View Full Version : UCD supporters 0-c.20 Dublin City supporters
Don't let the ridiculous scoreline fool you. This one wasn't as one sided as you'd think.
NOT
I really find it hard to believe anyone who says we have a chance against Longford at half time on Friday but I'll take your word for it. :rolleyes:
Bald Student
07/08/2005, 6:32 PM
I really find it hard to believe anyone who says we have a chance against Longford at half time on Friday but I'll take your word for it. :rolleyes:We'll let them go 2-0 up and then beat them 5-1 in the away leg.
07/08/2005, 8:38 PM
Wait. We lost 2-0 or does c.20 mean circa 20? :eek: If that's the case even I'd get a game for us. :o
08/08/2005, 7:30 AM
We'll let them go 2-0 up and then beat them 5-1 in the away leg.
The game took place at the Belfield Astro pitch if I am not mistaken ... how much more "home" could it have been?...... Frigging disgrace :D
Maynard
08/08/2005, 11:31 AM
It was 24 - 0 btw :eek:
08/08/2005, 12:22 PM
I really find it hard to believe anyone who says we have a chance against Longford at half time on Friday but I'll take your word for it. :rolleyes:
Well, we won't lose 24-0 anyway! Not in a 10-minute match! :p
Personally, I blame injuries to both our keepers, four players in other countries, another few working and about four or five players who just can't really play... :( Other than that, it'd've been anyone's game! :)
08/08/2005, 12:49 PM
The game took place at the Belfield Astro pitch if I am not mistaken ... how much more "home" could it have been?
I think he's talking about Longford...UEFA Cup...?!
08/08/2005, 12:57 PM
A team no worse than yesterday's drew with Longford in a half-time game two years ago and a slightly better one beat them 9-6 in Longford over an hour or so the year before. It'll close enough I'd say.
Aberdonian Stu
08/08/2005, 1:28 PM
Yeah Colie don't let the result fool you. We may be very bad but so are Longford!
08/08/2005, 1:30 PM
Who lined out for us as a matter of interest?
08/08/2005, 1:56 PM
Positions switched wildly and randomly, but the panel was -
Me
Bald Student
Barry Saul
Barry's mate John
Joe O'Regan (lad I know)
Joe's mate Mick
Simon (half-time draw kids)
Séamus Sweeney
Colie
08/08/2005, 2:03 PM
I know it was a friendly kick about but how did you manage to lose by 24 and not score one? :eek:
08/08/2005, 2:04 PM
Well, it all started with them being better than us...
08/08/2005, 2:09 PM
Well, it all started with them being better than us...
Hmmmm, that probably was detrimental come to think of it. They're not one of these kickabout teams that actually trains twice a week and holds tactical sessions are they? If you ever look at the Superleague tables in UCD you see some teams at the bottom conceding over 100 goals as their opposition even send out minders on a Saturday night to prevent players from drinking too much. :eek:
08/08/2005, 2:12 PM
Well, they had a full panel of jersey numbers and were kicking about a good 10/15 mins before kick-off. We were changing at kick-off time and had to randomly make up positions and decide who was starting on the bench. I think heads dropped after the fifth goal, which was an unnecessary overhead kick from five yards to an empty net. The fact that the rudimentary tactics of the game were beyond most of our XI didn't really help... I think we were playing the most rigid 4-4-2 ever seen, to the extent that when our right back went to take a throw ten yards from the goalline, there was no-one to throw to because everyone was still in the centre-back/centre-mid/right-mid positions!
I reckon we should write into Sky One, let them know how bad we are and get them to make a programme in which a famous former player coaches us for two weeks before we take on a team of old First Division legends in a packed Premiership ground! :p
If you need a keeper I could fill in, I did do it for a few years.
08/08/2005, 2:33 PM
And I'm a natural left footer btw if that's any use.
08/08/2005, 2:39 PM
If you need a keeper I could fill in, I did do it for a few years.
We actually had two keepers for the DC game. I did my knee in jumping off a landrover at 20mph just last week, and the first save to my right cut the wound open. Barry Saul went in after about 20 minutes (only 3-0 then!), but he was complaining of a stubbed finger. With two fit (well...uninjured!) keepers, I'm fairly confident we'd have kept them to under 20!
I think people who can tackle are more our prioirty... We actually did relatively OK on the rare occasions we got forward, but then DC would break, our entire centre-back line (which was already sitting inside the penalty area) would back off even further and a shot and goal would go in completely unchallenged...
Sounds like you lack a captain who can yell loud enough to galvanise the team into action.
08/08/2005, 2:47 PM
We actually had two keepers for the DC game. I did my knee in jumping off a landrover at 20mph just last week, and the first save to my right cut the wound open. Barry Saul went in after about 20 minutes (only 3-0 then!), but he was complaining of a stubbed finger. With two fit (well...uninjured!) keepers, I'm fairly confident we'd have kept them to under 20!
