View Full Version : Breaking news off the wire

Nempton
10/08/2005, 2:57 PM
A reliable source in a local media outlet has just informed me that NOC has departed. We will have more updates shortly. I wonder will he be compensated for his remaining four and a half years.
Now everyone put on a happy face :D :D :D

Pauliwallnuts
10/08/2005, 3:07 PM
And about time too.

Goodbye & good luck now lets get Kerley back a.s.a.p

lim abroad
10/08/2005, 3:33 PM
is this a wind up?

10/08/2005, 3:33 PM
Oh no :( . Why now? :mad: . I wanted to see some hoofball in the Showgrounds on Saturday :D

Castle Barracks
10/08/2005, 4:27 PM
Can't believe the board would make such a rash decision only 5 months into Noel O'Connor's tenure!Hasn't he come out & stated that he was looking more to next season as regards a promotion challenge?We've come a long way in a short time already,considering the doldrums that we were in prior to March!Rome wasn't built in a day!

Westside
10/08/2005, 5:35 PM
A reliable source in a local media outlet has just informed me that NOC has departed. We will have more updates shortly. I wonder will he be compensated for his remaining four and a half years.
Now everyone put on a happy face :D :D :D Don't know whether to beleive this one or not, the next few days will reveal all I suppose, well I know who you would like to see in (back) there as his replacement but anyone else got any names they would like to throw into the melting pot!!!!!

10/08/2005, 6:09 PM
but anyone else got any names they would like to throw into the melting pot!!!!!Felix Healy? Don O'Riordan? Who knows :D

fc hammer
10/08/2005, 6:30 PM
Pat Dolan...

10/08/2005, 6:56 PM
Its just been confirmed...DON IS BACK.
From Irish League Soccer Abroad website:
Limerick F.C. have announced in a brief media statement that Don O'Riordon has signed a 3 year contract as manager and will be assisted by George Henry.O'Riordon,who had managed Sligo Rovers until talking up a position as youth administrator at Shefield United last season will take over from Noel O'Connor who left his position today,sighting "invested interests" as his reason for departure.Former Clyde Defender Henry will assist O'Riordon until the end of the season.

Sorry i cant provide a link to the website.
Anyway,you got to feel sorry for Limerick fans at a time like this...

10/08/2005, 7:07 PM
:eek:, the Don is back! God help Limerick. Ye will be praying that NO'C comes back :D

10/08/2005, 7:09 PM
lims fans are very quite about this....do ye not realize that Athlone will be laughing at ye with that mastermind as a manager........
Limerick=6th place for 3 years in a row now.

10/08/2005, 9:33 PM
A lot of waffle being spouted here lads we await the truth and it usually comes out in dribs and drabs over the coming days.

LimerickYouth
10/08/2005, 9:52 PM
O Conner is goin no where! Thats a guarentee!

10/08/2005, 10:29 PM
Its just been confirmed...DON IS BACK.
From Irish League Soccer Abroad website:
Limerick F.C. have announced in a brief media statement that Don O'Riordon has signed a 3 year contract as manager and will be assisted by George Henry.O'Riordon,who had managed Sligo Rovers until talking up a position as youth administrator at Shefield United last season will take over from Noel O'Connor who left his position today,sighting "invested interests" as his reason for departure.Former Clyde Defender Henry will assist O'Riordon until the end of the season.

Sorry i cant provide a link to the website.
Anyway,you got to feel sorry for Limerick fans at a time like this...

A website that you can't provide a link for, and also one that can't spell, or use the English language correctly.....very dependable :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

10/08/2005, 11:23 PM
A wesite that you can't provide a link for, and also one that can't spell, or use the English language correctly.....very dependable :rolleyes: :rolleyes::D, I think he's found you out the stars.

declan hide
11/08/2005, 7:29 AM
A wesite

yeah how dare he not spell properly! :D

Kerry Blue
11/08/2005, 11:04 AM
Small piece in today's Star about this 'story':

Limerick turmoil
Limerick owner Danny Drew yesterday refused to deny speculation that manager Noel O'Connor was on his way out of the club. According to sources within the city, O'Connor - just five months into a five-year deal at the club - was no longer in charge of the club. Drew would not comment on the former Cork City number two's position and was not contactable by phone last night. Results have not gone well recently for the Blues after a whirlwind start to the campaign.

