View Full Version : Stephen Ireland

Pages : 1 [2] 3

04/10/2005, 10:14 AM
That’s it in a nutshell. Something happened years ago when he was 16 and a nobody. Now he's a player in the greatest league in the world its news. My guess is him and Kerr have talked numerous times since then

youngirish
04/10/2005, 11:11 AM
If Stevie Ireland won't play for Ireland because he doesn't like the manager then f**k him we don't need him. He should be jumping at the chance to play for the country of his birth. Even if he turns out to be the next Maradona I'd still rather have Kevin Kilbane in central midfield running around like a headless chicken rather than a prima dona that thinks he should be picking the manager as well as kicking the ball around on the pitch.

What's wrong with footballers from Cork anyway? It's lucky us Dubs produce the majority of the good ones.

Only buzzin Cork people I reckon that story is rubbish but if not he shouldn't get near the team even if Kerr goes.

Clifford
04/10/2005, 11:59 AM
If Stevie Ireland won't play for Ireland because he doesn't like the manager then f**k him we don't need him. He should be jumping at the chance to play for the country of his birth. Even if he turns out to be the next Maradona I'd still rather have Kevin Kilbane in central midfield running around like a headless chicken rather than a prima dona that thinks he should be picking the manager as well as kicking the ball around on the pitch?.

What's wrong with footballers from Cork anyway? It's lucky us Dubs produce the majority of the good ones.

Only buzzin Cork people I reckon that story is rubbish but if not he shouldn't get near the team even if Kerr goes.

Chill out man, the brother is kosher, he's a Rebel first and then a paddy. He and Kerr are fine, I have it from a friend of the family. The only worry I have is that this sort of paper guff puts to much pressure on the lad. Let's face it one top drawer display v a woefully bad bunch of toffees is not the be all and end all. I remember at this time last year reading the same about Willow Flood. Let's all sit back and enjoy 2 wins in the next week, top the group and see if Stevie is needed to weave some magic in Germany or beyond.

Now if Robbie only moved to Eastlands to work with him regularly we could be onto something.

Clifford
04/10/2005, 11:59 AM
If Stevie Ireland won't play for Ireland because he doesn't like the manager then f**k him we don't need him. He should be jumping at the chance to play for the country of his birth. Even if he turns out to be the next Maradona I'd still rather have Kevin Kilbane in central midfield running around like a headless chicken rather than a prima dona that thinks he should be picking the manager as well as kicking the ball around on the pitch?.

Chill out man, the brother is kosher, he's a Rebel first and then a paddy. He and Kerr are fine, I have it from a friend of the family. The only worry I have is that this sort of paper guff puts to much pressure on the lad. Let's face it one top drawer display v a woefully bad bunch of toffees is not the be all and end all. I remember at this time last year reading the same about Willow Flood. Let's all sit back and enjoy 2 wins in the next week, top the group and see if Stevie is needed to weave some magic in Germany or beyond.

Now if Robbie only moved to Eastlands to work with him regularly we could be onto something.

04/10/2005, 12:07 PM
If Stevie Ireland won't play for Ireland because he doesn't like the manager then f**k him we don't need him.....What's wrong with footballers from Cork anyway? It's lucky us Dubs produce the majority of the good ones.

All we need at this time. Another Cork punk who knows better than his team manager!

04/10/2005, 12:35 PM
I'm fully behind Stevie on this controversial issue. I too have felt the pain of not being selected to play for Ireland in my own home town and, like Stevie, I now REFUSE to play for the international team while Brian Kerr is still manager.:mad:

I have it on good authority from a family friend of Liam Kearney's hairdresser who lives two doors down from Stephen Ireland's auntie that, as a further protest, he is planning to stop using "Ireland" in his name and shall henceforth be known as Stephen Venegoor of Hesselink...

Littlest Hobo
04/10/2005, 2:30 PM
City starlet will rebuff Kerr call – report

October 4, 2005

Manchester City midfielder Stephen Ireland, who made an exceptional full Premiership debut in Sunday’s victory over Everton, will knock back any invitation from Brian Kerr to the senior international squad, according to a Tuesday morning newspaper report.

The former Cobh Ramblers midfielder had impressed in two substitute appearances for City before earning a starting role against the Toffees at Eastlands at the weekend.

