in May :D