View Full Version : Drogheda United statement - just released a few minutes ago

09/08/2005, 8:55 PM
Released on www.droghedaunited.ie :)

09/08/2005, 9:18 PM
In our view this type of behaviour has no place in the eircom league and we expect the League and the F.A.I. to take appropriate and firm action on these matter at the earliest possible opportunity.'

Its all up to the league and FAI now !!

Lets just see what they do shall we !!

joeraki
09/08/2005, 9:27 PM
He was deeply shocked and traumatised by this incident. The official in question was Mr Oliver Byrne and the assault was witnessed by a number of Drogheda club members and the incident was photographed.

Hope the photos come out somehow. I'd say they'll be great :D

And I'd love to see that scumbag talk his way out of it

BTW, what ever happened his evidence against Rovers fans ? :rolleyes:

09/08/2005, 9:37 PM
The official in question was Mr Oliver Byrne and the assault was witnessed by a number of Drogheda club members and the incident was photographed.

I thought Drogs might fudge the issue but i suppose when you are in no way to blame you have to go on the offense like that.

If Oily travels to the cross on Monday he going to get some slagging. :D

redgav
09/08/2005, 9:45 PM
full marks to drogs for speaking out -maybe now the league will act seeing that the ball has been thrusted into their hands

iceman
09/08/2005, 9:48 PM
I understand that the photographer in question received a fractured nose in the incident. Lets hope he makes a complaint to the Gardai.

09/08/2005, 9:56 PM
I understand that the photographer in question received a fractured nose in the incident. Lets hope he makes a complaint to the Gardai.
If this is true this is a Gardai issue. It is a criminal act and should be dealt with by the proper authorities.

I really hope the photographer and Drogheda pursue this through the guards. Pursuing FAI sanctions are a cop out.

Ideally the guilty party would be prosecuted, convicted and then the FAI could step in and apply its sanctions to the club and individuals.

BTW from what I remember Gardai are usually on duty in Tolka behind the Drumcondra goal at the turnstiles corner, I wonder did they see anything? My understanding in the Roddy v Oily mismatch is that this is a civil case as presumably said Gardai weren't there because it happened well before the game kicked off.

Sam Savic
09/08/2005, 10:07 PM
It's a pity the statement is so badly worded. An impression is given that Ireland's number 1 was the person who assaulted the photographer.

09/08/2005, 10:15 PM
Oliver. LOL :D

09/08/2005, 10:29 PM
Shelbourne player Jason Byrne, on scoring in the 94th minute raced to the area where Drogheda Supporters were seated and gave them a crude two-fingered gesture.

If the rest of the statement is as accurate as that then it's as worthy of notice as Pat Dolan, and the celebration is on EL weekly for anyone with it taped to see that is complete fabrication. There was no two fingered gesture whatsoever.

10/08/2005, 12:23 AM
To be honest with you it's sad to see the league washing its provrebila dirties in public like this. However - everyone knows how ineffective the FAI and the league is at dealing with issues like this, so the Drogs have been left with no real option. If we had a proper disciplinary procedure/rules etc then this wouldn't need to happen.

Anyways - I'll bet the FAI are praying it'll go through the courts, as that gets them off the hook. Then whatever the court decides they can just say 'sure the courts have already dealt with the matter' and do nothing themselves

A very public stand needs to be taken against Olly Byrne - not in court, but within the realms/corridors of Irish football. The man is a feckin lunatic. Someone needs to push the FAI hard on this and not let them dodge making a decision we all know needs to be made.

RedX
10/08/2005, 12:36 AM
I am very angry at what happened last night as an eircom league fan..Ollie Byrne has been causing trouble up and down the country for a long time..he has tried it at Turners X and many other grounds so many times and always gets away with it..i say well done to Drogs for making a stand...what is it with Shels..do they think they are not allowed to get beaten?..there is always trouble when Shels lose..i say shame on you Ollie Byrne and also shame on you Pat Fenlon...add the likes of Owen Haery and David Crawley to that...i hope they try this Monday night at the X because there would be murder..Cork City FC and its fans will not be bullied by a bunch of scumbag thugs... :mad:

This is not aimed at Shels fans..when you change your manager and chairman and in fact some of your players you will look back and wonder how were they allowed to run your club... :confused:

10/08/2005, 1:22 AM
Did anyone else assume Drogheda were in finacial difficulty when they saw the title of this thread?