He responded with a Man-of-the-Match performance, earning praise from teammate Danny Mills and manager Stuart Pearce.

But the 19-year-old will never play for Ireland under Kerr after a fall-out during the manager’s time in charge of the Irish youth international set-up three years ago.

Ireland was an unused substitute for under-17 qualifier defeats at the hands of Germany and France in Cork – and opted to return to his club instead of wait for another possible rebuff in the final mini-tournament qualifier against Slovenia.

And the Irish Independent reports that Ireland, who has not been part of an Irish squad at any level since that walk-out, will not consider a call-up as long as Kerr is in charge of the senior side.

Sounds like another tempremental cork man to me. Went home and let down his country, because he was an unused sub. Sod him if he doesn't want to play for us. Hope kerr doesn't call him up.
Whats it with all these cork deserters?? Mr Collins must be turning in his grave!!

Clifford
04/10/2005, 2:33 PM
City starlet will rebuff Kerr call – report

October 4, 2005

Manchester City midfielder Stephen Ireland, who made an exceptional full Premiership debut in Sunday’s victory over Everton, will knock back any invitation from Brian Kerr to the senior international squad, according to a Tuesday morning newspaper report.

The former Cobh Ramblers midfielder had impressed in two substitute appearances for City before earning a starting role against the Toffees at Eastlands at the weekend.

He responded with a Man-of-the-Match performance, earning praise from teammate Danny Mills and manager Stuart Pearce.

But the 19-year-old will never play for Ireland under Kerr after a fall-out during the manager’s time in charge of the Irish youth international set-up three years ago.

Ireland was an unused substitute for under-17 qualifier defeats at the hands of Germany and France in Cork – and opted to return to his club instead of wait for another possible rebuff in the final mini-tournament qualifier against Slovenia.

And the Irish Independent reports that Ireland, who has not been part of an Irish squad at any level since that walk-out, will not consider a call-up as long as Kerr is in charge of the senior side.

Sounds like another tempremental cork man to me. Went home and let down his country, because he was an unused sub. Sod him if he doesn't want to play for us. Hope kerr doesn't call him up.
Whats it with all these cork deserters?? Mr Collins must be turning in his grave!!

Oh yeah, that is full of quotes from himself, his dad, Kerr and the FAI confirming this pile of bull.

The amount of idiots out there who would throw themselves in the river if "de paper" said so is incredible. Baaaaaaaaaa.

04/10/2005, 2:34 PM
Kerr only took charge of a handful of games after that date, and none at U-17 level, so shouldn't we all be worried about why he chose not to work with Sean McCaffrey at the same level when he replaced Kerr??

Reality Bites
04/10/2005, 2:45 PM
It seems to me that there is an almost Machiavellan style plot going on behind Kerrs back to oust him from Job, with Officials in the FAI and key players media weaving a intricate Web conceived to oust Kerr from his Job while gaining Public acquiescence for Kerrs trail and hanging .. why has it come to this?, is it simply a power struggle in the FAI between Kerr and John Delaney both eager to control the destiny of Irish Soccer, Is Kerr now too Flush with the Cash, private Jets and those Pin stripe suits or is it anything to do with Kerrs preference to Francis Black over the Wolftones. Who knows but Kerrgate is going to unfold in front of our very eyes in the next week or so..

04/10/2005, 2:49 PM
Kerr only took charge of a handful of games after that date, and none at U-17 level, so shouldn't we all be worried about why he chose not to work with Sean McCaffrey at the same level when he replaced Kerr??

I think the jist of it (and again this is paper talk) was that Ireland thought Kerr still had an input because he was never actually selected therefore suggesting to him that Kerr told McCaffrey not to pick him.

For what it's worth, I think everyone is getting a little carried away with this, there's never been one single quote from Ireland or Kerr and I doubt very much that he will turn down any call now that he has matured a little more, be it the Under 21's or the Senior team.

soccerc
04/10/2005, 3:34 PM
I think the jist of it (and again this is paper talk) was that Ireland thought Kerr still had an input because he was never actually selected therefore suggesting to him that Kerr told McCaffrey not to pick him.

