View Full Version : Byrne denies manhandling photographer

10/08/2005, 10:45 AM
Byrne denies manhandling photographer

Shelbourne chief executive Ollie Byrne could be in hot water after a confrontation with a photographer following Monday’s 3-3 draw with Drogheda United at Tolka Park.

Byrne confronted Drogheda United’s official photographer Terry Collins after the game and attempted to stop him taking pictures of what threatened to become ugly scenes following the game.

Read more at www.breakingnews.ie (http://www.breakingnews.ie/story.asp?j=11633490&p=yy633544&n=11633604&x=)

10/08/2005, 10:46 AM
However, Byrne denies any wrongdoing saying: “I didn’t touch him. I asked the photographer not to take pictures and put my hand over the camera. He then pulled back and fell over.”

Byrne gave a statement to match observer Paul Lenihan and his views were backed up by a number of bystanders.

Interesting...

Backs up what I heard following the game anyways.

10/08/2005, 10:47 AM
Interesting...

Backs up what I heard following the game anyways.

But we all know that Shels fans have great hearing ... when they want to !!

10/08/2005, 10:50 AM
I'd be the first to criticise him had I heard to the contrary. But I head what was written on breakingnews there.

Innocent until proven guily, and all that,! :eek: :rolleyes: :)

harpskid
10/08/2005, 10:50 AM
So Oily will get off scot-free again then so :rolleyes:

What was he attempting to do in the picture which shows him being restrained...

10/08/2005, 10:53 AM
Well, if he did nothing wrong... ;)

Is there any online? I have the Star, and one picture shows him seemingly holding a towel towards the photographer, and the other shows a guy with his arm around him - but did look somewhat like being restrained I'll admit.

ColinR
10/08/2005, 11:00 AM
originally posted on shelsweb (apparently it has now been deleted :rolleyes: )

"Lads, I was one of the nearest people to the Ollie incident with the photographer.
To be honest I was watching Ollie from the time of the Drogheda goal, he moved down to the the gap beside the dugout aand the stewerds moved over block his entry to the pitch and he seemed calm enough.
Then Shels scored, and I thought to my self ( dissapointingly) no ollie tantrum tonight! As the ref was escorted off the pitch some fans and Fenlon and Byrne tried to get to him, at this stage Ollie was still walking accross the pitch, the camera man was taking photos of what was going on(not of Ollie), Byrne copped this , changed direction and assaulted the guy, the camera man was on the floor under ollie until the stewards dragged him away.
I was only feet from this, the camera man was very rattled, it was an unprovoked assault."

turns out not all shels fans are following the 'see no evil, hear no evil' club policy

10/08/2005, 11:05 AM
"However, Byrne denies any wrongdoing saying: “I didn’t touch him. I asked the photographer not to take pictures and put my hand over the camera. He then pulled back and fell over.”

Bless ! Poor Olly - all 18 or whatever stone of him ! He simply puts his hand up in front of a camera to stop someone taking photos (though why did he feel the need to stop someone taking photos in the first place...?) and then this guy takes a step back and magically falls over !

It can't have been the fact that Olly - all 18 stone of him - applied any weight behind the arm that he put up in front of the camera. Surely not !

Anyways - all Olly's 'by-standing' mates at Shelbourne have said they saw what happened, so he must be telling the truth.

Maybe it was just some sort of Jedi mind trick from Jabba instead........

And if it had been more than just Olly says then surely there'd be photographic evidence of him having to be restrained or something. Possibly by someone in a suit. Hang on.... :eek:

10/08/2005, 11:09 AM
I must say I'm loving all the "Despite several views backing up Mr Byrnes story I am still maintaing the HE HIT HIM OH DEAR GOD HE HIT HIM approach, I was not there myself nor have I witnessed footage of the alleged incident but OH DEAR GOD HE MUST HAVE HIT HIM RIGHT 'TWEEN THE EYES" from some people! :rolleyes: Until we know what happened for sure, surely this is libellious? (No I didn't learn that word from adam! :D) Dare I say defamation of character? :D Heh.

10/08/2005, 11:11 AM
Innocent until proven guily, and all that,! :eek: :rolleyes: :)

Shame Ollie doesn't believe in the presumption of innocence when it comes to blaming Rovers fans. :rolleyes:

This has now gone too far, Ollie and Shels need to be punished heavily over this. The list of misdemeanours this season alone is astonishing. Time to sort out these thugs once and for all.

10/08/2005, 11:11 AM
I thought someone said that the photographer had a broken nose? :confused:

10/08/2005, 11:25 AM
Oily didn't inhale either!