I think people who can tackle are more our prioirty... We actually did relatively OK on the rare occasions we got forward, but then DC would break, our entire centre-back line (which was already sitting inside the penalty area) would back off even further and a shot and goal would go in completely unchallenged...
Yeah, they could run at us for fun. The midfield and back four would wind up on the goal line, with one of the strikers about eighteen yards out. On the rare occasions when they didn't score or win a corner, one of two things happened. Either we took so long over our kickout that their entire team was comfortably back in position, thus winning the ball back immediately, or we hoofed up to the now loan striker (generally Joey), who'd either fail to get to it (being smaller, and no better than all four of the guys marking him), or knock it down for their midfield, as ours still hadn't caught up.
I think Poor Student had it right. These were guys who play football regularly. We hadn't a hope.
08/08/2005, 2:51 PM
Sounds like you lack a captain who can yell loud enough to galvanise the team into action.
My throat is actually a bit hoarse from shouting, actually! Think everyone gave us listening to me after a while though! :o :)
Nope, I think it goes a bit deeper than that, to be honest.
You're supposed to be the captain and your team is sitting down? You're not shouting loud enough or long enough IMO.
08/08/2005, 2:54 PM
My throat is actually a bit hoarse from shouting, actually! Think everyone gave us listening to me after a while though! :o :)
I suspect the fact that you were ignoring most of your own advice didn't help. :p
Nope, I think it goes a bit deeper than that, to be honest.
Nothing deep about it. They're a lot better than us.
08/08/2005, 2:55 PM
You're supposed to be the captain and your team is sitting down? You're not shouting loud enough or long enough IMO.
Mick McCarthy couldn't have done enough shouting to keep us under 20-0 yesterday.
I'm just stunned that DC had the numbers to field a team :confused:
Was Ronan Seery playing?
08/08/2005, 3:13 PM
I'm just stunned that DC had the numbers to field a team :confused:
Was Ronan Seery playing?
Not that we noticed, though one of their players resembled Mick O'Byrne.
08/08/2005, 3:16 PM
I suspect the fact that you were ignoring most of your own advice didn't help. :p
I'm a whore of a player when we're doing badly. I can see everything that's going wrong, but that doesn't mean I can play any better! :) Unfortunately, people were letting DC players roam through midfield, I'd go to them and by necessity leave my man to do so, who was passed to, who'd score. If I'd've stayed put, the same would've happened.
I did claim one corner and one or two crosses, plus get a nice turn on some lad to send Joey away down the wing, which is more good than I usually do in a game!
08/08/2005, 3:23 PM
I'm a whore of a player when we're doing badly. I can see everything that's going wrong, but that doesn't mean I can play any better! :)
I'm not immensely different, but a lot less vocal. For instance, I think at one point you basically asked me, possibly the least fit player on the field, to play box to box. Which probably only serves to emphasise how utterly lacking in good players we were.
Did nobody think of just committing niggling fouls and playing with a lot of physicality so they'd lose interest in the game?
08/08/2005, 3:35 PM
Did nobody think of just committing niggling fouls and playing with a lot of physicality so they'd lose interest in the game?
They were bigger than us. Seriously, I'm a big guy, but I would have been ploughed out of it by them. Most of our attempts to kick people caught the wind of their passage.
Just to add insult to injury or injury to insult, or whatever, I think I may have broken my left leg, or injured it pretty badly. I would have gone to casulty today but I'm going to see the Presidents Of The United States Of America in the Templebar Music Centre tonite & was afraid that if I did go I'd be in hospital & miss it. Probs have to hit St Vincents tomorrow morning. I'm afraid you'll have to count me out of the Friday half time extravaganza.
Must say thought twenty four nil or smenty four nil, it was still good craic.
08/08/2005, 6:48 PM
Just to add insult to injury or injury to insult, or whatever, I think I may have broken my left leg, or injured it pretty badly. I would have gone to casulty today but I'm going to see the Presidents Of The United States Of America in the Templebar Music Centre tonite & was afraid that if I did go I'd be in hospital & miss it. Probs have to hit St Vincents tomorrow morning. I'm afraid you'll have to count me out of the Friday half time extravaganza.
Hard luck man. I hope it's not broken.
Must say thought twenty four nil or smenty four nil, it was still good craic.
Very true.
Maynard
08/08/2005, 7:06 PM
Have to give credit where it is due here actually lads. Despite the scoreline mounting, none of our goals came about by any of the UCD players simply giving up and allowing us to score. Every player did his best until the 90 minutes were up, and that was commendable. Personally I enjoyed the game, and that surface was a joy to play on (although perhaps had the game been closer, slide tackles and the likes would have been made nigh on impossible)
Just as a point of note that was our 4th game together as a team since last year. We've only played Shamrock Rovers once and Shelbourne twice.
We don't train together or anything, but 90% of our players would be playing some kind of regular competitive football. (SuperLeague would seem an obvious choice for you lads :confused: )
Oh and we've never had a problem putting a team together Galway Harp. Most Dublin City fans I know are actively involved in local football sides.