For what it's worth, I think everyone is getting a little carried away with this, there's never been one single quote from Ireland or Kerr and I doubt very much that he will turn down any call now that he has matured a little more, be it the Under 21's or the Senior team.

http://www.soccercentral.ie/viewstory.asp?mainheading=Republic%20of%20Ireland&id=8314&viewstory=yes

It's from 24 October 2002 while Kerr was still boss of the underage sides.

04/10/2005, 4:50 PM
I remember the article well soccerc!

04/10/2005, 5:28 PM
Just read Dion Fannings article summing up the group and Kerr so far in Sunday's Indo. The one thing that I noticed was a lot of quotes from nobody's family friends, inside sources etc. Surprised and disappointed. I like reading the Indo, but it has gone downhill. As a few have already stated, there seems to be a campaign out for Kerr's neck, and almost certainly has its origin's in Merrion Sq.
I hope, really really hope that we get the results we need to (at worst) make a play-off. If Kerr gets sacked (oops sorry doesn't have his contract renewed) then it will be a joke.

04/10/2005, 5:47 PM
All we need at this time. Another Cork punk who knows better than his team manager!

If there is any truth in these rumours... no future ex-Ramblers players have a hope of getting picked for the Senior team:D

04/10/2005, 5:49 PM
Just read Dion Fannings article summing up the group and Kerr so far in Sunday's Indo. The one thing that I noticed was a lot of quotes from nobody's family friends, inside sources etc. Surprised and disappointed. I like reading the Indo, but it has gone downhill. As a few have already stated, there seems to be a campaign out for Kerr's neck, and almost certainly has its origin's in Merrion Sq.
I hope, really really hope that we get the results we need to (at worst) make a play-off. If Kerr gets sacked (oops sorry doesn't have his contract renewed) then it will be a joke.

Yes the Chief Executive Macchiaveli... sorry John Delaney has a lot to answer for if these Chinese Whispers originate in 80 Merrion Square rather than a Fast Food outlet:D

04/10/2005, 6:21 PM

Heard Fanning on the radio this morning - "It doesn't matter what structures Brian Kerr has put in place. It doesn't matter if Ireland implement a development plan that is the envy of every country in the world. If Ireland don't get the results to qualify for this World Cup he will be sacked". Sad but true :( What's worse is that Delaney is likely to take the money that's currently being spent on the national team and squander it on the salary of some "big name" unemployed figure like John Aldridge, Tony Adams, Alan Ball, Roddy Collins ;) or Chris Waddle. (or the dream team of Ron Atkinson and Carlton Palmer :eek: )

Very malicious comments have been made in the press recently - Roy Keane/Martin O'Neill/even Alex Ferguson are being lined up by the FAI to replace Kerr. Utter nonsense but designed to put out the impression that we can do better than Kerr and he should be got rid of. Of course once the damage is done and the FAI come looking for a replacement it'll be too late when we realise we're stuck with John Gregory or Steve Claridge...

nismo
04/10/2005, 7:09 PM
ye dont have a ****in clue,kerr left him out of the team in cobh beacuse he played for the city reserves when kerr didnt want him too in a semi cup final,kerr had promised him he'd get his game,then after not getting his game twice he got a call from manchester askin him to com play in the reserves cup final match so he left as he was captain of the reserves.

now id prefer to play for my club in a cup final then sit on a cold bench watchin a game for my country!!

ps he was approached to play for england after this happened and declined saying he wants to play for ireland at senior level in a few years.

04/10/2005, 7:12 PM
Don't forget the last time the job came up, it came down to Bryan Robson and Kerr and Delaney voted for Robson. Told me all I needed to know about Delaney's interest in football

04/10/2005, 7:40 PM
Delaney is a scúm bag. He is filth of the highest order. THe reason he is still in the FAIlure for so long is that is the most manipulative, backstabbing, two faced judas of them all. I hate the sight of him and I know the toe rag is behind most of the anti kerr media stories.

Delaney's intrest in football extends to following Man Utd on sky sports and spends more money going to Old trafford supporting MAn U than he ever will going to Eircom League games.

What other CEO of an FA would be such a avid supporter of a english based team and english based managers ??. Its so pathetic its embarssing.

He will offer "name your price" to any Englishman in the English PL. In the mean time he will pis$ all over any development of Irish soccer and it stinks.

