View Full Version : Which Dublin club do you like the most?

04/08/2005, 4:34 PM
People can see who you vote for so don't bother voting for your own club!

As requested by Da Real Rover.

04/08/2005, 4:38 PM
I'll abstain on this one :)

04/08/2005, 4:51 PM
Me too! I should have added a "hate them all (except my club)" option. :D

04/08/2005, 4:57 PM
Home farm dublin city eveton :)

04/08/2005, 4:59 PM
Pats for me, always enjoyed games in Inchicore and usually good craic with their fans afterwards, be it in Cork or Dublin. Rovers a close second.

04/08/2005, 5:03 PM
I went for Bohz! (Sorry Schumi, AberdeenStu etc :o)
I just think that (in a lot of ways) they have a great system and always try to play their football on the turf + one of the best grounds around.
UCD came a close 2nd, but as a club, well lets just say they're not the best for Cork City!

04/08/2005, 5:11 PM
I just think that (in a lot of ways) they have a great system and always try to play their football on the turf + one of the best grounds around.
UCD came a close 2nd, but as a club, well lets just say they're not the best for Cork City!
Not Shels? :p

04/08/2005, 5:12 PM

Your just a Dublin club floozy :D it'll Pats next week

Da Real Rover
04/08/2005, 5:13 PM
Defo not Shams, not shels. And without doubt not Dublin City. Its gotta be Bohs, there probably the biggest club in Dublin support wise and that matters alot, also they hate shams.

04/08/2005, 5:15 PM
Not Shels? :p

Smart arse (http://foot.ie/poll.php?do=showresults&pollid=411) Last line of the Shelbourne list :cool:

and D2, although Pats are my 'local' club in Dublin, I dont particularly like them either :p

04/08/2005, 5:19 PM
Its gotta be Bohs, there probably the biggest club in Dublin support wise

What? I'd say when Pats are doing well they could get more and Rovers have the biggest crowd potential in Dublin

04/08/2005, 5:31 PM
Hard to pick...but for some reason I went with UCD :o

04/08/2005, 5:32 PM
I like Bohs. Usually get along well with their fans, can drink in the bar without any hassle and Dalymount is the most fan friendly away ground imo.

I despise Shels for obvious reasons.
I hate Pats because of their scummy little fans, **** stadium etc
I try to hate Rovers but can't help having a bit of respect for their fans.

04/08/2005, 5:35 PM
I'll go for rovers though in saying that:

- like bohs as a club (favourite away match in dublin is bohs)
- like pats because of their fans, always come across as a decent family club
- wish ucd would go down because they have feck all fans (sorry lads :o )
- dublin - the 'franchise' irritates me and would hate to see them get promoted
- shels - i cant stand for a couple of reasons.

Speranza
04/08/2005, 6:02 PM
Aprt from Shels I have no gripe with any of the Dubland teams. In the end I went with Pats, when i started following City the S.E.I were the first proper ultras group i seen and I also like the way they are entrenched in their community unlike the roving gypsies of Shels, Rovers e.t.c.

blueviking1980
04/08/2005, 6:04 PM
:ball: Had to cast in a vote for us... twas lookin a tad bare... :(

Cosmo... sometimes to get a club off the ground this measure applies. Wat wud ya do urself in the same situation if u had a new club thrown in to drown at the deepest of ends? Is that why ya left Vikings last season & took a snippet bond with every other club round here? ;)

04/08/2005, 6:05 PM
It was close between Bohs and Pats, but decided to go for Pats.