Good luck in your future games lads, and we would be willing to play again in the future no problem. I would recommend keeping bangers to a minimum, as you wouldn't be able to rely on them showing up and it's impossible to build any cohesive style if people don't know each others names etc Our team yesterday was 98% of the team that drew 0-0 with Shels 2 weeks ago.
08/08/2005, 7:10 PM
Our team yesterday was 98% of the team that drew 0-0 with Shels 2 weeks ago.
That's means roughly 20% of one player disppeared? :eek:
Maynard if none of your goals came from our lads giving up then that is a very sad thing indeed. :D
Thanks for the advice though. Hopefully I can play against you lads sometime.
08/08/2005, 7:12 PM
Have to give credit where it is due here actually lads. Despite the scoreline mounting, none of our goals came about by any of the UCD players simply giving up and allowing us to score. Every player did his best until the 90 minutes were up, and that was commendable.
That's even more depressing - at least if we'd given up, we could have claimed the scoreline flattered youz! :)
I would recommend keeping bangers to a minimum
Definitely. Problem is, we've never played an 11-a-side game before (7-a-side at max), and with so many people out of the country or at work, we were kind of forced into a patchwork team...
Our team yesterday was 98% of the team that drew 0-0 with Shels 2 weeks ago.
Who was the unlucky 1/5th of a player to miss out? ;)
08/08/2005, 7:14 PM
Pineapple that post was relatively similar to mine. Great minds? :confused:
08/08/2005, 7:17 PM
Definitely fools!
student
08/08/2005, 9:49 PM
It seems then that the first team isnt the only team in the club that struggles to score..... :) :rolleyes:
Maybe lads you'll be a bit more sympathetic on McWalther and the lads in future
08/08/2005, 9:53 PM
well lads our team is set! i very much doubt we will hammer ye but may the best team win on firday! ;)
Breifne
08/08/2005, 11:07 PM
I think heads dropped after the fifth goal, which was an unnecessary overhead kick from five yards to an empty net.
No i think that was actually the sixth or seventh, cause i got the fifth and went on and the lad that came on decided to stick the ball away with the overly flamboyant overhead / scissors / fall over kick from four / five / two yards.
Great game, and really enjoyed it, we should set up some sort of a one day competition, if UCD were able to swing the use of the five-a-side pitches for a day, say in late october, towards the end of the season, and get a bit of publicity, shouldn't have any problem getting a bit of sponsorship for it.
What you think, i'd be prepared to do a lot of the leg work, and recruiting a panel of 12 from each of the 22 teams, come to Dublin on a Saturday / Sunday, play a champions league style competition. Could maybe even show the highlights of the final on eircom league weekly that week.
Just a suggestion.
09/08/2005, 12:38 PM
Definitely. It's something that was looked into on foot.ie a while back (or an alternative idea where supporters play against a team of supporters from whatever team they're playing that week). It'd have to be after the season, I think, but certainly is a runner. UCD may be a problem 'cos the astro pitches are in such high use during the season, although now that there's more of them, that may ease. We can but check anyway!
Breifne
09/08/2005, 2:13 PM
I'll have a quick chat with Maccer when he gets back from his holidays.
Never know might be able to swing something.
sorbothegreek
10/08/2005, 12:07 AM
A team no worse than yesterday's drew with Longford in a half-time game two years ago and a slightly better one beat them 9-6 in Longford over an hour or so the year before. It'll close enough I'd say.
Lads, i think you could actually be starting favourites for Friday. At least you've played together within the last 6 months. As it stands, (correct me if im wrong Martinho) we have 4 definites for the game with an estimated average weight of 13-14 stones (Ave height: 5 9'). We are not fit! We are not colse to fit either! If your as bad as you say, it could be close. Either ways, it should be a bit of comedy for the masses..
10/08/2005, 12:21 PM
an estimated average weight of 13-14 stones
13 stone average! Sure Aberdonian Stu nearly brings our team average to that on his own! :p Even I'm over 13 stone (and I'm only 5'6"!! :eek: )
10/08/2005, 1:31 PM
We are not fit! We are not colse to fit either!
Good stuff. That's that even at least!
ltfc_2004
10/08/2005, 1:34 PM
Longford squad is treadbare after talking to Marty, Gone to find my boots and see if i can remember how to kick a ball !!!
at least i'll be bringing the weight down at just under 10 stone :p
Bald Student
10/08/2005, 3:27 PM
How about instead of playing 7 a side, we play 70 stone a side. You can field as many or as few players as you choose so long as the total body mass is less than 70 stone?
10/08/2005, 3:38 PM
How about instead of playing 7 a side, we play 70 stone a side. You can field as many or as few players as you choose so long as the total body mass is less than 70 stone?
The pitch damage might put the club off accepting that idea! :D
ltfc_2004
12/08/2005, 2:12 PM
any of the UCD team going drinking beforehand ? nobble the opposition before the game :D
12/08/2005, 2:16 PM
Usually a couple of us in the Montrose across the way from about 5:00. I'll be on the dilutables though! :)