It'll be interesting to see those photos.

bigmac
10/08/2005, 4:51 AM
From today's Irish Times

Paul O'Hehir

The photographer involved in an incident with Shelbourne chief executive Ollie Byrne at the end of Monday's fractious Premier Division match between the league champions and Drogheda United has made an official complaint over his alleged mistreatment to the Eircom League.

Terry Collins, Drogheda United's PRO, will lodge the complaint through the club after he was grounded after the final whistle. He was taking photographs as players made their way to the dressingroom tunnel.

Collins claims Byrne forcefully took hold of his camera lens. Both men grappled with the camera and Collins ended up on the ground but it has been confirmed neither party was punched.Byrne says he simply requested Collins to stop taking photographs. He admitted placing his hands on the camera lens.

It has also emerged Shelbourne's Stuart Byrne was sent off by Feighery in the tunnel after the match. The midfielder slapped the ball out of Feighery hands while confronting the referee after the whistle.

10/08/2005, 6:59 AM
Heard lastnight that the photos MIGHT be in todays Drogheda Independent :) .

As for Jason Byrne, I didn't see him give the 2 fingered salute myself and was sorry that this part was in the statement - like even if he did, who cares? - the statement shouldve just stuck to ollie.

Still though, at least we've stood up to him - ball is now in the FAI's and EL's court

10/08/2005, 7:08 AM
OLIVER byrne could be easily wound up if he goes for his usual pint in the horseshoe next monday night

10/08/2005, 7:14 AM
Saw on the shels mb that there's photos in todays star and sun :)

Anybody able to put them up here?

Roverstillidie
10/08/2005, 7:28 AM
OLIVER byrne could be easily wound up if he goes for his usual pint in the horseshoe next monday night

he gets in and we dont!!! :confused:

the mind boggles.... :)

10/08/2005, 8:03 AM
It has also emerged Shelbourne's Stuart Byrne was sent off by Feighery in the tunnel after the match. The midfielder slapped the ball out of Feighery hands while confronting the referee after the whistle.
Does this mean Stuey will miss Monday nights game at the Cross ?

10/08/2005, 8:44 AM
Heard lastnight that the photos MIGHT be in todays Drogheda Independent :) .

As for Jason Byrne, I didn't see him give the 2 fingered salute myself and was sorry that this part was in the statement - like even if he did, who cares? - the statement shouldve just stuck to ollie.

Still though, at least we've stood up to him - ball is now in the FAI's and EL's court

Yeah i thought the same myself, i seen him running the lenght of the stand but did'nt see him what so ever give the oul fingers...... and as you say, who cares if he did. This is about Ollie.

The FAI/eL really needs to come down hard on Shels this time, enough is enough FFS. Lenghty bans and a points deduction would do.

If anyone gets there hands on the snaps can we post them here ?

rebs23
10/08/2005, 9:03 AM
Picture is in todays Irish Examiner sports section bottom of page. Pretty big write up as well.

10/08/2005, 10:10 AM
Is there any pictures online of the whole thing ??

ColinR
10/08/2005, 10:26 AM
Is there any pictures online of the whole thing ??

http://www.unison.ie/sportsdesk/stories.php3?ca=12&si=1447582

the above link just shows him being 'restrained' after the incident. its the only pic i've seen onlne so far

10/08/2005, 10:27 AM
the above link

Not registered ... cant see it !!

10/08/2005, 10:32 AM
http://www.unison.ie/images_papers/sportsdesk/2005-08-10/349039.jpg

10/08/2005, 10:33 AM
Shelbourne player Jason Byrne, on scoring in the 94th minute raced to the area where Drogheda Supporters were seated and gave them a crude two-fingered gesture.

Agree with others that this shouldn't have been included in the statement. We all know that (Jason) Byrne can use the "(Ollie) Byrne Defense" - as used in a court of law by the ex-convict - to avoid trouble. He was merely gesturing the number of points Shels had dropped on the night. ;)

If the Drogs fans were being accused of causing trouble then I could see why they might want to say they had been incited but they seem to have come out of this well. Also, it probably wasn't the worst thing a Shels player did during/after the game.

