View Full Version : Which Dublin club do you like the most?
05/08/2005, 12:05 AM
just when you said good day I started laughing just thinking about Fez :D :D
Me too!:D, great show alright. Does it still be on? Rte used to repeat it late on Sunday nights I think :confused:
05/08/2005, 12:08 AM
Me too!:D, great show alright. Does it still be on? Rte used to repeat it late on Sunday nights I think :confused:
I watch it on the digital,haven't seen it in ages :( what about this one "Hey Dumbass" :D
05/08/2005, 12:12 AM
I watch it on the digital,haven't seen it in ages :(
Yeah it used to be on Trouble TV but haven't seen it on in ages :mad:
Oops!! voted before reading the first post, fairly obvious who i support! humblest apologies!! :o
05/08/2005, 8:02 AM
Oops!! voted before reading the first post, fairly obvious who i support! humblest apologies!! :o
A lightly story :p .... you just wanted to move up a bit from Shels !! :eek: :D
05/08/2005, 11:00 AM
UCD: Should be removed from the league, its a college not a football club.
Sure isn't Shamrock a flower (or even a weed), not a football club? ;)
05/08/2005, 11:03 AM
UCD? ... have a ground you could make off with, using only a spanner and a Hiace.
:D Love it!
Can't ever see them getting 15,000 at a game
Let's be honest - what eL club can you see getting 15,000 at a game? None on a regular basis anyway.
We're actually doing quite well on the poll! :) Though 2 of DC's 3 votes are from DC fans!
05/08/2005, 11:08 AM
I went for UCD, even though they are our cloest team and probably our only "derby" match, but i have seen a lot of them over the last few years and think they play good football and do an extremly good job on little or no budget. If only every team could follow suit we wouldnt have the same suitations as Rovers and Waterford etc...
Eire06
05/08/2005, 11:21 AM
Don't think much about of any of them really..
But went for Shels, cause Colin plays for them :rolleyes:
05/08/2005, 11:40 AM
Let's be honest - what eL club can you see getting 15,000 at a game? None on a regular basis anyway.
I would like to think that if the league did ever turn a corner and did well, most clubs would get attendances like that given the cachement area they are in. Nothing wrong with ambition.
05/08/2005, 12:25 PM
Cosmo, you wouldn't happen to be a certain notorious season ticket holder/chucker from last year, by any chance?
05/08/2005, 12:28 PM
Cosmo, you wouldn't happen to be a certain notorious season ticket holder/chucker from last year, by any chance?
Eh what does that have to do with anything? I never hided the fact id a season ticket for dublin last season - 60e, playing on thursdays so didnt clash with any drogs matches, lived near tolka :rolleyes:
Didnt think id any serious pop at ye anyway :o
05/08/2005, 12:30 PM
Eh what does that have to do with anything? I never hided the fact id a season ticket for dublin last season - 60e, playing on thursdays so didnt clash with any drogs matches, lived near tolka :rolleyes:
Cheers Tom. That explains a lot.
05/08/2005, 12:32 PM
Nothing wrong with ambition.
No, but considering that 15,000 is bigger than at least two towns who have an eL team (including one Premier team), singling UCD out seems a bit unfair surely? And sure the only way Cork'll get to 15,000 regularly is if we go by fans' estimates of attendances! ;)
Suppose you're only considering the Dublin teams, but still. Our fan base is growing steadily; nothing more we can do than that really.
bigmac
05/08/2005, 12:50 PM
Has to be UCD, former student there and was great to be able to see EL football at cheap student rates. Quite a few people I knew in college have UCD as their second team too. I also have to sympathise with the underdog status. The way that so many people think "UCD are bad for the league" really gets my back up - we had the same thing when I was in the Athletics club there, every other club just considered us "those fcuking students". The UCD fans really thrive on the fact that nobody would miss us from the league.
Just wondering btw, is UCD the only club that never has fans involved in trouble? No jokes about needing to have fans before they can be in trouble, but I never remember any crowd trouble with UCD fans.
hoops1
05/08/2005, 12:55 PM
one lad got into trouble for firing a paper aeroplane
another didnt do his homework
and one stabbed his friend in the leg with a compass
but thats it
05/08/2005, 12:56 PM
but thats it
:D :D
Rovers; the dusty relic, the brazer with droopy tits and only the memories to comfort her, the taxpayer-raping, attention-seeking, scum-fans boil on the arse of Irish football, absolutely no redeeming feature whatsoever. Pity for the last 18 years? Gimme a break, try sharing a city with them.