2/c

04/10/2005, 7:55 PM
now id prefer to play for my club in a cup final then sit on a cold bench watchin a game for my country!!

ps he was approached to play for england after this happened and declined saying he wants to play for ireland at senior level in a few years.

Provided the Ireland game doesn't clash with a Manchester City reserves game of course. :D

dynamo kerry
04/10/2005, 10:10 PM
how could he play for england?

and another thing.. tough ****e on the reserves match. you don't 'not play for your country' hard cheese

05/10/2005, 9:57 AM
ye dont have a ****in clue,kerr left him out of the team in cobh beacuse he played for the city reserves when kerr didnt want him too in a semi cup final,kerr had promised him he'd get his game,then after not getting his game twice he got a call from manchester askin him to com play in the reserves cup final match so he left as he was captain of the reserves.

Not even close, Man City haven't appeared in the FA Youth Cup Final since 1989 - http://www.thefa.com/TheFACup/TheFAYouthCup/History/Postings/2002/07/15018.htm
If that's the basis for your argument, the rest of the post is suspect at best

Donal81
05/10/2005, 11:05 AM
The timing of this particular story is suspicious, an attempt to discredit Kerr? Maybe I'm too cynical....

Cocky kid from Cork the least of Kerr's worries

Wednesday October 5th 2005

IT is a moot point if Stephen Ireland will actually make it in the fame academy of Premiership football. But beyond dispute surely is his right to a PhD in gall.

He is a 19-year-old Corkman with the grand total of one Premiership start to his name and, by all appearances, a great chest of self-regard to his arsenal. That start last weekend, admittedly, reaped a Man of the Match award for his role in Manchester City's defeat of a chaotic Everton.

It earned him kind words from dressing-room colleagues and, naturally, some stirring bouquets from old friends back in Cobh, where his career first took palpable blossom.

The Cobh connection, inevitably, spawned comparison with that great, flinty leviathan of the game who left the club 15 years ago to sign for Brian Clough and Nottingham Forest. Better still, Ireland's story bore another compelling echo to that of Roy Keane.

Three years ago, he "stormed out" while on international duty with the national Under-17 squad in a European qualifying tournament.

He has not worn an Irish shirt since and is adamant - apparently - that he will remain unavailable to play for his country while Brian Kerr retains the post of national team-manager. Kerr is a kind of Lucifer in Ireland's eyes for not giving him any game-time in that Under-17 tournament.

The kernel to his argument is that, given the tournament was based in Cork and his family, friends and neighbours were in the stands, Kerr was somehow obligated to accommodate the local boy.

It is the equivalent of declaring that the underage game should be a glorified creche for teens. That the international manager should, maybe, check who's Ma or Da might be sitting in the stand before finalising his team-sheet.

You can't help but set the sheer brazenness of Ireland's stance against the storied self-sacrifice of old heroes like Paul McGrath, Kevin Moran, Frank Stapleton or Dave Langan for whom an Irish shirt represented something more profound than a self-fulfilling night out with friends.

Langan now works as a porter at Peterborough Town Hall. His career was effectively stalled by a knee injury picked up playing for Ireland against France in a World Cup qualifier at Lansdowne Road in 1981.

A bad tackle tore cartilage in his left knee. He would undergo 11 operations on that knee and attempt several comebacks before being forced to retire. Langan played for the full 90 minutes of that game, despite sustaining the injury roughly 20 minutes in. "I was desperate to play," he recalled recently. "Because you adrenaline's pumping, injuries don't matter. You just keep going."

You think of the selflessness of that image. You think of McGrath in the Giants Stadium, so unbreakable, despite the shoulder virus that rendered his right arm limp. You think of Moran in so many wars in so many bullpens, his forehead perpetually bandaged. You think of Stapleton, running a great chain of lone, heroic furrows.

And you think of this kid from Cork, a kid who has started a solitary Premiership game, a kid who is some distance removed from a guaranteed future in the business. You think of him laying down terms of reference under which he might deign to play for his country again.

And you think that, on the roster of worries Kerr will carry to Cyprus today, the obstinacy of Stephen Ireland will scarcely feature high.

