View Full Version : Longford Town 1-0 Bohemians

07/08/2005, 4:43 PM
Well great result, 3 points, 4th place.............definately lived a charmed life but it really added to the game...

Anyone have a crowd estimate? (am crap at that sorta thing).

Well done to the lads, really picked up their game and sincerely hope Keego is ok, worked like a beaver last night and delighted he got the winner against his old club!

07/08/2005, 4:47 PM
Taken from here! (http://www.eleven-a-side.com)

Longford grab three points

August 7, 2005

Longford Town 1-0 Bohemians
Longford Town grabbed all three points in Saturday night’s eircom League Premier Division encounter with Bohemians – although the Gypsies could easily have been three up inside the first hour at Flancare Park.

Bohs were without a host of first team regulars, with injury ruling out full back Stephen Rice, player-manager Gareth Farrelly and strike pairing Tony Grant and Dominic Foley, while centre half Ken Oman was suspended.

However, they started well, with Aidan O’Keeffe firing wide early on before Stephen Ward’s header head Town keeper Stephen O’Brien only to come back off the bar.

After 18 minutes, referee Paul McKeon pointed to the spot for a Bohs penalty, adjudging that O’Brien had fouled Gypsies youngster Mark Duggan en route to collecting a loose ball.

That decision was fiercely disputed by the home side, and O’Brien made amends by keeping out Kevin Hunt’s kick.

Bohs hit the woodwork early in the second half as well, O’Brien doing brilliantly to touch Ward’s effort onto the post and away to safety.

And the home side, second best for much of the evening, hit the sucker punch winner through former Bohemians star Paul Keegan with 20 minutes remaining.

Keegan, who won a league crown at Dalymount Park three years ago, pounced on a loose ball to fire past Matt Gregg for the winner.

Longford Town: O’Brien, O’Connor, Dillon, Ferguson, Prunty, Baker, Fitzgerald, Cawley, Cronin (Byrne, 84), Mooney, Keegan (Myler, 81).

Bohemians: Gregg, Cooney, Palmer, Byrne, Keddy, Hunt, Harkin, Kelly, Duggan, Ward, O’Keeffe (Fitzgerald, 74).

Referee: P. McKeon (Dublin).

fosterdollar
08/08/2005, 8:12 AM
sincerely hope Keego is ok, worked like a beaver last night and delighted he got the winner against his old club!
Did he pick up an injury?

08/08/2005, 8:15 AM
Did he pick up an injury?

Yeah, he seemed to have gotten a knock to the head and came off. Club doctor was then called to the dressing room!
Anyone know how he is now?

08/08/2005, 9:36 AM
funny how a few wins can change things. I might be wrong, but isnt 4th our highest league position under Mathews? I'd personally take a high league placing over winning a round in Europe.

Albert
08/08/2005, 2:58 PM
I think we need to start uping our performance when it comes to the league table, perhaps the Intertoto cup would be a better place for us to blood our European prospects :p Anyway, well done to the lads for pulling out a couple of good performances if they keep this up we can all forget about the European disaster and look forward to a great season at home

08/08/2005, 9:18 PM
a great result for us. we were absolutely blessed with bohs chances hitting the crossbar! danny o connor easily mom followed closely by digger! good atmosphere especially the chants from the bohs supporters at digger-olumpa olumpa .

pity the atmosphere turned nasty at the final whistle- when some boez tried to nick our flags and then had a go - only for the prompt reactions of da guards it may have got worse - where did our stewards disappear to?

a sore pair of losers their lot are! all we did was chant 1-0 to the longford town as our players were still on the pitch and they take offence to that!

as they were walking out,they made signs at us signifing 5-1 at us and chanting into our faces WALES WALES!

we voiced our concerns to jim hanley and fair dues to him, he will look at segregating the bohs supporters in future. i believe a few of their lot were trying to get at me just because i shouted at the bohs muppets to stay away from our flag!

rant over

delighted with the three points our season is reborn and very impressed with dave mooney- a find for us and veryunlucky not to score!

08/08/2005, 9:25 PM
Was there till a few mins after the whistle but must have just missed that incident I was sitting more or less beside section O but must have walked down towards the exit and missed it. Was some right jumped up little tossers at it. Hard "men"

Loved diggers response to the guy giving it loads at him by smiling and kissing the longford crest :)

I dont know why supporters are allowed to change ends tbh. Away fans should be given a dedicated away section for all of the games and made stay there.

Mooney had a great game. Played some very good stuff. Looked lively and alert.

08/08/2005, 10:20 PM
also a point that might have being overlooked by ye. has anyone noticed that flansiro has turned into a fortress for the team! the last time we let in a goal at home in the league was shamrock rovers a month and a half ago! the last time i believe the town lost at home was against shels nearly four months ago!

fair dues to the lads for their efforts! surely in the league our home form has to be better than their away form! very impressed with dan o connor he blocked every shot and is a completely different player from a few months ago!

08/08/2005, 10:33 PM
Long may it last :)

garykelly
09/08/2005, 8:14 AM
went to the game on sat. good win for longford. they did very well. i was well impressed with the set-up. the club has an excellent set-up right the way through. fantastic ground/pitch & friendly people. even got a free programme when they saw the rovers badge on my shirt. top notch stuff. will be even better when the bar opens. is that due to happen soon ?

Anyway fair play to everyone involved there. A wonderful place to go and watch a game. Hopefully rovers can get promoted so we can play in longford next season. All the best for the season ahead.

