View Full Version : Djurgardens v Cork City

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7

manic da hoop
11/08/2005, 6:56 PM
Excellent!

Well done Cork. Now finish them off in two weeks time.

Koh.

11/08/2005, 6:57 PM
Well Cork scored a goal and then Djurgarden scored one, which means the result was a draw. Hows that for ye?Sarcastic ******* :rolleyes: :D

jorge
11/08/2005, 6:58 PM
1 2/3 for this year.
Is that good bad or alright?

bigmac
11/08/2005, 6:58 PM
As much as it helps us all, this is our ****ing game not yours.

Take a chill pill dude, the whole league will benefit from the coefficient you know.

11/08/2005, 6:59 PM
Is that good bad or alright?
Equal best ever for the league with the year Bohs beat Aberdeen and Kaiserslautern I think.

Fair_play_boy
96FM haven't even announced the equaliser yet :rolleyes: Updates my arse.

1 2/3 for this year.

So the equal of the year we are now loseing?

While we may gain nothing if that's how it stays (and hopefully it isn't) we will shoot up the rankings over the next few seasons if we keep up this average as the next few years we're going to lose are, afaik, rubbish really.

Fair play to Linfield if that 1-1 is a result too.

11/08/2005, 7:00 PM
Well 1-1 is a good result I suppose but theres a bit of an after taste coz we were leading for the whole match, kind of like when we beat CSKA Kiev 2-1 at home a few years ago.

Got to be happy though. Bring back George, drop Greg and 2 teams going hell for leather at the X. Should be a great game.

11/08/2005, 7:00 PM
Equal best ever for the league with the year Bohs beat Aberdeen and Kaiserslautern I think.

I thought so

Btw, Bohs were not the only team to get points for us that season. Another team contributed exactly half of it iirc :)

11/08/2005, 7:01 PM
Updates my arse.FPB is updating his arse? :eek: How much is that costing ya? :D

11/08/2005, 7:02 PM
Fantastic Result....maybe i'm a bit greedy but 1 nil win would have been unreal.

higgins
11/08/2005, 7:02 PM
http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2006.html

Can anyone tell me when this page was last updated??? SAT 6th AUG it says for me but I been having some trouble with laptop on other sites.

11/08/2005, 7:03 PM
1 2/3 for this year.

1.6666 or something like that ? well at least we made up for losing the co-efficent from 5 years ago.

Hopefully CCFC can win the game at the Cross. They have home advantage and Callahan back so looking promising. Was the game close ? or was it all one way traffic ?

**EDIT

higgens it was last updated on sunday

UEFA Country Ranking 2006
Last update: Sun, 07 Aug 2005 04:32:10 GMT

11/08/2005, 7:03 PM
Post Match discussion here (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=28245)

Will save people wading through 16+ pages of match updates.

11/08/2005, 7:04 PM
Btw, Bohs were not the only team to get points for us that season. Another team contributed exactly half of it iirc :)
Don't think so. Bohs got 1 point for beating Aberdeen and 2 for beating Kaiserslautern which is 1 point for the co-eff so Shels must have got the 2/3.

Fair_play_boy
11/08/2005, 7:06 PM
eL forum (http://foot.ie/showthread.php?t=28239)

Offical thread there!Ta Pete. I was lost in the fog there for awhile. :)

11/08/2005, 7:06 PM
Don't think so. Bohs got 1 point for beating Aberdeen and 2 for beating Kaiserslautern which is 1 point for the co-eff so Shels must have got the 2/3.

Only 1 for beating the Germans, the other 1 went to their own co-efficent iirc.

Shels had one win and two draws, Bohs had two wins. Same points for the co-efficent, they got a club co-efficent out of it though.

11/08/2005, 7:07 PM
http://www.xs4all.nl/~kassiesa/bert/uefa/data/method3/crank2006.html

Can anyone tell me when this page was last updated??? SAT 6th AUG it says for me but I been having some trouble with laptop on other sites.
Bert seems to be away. He never takes that long to update pages and all the pages haven't been updated since August 6th.

11/08/2005, 7:07 PM
good result (if ccfc can win at home it will)

can someone work out our co efficent ?

http://www.myjavaserver.com/~bertuefa/data/method3/crank2006.html

what we got this season must 01/02 ??

11/08/2005, 7:08 PM
Fantastic Result....maybe i'm a bit greedy but 1 nil win would have been unreal.

It's always a matter of the order of the goals. If you were the ones who equalised you'd be on top of the moon. However having lost the lead you're always going to feel a bit robbed.

Interestingly Carmarthen are holding FC Copenhagen to a draw at half time in Denmark. :eek:

higgins
11/08/2005, 7:10 PM
Yeah thought it was just me. Thanks

and Bohs got one of their points in a proper Round so it was double I think. Shels were in champions League and it was all qualifying.