04/08/2005, 6:07 PM
:ball: Had to cast in a vote for us... twas lookin a tad bare... :(

Cosmo... sometimes to get a club off the ground this measure applies. Wat wud ya do urself in the same situation if u had a new club thrown in to drown at the deepest of ends? Is that why ya left Vikings last season & took a snippet bond with every other club round here? ;)

Yeah, I decided to jumped ship when the ship was going down :D

Sorry, but like UCD ye have very few fans - that adds nothing to the league imo especially when there are already loads of dublin teams in the league - and the 'franchise' vibe does irritate me :p

04/08/2005, 6:15 PM
Where's the Bray option? ;)

blueviking1980
04/08/2005, 6:21 PM
Where's the Bray option? ;)

Isn't that more like, Wicklow Utd neck of the woods or some thing? ;)

blueviking1980
04/08/2005, 6:30 PM
Yeah, I decided to jumped ship when the ship was going down :D

Sorry, but like UCD ye have very few fans - that adds nothing to the league imo especially when there are already loads of dublin teams in the league - and the 'franchise' vibe does irritate me :p

Dosen't mean the ship will sink down to the very bottom... let's just say it's still being held up after capsizing.. ;)

Well so we should have the 'franchise vibe'... most EL clubs should follow suit as in depth as us, instead of moanin bout wat we're tryin to do which is to match a higher level of football to attract the football fans which in turn is obviously great for Irish football. Dublin City might in time have just put it all on the map. Aren't every other clubs in Europe at it generaly speakin? Oh & eh.. England dosen't count :rolleyes: ;)

04/08/2005, 6:31 PM
It's all one and the same if the truth is known! ;)

04/08/2005, 6:42 PM
I try to hate Rovers but can't help having a bit of respect for their fans.

Why do you try to hate them? :confused: :confused: :confused:

04/08/2005, 7:02 PM
Went for Shels. Think it dates back to having a great bit of banter (http://www.ucd.ie/~soccsup/shelschants.html) with their fans in the new stand a few years back while beating them 1-0. Bohs always try and play football and we usually have entertaining games against them. Pat's and Rovers have too large a scumbag element in my opinion. Apathy is probably the best way of describing my feelings towards Dublin City.

Bosco
04/08/2005, 7:57 PM
I've always liked pats and have tried to convince people i know from dub to support them.Richmond is a home from home for town fans and i've always felt welcome there.

I have respect for rovers fans and admire the numbers and noise they bring everywhere

Battery Rover
04/08/2005, 8:04 PM
Have always thought well of Rovers since the battles on the field we had with them in the eighties.

It was always a great match between the two of us and huge crowds. Those were the days :ball:

Gerrit
04/08/2005, 9:05 PM
Apart from Shels: UCD. By far.

I like their fans, they're great chaps to socialise with. And I like the uni thing ; a bit of a club for a small minority, but keeping up with the big "regular" clubs. I like that.

On third spot, after Shels and UCD, I put... well, sorry, Dublin City. I mean, everyone seems to hate them, and they're a very small team without own ground and with not much fans... I can't help but always having big sympathy for those small clubs, for the underdogs. Being a Rosenborg/Norway/Shelbourne/Ostend fan and sympathising with the likes of Luxembourg and Faroes, it should be no surprise I stick up with the underdogs. And which Dublin team is more underdog than Dublin City ? They have something fake maybe, the "franchise thing" ; and despite a friendly meant mocking, I do respect their fans who stick with them despite all critics.

So, my hitparade of favourite Dublin teams:

1. Shelbourne
2. UCD
3. Dublin City
4. Bohs
5. Rovers
6. St Pats

04/08/2005, 9:39 PM
It's all one and the same if the truth is known! ;)

Dont you get me started EnDai ;) , I was thinking of a vote for Shels but now........ see I'm a petty man :p :D

2 out of 3 of the Dublin City votes are from Dub City fan's :confused:

04/08/2005, 10:24 PM
Always had a soft spot for Bohs.

student
04/08/2005, 10:34 PM
UCD would be my favourite. It is the most enjoyable atmosphere to watch a match. The fans (all five of them) are usually quite witty as well.

I don't really enjoy going to see the bigger clubs, mainly becasue i don't like their fans. There tends to be a lot of scum at the Bohs and Rovers matches inparticularly. Obviously i dont mean to tar everyone from Bohs and Rovers with the same brush. The majority of their fans are genuine football loving people but there is a minority that lets them down on occasions.

Shelbourne and Pats have never tickled my fancy either. I would call this the Ollie Byrne and Pat Dolan affect.