11/08/2005, 1:11 PM
Limerick FC chairman Danny Drew has insisted that manager Noel O'Connor has not resigned from the club despite media speculation to the contrary.

Drew has reacted strongly to speculation suggesting O'Connor was on his way out of the club following a recent run of poor results and insists the former Cork City number two is fully focussed on the club's promotion challenge.

Speaking exclusively to RTÉ, Drew insisted: "Noel O'Connor is in charge for the game against Sligo Rovers. He has not resigned and any media reports suggesting the club is in turmoil are complete rubbish.

"It's in better shape now than it's ever been. All eyes are focussed on the Sligo match as we try to keep our promotion challenge alive."

Limerick currently trail second placed Sligo by eight points and travel to The Showgrounds this Saturday hoping to resurrect their promotion hopes.

Kick-off is at 7.30pm.

Breifne
11/08/2005, 1:47 PM
I heard from a very good source, that Danny Drew knew nothing about Noel O'Connor 'resigning' from Limerick yesterday, but that he knew that rumours were going around here.

Its just a load of boll ox started by someone who is looking to cause maximum disturbance to Limerick.

11/08/2005, 1:49 PM
I heard from a very good source, that Danny Drew knew nothing about Noel O'Connor 'resigning' from Limerick yesterday, but that he knew that rumours were going around here.here? as in foot.ie? Does he check it up I wonder? Hi Danny! :D

Brucie
11/08/2005, 2:12 PM
Theres only one problem : from what I hear Danny Drewe made up the rumors himself ...why ???. :confused:

treatyfc
11/08/2005, 2:30 PM
It appears to be complete bull...I hear its Drew trying to get attention again, ie: Noel linked to Waterford a while back. Doesn't like being out of the papers does our Danny boy

declan hide
11/08/2005, 2:34 PM
[QUOTE=Breifne]maximum disturbance QUOTE]

was there ever a punk band called that? maybe SLKs new band could use it?

11/08/2005, 2:48 PM
I told Nempton not to break that story, honest to God I did, at least not til it was somewhat confirmed and ye all know how much I look my rumours, which leads me to.............

From what I hear, the sacking of O Connor story was a ruse to see who was leaking the stories from inside the club, who they went to, and how fast they would come out. Pretty clever Danny, gotta hand this flawless plan to you, now if only there were a machine that you could make a wish to be a big boy like Tom Hanks did in that movie you'd be sorted

11/08/2005, 4:36 PM
Somebody told me today that Danny Drew started the rumour himself to put Sligo off balance? How much more unbelievable can this club get? :confused:

Thomas McGauley gone after Drew had a go at him after the game last Friday... RTE threatening blackouts on the club (not that we see much airtime anyway), more players leaving... if 10% of the stories that have emerged in the last couple of days are true we are undoubtedly the most mental, unpredictable body in world football. :eek:

11/08/2005, 4:39 PM
Somebody told me today that Danny Drew started the rumour himself to put Sligo off balance? How much more unbelievable can this club get? :confused:How is that going to put us off balance :confused:

11/08/2005, 4:40 PM
Somebody told me today that Danny Drew started the rumour himself to put Sligo off balance? How much more unbelievable can this club get? :confused:
Who started that rumour?

11/08/2005, 4:50 PM
How is that going to put us off balance :confused:

I couldn't figure that part out myself, maybe you'd plan for a team who play football and then be taken by surprise when we hoof gleefully for 90 minutes?

11/08/2005, 8:44 PM
Ok lads i belive the whole thing is waffle from the orig story (nempton check your sources please) and right down to the muck from the sligo lads about O'Riordan, please :rolleyes: so forget all this and lets hope Noel doesnt feel to underminded by anyone.

4tothefloor
11/08/2005, 10:31 PM
At this stage lads it's just a load of second guessing - Drew did it to to find out who is leaking stories, he did it to put Sligo off etc. For a while there everyone was in heaven, now everyone is on a downer again. NOC is such a popular manager.... :p

If it is true that Drew had a go at McGauley, and McGauley has left because of it, it's just another example of why the fans have a problem with the current management. It's bad enough having a manager who hasn't a clue, but now a chairman getting involved in team affairs as well. Dream Team on Sky One isn't a patch on this, it really isn't :rolleyes:

A few more weeks of this crap, and I'll be jacking in the towel going to Rathbane. I don't see why I should be giving a prat a tenner every second week so he can act the b****x. Plus cars are getting broken into as well now, the stewarding\security that was there at the start of the season has disappeared. All of a sudden our supposed moneybags chairman seems to be doing a lot of penny pinching. He'll be doing even more if he doesn't cop on to himself and grow up fast.

muls world
11/08/2005, 11:08 PM
Despite McGauleys poor record with red cards he is a committed player and was harshly sent off last Friday against Kilkenny IMO. Why danny boy got involved beggers belief. That should have being the managers job, whatever the crediantials of NOC and as we have seen on this forum he has his critics and supporters.
I havent being to that many games to date and if this crap, (the long ball tactics included) doesnt cease I wont be throwing away my hard earned money every second week.
Dont get me wrong, I will always follow the blues but things will have to improve and soon, the honeymoon period is well and truely over

declan hide
12/08/2005, 7:36 AM
rte threatening blackouts? would they not make a series from all the goings on? the ratings would be unreal...much better than the roddy collins programme they did or indeed as someone else said...dream team.

it just gets worse. poor on the field. embarassing off it.

12/08/2005, 7:45 AM
It was all a wind-up :confused: That's put me right off my cornflakes.

BTW If Drew did put this rumour around thinking it would upset anyones preperations besides the Limerick players then hes truly gone mad :mad:

12/08/2005, 12:17 PM
so forget all this and lets hope Noel doesnt feel to underminded by anyone.

A dig at the PR Guru that is Drew I hope gael?

SouthCroydon
12/08/2005, 12:59 PM
i listen to rte on fridays and i think they have had a reporter at no more than two games they gave the wrong result out at the athlone game the reporter at one of the games did mention he had been banned from the pike field the previous season any reason why.so if there threatening ablackout i would say they have already done apretty good job.

12/08/2005, 1:04 PM
so if there threatening ablackout i would say they have already done apretty good job.

Personally I think they do a pretty good job at blacking out the whole division and the whole league to a slightly lesser degree! :p

12/08/2005, 1:50 PM
Pat McAuliffe has covered at least three of our home games this season, and thats more than any other club in the division. Its natural that premier games are going to get the majority of coverage on a National station, particularly as the division is dominated by Dublin teams, thus reducing RTE's operating costs. There are several live updates on 95fm during games and these are available on the radios website if you live outside the coverage area.

This 'rumour' is now a point of ridicule. Whoever started it, it is not welcome distraction and one that everyone can do without.Everyone is going to have opinions as to where it emanated from, and these opinions in turn are going to lead to more silly rumour, so perhaps an end to it now might be in order.

Lets concentrate on the football, however good or bad it may be!! :ball:

declan hide
12/08/2005, 2:35 PM
funnily enough almost everyone on here wants to concentrate on the football...but aside from the football being poor...the rest of the goings on in the club are overshadowing it and causing most talk amongst us.

12/08/2005, 3:07 PM
A few more weeks of this crap, and I'll be jacking in the towel going to Rathbane. I don't see why I should be giving a prat a tenner every second week so he can act the b****x.

I second that motion! And if I go then who are ye going to look to to throw wild allegations and start the gossip mill turning?!? I know JoeSoap would miss me anyway :)

SouthCroydon
12/08/2005, 8:00 PM
joesoap unfortunately i do live outside the coverge area and do not have access to a pc at home so rtelw is my only comunication for results and up dates on match nights.any answer to the question of why the reporter was banned from pike field a few seasons ago its just personnal interest really not limerick fc politics.hope for a good result tommorrow night

Nempton
13/08/2005, 2:28 PM
Originally by Gael353
(nempton check your sources please)
As you know Gael I actually did check with my source, you were there. The fact is that this story was broken to the Limerick Leader and Live95fm and both took it as truth that NOC had departed the club. Thats when I found out. Of course I was absolutely delighted and with news like this I'm certainly not going to keep it to myself. By all accounts the reliable (as in high up in the club) person who informed the local media was no longer available for contact. In fact all club officials were told more or less to keep their phones off. I think the club's stunt to create news around it has backfired spectacularly for a number of reasons...
(1) most Limerick fans even those who said give NOC to the end of the season were glad to hear he was gone. This has strenghtened the growing feeling amongst fans to remove NOC which leads to point two,

(2) that the club has undermined the authority and confidence in the manager by using him so casually to create a media cycle around Limerick FC which makes his position less than secure,