Vincent Hogan

© Irish Independent
http://www.unison.ie/irish_independent/ & http://www.unison.ie/

05/10/2005, 11:08 AM
Not even close, Man City haven't appeared in the FA Youth Cup Final since 1989 - http://www.thefa.com/TheFACup/TheFAYouthCup/History/Postings/2002/07/15018.htm
If that's the basis for your argument, the rest of the post is suspect at best
And he wasn't even playing reserve football for City at the time, never mind being captain. nismo - I can't believe you would post such lies. Don't think there's many cup finals in October.

Roverstillidie
05/10/2005, 11:26 AM
and why did he refuse to play at under 19's?

we need another pre-madonna cork whinger around the team like we need a hole in the head.

the arrogance.

05/10/2005, 11:35 AM
and why did he refuse to play at under 19's?

we need another pre-madonna cork whinger around the team like we need a hole in the head.

the arrogance.

If he f***in declares for England the Department of Foreign Affairs should withdraw his citizenship. That's the least you should do with a traitor!:mad:

Kevin77
05/10/2005, 11:41 AM
The response to all this stuff is ludicrous.

Cart before the horse.

Things are bad. We have no genuine prospects in centre mid once Keane is gone.

You kid plays a few times off the bench and then gets (arguable) man of the match against the bottom team in the Premiership and were already calling for him never to represent Ireland because of something that happened a few years ago for an underage side of which the circumstances are sketchy at best.

Calm down.

1. He may be another Healy, Miller, Stephen Reid etc. He's nothing but potential so far.

2. If he fulfils his supposed potential, he should be selected for Ireland. Chances are he'll be happy to play. Kerr or no Kerr.

3. Kerr mightn't even be the manager by then

4. If he is and Ireland turns it down...then lets find out why.

Storm in a teacup

Dublin12
05/10/2005, 11:44 AM
If he f***in declares for England the Department of Foreign Affairs should withdraw his citizenship. That's the least you should do with a traitor!:mad:

Like Terry Wogan:D

05/10/2005, 12:12 PM
Like Terry Wogan:D
Terry tore strips off Graham Norton after he passed some comment about Dolores McNamara being from "Stab City". Absolved from any/all failings after that as far as I'm concerned.

declan hide
05/10/2005, 12:22 PM
[QUOTE=Jerry The Saint]

Liam Kearney's hairdresser QUOTE]

easily the most over worked hairdresser in the land...:D

Roverstillidie
05/10/2005, 12:26 PM

Cart before the horse.

You kid plays a few times off the bench and then gets (arguable) man of the match against the bottom team in the Premiership and were already calling for him never to represent Ireland because of something that happened a few years ago for an underage side of which the circumstances are sketchy at best.

Calm down.

1. He may be another Healy, Miller, Stephen Reid etc. He's nothing but potential so far.

2. If he fulfils his supposed potential, he should be selected for Ireland. Chances are he'll be happy to play. Kerr or no Kerr.

Storm in a teacup

If he is and Ireland turns it down...then lets find out why.

the london times has a full page on him. too many independant articles on him all with the same story. someone is feeding the media and i smell a waterford rat!
its clear stevie threw a mickey fit about being on the bench in Cork at under 17. his ma and da came to see him play so he demanded (in a competitive game no less) to play, was rebuffed, bench again for the second and didnt stick around for the third group game.
he is refusing to have anything to do with any side managed by kerr. hence he didnt play for the u 19's when asked.
the guy sounds like an obnixious little p.rick and for a player of his age and experience to be demanding Kerr get sacked so we can be honoured with his presence is an insult to us all. id rather have a hole in the midfield than another c.awkie who thinks he can hold the side to ransom
the brits are welcome to him

05/10/2005, 12:29 PM

Cart before the horse.

Calm down.

Storm in a teacup

Hit the nail on the head there Kev.:cool:

Qwerty
05/10/2005, 12:30 PM
Sounds like Ireland has the makings of something special, and no Corkman would ever play for England. Nobody here knows the truth so give the kid the benefit of the doubt and the benefit of his youth but he clearly harbours a grudge. Gotta love that pure Cork spirit, if we had more of that in this current Ireland team instead of lazy assed-Dubs we would far better off. And I'm not from Cark either :D

youngirish
05/10/2005, 12:44 PM
If this is true (which I doubt) then f**k Ireland (the player) we'll take a few reliable Dubs in Owen Garvan and Joey O'Brien for our central midfield for the future. Both are class. He can change his name to Stevie England and try to get an international game in central midfield ahead of Lampard, Gerrard, Beckham, Carrick, Joey Barton, Kevin Nolan and Jermaine Jenas.