Shels; the evil empire, Ollie Byrne, Pat Fenlon, Dave Rogers, no real reason not to hate
Pats; the family club, a lot of fair-weather supporters, but no real reason for hate
hoops1
05/08/2005, 1:18 PM
you must have got one hell of a beating from some of our lads!
05/08/2005, 1:46 PM
I was going to vote for a rather unpopular North Dublin team but I woulda got my head bet at the next Bray match!!
you must have got one hell of a beating from some of our lads!
their our lads now i always thought they were your scum element ye couldnt control :rolleyes:
why is bray not on the list there my fav club in dublin and it has nothing to do with the fact i live in greystones :D
05/08/2005, 2:44 PM
Pat's are my favourite, and always has been.
Pint in Mcdowells beforehand and a chat with decent, knowledgeable football fans. Ground has always been a bit of a kip, but though it's sparsely populated now, some of the best atmosphere's I've experienced have been there. Helps that recently we've had the upper hand in fixtures, but it;'s also been the site of our most depressing loss, the 1-0 that won them the league in '99.
Bohs comfortably in second, decent stand and bar and they try to play nice football.
hoops1
05/08/2005, 2:56 PM
correct i retract that statement
it must have been a beating from Rovers hooligans
05/08/2005, 3:47 PM
This thread has the helpful side effect of picking out the Dublin team whose fans don't read the first post before voting too! Interesting that 75% of DC's votes are from their own fans.
but thats it
:D :D
Heinze
05/08/2005, 4:54 PM
[/U]
their our lads now i always thought they were your scum element ye couldnt control :rolleyes:
why is bray not on the list there my fav club in dublin and it has nothing to do with the fact i live in greystones :D
Bray wouldn't be on the list of Favorite Dublin teams due to being in Wicklow and not Dublin, How do ye Cork lads find yer way around the country with such ****e Geographic knowledge :D
I go with Bohs myself, just like Dalymount is all
Gerrit
05/08/2005, 7:45 PM
The quote "UCD are a college, not a club" is goddamn insulting. So minority groups are not allowed to have football clubs ?! (that's what students are: a group within society)
Maybe you should know, some of Europe's bigger clubs (Leverkusen, PSV for example) grew out of the staffmembers of a company...
Tell me the difference between a club representing a quarter or area of a city, and a club representing the student population within a city. I think personally it's great we have something like UCD, a "speciality" but it's a very nice one. I rather socialise with their small but very pleasant support, than with the thousands at Dalymount who make trouble whenever they leave their home (oh sorry, "home" and "Dalymount" in the same sentence when refering to SRFC ?? :D )
Bray wouldn't be on the list of Favorite Dublin teams due to being in Wicklow and not Dublin, How do ye Cork lads find yer way around the country with such ****e Geographic knowledge :D
I go with Bohs myself, just like Dalymount is all
oh i know there in wicklow but if looks like a dub and talks like a dub then its a dub :D and anyway some of bray is in dublin
so in theory there just a small town in dublin just a small town in dubllin small town in dublin :D
05/08/2005, 9:18 PM
The quote "UCD are a college, not a club" is goddamn insulting. So minority groups are not allowed to have football clubs ?! (that's what students are: a group within society)
Maybe you should know, some of Europe's bigger clubs (Leverkusen, PSV for example) grew out of the staffmembers of a company...
Tell me the difference between a club representing a quarter or area of a city, and a club representing the student population within a city. I think personally it's great we have something like UCD, a "speciality" but it's a very nice one. I rather socialise with their small but very pleasant support, than with the thousands at Dalymount who make trouble whenever they leave their home (oh sorry, "home" and "Dalymount" in the same sentence when refering to SRFC ?? :D )
Gerrit, we're as much a club for the locality as we are for students. We're better supported by locals than we are UCD students. I would not see UCD as representing the students and certainly not representing a minority. It is the very fact that even our fellow eL fans cannot get their head around this fact that leads to a lot of stupid ignorant and negative comments about our club.
