View Full Version : Favourite/Funny Moments you have encountered in the Eircom League

monzo
12/08/2005, 8:57 PM
Thought this could be a few laughs and take away the doom and gloom from other topics, could well become a sticky some day too.... ;)

Favourite moments
When Kevin McHugh scored his hattrick against Longford in 01-02 playoff, was great, from way out too iirc :eek:

The 6-0 demolition of Athlone last year, 1-0 going into the 2nd half but Kev secured his hat-trick + goals from Breen, Gorman and Mohan made it a memorable night
Of course the 3-0 victory over Dundalk to give us our first league title ever is another, the buzz and atmosphere was excellent tbh :D

Funny moments:
The match against Bohs last month. A Bohs fan received a ball at HT & hid the ball under his jumper, dunno if he got away with it though plus the bohs fans were having great banter coming out with bizzare remarks. "Roddy Collins-Football genius" / hmm if we lose at least Rovers will be 5 points behind harps. Some guy kept chantin "your crowds are getting smaller, your crowds are getting smaller..." but it came out all croakily to which my dad said to me quietly- your throat is gettin sorer yer throat is getting sorer. Ffffffffb

The recent harps against St Pats match when the assistant referee(linesman) bumped into a photographer on the line . The assistant then had to be replaced after holding the game up for around 5 minutes

"who 's your Daddy?"- someone shouted at Delaney in the Shels v Glentoran match, which I thought was quite funny :D

Probably more but can't remember right now...

Others? :ball:

ultrafan
12/08/2005, 9:16 PM
funniest moment: Bray -v- Bohs. bohs scored a winner in the last minute and in a fit of rage an elderly bray fan threw his hat on the ground and proceeded to stamp on it

Dyl10
12/08/2005, 9:24 PM
funniest moment: Bray -v- Bohs. bohs scored a winner in the last minute and in a fit of rage an elderly bray fan threw his hat on the ground and proceeded to stamp on it
:D :D :D

The Drogheda Bohs game. drogs went 2-1 up and started singing "you only sing when your winning" Then Bohs went 3-2 up and sure enough the Bohs fans started singing and the Drogs fans went very very quiet

12/08/2005, 9:29 PM
fav moment was ratnolds return to the cross with rovers..ball came into the box and dan murray took one of his usual wild swings...full force strike of the ball got ratnolds into the face

oh what a joy to see the mercenary decked out in front of the shed for a good 5 minutes

redgav
12/08/2005, 10:02 PM
City away support at dalymount for the rovers game .Whenever some rovers fella ws injured ,the city support started singing " don't get injured,you won't be paid ,Don't get injured ,you won't get paid"

At the shels game singing "ritchie and dessie ,different fathers" and to top it all off ,loudly ordering 200 carrolls in the tolka bar ,in full earshot of certain mentalist chairmen :D

12/08/2005, 10:05 PM
fav moment was ratnolds return to the cross with rovers..ball came into the box and dan murray took one of his usual wild swings...full force strike of the ball got ratnolds into the face

oh what a joy to see the mercenary decked out in front of the shed for a good 5 minutes

He's looking good for his first Shels apperance against you on Monday :cool: ;)

12/08/2005, 10:13 PM
Funniest moment has to be Fenlon and Byrne totally losing the plot after the first game between Bohs and Shels at Dalymount this season.

Then one wag in the stand pipes up with:

"Don't get Ollie angry - he'll have us ****ed out of the League!"

12/08/2005, 10:24 PM
Roddy and Ollie.

Also, the Dundalk fans I saw last season drinking in the Carlisle and then acting all innocent when the Gards came for the drink.

ccfcgirl
12/08/2005, 10:30 PM
Digger doing his dance.And when the langer song first came out all city fans just pointed at the Shamrock Rovers fans .

12/08/2005, 10:36 PM
Just remembered the Bray-Belgrove u21's match. Keith Kelch kicked the ball away after a foul, it hit the lino and Kelchy was sent off!

Vitruvian Man
12/08/2005, 10:40 PM
A few years ago the BSC's head knacker was standing watching the game and posing the hard man when a Damien lynch (I think) clearance hit him full-force in the nuts and he went down like a sack of spuds. Loads of people took photos of him and put them up on the net - classic.

Stephen O'Brien doing the ooompa lumpa dance for the Bohs fans during the game last week. That man is a legend - best non-Bohs player ever. FACT.

Derek
12/08/2005, 10:42 PM
I have two funny moments.

1. while hearing Roddy talk on Joe Duffy last year after the "Dublin City Gate" scandal, I phoned in and asked him a couple of questions. His reply was "that he had no conscience about the whole thing."

2. Watching the Pats v Derry game on TG4 tonight, I saw some of the Derry fans swigging cans of "Strongbow" cider.

It's a funny aul game.

Derek
12/08/2005, 10:44 PM
BSC's head knacker

what's the bsc, I think I know but just in case?

Vitruvian Man
12/08/2005, 10:48 PM
what's the bsc, I think I know but just in case?

