View Full Version : Games weekend 7th to 19th April
total hoofball
08/04/2023, 9:26 AM
First rumbles of discontent towards Duff from some Shels fans last night. It's been evident going back to last season we have been built up from the backline and our recruitment in the off season reflected that and it's biting us now
Our final third issues this season are bigger than just Sean Boyd being injured. Duff had no confidence in Dan Carr last season and looks to be same with Kyle Robinson this season and with no other alternatives upfront in our squad it may be a major slog for us scoring goals until the transfer window is open in July with 22 of 36 games already completed at that point
UCD worked hard mobilised did well but that is definitely the weakest UCD team I've ever seen at Premier Division level
sbgawa
08/04/2023, 9:31 AM
I go back to rovers last game in tolka. Nil nil and shels get two free kicks late on. I was expecting them to pump both into the box and probably score given the way our season was going but in both cases they kicked for touch in the corner .....if you don't even try to score its hardly going to happen by accident.
How long is boyd out for?
Another good win for Pats following on from last weeks win over UCD. Not looking into it too much as the opposition in both games were quite poor. Several nearly moments in the first half, I thought pats should’ve scored at least another one or two but Cork almost came away with an equaliser when Keating hit the bar against the run of play. Forrester and Mulraney are an absolute joy to watch in full flow and Jason McClelland the forgotten man has been excellent in his last 2 games which were also his first of the season.
Thought we played well, if a bit loose at the back at times. The game was still in the balance I felt until the second goal.I really thought he lob over the keeper was in for Cork, very unlucky that it hit the bar. At 1-1 could have been a different game. Having said that we were comfortable once we got the second. Mulreany was very good I thought, particularly in the first half. Three goals in three for him now. Jason McClelland, who I don’t think any Pats fan would have had as a first choice starter, has done well in the last two games, capped with his goal last night.
League is very tight now. We are actually only a point off third, as are Rovers and Dundalk. Drogheda taking the points at the Brandywell was a surprise, feels like it’s going to be that sort of season. Tough trip to Drogheda for Pats on Monday now.
Kingswood Rover
08/04/2023, 10:00 AM
Rovers well worth the win last night. Bohs were decent for the first 25 and needed to score. Burkeys best game this year and Jack B is now really starting to pull the strings. We had 2 centre halves booked but lessons learnt and they both maintained their discipline. UCD now on Monday and a must win game again.
The Bowler
08/04/2023, 10:01 AM
By contrast Sunderland and Hull drew 4-4 last night; Shels' eight games' worth of goals scored in 90 minutes.
We still have Mikey Raggett to come back from injury which may help us. Our start is very similar to last season actually, when we improved as the year went on and as a new forward returned from injury.
That of course is no guarantee the season will pan out exactly like last season...
Interestingly Mikey Raggett similar enough profile to Tommy Lonergan and Myler keeps mentioning him like he's going to save the season, I think that's more hope than expectation in truth. The main difference this year will be that Cork are likely a fair bit better than Harps, and will pick up plenty of points at home in front of full houses
Loifan_76
08/04/2023, 11:13 AM
Bowler, any word on why Divine wasn't on the bench last night? He scored in pre season and looked good when subbed late in games, think he deserves a start as our striker. He would be a tall person in the box to get something from corners. Our set pieces are dire.
No idea if Raggett will perform a Lonergan style miracle but we need something.
08/04/2023, 11:38 AM
I think he was injured in the warm-up; he was announced on the bench originally but there was a late change.
08/04/2023, 11:50 AM
By the way Cork fans, what’s the story with Tunde ? Is he injured or what ? I actually only missed him after the game last night. I think he could have caused a few problems for Pats defence with the way the game went.
Dermobohs
08/04/2023, 11:56 AM
Rovers well worth the win last night. Bohs were decent for the first 25 and needed to score. Burkeys best game this year and Jack B is now really starting to pull the strings. We had 2 centre halves booked but lessons learnt and they both maintained their discipline. UCD now on Monday and a must win game again.
Don’t know if any of you hoops bought the programme last night, but ex bohs and rovers centre half jacko mcdonagh is not well at all at present, having suffered a stroke. His family are running a go fund me on fb to get help with treatment, be nice to see a big contribution from his former clubs’ fans.
It’s at. www.gofundme.com/f/jacko-mcdonagh
The Bowler
08/04/2023, 11:56 AM
I think he was injured in the warm-up; he was announced on the bench originally but there was a late change.