05/08/2005, 9:23 PM
Gerrit, we're as much a club for the locality as we are for students. We're better supported by locals than we are UCD students. I would not see UCD as representing the students and certainly not representing a minority. It is the very fact that even our fellow eL fans cannot get their head around this fact that leads to a lot of stupid ignorant and negative comments about our club.
It's a problem for UCD as it's not just fellow EL fans but potential supporters too.
05/08/2005, 9:26 PM
It's a problem for UCD as it's not just fellow EL fans but potential supporters too.
That's what I meant by "even our fellow eL supporters" insinuating those outwidth including our potential support.
06/08/2005, 1:18 AM
That's why we're trying to get at the new fans before they know enough to cop on to that. :)
06/08/2005, 11:05 AM
Used to be obvious who your second favourite were. patshoop :p
06/08/2005, 12:41 PM
There's quite a big difference. UCD is run by the college, they're given enough money to thread water with no great ambition other than to have a team on the pitch. There's no desire to increase the fanbase, to win trophies or to do anything. They can exist in this state of torpor due to the money that they get from the governing body of the college, not from gate receipts, not from generating revenue through sponsorship or anything else. They're crionically frozen in this position, as now and ever shall be, a mid table side with no support and no desire to be anything else. If the league ever gets it's act together, UCD will still be of less importance to the College than the L+H.
Rubbish. Obviously we desire a greater fanbase like any club and the fanclub are hoping to work with the commercial manager to produce ideas to increase the number of people coming through our gates. A perennial midtable side? Did we not pip your club to a 3rd place finish to qualify for Europe a few years back? You make living within our means seem like a crime. In fact it's rather the opposite that is as you should well know. We're a model to replicate in what we can achieve with our resources. Not every club can set out to win the league every year. We remain in both cups and have Premier safety. Should we be pushing for even more given our resources? If the answer is yes then I hope you're not one of the members of the 400 club.
06/08/2005, 4:16 PM
UCD is run by the college
No we're not. We're run by a committee, like all other clubs in the league.
they're given enough money to tread water with no great ambition other than to have a team on the pitch.
No we're not. Yes, we do get a grant from the college, but it amounts to less than 10% of our overall turnover. Hardly what you'd call bankrolling.
There's no desire to increase the fanbase, to win trophies or to do anything.
Utter rubbish. Why do we run soccer camps for four weeks every summer, giving coaching to about 500 around the area? Why do kids at several of the local youth teams all get free season tickets?
No desire to win trophies? We're in the semis of the League Cup, and have been in five cup quarter-finals in the last five years. We lost the First Division title on the last day of last season. We've won three Leinster Senior Cups, an FAI Cup, a Super Cup, the First Division Shield and the First Division title in 25 years as a league club. Hardly shows a lack of desire to win. We want to win everything we're in, but ultimately, we recognise our financial limitations. Which, in the long run, is far better than the likes of yourselves running up huge debts to compete at the top and then facing relegation and oblivion.
They can exist in this state of torpor due to the money that they get from the governing body of the college, not from gate receipts, not from generating revenue through sponsorship or anything else.
Again, uninformed nonsense, refuted above. A lot of work goes on behind the scenes re sponsorship.
They're cryonically frozen in this position, as now and ever shall be, a mid table side with no support
Cryonically frozen as a mid-table team? Funny that - when we joined the league, we were usually near the bottom. We tried spending money stupidly a la Rovers, got a bit of success, nearly went broke and effectively had to start over. Even when we got promoted back to the Premier, we were usually fighting a relegation battle. If you now reckno us to be a mid-table team, then by your own comments, we've progressed in recent years and therefore can't be "cryogenically frozen".
It amazes me how people can get such a bee in their bonnets about UCD while holding such utterly uninformed, nonsensical opinions. Quite remarkable.
06/08/2005, 4:20 PM
It amazes me how people can get such a bee in their bonnets about UCD while holding such utterly uninformed, nonsensical opinions. Quite remarkable.
Pretty much what I said before he had posted. How nice of him to provide an example of my point. Sadly this is what we have to fight in our ambitions to expand the fanbase.