09/08/2005, 12:53 PM
a great result for us. we were absolutely blessed with bohs chances hitting the crossbar! danny o connor easily mom followed closely by digger! good atmosphere especially the chants from the bohs supporters at digger-olumpa olumpa .

pity the atmosphere turned nasty at the final whistle- when some boez tried to nick our flags and then had a go - only for the prompt reactions of da guards it may have got worse - where did our stewards disappear to?

a sore pair of losers their lot are! all we did was chant 1-0 to the longford town as our players were still on the pitch and they take offence to that!

as they were walking out,they made signs at us signifing 5-1 at us and chanting into our faces WALES WALES!

we voiced our concerns to jim hanley and fair dues to him, he will look at segregating the bohs supporters in future. i believe a few of their lot were trying to get at me just because i shouted at the bohs muppets to stay away from our flag!

rant over

delighted with the three points our season is reborn and very impressed with dave mooney- a find for us and veryunlucky not to score!

What did you expect? You let them have the whole area behind the goal and they could also hang a flag down the far end. Point is you should treat every clubs away fans the same. Notice how there isnt an absolute storm over this. Hey why not ban them the next time? And when you unban them build a cage? :rolleyes:

09/08/2005, 1:53 PM
I agree with ya to be fair, don't know why bohs were treated differently, they've given just as much 'trouble' in the past and some little eejits did again on Saturday.

Stanley Chan
09/08/2005, 6:23 PM
In the 2nd half we decided to head over towards section O and see what the crack was with you lads and enjoyed it. We had commented on the segregation etc sayin it couldnt happen in the Irish League. That was my first experience with Bohs fans, seen a load of stone island gear etc and chuckled at them, they seemed to enjoy giving us the Linfield chant which we found funny! Anyway had a perfect view of what happened at the end as it was right infront of us and at one stage got a wee bit to close. ****ed up Bohs filed past, usual mouthin nothing serious, some arsehole at the back grabbed your flag and start rippin it off seats, a steward stopped him but by this stgae some of your lads had seen it and went to stop him, red rag to the bull and the Bohs fans turned and tried getting back at ya's. It took 1 guard and a steward to stop it, fair play to them especially the gardai officer. Pushed them along then a few came over the seats infront of us, but stopped again after that all calmed down!

Really enjoyed our day down, great feed in P V's, nice pre match pint in Valentines, free programme, friendly supporters and plenty of comments 'those glenturn lads :confused: ' Match was good, the atmosphere was good too, umpha-lumpa was quality! Even better was the post match pint in Valentines, talent outstanding. Only down side was my 4 hour drive back to Belfast :(

Wiseguy
10/08/2005, 8:47 AM
I agree with NY Hoop all away fans should have their own area in the ground with their own facilities and not just Rovers.My only worry would be that maybe some other away who behave themselves would take offence by this but something needs to be done.
Great to hear you enjoyed yourself Stanley Chan.Next time you come down if you want a good feed drive past Flancare and on to a village called Tarmonbarry.It's a nice village on the shannon and go into a pub called Keenan's.Top class food indeed.

10/08/2005, 3:20 PM
when our season is over stanley chan our gang might be up to go up to a few games of yers once yer season starts up and running! glad ye lads enjoeyed the banter!

Stanley Chan
10/08/2005, 6:15 PM
Drop either myself or Lux Interior a message we'll get somethign sorted up our end lads!

Aye was great crack, even the handbags at the end (somethin to tell the other lads over pints on Saturday) :D aand no doubt it wont be our last game!

Lux Interior
10/08/2005, 6:30 PM
With regard the handbags ....

Being a hardened IL veteran of such things, I remembered thinking that this could get a bit tasty at the final whistle, particularly as there was zero segregation.

Now I don't mind a bit of banter and the "5-1" and "Way-ales" chants came under that but one Bohs p*ss-head then got the bulletproof coat on and began mouthing off. Ripping your flag was bang out of order and the line was then crossed.

Stewards and Gardai were spot on. Nipped this in the bud with minimum of fuss. Now, for me, it was unusual to see police inside a ground (as PSNI have left security - largely - to the club stewards) in what I would consider to be a 'low risk' game (am I correct?). Compare the Gardai's swift action and that of the stewards to the inactive PSNI and freeloading-do-nothing stewards at the Glentoran-Linfield game in April and the difference was night and day.

The phrase, "move along, son" was never more apt.

Wiseguy
11/08/2005, 8:47 AM
Isn't it amazing how some Bohs fans were on this site running down SRFC for taking their beloved Casuals flag and then some Bohs fans come to Flancare and try and rip up LTFC flags.Hypocricy me thinks.Maybe getting beat was hard to swallow but i'd be more inclined to think that the guy was a complete and utter idiot letting down himself,his friends and his club.If they are segregated next time they come down to Flancare they now know why.As always it only takes a few to ruin it for everyone.

themull69
11/08/2005, 9:16 AM
Isn't it amazing how some Bohs fans were on this site running down SRFC for taking their beloved Casuals flag and then some Bohs fans come to Flancare and try and rip up LTFC flags.Hypocricy me thinks.Maybe getting beat was hard to swallow but i'd be more inclined to think that the guy was a complete and utter idiot letting down himself,his friends and his club.If they are segregated next time they come down to Flancare they now know why.As always it only takes a few to ruin it for everyone.

Agree totally. I live with a Bohs fan and he went mad at the Rover's fans for robbing their flag and he just then turned around and defended the Bohs fans action in Flancare!! I really hate Bohs.