Commentator made reference to Todd pulling up injured in the warm up and being replaced by Divine on the bench, maybe they both pulled up injured,, but with Declan in the commentary booth, accuracy of detail wouldn't be a strong point.. Poor Todd is completely knackered having been played injured for months on end last year, strapped up like a mummy to get to the end of the season.
Jd2793
08/04/2023, 12:13 PM
By the way Cork fans, what’s the story with Tunde ? Is he injured or what ? I actually only missed him after the game last night. I think he could have caused a few problems for Pats defence with the way the game went.
injured i believe
Calcio Jack
08/04/2023, 12:24 PM
Don’t know if any of you hoops bought the programme last night, but ex bohs and rovers centre half jacko mcdonagh is not well at all at present, having suffered a stroke. His family are running a go fund me on fb to get help with treatment, be nice to see a big contribution from his former clubs’ fans.
Thanks for putting that out…. Poor guy only 60… think all will agree he was a class act … and back in the the day his hair style alone was worthy of legend status ….
08/04/2023, 1:03 PM
Good for Treaty to get the win last night. But we are still dirt and Longford are no better.
From what I've seen, it's a really really poor first division.
joey B
08/04/2023, 1:11 PM
Good for Treaty to get the win last night. But we are still dirt and Longford are no better.
It’s shocking,seems much worse since the last time we were in it…..
08/04/2023, 1:27 PM
It's absolutely horrific
Shearer
08/04/2023, 3:11 PM
The First Division is particularly bad this year.
I don't want it to sound like sour grapes because Treaty are bad but jesus it is awful.
Galway showing the benefits of being Full time because they're streets ahead of everyone else. Waterford, despite a bad start, are beginning to show same.
Dermobohs
08/04/2023, 3:12 PM
Thanks for putting that out…. Poor guy only 60… think all will agree he was a class act … and back in the the day his hair style alone was worthy of legend status ….
Indeed CJ!!
Spread the word on your end if you would
Dermobohs
08/04/2023, 3:14 PM
Indeed CJ!!
Spread the word on your end if you would
They’re short by 120k so a bit of pushing both sets of fans be reachable surely
Some questionable refereeing decisions again tonight. Felt that we created a bit more in a tight game and were just about worth the win.
Ah Sligo def deserved to win, Dundalk were too slow all night, never really got going, take 4 key players out Hoban (inj) Benson (suspended), Annsely (injured - but on a diff level was quite sick in hospital but now back) and Paul Doyle (also inj) we look toothless.
Sickner to lose the ball like that in 89th min then lose the game - but that's what you get making stupid mistakes. Confidence has to be low.
08/04/2023, 4:41 PM
I don't want it to sound like sour grapes because Treaty are bad but jesus it is awful.
Galway showing the benefits of being Full time because they're streets ahead of everyone else. Waterford, despite a bad start, are beginning to show same.
Galway and Waterford are so far ahead of the rest, from what I've seen so far. Some of the teams are absolutely dreadful. Have definitely seen the First Division worse, but this year is running anything previous very close. The likes of Bray and Wexford will do okay as the year goes on, but it's a case of the also-ran after that.
Only home from Kerry this evening, altogether a fairly pleasant visit and a new ground ticked off the list. People there were largely very friendly and helpful. Match night operations were fairly good. It's a grand enough little main stand, but really could do with it going the length of the pitch. The opposite end being completely bare was a bit strange.
They could do with looking at spectator facilities around the rest of the ground too. A sloped path on the away side, going uphill towards the media hut meant that if you weren't in against the fence, you were missing at least 30% of the pitch up the other end. I'm 6'2 couldn't see anything beyond the halfway line along that side of the pitch.
For their first year though, they're a great credit. Everything running really smoothly, access and exit very good with over a thousand people in, plenty of toilets, even if they were portaloos, different food options, loads of stewards around the ground, and a lot of helpful staff to help with media access afterwards.
If they can build up the ground and keep going as they have started, they'll be a brilliant addition to the league in the long run.
da bishop
08/04/2023, 5:47 PM
Important win for Treaty in a poor game overall,Longford on top first half , big improvement from Tommy Barretts men in second half with a good goal from Success Endugan the highlight.Only shock was Tommys post match interview where he ..forgot ...to mention how strong the opposition are,how they have recruited far more than Treaty and are almost fulltime,,how their budget is huge,how Treaty are amateur and have no budget,how its all about the project etc etc and how hes not using any of these as an excuse.Another big one next week in Harps.