As it is, this may just be the time for Ollie to finally get his comeuppance after years of "severe warnings as to his future behaviour". Independent witnesses to this (i.e. not just the evidence of ordinary football supporters which appears to be worthless when it comes to any Ollie-related incidents) as well as to the alleged assault on Roddy (including Eoin Hand, for one) must surely be too much.

10/08/2005, 10:37 AM
"severe warnings as to his future behaviour".

I actually think these are directed at football fans - ie WARNING: Ollie Byrne - his future behaviours may include, camera snatching, manager punching, flag tearing, use of foul and abusive language, steward grappling.....APPROACH SHELS GAMES WITH CAUTION!

Passive
10/08/2005, 10:45 AM
If Ollie Byrne is found guilty of assaulting either Roddy Collins or the Drogheda photographer, he will be a convicted football hooligan and should be banned from all football stadiums for 3-5 years.

The League should also pass a motion at its AGM to ban convicted criminals from holding directorships of football clubs.

ColinR
10/08/2005, 10:55 AM
http://www.droghedaunited.ie/Scripts/Gallery.asp?SeasonID=4&FixtureID=309

more photos - but none of the incident. one funny one of eamon collins face about to explode at the ref :D

10/08/2005, 10:56 AM
The League should also pass a motion at its AGM to ban convicted criminals from holding directorships of football clubs.

rovers will have to be sold again then :D

hoops1
10/08/2005, 10:58 AM
Slash/ed
Have you got the Shelbourne tinted goggles on again or are you just blind
Watch it again Byrne clearly gives two fingered gesture so Does Fenlon!

Passive
10/08/2005, 10:59 AM
rovers will have to be sold again then :D

I said 'convicted' :cool:

10/08/2005, 11:04 AM
http://www.unison.ie/sportsdesk/stories.php3?ca=12&si=1447582

the above link just shows him being 'restrained' after the incident. its the only pic i've seen onlne so farLooks like a gay porn love scene.
"Ollie takes it up the ass" :D

10/08/2005, 11:42 AM
Slash/ed
Have you got the Shelbourne tinted goggles on again or are you just blind
Watch it again Byrne clearly gives two fingered gesture so Does Fenlon!

Complete and total lie and I have it on tape and anyone else here who does can confirm that too.

The statement simply lied about Byrnes celebration and so loses all credibility in my eyes. A stupid thing to do, don't say things in something like that unless you are 100% sure it is 100% true.

10/08/2005, 11:46 AM
great we have a get out clause......oh fck off shelbourne - two weeks time - disciplinary committee sits......shut the fck up and take your oil........at the very minimum I expect a "ronan seery" like ban for "Ollie"

hoops1
10/08/2005, 11:47 AM
I even noticed it first time of watching!
Watch the tape again!
Take your Shels blinkers off and you will see

10/08/2005, 11:48 AM
I even noticed it first time of watching!
Watch the tape again!
Take your Shels blinkers off and you will see

No, you're wrong. It's not worth debating, it simply didn't happen, and anyone who has it on tape and watches it will say the same. It didn't even look like it may have happened, it was clear it did not. He ran up to the crowd but the only gesture his him holding his arms in the air.

10/08/2005, 12:08 PM
No, you're wrong. It's not worth debating, it simply didn't happen, and anyone who has it on tape and watches it will say the same. It didn't even look like it may have happened, it was clear it did not. He ran up to the crowd but the only gesture his him holding his arms in the air.

While I didn't see him stick his fingers us either I was talking to 2 drogs at lunchtim who are 100% confident he did stick up his fingers - they just said it to me in passing so I didnt get all details but I think they said it was when he jumped in the air

hoops1
10/08/2005, 12:10 PM
Ok it never happened In fact Nutsy didnt get sent off Ollie didnt
attack a photographer and Shels won the match,League and Champions League!

Breifne
10/08/2005, 12:26 PM
at the very minimum I expect a "ronan seery" like ban for "Ollie"

At least Seery did it in private, not in public, and then when it all cooled down, he owned up, and took responsibility for his actions.

He is serving his suspension, and has no gripe, he accepts he did wrong, and took his punishment.

Byrne, fenlon et al could take a leave out of his book.

ColinR
10/08/2005, 12:39 PM
more pics:

http://www.irishfootie.net/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=171