Bohs Soccer Casuals.
Our so-called hooligan group.

Who if you believe the more imaginative Rovers fans, or the Shels fans who copy them, "run" our club. :rolleyes:

12/08/2005, 10:50 PM
In the cup two years ago when we played Galway...
Of course,being Sligo,the ref was a joke so one fan had enough so jumped over the barriers onto the pitch and chased the referee,until some very good tackling from the stewards stopped him in his tracks.. Anyone else remember that one?

hamish
12/08/2005, 11:34 PM
City away support at dalymount for the rovers game .Whenever some rovers fella ws injured ,the city support started singing " don't get injured,you won't be paid ,Don't get injured ,you won't get paid"

At the shels game singing "ritchie and dessie ,different fathers" and to top it all off ,loudly ordering 200 carrolls in the tolka bar ,in full earshot of certain mentalist chairmen

LOL :D :D :D

There used to be a bloke in Mel's who took up position on the railway side and every match, if he took a set to the linesman, would follow the latter up and down the sideline (outside the fence of course) abusing him non stop.
You really had to see it though. :D

12/08/2005, 11:42 PM
He's looking good for his first Shels apperance against you on Monday :cool: ;)

we will give him a very warm welcome

12/08/2005, 11:48 PM
Alan Kelly laughing when the Derry fans sang "does your mother do your hair" at him during tonights game vs Pats.

The Terry Leake og in the Brandywell many years back which has since been on a Question of Sport a few times.

12/08/2005, 11:59 PM
The plank at the cross. Very early 90's i think when no stretcher available they had to get a plank to get an injured player off the pitch. :eek:

Few years ago when Rovers playing warming up at halftime, ball went into the shed which wouldn't return it. Keeper (Gough or O'Dowd, i can never remember) came into the packed shed to retrieve the ball.

This season watching Eamo on de mobile to Fenlon when he losing the plot & match at home to City.

One eyed kid in Drogheda who took his glass eye out. :eek:

hamish
13/08/2005, 7:08 AM
I remembering a game between B'sloe Town and Knockcroghery United in the Roscommon League in the early 80s. Liam "Lamma" Carroll, the Town right full went chasing after a ball to collect it for a throw in. He looked back at me to say something and, before he knew it, fell in to a bog hole, a deep, water filled, mucky boghole.

When we pulled him out, he looked like a cross between a hairy creature in Star Wars - Chewbacca, I think - and Treeleaf in Lord of the Rings. :D

hamish
13/08/2005, 7:13 AM
Jesus, the Galway and Roscommon Leagues were rough in the 70s - especially the newly formed rural clubs.

St. Bernard's United (Abbeyknockmoy/Galway League) have a lovely set up nowadays as have Cam Celtic (Brideswell.Athlone/Roscommon League).

I played against both clubs in the mid 70s and on each occasion, we togged out in both club's "dressingrooms"........sheds full of calves, cowsh!t and suchlike.

You had to be very careful when you were putting on your shorts...... in Abbeyknockmoy they were still at the suckling stage. :eek: :D

I can laugh about it now. :o

13/08/2005, 7:57 AM
Few years ago when Rovers playing warming up at halftime, ball went into the shed which wouldn't return it. Keeper (Gough or O'Dowd, i can never remember) came into the packed shed to retrieve the ball.

think it was gough

13/08/2005, 8:45 AM
In the cup two years ago when we played Galway...
Of course,being Sligo,the ref was a joke so one fan had enough so jumped over the barriers onto the pitch and chased the referee,until some very good tackling from the stewards stopped him in his tracks.. Anyone else remember that one?
:D I remember something like that happening alright but the best part of that match was when we bet yee 2-1. :D :D

BobtheDrog
13/08/2005, 10:23 AM
everytime we go to tolka something happpens last year jason byrne sent off for gesturing at the linesman that he was a wan*er, takes 5 minutes to leave the pitch and all you can hear as he enters the tunnel is a loud thud, this was followed up by ollie rushing onto the pitch at half time to try and get to the ref and having to be restrained by most of the stewards. then of course the more recent incident, but my favourite being at this years game in longford when we greeted digger as always with our hi ho chant he dropped to his knees and walked into the goal like that

Dr.Nightdub
13/08/2005, 10:49 AM
Digger was sent off against us last year, which robbed us of a lot of the fun we'd normally have with him. Their sub keeper definitely didn't have Digger's sense of humour, he wasn't one bit impressed with us singing "You're number 2 to a midget"

Dyl10
13/08/2005, 11:27 AM
Actually i have so many funny moments including "Tom the Gom"

Drumcondra Red
13/08/2005, 12:28 PM
jason byrne sent off for gesturing at the linesman that he was a wan*er, takes 5 minutes to leave the pitch and all you can hear as he enters the tunnel is a loud thud

You must have great hearing :rolleyes:

Waling past the Drogs fans last week, they had a throw at the edge of the box and one drogs fan shouts "Give it to Crawley!!!" Brilliant!!! I like to think it was Cosmo :D

13/08/2005, 3:30 PM
Remember Swan and Crowe kicking off against City one evening in the X and Swan fell on his ass as he tapped the ball to Crowe :p

Fenlon going menal after Georgie was "hit" by the Shels player in our first Setanta Cup game at the X, and me sitting in the stand behind him roaring abuse at him :D

Singing "Get off the wall" at Dolan after Liam Buckley took over Pats. What made it really funny was that there was a crack in the wall right under Dolan.