10/08/2005, 11:34 AM
I must say I'm loving all the "Despite several views backing up Mr Byrnes story I am still maintaing the HE HIT HIM OH DEAR GOD HE HIT HIM approach, I was not there myself nor have I witnessed footage of the alleged incident but OH DEAR GOD HE MUST HAVE HIT HIM RIGHT 'TWEEN THE EYES" from some people! :rolleyes: Until we know what happened for sure, surely this is libellious? (No I didn't learn that word from adam! :D) Dare I say defamation of character? :D Heh.

4 simple words Endai : "Not - out - of - character".

Very difficult to give Olly the benefit of the doubt in a situation like this, when his previous behaviour over the last number of seasons have shown him to be violent, explosive, despotic and lacking in self-criticism.

10/08/2005, 11:36 AM
Given that he has a previous criminal record is he threading a thin line with regards to going back inside if this allegation proves to be true?

10/08/2005, 11:37 AM
I'm well aware of that. But I was justs aying until we know the full facts yada yada. I doubt we'll see many apologising for jumping the gun and accusing him of all sorts if it turns out he was genuinely innocent. Probably actually start saying he paid his way out of it and paid the Gardai out or something! I'm looking to Munster with this one! :)

10/08/2005, 11:47 AM
"Lads, I was one of the nearest people to the Ollie incident with the photographer.
To be honest I was watching Ollie from the time of the Drogheda goal, he moved down to the the gap beside the dugout aand the stewerds moved over block his entry to the pitch and he seemed calm enough.
Then Shels scored, and I thought to my self ( dissapointingly) no ollie tantrum tonight! As the ref was escorted off the pitch some fans and Fenlon and Byrne tried to get to him, at this stage Ollie was still walking accross the pitch, the camera man was taking photos of what was going on(not of Ollie), Byrne copped this , changed direction and assaulted the guy, the camera man was on the floor under ollie until the stewards dragged him away.
I was only feet from this, the camera man was very rattled, it was an unprovoked assault."

Leaving aside the assault on the photographer, and the antics of Nuttsy during the game, surely the fact that fans, mangement and the person running the club attempted to/did get at the referree is more than enough to insist on $h€l$ having to play a certain number of home games at the oppositio ground?

There is ample evidence that $h€l$ CANNOT run a match properly at their home ground, and no games should go ahead at Tolka until they present a plan, properly vetted and approved by the HSA, Fingal(?) Council, the Fire Brigade and the Gardai, to the eL on how they will control all games in the future.

10/08/2005, 11:53 AM
Yeah we should have stuck to throwing glass bottles onto the pitch like proper fans would do :rolleyes:

10/08/2005, 12:06 PM
Yeah we should have stuck to throwing glass bottles onto the pitch like proper fans would do :rolleyes:
That too, is quite a common occurrance at Tolka....
Typical $h€l$ response, there is always someone else have a go at...:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Your club in it's present form is a cancer on this league and the sooner something is done to cut that cancer out, the better.

10/08/2005, 12:23 PM
well going by the picture in todays herald it looks like he was being very bold !

Speranza
10/08/2005, 12:31 PM
Can you imagine David Gill, Alex Ferguson and Roy Keane all attempting to "get to" the ref. I hate comparisons to the premier**** but it really shows the attitude of the F.A.I to disciplinary measures in our league. Ollie and co. know that this will go unpunished apart from that E50 fine so they abuse the system to bully refs, teams, fans e.t.c

400 club should ban Ollie from Rovers matches in the same way he tried to ban their own fans from Tolka for supposed hooligan activity. The man is a ****in scumbag and hypocrite!

chippie0001
10/08/2005, 12:35 PM
Incidents this year involving Shels fans or club, feel free to add too as I am sure I missed some:

Ollie asking two seperate groups of Bohs fans for a fight after a defeat at Dalymount.
Nutsy and Heary trying to fight at the same game.
Ollie assualting Roddy Collins as Roddy had the nerve to say Shels wont win, which they didn't.
Linfield fans attacked before a Shels game. Still waiting for the proof that it was not Shels. Remember innocent till proven guitly.
Shels fans and the club by allowing them going into the Pats end to take a flag and cause trouble. Were any of these Shels fans thrown out for invading the opposition end.
Various Shels officials and players assualting various people after a 3-3 draw with Drogheda. Too many incidents to mention.
Collins ignoring a touch line ban and taking his place in the dugout against UCD.