Bohs 3.0pts
Shels 2.0pts
Cork 0.0pts

Total 5 divided by 3 clubs was 1.666 for the year.

11/08/2005, 7:12 PM
Only 1 for beating the Germans, the other 1 went to their own co-efficent iirc.

Shels had one win and two draws, Bohs had two wins. Same points for the co-efficent, they got a club co-efficent out of it though.
No the Kaiserslautern (that's a pain to spell every time BTW!) game was in the first round proper so counted double effectively. Bohs got the points onto their club coefficient as well but the country coeff got the two points as well. (2 + 3)/3 = 1.666666.

11/08/2005, 7:14 PM
Fair enough so, I didn't know first round propers counted double, so Shels draw against Lille was equal to a win in the qualifyers?

higgins
11/08/2005, 7:15 PM
Yes it went like this

Bohs 3.0pts
Shels 2.0pts
Cork 0.0pts

Total 5 divided by 3 clubs was 1.666 for the year

11/08/2005, 7:18 PM
Djungardens have team of full internationals. 1-1 is superb result. Swedes seem to have fairly good home record this season & not as good on the road.

If i hadn't banned myself from betting on City i'd have few hundred euro now as saw 1-1 was 8/1.

11/08/2005, 7:21 PM
Djungardens have team of full internationals. 1-1 is superb result. Swedes seem to have fairly good home record this season & not as good on the road.

If i hadn't banned myself from betting on City i'd have few hundred euro now as saw 1-1 was 8/1.

Should have played it safe Pete, back Djungardens for the win and another one on the draw and you would have been (very) happy no matter what :)

11/08/2005, 7:22 PM
# country 01/02 02/03 03/04 04/05 05/06 rank06 nt06
40 Ireland 0.666 0.166 0.333 1.333 1.500 3.998 (1/ 3)

05/06 so far is 1.666 ? or something like that ?

so our co-efficent is 4.164 ?? would that be right ? It still leaves us on 40th position :o

11/08/2005, 7:24 PM
Correct. All we need to do is maintain this average over the next 3 years and we will move up the rankings.

11/08/2005, 7:28 PM
Should have played it safe Pete, back Djungardens for the win and another one on the draw and you would have been (very) happy no matter what :)

I need to pick an easy game so i can kill the jinx. I always keep City out of my accumulators too.

11/08/2005, 7:29 PM
so our co-efficent is 4.164 ?? would that be right ? It still leaves us on 40th position :o
Yes but look at the next three scores to be dropped. We've got more this year than the three put together. :)

11/08/2005, 7:29 PM
Correct. All we need to do is maintain this average over the next 3 years and we will move up the rankings.

We have to make headway here !!

11/08/2005, 7:30 PM
# country 01/02 02/03 03/04 04/05 05/06 rank06 nt06
40 Ireland 0.666 0.166 0.333 1.333 1.500 3.998 (1/ 3)

Taking 1.666 from this season to 08/09 and taking what we got last year we would get the following : -

# country 04/05 05/06 06/07 07/08 08/09 Total
Ireland 1.333 1.500 1.666 1.666 1.666 7.831

That would move us up to 30th in just 3 seasons!! Pretty dramatic but all the clubs have to get results.

higgins
11/08/2005, 7:30 PM
Countries ranked 26th down to 52 start in the first round of competitions. Its good to be as high up as possible but we need to aim for that 25th spot to get teams into Round 2 and some easy draws into the big money.

Long term goal but it takes about 3.0pts average per season to get up to 25th or higher. We have 1.666pts so far, NOT having a go at the clubs but 2 wins for Longford and Cork would have put us close.

11/08/2005, 7:32 PM
We have to make headway here !!

Doing the same as this year or last year over the next few years will be making headway because the rankings we're going to lose over that period are poor.

It's all about progression really, anything better is a bonus but we have to progress even slowly. I would be happy if we did that.

11/08/2005, 7:35 PM
We need all 3 teams picking up some points each season.

We can genuinely expect to get all 3 teams past the 1st qualifying round each season from now on.

Countries ranked 26th down to 52 start in the first round of competitions. Its good to be as high up as possible but we need to aim for that 25th spot to get teams into Round 2 and some easy draws into the big money.

The catch 22 is that it is easier to accumulate points when entered competitons seeded at round 1 than unseeded at round 2. There are no coefficient points given for getting into the 2nd qualifying round and 25th position would leave you unseeded probably. Therefore unless you're ready to step up to the plate you'll be accumulalting 0 points and fall back down.

We need all 3 teams picking up some points each season.

We can genuinely expect to get all 3 teams past the 1st qualifying round each season from now on.