CraftyToePoke
08/04/2023, 6:18 PM
It’s shocking,seems much worse since the last time we were in it…..
It's absolutely horrific
Poor Kerry FC reading these :D
Jd2793
08/04/2023, 6:18 PM
when has the first division been anything other than poor in all truth? last season , athlone bray cobh all cat, very average city side winning the league ahead of to average teams in galway and waterford. galway have improved a lot this season, cant see them not winning the pot.
legendz
08/04/2023, 6:52 PM
Cork, Waterford and Galway were a step above everyone else last season. Only two remain and there is still a gap.
The majority of Kerry's squad have not played at this level before. The starting XI last night had 5 changes from the previous game.
The other 7 clubs are not at a level too different from previous seasons. A fly by night club might come in as if they invented football and are the best thing since sliced bread! Kerry have come in fully aware of the challenge, respectful of the league and have been competitive against 7 of the 8 they have come up against so far. There were signs again last night of the experience being built within the squad. People on the outside will understandably just see the results.
08/04/2023, 8:42 PM
Observations from last night in Markets Field that Hallahan GK for Treaty is cat. The amount of miskicks he made was shocking. The mans a psychopath spending more time trying to shut us up behind the goal. No wonder he was out of the loi for so long at Cobh Wanderers! Source Treatys program last night!
Very disappointed we had done so well to bring it it back to 2 all. But we gave them too much space for Treatys winner.
By the way Treatys program is superb!
sulywaterfordfc
08/04/2023, 9:00 PM
Galway and Waterford are so far ahead of the rest, from what I've seen so far. Some of the teams are absolutely dreadful. Have definitely seen the First Division worse, but this year is running anything previous very close. The likes of Bray and Wexford will do okay as the year goes on, but it's a case of the also-ran after that.
Only home from Kerry this evening, altogether a fairly pleasant visit and a new ground ticked off the list. People there were largely very friendly and helpful. Match night operations were fairly good. It's a grand enough little main stand, but really could do with it going the length of the pitch. The opposite end being completely bare was a bit strange.
They could do with looking at spectator facilities around the rest of the ground too. A sloped path on the away side, going uphill towards the media hut meant that if you weren't in against the fence, you were missing at least 30% of the pitch up the other end. I'm 6'2 couldn't see anything beyond the halfway line along that side of the pitch.
For their first year though, they're a great credit. Everything running really smoothly, access and exit very good with over a thousand people in, plenty of toilets, even if they were portaloos, different food options, loads of stewards around the ground, and a lot of helpful staff to help with media access afterwards.
If they can build up the ground and keep going as they have started, they'll be a brilliant addition to the league in the long run.
Kerry seemingly have an ideal setup for a first year club at this level. It’s important now that as they grow as a club they also develop the ground. As Wexford also had the ideal setup when they came into the level had these big plans for ground development but the only thing that has changed since, is the condition of the temporary made permanent stand has deteriorated badly. No talk of any ground development either.
ontheotherhand
08/04/2023, 9:06 PM
We were poor last night and you were not. Was only going to be one outcome in a game like that. If we play like that on Monday we will be getting beat again. Even against a Derry side with 1 win in the last 4.
Yeah very poor and caught us at a time when we are starting to click. To be fair most teams will struggle with Jack and Burke playing like that. Were you missing anybody?
Coote is a smashing player all the same. He was the best player on the pitch while you were on top in the first half.
ontheotherhand
08/04/2023, 9:06 PM
Fair play Dermo. Very sad.
The Bowler
09/04/2023, 12:25 AM
All the comments about how bad the 1st Division is,.completely accurate, it's utter muck from what I've seen, and it speaks to why so many quality players with full time jobs elect to play LSL/MSL etc., why would you bother your arse traveling the length and breadth of our land to play that level of muck. Div 1 in reality is like PL2 in UK (just worse) it's an option for the young lads, but if you have a job, you realise that you can play at a decent level, have your summers off football to spend time with family....versus earning 150 quid a week giving up every Friday and most Bank Holiday Mondays. The whole thing is broken really. Such a shame really, because the fans are coming. But the whole league is predicated on a tiny percentage getting moves to League 1 or 2, and a tiny percentage of them attaining success. But I still f.c.ing love it, and all who sail in it.