06/08/2005, 4:21 PM
I'll go for rovers though in saying that:
- like bohs as a club (favourite away match in dublin is bohs)
- like pats because of their fans, always come across as a decent family club
- wish ucd would go down because they have feck all fans (sorry lads :o )
- dublin - the 'franchise' irritates me and would hate to see them get promoted
- shels - i cant stand for a couple of reasons.
Since when does the number of fans decide anything other than the size of a club's bank balance? Football is decided on the field which is why we will be staying in the Premier next season.
COuld it be Cosmo that 2 wins in 25 years of playing us in Belfield is starting to grate? :D
06/08/2005, 4:22 PM
Well said pineapple stu.... ;)
06/08/2005, 4:27 PM
What is it Dublin City supporters say? Great to see UCD being the centre of attention in this topic. :p
06/08/2005, 4:34 PM
I really couldn't pick any out of the Dublin teams. I have no affection for any of them. However it would probably be an anyone but UCD situation as I go to the rival 'West Brit' College. Also I'm jealous that they have an eL team and we don't! :p
Do you see many people wearing non-UCD LoI jerseys around UCD campus? I have not seen any at Trinity, not that I was expecting to...
Since when does the number of fans decide anything other than the size of a club's bank balance? Football is decided on the field which is why we will be staying in the Premier next season.
COuld it be Cosmo that 2 wins in 25 years of playing us in Belfield is starting to grate? :D
Doesnt bother me whatsoever as im used to it (just liek im used to never seeing us win anything :o ), just hate going up there - i know a few drogs that go all over the country to watch them but refuse to go to belfield.
06/08/2005, 4:38 PM
Since when does the number of fans decide anything other than the size of a club's bank balance?
In fairness, this thread has nothing to do with deciding things. It's to do with not liking teams. Few fans is a valid reason for not liking a team - I'll admit that. The likes of northside hoop's nonsense, however, isn't a valid reason.
06/08/2005, 4:45 PM
Do you see many people wearing non-UCD LoI jerseys around UCD campus? I have not seen any at Trinity, not that I was expecting to...
Quite a few, yeah.
06/08/2005, 4:55 PM
Quite a few, yeah.
Really? I actually can't recall seeing one in my three years so far, and that's including UCD. :(
06/08/2005, 5:09 PM
Really? I actually can't recall seeing one in my three years so far, and that's including UCD. :(
I must have been lucky so, I've seen plenty of Longford ones for some reason, the odd Derry one, quite a few Shels ones and the odd Pats one. Not one UCD one though.
bigmac
06/08/2005, 5:23 PM
Yeah, everybody there wears Leinster rugby jerseys despite only having seen the inside of Donnybrook on the TV. We're not the only sport afflicted by barstoolers you know.
07/08/2005, 2:07 PM
:rolleyes: Why do I get the feelin Dublin City get singled out yet AGAIN? If ya look CLOSER at the other poll votes ya'll find there are a 2 count average of other fans postin for their clubs.
:o Sorry blueviking, i'll try pay closer attention in future ;)
07/08/2005, 5:38 PM
Maybe UCD should change their name to D4 United or something similar? ;)
08/08/2005, 9:50 AM
ya forgot to mention Bray! :D i like St Pat's myself, friendly folks (apart from a few) who know their football, we always do well down Richmond Park and a great local in McDowells. and UCD i suppose...
Roverstillidie
08/08/2005, 9:51 AM
I really couldn't pick any out of the Dublin teams. I have no affection for any of them. However it would probably be an anyone but UCD situation as I go to the rival 'West Brit' College. Also I'm jealous that they have an eL team and we don't! :p
there were quite a few hoops there about 5 years ago, we used to hook up in the scuttery about noon on match days and then stumble up to tolka!
wasnt unusual to see stone island gear in the arts building either...
08/08/2005, 12:32 PM
Quite right. I've realised the error of my ways. UCD only bring benefit to the league, if only more clubs could be run like them. I love UCD.
Hey, why bother replying to the post which ripped apart all of your arguments when you can just post a stupid snide comment instead? :rolleyes:
I particularly love the irony of a Shamrock Rovers fan sarcastically saying "If only more clubs could be run like them"...