Depending on the cup winners ;)

11/08/2005, 7:38 PM
It would be great if they gave the Inter toto to the Cup winners and Europe for 3rd placed team :)

Getting 1.666 each year would be excellent IMO. Who knows a club might break into UEFA Cup before then but getting to 30th position would be real progress.

11/08/2005, 7:41 PM
It would be great if they gave the Inter toto to the Cup winners and Europe for 3rd placed team :)

And where else does that happen?

11/08/2005, 7:45 PM
will you be saying that next season if longford win it again and get zero co-efficent :D :D

11/08/2005, 7:46 PM
will you be saying that next season if longford win it again and get zero co-efficent :D :D

I would.

11/08/2005, 7:52 PM
Longford won't win the cup this year anyway. They're going out in the next round. :D

higgins
11/08/2005, 7:54 PM
Yeah but Poor Student, the aim of the game is to get as high as possible. Whats the point having coefficient points if your still in Round 1!!! It sort of defeats the purpose in the first place no!!

You dont always have to be unseeded when getting a bye into round 2 but if it does happen that way then fair enough thats the way it is.

The whole aim is to get into round two so unseeded at first may cause a yoyo effect until we get a lucky draw and go through.

Anyway Cork are playing a seed today and done ok. Its all progress, hiding in the first round wont get you anywhere. You got to put your neck on the line some stage.

11/08/2005, 8:00 PM
Yeah but Poor Student, the aim of the game is to get as high as possible. Whats the point having coefficient points if your still in Round 1!!! It sort of defeats the purpose in the first place no!!

You dont always have to be unseeded when getting a bye into round 2 but if it does happen that way then fair enough thats the way it is.

The whole aim is to get into round two so unseeded at first may cause a yoyo effect until we get a lucky draw and go through.

Anyway Cork are playing a seed today and done ok. Its all progress, hiding in the first round wont get you anywhere. You got to put your neck on the line some stage.

Higgins just pointing out the pitfalls. Of course that's where I want the eL to be and more. But for example your might Croatian league (just messing!) got all their sides in at the 2nd round and currently have 0 coefficient points in total with 1 side eliminated and the other two facing deficits in the 2nd leg in the UEFA.

11/08/2005, 8:09 PM
And where else does that happen?

Doesn't matter. If it helps us why not let us show some vision for a change rather than copying others?

11/08/2005, 8:16 PM
Doesn't matter. If it helps us why not let us show some vision for a change rather than copying others?

Lets not. That's a very bad approach to the game. The kind that has diluted the quality of the European Cup to let in runners up and even less. Almost since the inception of European competition cup winners have received a European place. Even a cup of their own which was held above the UEFA Cup. Football is not entirely so bureaucratic. The cup is a romantic competition that can produce some unusual winners but that is what football is about. Yes we've had some lowly cup winners such as Dundalk while they were being relegated. But so did Kaiserslautern one year in Germany. England for example had a 1st Division side in Millwall in the UEFA last season. We shouldn't become so obsessed with coefficient points that the romance of the game itself is stamped out in a ruthless quest to squeeze out a few more fractions of a point.

higgins
11/08/2005, 8:26 PM
UEFA give each country a place for their cup winners. You cant just change that for the sake of it?? I think it may be possible to give it to League Cup but thats about it. Its there due to the old Cup Winners Cup.

Croatia were very hard done by this year poor student. Split were seeded up until Liverpool broke every rule in the book and of course Shels made them bankrupt last year and caused their big slump :)

11/08/2005, 8:28 PM
Lets not. That's a very bad approach to the game. The kind that has diluted the quality of the European Cup to let in runners up and even less. Almost since the inception of European competition cup winners have received a European place. Even a cup of their own which was held above the UEFA Cup. Football is not entirely so bureaucratic. The cup is a romantic competition that can produce some unusual winners but that is what football is about. Yes we've had some lowly cup winners such as Dundalk while they were being relegated. But so did Kaiserslautern one year in Germany. England for example had a 1st Division side in Millwall in the UEFA last season. We shouldn't become so obsessed with coefficient points that the romance of the game itself is stamped out in a ruthless quest to squeeze out a few more fractions of a point.

A valid argument if you were taking away european football altogether. Really, you draw a better team and bigger draw in the inter toto then the uefa cup first round anyway so does it make much difference to the cup winners which competition they're in?

11/08/2005, 8:35 PM

EXACTLY!!

11/08/2005, 8:38 PM
A valid argument if you were taking away european football altogether. Really, you draw a better team and bigger draw in the inter toto then the uefa cup first round anyway so does it make much difference to the cup winners which competition they're in?

Yes. The UEFA draws bigger attention, presitge, crowds and prize money.