The above incidents and I am sure there are more show that Shels have no regard for the rules of the league or the image of the league. The BSC would be proud of this much coverage instead its the Shels chairman etc. Come on there must be more incidents, just cannot remember them

10/08/2005, 12:36 PM
Photos from the Drogheda Independent and also photos from our match against shelbourne in tolka last season :rolleyes:

http://www.irishfootie.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=171

10/08/2005, 12:36 PM
really shows the attitude of the F.A.I to disciplinary measures in our league.

shows nothing - disciplinary committee meet in a forthnight - so we are all awaiting their response

Ollie and co. know that this will go unpunished apart from that E50 fine so they abuse the system to bully refs, teams, fans e.t.c

probably true

400 club should ban Ollie from Rovers matches in the same way he tried to ban their own fans from Tolka for supposed hooligan activity. The man is a ****in scumbag and hypocrite!

he didnt ban anyone - Ollie like roddy will say anything to the media as like most crims he's of low intelligence and doesnt understand the effect of his words or actions

10/08/2005, 12:39 PM
How about we have a caption competition?

bigmac
10/08/2005, 1:12 PM
Can you imagine David Gill, Alex Ferguson and Roy Keane all attempting to "get to" the ref.

Yeah, I can actually. :D
I really can't understand why players feel they have to mouth off to the ref at every given opportunity. I hate it when I see players from a team I support get themselves into trouble because they can't keep their mouths shut.
How often does a referee change his mind about something? It's one thing if you feel a dangerous tackle has gone unpunished and I can understand players geting angry then, but for managers and non-football related staff to get involved is ridiculous. Even more ridiculous is the fact that the "contentious" decision was the correct one. If they were Waterford people I'd be embarrassed.

10/08/2005, 1:19 PM
Leaving aside the assault on the photographer, and the antics of Nuttsy during the game, surely the fact that fans, mangement and the person running the club attempted to/did get at the referree is more than enough to insist on $h€l$ having to play a certain number of home games at the oppositio ground?

There is ample evidence that $h€l$ CANNOT run a match properly at their home ground, and no games should go ahead at Tolka until they present a plan, properly vetted and approved by the HSA, Fingal(?) Council, the Fire Brigade and the Gardai, to the eL on how they will control all games in the future.

Spot on patsh. If the licensing process was anything more than the sham that it is (pardon the pun), I would have thought withdrawal of the license on infrastructure (security) grounds was the appropriate course of action for the League.

Shels clearly can't maintain order as demonstrated on multiple occasions this season.

10/08/2005, 1:21 PM

Don't worry, plans are in hand. The new Rovers regime won't be taking crap lying down like the last shower. And Ireland's Number 1 Hooligan is top of the list.

town73
10/08/2005, 1:25 PM
The apology (http://home.eircom.net/content/irelandcom/breaking/6104164?view=Eircomnet)

KK77
10/08/2005, 1:44 PM
Anyone know if it's true Stuey Byrne was off in the tunnel after the game?

10/08/2005, 1:57 PM
It is sickening to read the $h€l$ message board.

That bunch of sycophantics arse-lickers have fully convinced themselves that it was all the Drogs fan's fault, the photogrpher's fault, actually Oily did nothing at all, it was just an un-acredited photographer who stuck a camera in Oilys face and then fell down a few times, and sure Nuttsy was perfectly right to attack officials as they gave him good reason, and sure the official observer's report backs up the story that Oily did NOTHING wrong.

How did this guy Cassidy get the match observer's report?

There are about 3 or 4 $h€l$ fans who have a shred of credibilty left, the rest are puke-inducing cretins....

10/08/2005, 2:05 PM
Get up the yard!
Its an open and shut case FFS.

My apologies for looking at it as we should be, seeing as we have no facts etc. But yes, clearly with your presence at the game and all the video footage, the best thing we can do is just assume guilty. :rolleyes:

10/08/2005, 2:09 PM
It is sickening to read the $h€l$ message board.

That bunch of sycophantics arse-lickers have fully convinced themselves that it was all the Drogs fan's fault, the photogrpher's fault, actually Oily did nothing at all, it was just an un-acredited photographer who stuck a camera in Oilys face and then fell down a few times, and sure Nuttsy was perfectly right to attack officials as they gave him good reason, and sure the official observer's report backs up the story that Oily did NOTHING wrong.

How did this guy Cassidy get the match observer's report?

There are about 3 or 4 $h€l$ fans who have a shred of credibilty left, the rest are puke-inducing cretins....

Wow, I think I saw 1, yes ONE, person saying Nutsy was right in his actions. Again, that was 1 person! Clearly we're all at it, despite what we may have said to the contrary, that was just a ploy into fooling you all?

Surely the only puke-inducing thing here is how out of proportion you exaggerations are of whats being said on the board? :D

10/08/2005, 2:15 PM
My apologies for looking at it as we should be, seeing as we have no facts etc. But yes, clearly with your presence at the game and all the video footage, the best thing we can do is just assume guilty. :rolleyes:

As long as your cretinous oaf of a Chief Executive goes around slandering other fans and clubs without any evidence, your pleas for an assumption of innocence will be laughed at.

