View Full Version : Name the song

Metrostars
08/08/2005, 12:59 AM
I'll start it off, you name the song & artist/band. If you get it right it' your turn. And so on. Ok here goes (an easy one mind you):

"So you're scared and you're thinking that maybe we ain't that young anymore"

08/08/2005, 7:22 AM
I'll start it off, you name the song & artist/band. If you get it right it' your turn. And so on. Ok here goes (an easy one mind you):

"So you're scared and you're thinking that maybe we ain't that young anymore"

Thunder Road by Bruce Springsteen.

Here's one.....

But I'm still frightened by the telephone :D

Metrostars
08/08/2005, 11:02 AM
Gary Numan's "I Die, You Die"

Next up (another easy one):

"You used to ride on the chrome horse with your diplomat who carried on his shoulder a siamese cat"

08/08/2005, 11:06 AM
"You used to ride on the chrome horse with your diplomat who carried on his shoulder a siamese cat"

Like a Rolling stone, easy-peasy.............

"a redder shade of neck on a whiter shade of thrash"

fosterdollar
08/08/2005, 11:11 AM
Like a Rolling Stone

"No earth, just sky it's so surreal/Your pink fat lips let go a scream/You fry and melt/I love the scene"

08/08/2005, 3:02 PM
Like a Rolling Stone

"No earth, just sky it's so surreal/Your pink fat lips let go a scream/You fry and melt/I love the scene"

Made of Stone -Stone Roses

"I say we're growing every day
getting stronger in every way
I'll take you to a place
Where we can find our roots..."

08/08/2005, 10:17 PM
Made of Stone -Stone Roses

"I say we're growing every day
getting stronger in every way
I'll take you to a place
Where we can find our roots..."

Sepultura... Roots Bloody Roots

I don't know what to do
I need a rendez vous

09/08/2005, 8:28 AM

I don't know what to do
I need a rendez vous

Kraftwerk -Computer Love

They make the masses kiss their assets
lower class jackass
Pay me tax
take out the trash

I like this game -wouldn never have got the kraftwerk one but for it being on an old cassette I found in the car. :o

fosterdollar
09/08/2005, 8:30 AM

I don't know what to do
I need a rendez vous

Kraftwerk - Computer Love (not sure song name)

Aldini98
12/08/2005, 11:48 AM
Kraftwerk -Computer Love

They make the masses kiss their assets
lower class jackass
Pay me tax
take out the trash

I like this game -wouldn never have got the kraftwerk one but for it being on an old cassette I found in the car. :o

Warriors of the Wasteland by Frankie Goes to Hollywood.

"I wrote you a letter and I sent it on the first of July,
Now its November and still I haven't no reply"

12/08/2005, 11:03 PM
Warriors of the Wasteland by Frankie Goes to Hollywood.

"I wrote you a letter and I sent it on the first of July,
Now its November and still I haven't no reply"

Jocelyn Square by the superb Love and Money... good call

Here's one for you all :

In a room without a door
A kiss is not enough ... well

Drumcondra Red
13/08/2005, 11:37 AM
The Psychedelic Furs: Love My Way

...we need water, and maybe somebody's daughter...

16/08/2005, 6:56 PM
The Psychedelic Furs: Love My Way

...we need water, and maybe somebody's daughter...

The Who and Water.... hint don't put the title in your next one Drum Red ;)

Ok here's one for you

1, 2, 3, 14

Drumcondra Red
16/08/2005, 8:25 PM
The Who and Water.... hint don't put the title in your next one Drum Red ;)

Ok here's one for you

1, 2, 3, 14

U2 and Vertigo ;) Good one though!!! And as for not putting the title in, it still took 3 days for someone to get it!!!

Here's yours:

I'm a minger, you're a minger too, so come on minger, I want to ming with you

17/08/2005, 7:14 PM
U2 and Vertigo ;) Good one though!!! And as for not putting the title in, it still took 3 days for someone to get it!!!

Here's yours:

I'm a minger, you're a minger too, so come on minger, I want to ming with you

Super Furry Animals boyo with Hello Sunshine... is it ? Look you? :)

Ok here's one for you:

Dum da dum da dum dum dum dum dum
Dum da dum da dum Tra la la.....

18/08/2005, 10:02 AM
Super Furry Animals boyo with Hello Sunshine... is it ? Look you? :)

Ok here's one for you:

Dum da dum da dum dum dum dum dum
Dum da dum da dum Tra la la.....

Frogs Chorus? If not I'll take a 2nd guess at Mr. Blobby

noby
18/08/2005, 11:05 AM

The first bit could be any number of songs, but I'm going to go for "The house with the white washed gable", breaking into the Banana Splits theme.
Am I right?

how about:

"All that rugby puts hairs on your chest.
What chance have you got against a tie and a crest?"

Drumcondra Red
18/08/2005, 12:06 PM
Easy, The Jam with the eton rifles...

"You can do anything you want
Because darling, it's your life..."

18/08/2005, 1:10 PM
Easy, The Jam with the eton rifles...

"You can do anything you want
Because darling, it's your life..."

'Dont Go Back to Dalston' by Razorlight, isnt it?

Drumcondra Red
18/08/2005, 2:24 PM
It is but you're meant to post lyrics too!!!

18/08/2005, 2:57 PM
I didn't like you very much when I met you
and now I like you even less

Aldini98
18/08/2005, 3:46 PM
I didn't like you very much when I met you
and now I like you even less

That'd be The Wonder Stuff with Unbearable.

How about:

"swims in the pool she used to clean,
our new king looks like a queen"

18/08/2005, 10:29 PM
1/ No and 2/ No :D

18/08/2005, 10:31 PM
The first bit could be any number of songs, but I'm going to go for "The house with the white washed gable", breaking into the Banana Splits theme.
Am I right?