legendz
09/04/2023, 7:21 AM
Kerry seemingly have an ideal setup for a first year club at this level. It’s important now that as they grow as a club they also develop the ground. As Wexford also had the ideal setup when they came into the level had these big plans for ground development but the only thing that has changed since, is the condition of the temporary made permanent stand has deteriorated badly. No talk of any ground development either. Wexford and Kerry will need financial support to develop their grounds. Kerry's setup off the park in being a club for the community should strengthen their case for funding. The ground needs to be developed to sufficiently cater for the existing level of support and also for the away supporters. I'm not sure how soon that can happen. When the club is more of a household name in the league and the community there needs to be plans made public on the future development of the ground and the support of businesses and supporters will be required.
total hoofball
09/04/2023, 8:28 AM
I go back to rovers last game in tolka. Nil nil and shels get two free kicks late on. I was expecting them to pump both into the box and probably score given the way our season was going but in both cases they kicked for touch in the corner .....if you don't even try to score its hardly going to happen by accident.
How long is boyd out for?
June or early July at the latest
sbgawa
09/04/2023, 10:02 AM
June or early July at the latest
Jesus, if it wasn't for bad luck that kid would have no luck at all
09/04/2023, 1:59 PM
Wexford and Kerry will need financial support to develop their grounds. Kerry's setup off the park in being a club for the community should strengthen their case for funding. The ground needs to be developed to sufficiently cater for the existing level of support and also for the away supporters. I'm not sure how soon that can happen. When the club is more of a household name in the league and the community there needs to be plans made public on the future development of the ground and the support of businesses and supporters will be required.
If the club keep selling out games then it should come sooner rather than later. Great to see good numbers attending games and already a small vocal crowd there getting behind the team. Long may it last.
legendz
09/04/2023, 2:34 PM
If the club keep selling out games then it should come sooner rather than later. Great to see good numbers attending games and already a small vocal crowd there getting behind the team. Long may it last.
Finn Harps brought a good atmosphere. Fair play! A small vocal home support. Many are happy to be there. The team on the park need to get them rocking and singing! It is not too far away I hope! If a second goal had come for Kerry on Friday, there was an energy that the roof would have been blown off the Main Stand! Not enough chances were created by Kerry late on to get the crowd involved. Ireland often have a grandstand finish with vocal support.
culloty82
09/04/2023, 5:32 PM
Kerry seemingly have an ideal setup for a first year club at this level. It’s important now that as they grow as a club they also develop the ground. As Wexford also had the ideal setup when they came into the level had these big plans for ground development but the only thing that has changed since, is the condition of the temporary made permanent stand has deteriorated badly. No talk of any ground development either.
In theory, the club should be ideally placed when it comes to applying for development funding, regardless of the government, as the county has one current minister, and another TD recently appointed to the front bench of the main opposition party. Convincing the local council to play ball, much like Sligo and the Dublin clubs have done in recent times, may prove more difficult as there are simultaneous plans to develop Killarney's Fitzgerald Stadium, but as stated, Kerry are reasonably well organised off the pitch, and the local media are firmly supportive, so hopefully there will be further improvements come the close season.
09/04/2023, 6:17 PM
In theory, the club should be ideally placed when it comes to applying for development funding, regardless of the government, as the county has one current minister, and another TD recently appointed to the front bench of the main opposition party. Convincing the local council to play ball, much like Sligo and the Dublin clubs have done in recent times, may prove more difficult as there are simultaneous plans to develop Killarney's Fitzgerald Stadium, but as stated, Kerry are reasonably well organised off the pitch, and the local media are firmly supportive, so hopefully there will be further improvements come the close season.
I don't think they need any sort of massive investment to make it a relatively comfortable little stadium. A million euro would go a long way to providing the improvements they need. The field behind the goal could also be key in future to providing another access/exit point and possibly another stand if they could get their hands on it.
nr637
10/04/2023, 12:00 AM
I don't think they need any sort of massive investment to make it a relatively comfortable little stadium. A million euro would go a long way to providing the improvements they need. The field behind the goal could also be key in future to providing another access/exit point and possibly another stand if they could get their hands on it.
If they could just make the ground in Mounthawk look like a football ground.
The perimeter needs to be defined with a wall.
I know the entrance is a major problem.
The main seated stand to be extended the full length of the pitch.
Some small terracing or better standing areas on the other side and behind the goals.