Has anybody at your toytown club got the balls to stand up to Ollie? He's dragging you all down and judging by the reaction of your playing staff, management and fans you're all happy to go down with him.

10/08/2005, 2:30 PM
Shelbourne held by Drogheda" (http://www.fai.ie/article.asp?hlid=297674&Title=FAI says "Shelbourne+held+by+Drogheda+United&lid=Main+News&sub=Shelbourne+held+by+Drogheda+United&navlid=&sublid=)

Shouldn't it be the other way around?

10/08/2005, 2:34 PM
Sure nothing happened lads, the photographer just happened to fall over after Ollie politely asked him not to take any photos. :rolleyes:

10/08/2005, 2:40 PM
Anyone know if it's true Stuey Byrne was off in the tunnel after the game?
He was, yeah. Knocked the ball out of Feighery's hands. Think it was in one of the papers today.

10/08/2005, 2:42 PM
I really can't understand why players feel they have to mouth off to the ref at every given opportunity.
Definitely. I think it comes from the manager as well - if the manager is a moany fecker (not just Fenlon - looking cross channel and at football in general), always complaining about referees and agendas and conspiracies, the players will adopt a similar attitude. If the manager accepts the ref's decisions, the players generally follow suit. Which makes managers' actions in cases like this all the worse.

Fair_play_boy
10/08/2005, 2:54 PM
All afternoon I am stuk in work, with no chance to nip out for a paper.
Will I get compensation tonight with video footage on the news showing the incident?

Fair_play_boy
10/08/2005, 3:02 PM
Photos from the Drogheda Independent and also photos from our match against shelbourne in tolka last season :rolleyes:

http://www.irishfootie.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=171This is a howler. Look at the ad in the fourth photo down! Maybe some of the Shels fans need to buy some of that company's products :D

10/08/2005, 3:10 PM
Surely the only puke-inducing thing here is how out of proportion you exaggerations are of whats being said on the board? :D
No way, it's impossible to take this out of proportion.
Oily must go, his puley little acolytes must go, and $h€l$, in their present form, must go.
No longer must you lot be allowed to drag all our clubs names down into the gutter.

10/08/2005, 3:16 PM
That was referring to you post that we're all blaming Drogheda and think Nutsy was right to go, erm, nuts. Which is untrue and blown way out of proportion! The situation itself I have not said was blown out of proportion, merely your comments on the opinions of Shels fans. As I said, on the same forum yourself was looking at, I saw 1 person think Nutsy was right, thats it. So saying we're all for it is a bit exaggerated, no?

10/08/2005, 3:18 PM
They have a copy of the Official Match Incident report on the Shels site.
it doesn't draw any conclusions against Ollie.

10/08/2005, 3:20 PM
That was referring to you post that we're all blaming Drogheda and think Nutsy was right to go, erm, nuts. Which is untrue and blown way out of proportion! The situation itself I have not said was blown out of proportion, merely your comments on the opinions of Shels fans. As I said, on the same forum yourself was looking at, I saw 1 person think Nutsy was right, thats it. So saying we're all for it is a bit exaggerated, no?
It is impossible to exaggerate the evil of $h€l$

10/08/2005, 3:21 PM
Well there's an intelligent post. That all you can say after having it pointed out that what you said about the fans was a complete and utter lie? Fair play, really, well done.

TheOwl
10/08/2005, 3:35 PM
Well there's an intelligent post. That all you can say after having it pointed out that what you said about the fans was a complete and utter lie? Fair play, really, well done.

Don't bother EnDai, trust me!

10/08/2005, 3:45 PM
Normally I'd just ignore nonsense like that, but I'm in one of those moods today! :D :) Home in 45 minutes tho, and tomorrow I'll stay out of trouble! ;)

10/08/2005, 4:08 PM
Hows about we all blame Dan Connor and leave it at that.

10/08/2005, 8:11 PM
Where did Ollie get those sandles ?? ..... Surely this crime against fashion deserves a ban of some sort !!

The guy is a menace ...... ban from all eL grounds should do the trick.

10/08/2005, 10:23 PM
Can you imagine David Gill, Alex Ferguson and Roy Keane all attempting to "get to" the ref.

Are you taking the píss?

Dr.Nightdub
10/08/2005, 10:53 PM
Richard Nixon denies bugging Watergate building
Al Capone denies tax bill
St. Peter denies being from Gallilee
Ollie Byrne denies manhandling photographer

Removal from office, a spell in jail and crucifixion upside down would constitute a fair punishment for Ollie.