No actually it's " CLose To The Edit" by The Art Of Noise

18/08/2005, 10:34 PM
That'd be The Wonder Stuff with Unbearable.

How about:

"swims in the pool she used to clean,
our new king looks like a queen"

Would it be a song called " Crown OF The Valley" ? can't remember who it's by

Here's one....

May I ask you a question?
If Music is the food of love are you the indigestion?
Oh Oh Yipee aye oh

noby
19/08/2005, 12:58 PM
Here's one....

Oh Oh Yipee aye oh

Something in the back of my brain is telling me this is a bit Half man half biscuit-esque, but I can't be sure.

19/08/2005, 10:24 PM
Something in the back of my brain is telling me this is a bit Half man half biscuit-esque, but I can't be sure.

Ok right band what is the song?

Aldini98
22/08/2005, 3:08 PM

Here's one....

Oh Oh Yipee aye oh

Very good ! Its by Jets To Brazil

23/08/2005, 8:44 PM

Here's one....

Oh Oh Yipee aye oh

Ok seeing as there were no takers I'll tell ye.
It;s called Sealclubbing.... :D The title is a **** take of the David Essex song
Me And My Girl Nightclubbing.

23/08/2005, 9:49 PM
Very good ! Its by Jets To Brazil

Don't know much about them. I flew to Brazil in March so the name has a certain resonance for me . :D

Ok Here's my next one:-
Visuals, Magazines, Reflect styles, past future in extreme.

noby
26/08/2005, 9:10 AM
CTID has us stumped again. So before the thread dies:

"she said: "Eh, I know you, and you cannot sing"
I said: "that's nothing - you should hear me play piano" "

ccfcman
26/08/2005, 12:00 PM
the smiths the queen is dead

26/08/2005, 8:12 PM
Don't know much about them. I flew to Brazil in March so the name has a certain resonance for me . :D

Ok Here's my next one:-
Visuals, Magazines, Reflect styles, past future in extreme.

It's Visage by Visage.... :rolleyes:

26/08/2005, 8:13 PM
Ok here's another one.....

I had an uncle who once played for Red Star Belgrade! :D

carrickharp
29/08/2005, 7:41 AM
Sexuality - Billy Bragg

Hi Time magazine hi Pulitzer Prize tribal scars in Technicolor bang bang club AK 47 hour

noby
29/08/2005, 7:51 AM
Manics - Kevin Carter.

That was alright for a while, but soon I wanted more.
I wanted to see aswell as hear, so I hid inside her wardrobe

29/08/2005, 7:58 AM
Too easy - Babies by Pulp.

noby
29/08/2005, 8:48 AM
Fine so.

We're 4 boys in corduroy,
We're not brilliant but we're competent

30/08/2005, 10:22 PM
Haven't a clue and failed to Google it too...... :(

noby
31/08/2005, 10:38 AM
Haven't a clue and failed to Google it too...... :(

Oops. That's because it should have been 'terrific', and not 'brilliant'. See here. (http://www.belleandsebastian.com/recordings.php?release=&view=lyrics&lyrics=97)

How about:

"Back in '68 in a sweaty club
Before Jimmy's Machine and The Rocksteady Rub"

RĂ©iteoir
31/08/2005, 11:00 AM
Oops. That's because it should have been 'terrific', and not 'brilliant'. See here. (http://www.belleandsebastian.com/recordings.php?release=&view=lyrics&lyrics=97)

How about:

"Back in '68 in a sweaty club
Before Jimmy's Machine and The Rocksteady Rub"

Easy!

Dexy's Midnight Runners - Gino (Lawless)

how about:

"Nero fiddles while Gordon Burns"

31/08/2005, 10:44 PM
Easy!

Dexy's Midnight Runners - Gino (Lawless)

how about:

"Nero fiddles while Gordon Burns"

Joy Division Oven Gloves by the fantastic Half Man Half Biscuit...

Here's one....

When you're awake you're asleep.... Yeah eh !

03/09/2005, 8:03 AM
Here's one....

Huge hint... inspired by the Dexy's Midnight Runners one

03/09/2005, 8:46 PM
Joy Division Oven Gloves by the fantastic Half Man Half Biscuit...

Here's one....

It's by the Bureau...(a Dexy's offshoot) and it's called " Only For Sheep"

here's an easy one

" But I'm going to get revenge and I'm sure you'll experience that someday"

04/09/2005, 10:15 PM
Don't know that one, but I want to play anyway, so here's one (If anyone gets this I'll be very impressed)

"Been watching so much TV, I'm thinner than I should be,
I'm like a waterlogged ball, that no-one wants to kick around anymore"

17/09/2005, 9:52 AM
here's an easy one

" But I'm going to get revenge and I'm sure you'll experience that someday"

Lene Marlin and Sitting Down Here.

17/09/2005, 9:54 AM
Don't know that one, but I want to play anyway, so here's one (If anyone gets this I'll be very impressed)

"Been watching so much TV, I'm thinner than I should be,
I'm like a waterlogged ball, that no-one wants to kick around anymore"

You am I Heavy Heart

Here's another one....

"Broken glass every where people p****ng
On the stairs you know they just don't care "

noby
19/09/2005, 9:27 AM
You am I Heavy Heart

Here's another one....

"Broken glass every where people p****ng
On the stairs you know they just don't care "

Me thinks it's Grand Master Flash - the message.

I knew I'd get one of yours eventually.

"And i love the prs cheques, that you bring"

19/09/2005, 9:30 AM
here is one:

"crazy horse paris france,
forget the names, remember romance."

carrickharp
19/09/2005, 9:37 AM
Girls, Girls, Girls - Motley Crue

with the headlights pointed at the dawn
we were sure we'd never see an end to it all