I know this will take time, but the ground is a bit dire!
10/04/2023, 6:54 PM
Big score incoming in Tallaght based on our lineup anyway. Five changes from Friday, one guy making his debut, another two making full debuts (after 45 minutes between them up till now), two others on the bench for the first time. Could be a long night.
Bohtastic
10/04/2023, 6:58 PM
Poor enough fare in the Brandywell.
Not sure what the rationale is regarding our selection, looks like Devine's planning to use pace of Connolly and Williams, but we're missing someone to get on the ball- coote, flores, akintunde or McManus could do it. No injuries apparently, so a headscratcher.
Dermobohs
10/04/2023, 7:24 PM
Poor enough fare in the Brandywell.
Not sure what the rationale is regarding our selection, looks like Devine's planning to use pace of Connolly and Williams, but we're missing someone to get on the ball- coote, flores, akintunde or McManus could do it. No injuries apparently, so a headscratcher.
Not really, Afolabi is carrying a slight knock, McManus is a kid, needs managing game time, Williams has been looking good in sub appearances as has Clarke so the game plan is rest who needs it, and give minutes to the lads who need that. Also away in Derry, he’s picking a side to stifle it and maybe nick a goal to win it? We’re looking ok.
Most entertaining thing until the penalty has been the one Derry commentator keeping saying how the game “needs some p!ss injected into it”. Either that or pace :D
1-0 Bohs
Not really, Afolabi is carrying a slight knock, McManus is a kid, needs managing game time, Williams has been looking good in sub appearances as has Clarke so the game plan is rest who needs it, and give minutes to the lads who need that. Also away in Derry, he’s picking a side to stifle it and maybe nick a goal to win it? We’re looking ok.
I don’t mind a few changes between two of the biggest games of the season either, to rest up players and let niggles get resolved. We have a good sized squad with similar quality in most positions. Might as well use them.
ger121
10/04/2023, 7:59 PM
What a way to round off the Easter weekend.
joey B
10/04/2023, 8:00 PM
Big win for Bohs in Derry ,great response from them after Friday night….
Fantastic 3 points and a great way to bounce back after Friday. Not scintillating stuff by any means but we’re really well organized and hard to beat, street smart.
Six points clear after the first round - I think that means we’ll win the league by 24 points. Nice.
Dermobohs
10/04/2023, 8:25 PM
Told yis, use the squad , keep everyone sharp, Dec has done a really solid job thus far, full time and eye on everybody, exactly what we’ve lacked up to now.
Top is a bit past expectation, but atm we’re headed firmly towards top 4 and a good lash at the cup, that’ll do for me in the lads first season, impressive.
kksaints
10/04/2023, 9:04 PM
Really enjoyable game in Drogheda. A good win for us although it might have come at a cost with Mulraney and Redmond going off injured, Redmond could be a big blow as Lewis isn't very convincing. McClelland has been a revelation since coming back into the squad for the UCD match. Forrester was great tonight, he got two goals and played some really good passes, Drogheda are a decent side although I was slightly surprised with how shaky defensively there were at times. Ahiu looks a really good player and Dreaper did well at holding the ball up. Don't think they need worry about relegation too much. Three wins from three for us but a big test on Friday in Dalymount.
sbgawa
10/04/2023, 9:28 PM
Big score incoming in Tallaght based on our lineup anyway. Five changes from Friday, one guy making his debut, another two making full debuts (after 45 minutes between them up till now), two others on the bench for the first time. Could be a long night.
Very one sided alright but tbf your season isn't about tonight.
Some decent players in ucd but physically they struggled against senior pros.
Bohs winning in derry wasn't a surprise tbh, is Higgins under pressure?
Dermobohs
10/04/2023, 9:40 PM
Very one sided alright but tbf your season isn't about tonight.
Some decent players in ucd but physically they struggled against senior pros.
Bohs winning in derry wasn't a surprise tbh, is Higgins under pressure?
I thought the wins bonus tbh, gladly settled for a point up there really.
Most entertaining thing until the penalty has been the one Derry commentator keeping saying how the game “needs some p!ss injected into it”. Either that or pace :D
1-0 Bohs
Ha, yeah I heard that from the commentator. ;);)
Watched the first half from the Brandywell prior to the Pats game, also watched Cork/Dundalk earlier. Season pass from LOItv proving great value. Great result for Bohs in Derry.