(3) the behaviour of the club in this manner is disturbing, there is no logic to such a move. If the intention was to unsettle Sligo then it has had the reverse effect and I think upset the tender balance that the club was clinging onto at the moment. With the fans support for Danny and NOC at a low this was certainly the last thing the club needed and finally

(4)its ironic that at a time when there's a poll on Danny, the arguement for him is that for without his money who knows where the club would be but its obvious the price we pay for having Danny in the club is to accept the behaviour of a man who clearly lost his senses a long time ago. His management style from day one has concerned me and the honeymoon period is now over as other fans find out about him. I don't think the Limerick fans will be cheering his name anymore as they did away to Kildare County. The next time they chant it, it will be more than likely they want him removed. If Danny wants a return on his investment in the club then he needs to step aside and let someone else manage the club affairs. Along with NOC he is having a detrimental effect on the club and undoing all the good work done so far. Is it any wonder that the fans which numbered 1,000 at the start of the season have been dwindling away at every match to just a couple of hundred.

Westside
13/08/2005, 3:24 PM
If Danny wants a return on his investment in the club then he needs to step aside and let someone else manage the club affairs. Along with NOC he is having a detrimental effect on the club and undoing all the good work done so far. Is it any wonder that the fans which numbered 1,000 at the start of the season have been dwindling away at every match to just a couple of hundred.I agree, I think if Danny wants to build a successful club then he should be looking to plan the future of Limerick Fc without the services of NOC. I think they bring the worst out in each other.While I was one of those saying he needs a season to see how far he has taken this side, I believe now he should walk away, as I feel it will get worse before it will get better.You are right the crowds have fallen dramatically and thats been mainly down to results and McCarthys departure dare I say it.Our form seems to have dissappered since he left as well as our supporters.Wonder what the reprucusions will be should we lose tonights fixture in the Showgrounds.Heres hoping we don't though. ;)

13/08/2005, 3:37 PM
Heres hoping we don't though. ;)Here's hoping ye do;) :D.

Kerry Blue
13/08/2005, 4:16 PM
According to a piece in today's Star by Robert Reid, this website was where the rumour of NOC's departure started. So I guess they are laying the blame for the 'hoax message posted on a football website' (direct quote from Star) on you Nempton. :rolleyes:
Now I hope you'll take the same stand as NOC has, being quoted in the paper saying:"I wouldn't even dignify it with a response." :)
Our chairman was also quoted:"Noel O'Connor is in charge for the game against Sligo Rovers. He has not resigned and any media reports suggesting the club is in turmoil are rubbish."

13/08/2005, 4:20 PM
Alright, which one of ye is Robert Reid? Come out with it now, admit it! :D

14/08/2005, 8:04 PM
[QUOTE=Nempton]As you know Gael I actually did check with my source, you were there.[QUOTE]

Well said nempton but i was saying that for other persons benifet. I too belive your spot on on how the story broke and yes i was standing or sitting right alongside you when it did. and i have said this to everyone who has cared to ask me on how the story came to being. The star have not asked me so therefore they have waffle. I think the blame is being laid at your feet with the internet hoaxer thing but rest assured most people know who the real source of this story is. You see the story didnt come from you in fact it has two if not three zones before you. You sinply forwarded it on to the public by using the net, exactly how it was intended to break prob. :rolleyes:

declan hide
15/08/2005, 9:34 AM
can you log off please and never visit this board again.

Nempton
15/08/2005, 2:31 PM
Originally by Kerry Blue
According to a piece in today's Star by Robert Reid, this website was where the rumour of NOC's departure started. So I guess they are laying the blame for the 'hoax message posted on a football website' (direct quote from Star) on you Nempton.
I knew the story was covered in the Star but I never knew they blamed the story on foot.ie and me, but then again it doesn't surprise me that high up club officials tell lies to the media all they have to do is follow the example of NOC

declan hide
15/08/2005, 3:29 PM
whats ur prob hide..my opinion allowed just like anyone elses..go back to suckin dannys co.ck why dont u

My dearest banterboy…your perfectly correct…you are entitled to your own opinion… no matter how moronic it is. I hope I don’t deter you from making more fantastic contributions and coming up with such great ideas. And thanks for suggesting I am gay. A nice touch. I shall put Dannys rod back in his pants now and support you all the way.

16/08/2005, 11:09 AM
banterboy and Declan Hide, play nicely or I'm locking this thread. Personal attacks are not allowed on foot.ie banterboy.