Sometimes when Éanna goes mental he's quite funny to look at :D

Seeing the Galway player getting a ball smacked full force against his own balls in the Cup tie this year was funny, as was the denial of a penno to Galway in the last minutes of that game and singing "Can you ref us every week?".

15/08/2005, 1:26 PM
Years ago, singing 'Pat Keane wears his brother's boots' while palying Cobh. And his stare at me, i lived to tell the tale.

The banter with the linesmen can be fun too, singing 'He's running down the touchline and hes sticking up his flag, cos he's a dedicated linesman with passion' and him cracking up.

Any Tom the Gom winding up moments is always funny too!

15/08/2005, 1:35 PM
Speaking of Tom. The time he crashed into the linesman at a pre-season friendly in Belfield against Longford was hilarious. :D

Ruairi
15/08/2005, 2:02 PM
up in belfield a few short months ago (5-1 in case ye cant remember), there were some fellas standing on a wall, when one of our lot started singing

"3 scanty bastids, standing on a wall, and if one scanty bastid, should accidentally get a job, there'd be two scanty bastids.."

in fact that whole day seemed to be just taking the p!iss out of students in a variety of ways, usually ending with a shout of "get a job"...

15/08/2005, 2:50 PM
Alan Kelly laughing when the Derry fans sang "does your mother do your hair" at him during tonights game vs Pats.

He didn't seem too pleased at "Did your boyfriend do your hair?" that he got in Dalymount in May from the Shels fans! :)

hoops1
15/08/2005, 2:58 PM
One of the funniest things I seen was a drunk/pyscothic Derry fan coming all the way across the pitch to taunt the Rovers fans after the beat us in the
Cup final well the look of horror on his face when approx 30 fans climbed the fence to chase him. I never seen a person sober up so quick or a drunk man run so fast!It was pure hilarity!

Juz the Hoop
15/08/2005, 3:00 PM
I have two funny moments.

1. while hearing Roddy talk on Joe Duffy last year after the "Dublin City Gate" scandal, I phoned in and asked him a couple of questions. His reply was "that he had no conscience about the whole thing."

2. Watching the Pats v Derry game on TG4 tonight, I saw some of the Derry fans swigging cans of "Strongbow" cider.

It's a funny aul game.

On point 1 the fuuniest bit of that interview was when "Adrienne" whoops I mean "Rocky" said Roddy had made him cry and duffy like a mother trying to keep to kids apart went "What do you make or making Ronan cry" I was crying allrite crying with laughter.

Funniest had to be in Santry in Feb 2000 we were beaten 2-1 by Waterford. We got a corner in the second half and as Tommy Dunne was walking backwards to get ready for his run up he fell over an advertising hording priceless. That and Jody Byrnes OG v Dundalk in the RDS we didnt know whether to celebrate or laugh when that went in.

JUZ

coislaoi
15/08/2005, 3:15 PM
This one comes under the title "I was young and didn't realise that players could hear the abuse shouted from the terraces". At a Bray v Cork City match at the Carlisle, I was giving dogs abuse to one of the Bray midfielders for a bad tackle on one of our players. This was the very early 90's. I was standing at the wall in front of the shed. Anyway the object of my tirade scored and the first thing he did was run straight over to me telling me that I could shove the goal up my arse etc etc. Everyone had a right good laugh at my expense. Apparently the look of astonishment on my face was priceless!!

shedite
15/08/2005, 3:27 PM
My best moment was Georgie's goal beating Bohs 3-2 at home. Best atmosphere I've ever been at.

Also the 3-0 thrashing of Shels on the first day of the season a few years back when two young stirkers made their first appearance on leeside :)

Funny moments include at Pats a few years back when we lost the league to an Ozam header. Bit of trouble after and someone next to me threw a stone at some Pats fan, I turned to see who did it and it was my English teacher!

Also at Bohs last year, in the pub afterwards when one of my extremly drunk friends thought it was only half time

BobtheDrog
15/08/2005, 3:53 PM
You must have great hearing :rolleyes:

Waling past the Drogs fans last week, they had a throw at the edge of the box and one drogs fan shouts "Give it to Crawley!!!" Brilliant!!! I like to think it was Cosmo :D

as a matter of fact i do have great hearing and was down in that corner anyway, am pretty sure it was cosmo who shouted give it to crawley but cant be 100%

Dublin 5 Hoop
15/08/2005, 4:01 PM
Funniest moment this season has to be the banner about Ollie Byrne put up by Rovers fans at tolka this year. Pure class.