And as for Rocky Seery City cough cough sorry i mean Dublin City, well they may as well be based on the Aran Islands as far as i'm concerned.

04/08/2005, 10:51 PM
For me it's a joint favourite with Bohemians and St.Pat's, I voted for Bohs though.

Philo
04/08/2005, 10:53 PM
Pat's is the only Dublin team whose existence doesn't make me sick. I get on with more of their fans than any other team's and I've never had a problem with them as a club.

Rovers... hmmmmmm :rolleyes: Should be playing in the great dogsh!t infested park in the sky against Coleraine. But for the sake of their handful of decent fans and purely because I'd rather have them as arch-enemies than Shels I suppose their surviving isn't quite the worst thing ever to have happened.

UCD? Couldn't care less. Met a decent UCD fan in a pub in Cork once but apart from that they mean nothing to me other than a nuisance team in footballing terms and they have a ground you could make off with, using only a spanner and a Hiace.

Shels and DEHFLCFC I wish them both dead, binned and erased from the history books. I hate Shels more than any other club on the planet. I couldn't give a shrunken rat's dribbling knobhole about Shels flying the flag for Ireland in Europe I despise them and everyone connected with them.

I'm not voting because "like" is far too strong a word to use for any team that isn't Bohs.

Outside of Dublin, SRFC are nearly bearable (shame about those initials though) and I hope they get promoted as I miss my trips to the Showgrounds. I have quite a lot of time for the langers due to my personal circumstances. ATFC and GUFC have people associated with them that I have a lot of time for. The rest are in an emotional vacuum, devoid of any feelings or interest on my part, except for Dundalk who should be flattened along with their town and Harps who are hoop-loving retards.

04/08/2005, 10:55 PM
Pat's is the only Dublin team whose existence doesn't make me sick. I get on with more of their fans than any other team's and I've never had a problem with them as a club.

Rovers... hmmmmmm :rolleyes: Should be playing in the great dogsh!t infested park in the sky against Coleraine. But for the sake of their handful of decent fans and purely because I'd rather have them as arch-enemies than Shels I suppose their surviving isn't quite the worst thing ever to have happened.

UCD? Couldn't care less. Met a decent UCD fan in a pub in Cork once but apart than that they mean nothing to me other than a nuisance team in footballing terms and they have a ground you could make off with, using only a spanner and a Hiace.

Shels and DEHFLCFC I wish them both dead, binned and erased from the history books. I hate Shels more than any other club on the planet. I couldn't give a shrunken rat's dribbling knobhole about Shels flying the flag for Ireland in Europe I despise them and everyone connected with them.

I'm not voting because "like" is far too strong a word to use for any team that isn't Bohs.

Outside of Dublin, SRFC are nearly bearable (shame about those initials though) and I hope they get promoted as I miss my trips to the Showgrounds. I have quite a lot of time for the langers due to my personal circumstances. ATFC and GUFC have people associated with them that I have a lot of time for. The rest are in an emotional vacuum, devoid of any feelings or interest on my part, except for Dundalk who should be flattened along with their town and Harps who are hoop-loving retards.All done? Just take a deep breath :p Great post though :D

04/08/2005, 11:00 PM
Outside of Dublin, SRFC are nearly bearable (shame about those initials though) and I hope they get promoted as I miss my trips to the Showgrounds.

Well, I'm sure you'll be welcome after saying that we're nearly bearable :rolleyes:, who do you support Philo? :confused:

04/08/2005, 11:01 PM
Well, I'm sure you'll be welcome after saying that we're nearly bearable :rolleyes:, who do you support Philo? :confused:

Can you not sense the bitterness? It could only be one club ;)

04/08/2005, 11:03 PM
Tut tut for those who voted for their own clubs...

Dr.Nightdub
04/08/2005, 11:04 PM
Voted for Pats before I saw the don't vote for your own club bit, thought the question was blindingly silly until I saw that.

If I had've done it properly, I'd've voted for Rovers - great fans, some of whom are good mates, Ultras and also a general sense of pity for what they've had to put up with for 18 years.