He might get a cap in some silly North American tour in about 8 years or so and he'll be hated by his countrymen for the rest of his life for it.

I'd say its bulls**t anyway. If he was offerred the chance to play against Cyprus on Saturday he'd take it (and score a few Ogs to get Kerr sacked).

Roverstillidie
05/10/2005, 12:44 PM
Sounds like Ireland has the makings of something special, and no Corkman would ever play for England. Nobody here knows the truth so give the kid the benefit of the doubt and the benefit of his youth but he clearly harbours a grudge. Gotta love that pure Cork spirit, if we had more of that in this current Ireland team instead of lazy assed-Dubs we would far better off. And I'm not from Cark either :D

cark - miller and judas

dubs - duff, carr, cunningham, keane, a reid (ok, lazy-assed applies to this one) elliot and dunne

you choose.

the defence rests.

05/10/2005, 2:36 PM
If he is and Ireland turns it down...then lets find out why.

the london times has a full page on him. too many independant articles on him all with the same story. someone is feeding the media and i smell a waterford rat!
its clear stevie threw a mickey fit about being on the bench in Cork at under 17. his ma and da came to see him play so he demanded (in a competitive game no less) to play, was rebuffed, bench again for the second and didnt stick around for the third group game.
he is refusing to have anything to do with any side managed by kerr. hence he didnt play for the u 19's when asked.
the guy sounds like an obnixious little p.rick and for a player of his age and experience to be demanding Kerr get sacked so we can be honoured with his presence is an insult to us all. id rather have a hole in the midfield than another c.awkie who thinks he can hold the side to ransom
the brits are welcome to him

While I agree with most of your sentiments I have to ask a question here. Would you do that to the poor English? Inflict an obnoxious little C.awkie p.rick on them? As if they don't have enough problems? :D
And for the record Delaney is a Kerryman if memory serves in spite of the WUFC connection

05/10/2005, 2:39 PM

Well by the sounds of the media reports he just might... same spirit as Dermot Mc Murrough and Churchill's secretary Brendan Bracken and what was that Norwegian chappies name ?oh yes Quisling:p

Clifford
05/10/2005, 2:47 PM
Pure media tripe, not one quote of substance from the anyone about this and a blast of you are castigating the lad and Kerr in equal measure, with no idea where the situation stands.

The facts are he pulled out of a tourny and Kerr at the time was disappointed. If anyone has a quote from the involved over the last ten days about this I'd love to see it.

Christ, I'd not want you lot to see a real story, the over reaction would be earth shattering. He's only played 1 Prem game, Givens might, might call him up to the u21's next year, lets see what happens then.

Part of the reason he was not selected since the tourny is because he was behind Flood, McCarthy, Paisley, Murphy, etc in the City academy Irish lads, in my opinion and has only really developed in the last 6 months. But that's not "sensational" enough is it?

Kevin77
05/10/2005, 2:55 PM
Pure media tripe, not one quote of substance from the anyone about this and a blast of you numb nuts are castigating the lad and Kerr in equal measure, with no idea where the situation stands.

The facts are he pulled out of a tourny and Kerr at the time was disappointed. If anyone has a quote from the involved over the last ten days about this I'd love to see it.

Christ, I'd not want you lot to see a real story, the over reaction would be earth shattering.

Spot on

Clifford
05/10/2005, 2:58 PM
Spot on

Cheers, indeed your post was spot on also. Sorry about my edit also, added a little more.

Tis Saturday we should all be concentrating on anyway.

Clifford
05/10/2005, 3:07 PM
If this is true (which I doubt) then f**k Ireland (the player) we'll take a few reliable Dubs in Owen Garvan and Joey O'Brien for our central midfield for the future. Both are class. He can change his name to Stevie England and try to get an international game in central midfield ahead of Lampard, Gerrard, Beckham, Carrick, Joey Barton, Kevin Nolan and Jermaine Jenas.

He might get a cap in some silly North American tour in about 8 years or so and he'll be hated by his countrymen for the rest of his life for it.

