View Full Version : Steaua v Shels 2nd Leg Official Thread
03/08/2005, 6:58 PM
Are you watching the match though? They are'nt really attacking much. Maybe with Hoolahan on now they can do something, he's replaced Alan Moore
In fairness I'm not...but "it's a funny old game Saint" ;)
03/08/2005, 6:59 PM
In fairness I'm not...but "it's a funny old game Saint" ;)
:rolleyes: :D
03/08/2005, 7:00 PM
Kitchen sink time in my opinion... They might as well throw everything at it, you might as well lose 5-1 than 3-1.
03/08/2005, 7:01 PM
you might as well lose 5-1
Yes, they're either going to win or do a Longford ;) :D
03/08/2005, 7:02 PM
Yes, they're either going to win or do a Longford ;) :D
Hehe :D
03/08/2005, 7:04 PM
Glen Crowe has a chance that goes centimetres wide... 74mins.
03/08/2005, 7:04 PM
or do a Longford ;) :D
Carmarthen - Steaua, Carmarthen - Steaua, Carmarthen - Steaua....hmmmm, doing " Longford" is fcuk near impossible!!!
03/08/2005, 7:05 PM
Glen Crowe has a chance that goes centimetres wide... 74mins.
Yes, brilliant chance for them. Since Hoolahan has come on they have improved. I think Crowe should be replaced with Fitzpatrick now, he's looking tired, :( .
03/08/2005, 7:07 PM
Things are been thrown from the crowd at the Shels bench now :mad:
03/08/2005, 7:10 PM
Ndo comes on for Richie Baker-10 minutes left.
03/08/2005, 7:10 PM
Things are been thrown from the crowd at the Shels bench now :mad:
It's Ollie in the crowd throwing them dressed in a Steaua jersey trying to get them thrown out of the competition I think...
Ndo on for Baker...
03/08/2005, 7:11 PM
Ndo on for Baker...
Beat you to it! :p
03/08/2005, 7:12 PM
Beat you to it! :p
I'll give you that, I much rather the three points we got for ye on Monday night :p :D
03/08/2005, 7:12 PM
It's Ollie in the crowd throwing them dressed in a Steaua jersey trying to get them thrown out of the competition I think...
Wouldnt be surprised! :D Lets hope they have good aim, Fenlon is a hard target :eek:
03/08/2005, 7:13 PM
I much rather the three points we got for ye on Monday night :p :D
Feck Off! :mad:
03/08/2005, 7:15 PM
Jason Byrne just headered the ball wide with 5 minutes to go
03/08/2005, 7:16 PM
Ndo just given yellow card
Fenlon is a fool. If he'd started Ndo and Fleming (plus maybe Hoolahan) Shels would have won this. baker and Crawley are brutal and have cost them dearly.
03/08/2005, 7:19 PM
If Crawley and Delaney hadn't gifted them the goals how different it might have been... :(
03/08/2005, 7:20 PM
4 mins stoppage time
03/08/2005, 7:21 PM
Fenlon is a fool. If he'd started Ndo and Fleming (plus maybe Hoolahan) Shels would have won this. baker and Crawley are brutal and have cost them dearly.
Crawley doesn't deserve his dinner tonight but Baker hasn't been brutal..
03/08/2005, 7:21 PM
Dinita sent off for second bookable offence. He dived to get his second yellow card
03/08/2005, 7:24 PM
Penalty to Steau-handball by Shels defender, and it's in the back of the net 4-1.
03/08/2005, 7:25 PM
Steua Bucharest 4-1 Shelbourne. Full time-Shels are out :(
03/08/2005, 7:26 PM
Penalty to Steau-handball and it's in the back of the net 4-1.
Sad way for it to end... All eyes now on Cork.
shedite
03/08/2005, 7:27 PM
Ah well. They are rubbish in the league - it was a bit much to ask them to beat steau with the way they've been playing. I wonder who they'll lose now with inter-toto football next season (if they're lucky)
Nice one for the updates lads
03/08/2005, 7:30 PM
Ah well. They are rubbish in the league - it was a bit much to ask them to beat steau with the way they've been playing. I wonder who they'll lose now with inter-toto football next season (if they're lucky)
Nice one for the updates lads
Thought this was to be the last year of the inter toto?
03/08/2005, 7:31 PM
Ah crap. Went for a walk. Didn't expect them to get hammered by the time I got back. All attention on Cork now.
I think the Inter Toto is gone. No European football for Shels unless Derry or Cork win the cup or they can peg back Derry.
shedite
03/08/2005, 7:33 PM
Does that mean no europe for shels next year then :D
Champs League for League winners
UEFA for second and cup winners
03/08/2005, 7:34 PM
Does that mean no europe for shels next year then :D
Champs League for League winners
UEFA for second and cup winners
Is that not just what I said?
03/08/2005, 7:35 PM
Sad way for it to end... All eyes now on Cork.
Top of the league and still in Europe :p
shedite
03/08/2005, 7:35 PM
Calm down, some of us take longer to write messages
03/08/2005, 7:36 PM
Calm down, some of us take longer to write messages
Sorry, it looked like a direct reply to mine.
03/08/2005, 7:37 PM
There is nothing on the InterToto section of UEFA.com about this being the last year of the InterToto Cup... :confused:
03/08/2005, 7:39 PM
There is nothing on the InterToto section of UEFA.com about this being the last year of the InterToto Cup... :confused:
At best it has one year left but I think this is the last one.