Bohs: That much self-loathing can't be healthy. And whoever said Dalymount is the most fan-friendly ground has obviously never experienced the untrammeled luxury and state-of-the-art facilities on the Connaught St terrace. :rolleyes:

Shels: Need you ask...?

UCD; Barren, soulless kip. Next time you're out there, have a look under the planks in either of the stands, you'll see the rotting bones of away fans who quietly hung themselves at half time to stop the misery. I still find it difficult to fight the sense of depression every time I walk up to the ticket office - caused by a combination of being in That Place and us never doing well in it.

CHF: They simply don't count. In fact, I hate Shels U21s more than I hate CHF.

04/08/2005, 11:15 PM
hoopdub :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Dr.Nightdub
04/08/2005, 11:21 PM
Ah well, makes a change from "Nighthoop" :p

04/08/2005, 11:27 PM
Went for Bohs .... and it was an easy choice .... good footie .... end of !!
I also like Dalyer, great ground and good pint :p ... fans are grand.

Shels .... ahh ... no way ... although some of their fans are sound, i hate the way they play, thug-ball, and they have been getting away with it for too long. Tolka, for an away fan is not great at all .... never feel welcome there.

Pats .... Archenemies a few years back when we were both top of the table, Honker Hawkins was a nightmare, SEI were getting well above their station. Since then I’ve mellowed a bit but so have Pats. Their fans are alright

Rovers, have to say great job with the 400 … top notch, but what I hate about them is the element, the couple of heads that are spoiling for a fight all the time. No banter, no craic …. Just aggro. I hate that, I don’t think Irish football can withstand anything like that and will ultimately damage the game here. All the fans around them are great …. Just those handful.

Dublin City …. Cant see the point, why didn’t Seery invest in another club ??

UCD ….. great fans, always remember the band of five making loads of noise. Some good football at times (recently) but 3-4 years ago … pain in the áss. Cant ever see them getting 15,000 at a game so hate saying it …. Don’t like them in the premier division

blueviking1980
04/08/2005, 11:27 PM
Dont you get me started EnDai ;) , I was thinking of a vote for Shels but now........ see I'm a petty man :p :D

2 out of 3 of the Dublin City votes are from Dub City fan's :confused:

:rolleyes: Why do I get the feelin Dublin City get singled out yet AGAIN? If ya look CLOSER at the other poll votes ya'll find there are a 2 count average of other fans postin for their clubs.

I guess everybody jus wants to do their bit for their own club.

04/08/2005, 11:30 PM
WTolka, for an away fan is not great at all .... never feel welcome there.

Doing it's job so ;)

I guess everybody jus wants to do their bit for their own club.

Yes that's a very good reason for you to vote for your own club :rolleyes:

It was close between Bohs and Pats, but decided to go for Pats.

Well that is just like a slap in the face :eek: :( :D

04/08/2005, 11:38 PM
Well that is just like a slap in the face :eek: :( :D
WEll, actually, compared to everyone else, I dont have too much against Shels, its just I always look forward to going to Richer and Dalyer more than Tolka! Thats all :)

04/08/2005, 11:45 PM
WEll, actually, compared to everyone else, I dont have too much against Shels, its just I always look forward to going to Richer and Dalyer more than Tolka! Thats all :)

It doesn't matter what you say now,the damage has already been done,our meeting at the next Shels/Longford match is off,Good day sir..........I said Good day :D :p

04/08/2005, 11:47 PM
It doesn't matter what you say now,the damage has already been done,our meeting at the next Shels/Longford match is off,Good day sir..........I said Good day :D :p
:D :D Brilliant, Fez, that 70's show :D

04/08/2005, 11:51 PM
Doing it's job so ;)

Well ... i suppose so !! :p

04/08/2005, 11:52 PM
:D :D Brilliant, Fez, that 70's show :D

Yeah now that you mention it,I remember it,good show that :D

04/08/2005, 11:54 PM
Yeah now that you mention it,I remember it,good show that :D
yeah, flippin' classic :D :D just when you said good day I started laughing just thinking about Fez :D :D