I'd say its bulls**t anyway. If he was offerred the chance to play against Cyprus on Saturday he'd take it (and score a few Ogs to get Kerr sacked).

You've even gone to the Manchester Evening news to let your gripe with a nothing story be heard?

05/10/2005, 7:04 PM
First things first, he could be another Stephen Mc Fail.

I have no time for players like S.Ireland who have a chip on their shoulders and consider playing for foreign teams. He should be itching to play for Ireland no matter what bust up he had with Kerr. He can try his trade in Seria A or the English PL but anything else is treason

RedX
05/10/2005, 7:46 PM
I dont know which of you fcukers to Quote after reading all your rubbish...this is a thread about Stephen Ireland and not about the fact that he is from Cork...but since you mentioned it i will give my opinion...Cork people will not tolerate being 2nd rated by a bunch of Jackeens...i had to laugh at some Rovers clown above naming the Cork and Dub players...how sad is that in a thread about this young lad?..some of you Dubs are jealous that Roy Keane is a Corkman and the greatest player ever from these shores...now you are afraid that another fantastic player from the REBEL county with his own mind is going to outdo all you jackeens again..it makes me laugh...what does Dublin ever add to sport in this country then bigmouths?..Kerr should have at least given the young lad a run-out on his home pitch in his home town with his family there...if he was not good enough for that why was he included in the squad first place?...it was only under 17 in all fairness..Kerr was a lot to blame on this also...some of you Dubs dont know whats going on outside the City boudaries in that sh*thole you live in...

RedX
05/10/2005, 7:53 PM
Would you do that to the poor English? Inflict an obnoxious little C.awkie p.rick on them? As if they don't have enough problems? :D

This really is a sad and terrible comment about a young lad that could go on to represent our country...i thought a college boy would have more sense about him that to agree with some English tabloid..do you think a Cobh lad would represent England..if you do well wake up please...not a hope in hell..and some of you people on here are criticising posters for complaining about Brian Kerr...and then in another thread you laugh at comments like this..disgraceful!!

colster
05/10/2005, 8:04 PM
I dont know which of you fcukers to Quote after reading all your rubbish...this is a thread about Stephen Ireland and not about the fact that he is from Cork...but since you mentioned it i will give my opinion...Cork people will not tolerate being 2nd rated by a bunch of Jackeens...i had to laugh at some Rovers clown above naming the Cork and Dub players...how sad is that in a thread about this young lad?..some of you Dubs are jealous that Roy Keane is a Corkman and the greatest player ever from these shores...now you are afraid that another fantastic player from the REBEL county with his own mind is going to outdo all you jackeens again..it makes me laugh...what does Dublin ever add to sport in this country then bigmouths?..Kerr should have at least given the young lad a run-out on his home pitch in his home town with his family there...if he was not good enough for that why was he included in the squad first place?...it was only under 17 in all fairness..Kerr was a lot to blame on this also...some of you Dubs dont know whats going on outside the City boudaries in that sh*thole you live in...

Bit Hypocritcal there. You stoop to the same level.
As a Dub I'm not jealous of Roy Keane being from Cork. As for him being the best player from these shores I'd just say that he's one of the best along with a few from Dublin.

RedX
05/10/2005, 8:17 PM
[QUOTE=colster]Bit Hypocritcal there. You stoop to the same level.
QUOTE]

I probably do...but would you blame me for being overboard after reading some of this rubbish above...its disgraceful...one guy even mentioned Micheal Collins...this thread has turned into an anti-stephen Ireland-cork thread...

colster
05/10/2005, 8:24 PM
[QUOTE=colster]Bit Hypocritcal there. You stoop to the same level.
QUOTE]

I probably do...but would you blame me for being overboard after reading some of this rubbish above...its disgraceful...one guy even mentioned Micheal Collins...this thread has turned into an anti-stephen Ireland-cork thread...

I agree. Some of it is just moronic.

05/10/2005, 8:44 PM
...some of you Dubs dont know whats going on outside the City boudaries in that sh*thole you live in...

Don't hold back...;)

05/10/2005, 8:54 PM
I would have to say it was probably not the best man management not letting
the lad have a run out in his own back yard but probably an overreaction
on Irelands part, prehaps a bit of an apology/explaination is in order?
It's storm in a tea cup really.