Tony Montana
03/08/2005, 7:41 PM
Unlucky in many respects tonight for Shels,if they can cut out all these schoolboy errors in Europe they would probably make the group stages in the next 2/3 years.
Vitruvian Man
03/08/2005, 7:44 PM
The Intertoto is definately on next year but don't make any assumptions about Shels finishing third. We have our eye on that spot and i'm sure Drogs will push for it too.
Steua were the better team on the night but 4-1 was definately not a representative scoreline. But if you are going to give away soft goals like that then what do you expect.
I actually think that Shels suffered from their lack of ambition in Tolka park. Steau were there for the beating in the first leg but Nutsy decided to play for 0-0. If Steau were under a bit more pressure they would have cracked but in the end it was made easy for them.
03/08/2005, 7:45 PM
The Intertoto is definately on next year
Got a source on that?
TheOwl
03/08/2005, 7:46 PM
At best it has one year left but I think this is the last one.
Could you point to a link that suggests this?
Weso superb when he came on. The most naturally gifted player in the league imo and he looked fit to me - he should have started. Ndo is a bit erratic but very skilful, but to be fair Ritchie had a good game, set up the goal and nearly had another when it was 0-0, so I don't think it is fair saying that playing Ritchie was a mistake.
Crawley is the weakest link in the team - thought the Flemmesiter did well when he came on, has a bit of class about him but no left foot. He will be great cover if Heary ever gets injured.
Hope Cork and Derry have learnt from our successes and failures in the last two years, and do well next year.
I would love to see an Irish team in the group stages even if it is not Shels, I think it would be great for the league.
Good luck to Cork next week, and thanks for all the support from other clubs. I know Shels are far from liked on the domestic stage but we got to stick together in Europe!
03/08/2005, 7:48 PM
Could you point to a link that suggests this?
Good point. I am looking but I cannot find. I'm begining to wonder if I've confused hearsay with fact.
ger121
03/08/2005, 7:55 PM
Great debate on rte medium wave on the state of irish football and what needs to be done to progress
Comic Book Guy
03/08/2005, 7:55 PM
Hard Luck Shels, apart from two suicidal errors you played quite well,1-4 is not a true reflection of the game. I think you showed them way too much respect in the 1st leg, they (Steaua) are not good when they are put under pressure.
Some of their team sickened me with their antics throughout the game, their crowd seemed no better. Throwing missiles at the Shels bench, now I wonder if that had happened in Dublin what would the sanction from UEFA have been?
Alan Matthews on RTE seemed to say 'ah well you get that sort of thing over there', doesn't make it right though.
harry crumb
03/08/2005, 7:57 PM
Why was Wes Hoolahan on the bench. Surely at half time it was obvious that somebody to get on the ball was needed.
I know it was a tough match for Shels but Pat Fenlon must shoulder some blame for that performance. Too much heart and not enough skill.
Shels are out of Europe
Out of the Cup
14 points behind Cork City.
Was like the Battle of Bucharest especially in the first half. All Shels seemed to know was to either dive or fight.
Shels were hopeless again until decided to go for it in the 2nd half. Fullbacks again hoofed the ball aimlessly into the corners with no forward nearby.
Crawley was again worse than uselss. Fleming made a hude difference when he came on. Harris was also very poor. Moore did feck all except kick.
I think eL sides need to learn that have to try to win home legs. When we sit back with 5 in midfield we are less effective. Cork City were just as guilty as Shels this season but at least had 2 nil lead. Teams need to use advantage of tight home grounds & summer fitness if want to consistently progress in Europe.
03/08/2005, 8:00 PM
I'm glad to hear the result is not quite a reflection of the quality of Shelbourne's performance. However some of Fenlon's team selections seem poor. It's a pity he couldn't make the necessary changes.
Passive
03/08/2005, 8:04 PM
Shels did well with the exception of four moments of defensive madness.
The sad fact is that we can not expect an Irish club to perform better than that until the Irish public and the FAI begin to support us. Comparing Shels and Bucharest is not comparing like with like. One is a multi-million euro industry still cloaked in the shadow of totalitarianism and probably laundering money to pay unbelievably high wages, and the other are a decent side from Romania :p
Vitruvian Man
03/08/2005, 8:06 PM
Got a source on that?
A Bohs fan contacted the FAI and they said as far as they were concerned the Eircom League would have a representative in the Intertoto next year.
I know it's only the FAI but I can't find any referance on the web to the intertoto being cancelled. You'd think UEFA would have it on their website considering it's one of their competitions.
ger121
03/08/2005, 8:07 PM
The sad fact is that we can not expect an Irish club to perform better than that until the Irish public and the FAI begin to support us. Comparing Shels and Bucharest is not comparing like with like. One is a multi-million euro industry still cloaked in the shadow of totalitarianism and probably laundering money to pay unbelievably high wages, and the other are a decent side from Romania :p
:D Now now people in glass houses shouldn't throw stones ;)
03/08/2005, 8:08 PM
Thanks for that Vitruvian. I'm investigating it on a site that's good on European competitions to see what they've heard.
I posted this on the Cork forum but I'll post here too. As a matter of interest Hajduk were beaten 8-0 on agg by Debercen of Hungary in this round tonight.
03/08/2005, 8:08 PM
I like it :D