View Full Version : Play-offs 2022.
11/11/2022, 5:02 PM
It'll certainly be a much closer game than most Waterford fans are expecting, judging by social media comments at least.
UCD have a few dangerous players, and never underestimate the gap between Premier and First Division, regardless of how bad Harps and UCD performed away from the rest of the Premier this year.
Could potentially go to extra time this.
CorribsideSteve
11/11/2022, 6:19 PM
Is there a second leg to the plyoff, or is it won tonight?
joey B
11/11/2022, 6:21 PM
1 leg just.
CorribsideSteve
11/11/2022, 6:26 PM
1 leg just.
Cheers, I wasn't 100% sure! I fancy Waterford, they are on a serious roll of form. Should be a good match.
11/11/2022, 6:58 PM
3000+ at it anyway.
Probably 500-750 UCD. Balance Waterford
Can tell that easier now we've scored too!!
D24Saint
11/11/2022, 7:00 PM
UCD take shock lead. Great attendance at the game. Whoever is in my ST seat better enjoy themselves.
joey B
11/11/2022, 7:02 PM
The ground is quiet now!
11/11/2022, 7:06 PM
UCD take shock lead. Great attendance at the game. Whoever is in my ST seat better enjoy themselves.
Is it a shock?
Slightly fancy UCD to see this one out.
sbgawa
11/11/2022, 7:07 PM
OK I've decided. Go on Ucd !!!!
11/11/2022, 7:09 PM
Similar to last season but we've scored early rather than them
But Waterford as unimpressive as last year so far.
Don't expect that to last this time though. A second for us would make it interesting
ger121
11/11/2022, 7:15 PM
Write UCD off at your peril!
Jd2793
11/11/2022, 7:20 PM
hold on please. a waterford implosion and a team with a smaller budget staying up is what we need down in cork!!
11/11/2022, 7:24 PM
Waterford taking control now. But nothing on target yet
Their number 9 is a bit of a ****** it seems. Arms around the defender's neck in the box just now
CorribsideSteve
11/11/2022, 7:32 PM
Waterford are very poor. UCD look to have their number.
D24Saint
11/11/2022, 7:32 PM
Is it a shock?
Slightly fancy UCD to see this one out.
AFAIK Waterford we’re the bookies favourites. Overall UCD the better side but Waterford gave their supporters a glimmer of hope towards the end of the half.
Dermobohs
11/11/2022, 7:34 PM
Gwan the college, doing very well that first half. Told you Bowler!!
The Bowler
11/11/2022, 7:35 PM
I said last week that we would much rather play Waterford than Galway, and this is playing out as I thought it might. Waterford struggle to break down teams that defend in depth, and UCD happy to take a poorly defended set piece. UCD struggle when bullied, and Waterford aren't bullies. Happy so far.
joey B
11/11/2022, 7:36 PM
Waterford freezing again,UCD have been grand like but its been very easy for them.....
SPXcyan
11/11/2022, 7:41 PM
We look absolutely clueless which is quite odd.. the part time team clearly done their homework whereas the full time outfit turned up thinking it'll be grand sure.. rubbish this! gonna head to the Rebels Bar here in Kaunas, can't handle anymore of this shiootttt!
Dermobohs
11/11/2022, 7:50 PM
I said last week that we would much rather play Waterford than Galway, and this is playing out as I thought it might. Waterford struggle to break down teams that defend in depth, and UCD happy to take a poorly defended set piece. UCD struggle when bullied, and Waterford aren't bullies. Happy so far.
You at this?
The Bowler
11/11/2022, 7:56 PM
You at this? no, working in Cork fir the weekend unfortunately, watching on my laptop
placid casual
11/11/2022, 8:07 PM
It shows the difference between the two divisions, in my view. UCD look like they want it more, they know what it takes to compete in the top division and it's the attitude of the students that separates the two teams. Waterford look full of posers. I hope the students hang on, and thus give me my shortest away trip of the season. ?
D24Saint
11/11/2022, 8:29 PM
That was a poor game. I was very surprised how poor Waterford played.
legendz
11/11/2022, 8:32 PM
Penalty for Waterford!
SeanDrog
11/11/2022, 8:33 PM
It shows the difference between the two divisions, in my view. UCD look like they want it more, they know what it takes to compete in the top division and it's the attitude of the students that separates the two teams. Waterford look full of posers. I hope the students hang on, and thus give me my shortest away trip of the season. ?
Come on UCD few more mins - Waterford red card
legendz
11/11/2022, 8:34 PM
Over the bar!
CorribsideSteve
11/11/2022, 8:34 PM
Oh dear Waterford. What a ridiculous penalty attempt. They could have been out there for three weeks and still not scored. UCD were brilliantly dogged and fully deserve to stay up.
11/11/2022, 8:35 PM
Get the **** in!!!
If that was a GAA game we'd have lost 1-0 to 0-10
legendz
11/11/2022, 8:35 PM
All over! UCD retain Premier Division status. Waterford might be visiting Tralee next season.
11/11/2022, 8:36 PM
Never a penalty. Hit his back.
ger121
11/11/2022, 8:36 PM
What a crazy end to the game. Well done UCD on a deserved win.
joey B
11/11/2022, 8:37 PM
Fire Rob Harvey into the sun,that was the worst ever,bailed out by a shocking penalty.....
SeanDrog
Get the **** in!!!
Congrats
Glen Of Aherlow
Was sitting with the UCD fans and have to say that was good craic , exciting game and great atmosphere
Yossarian
11/11/2022, 8:38 PM
That was never a penalty but it was a terrible casual effort in the last minute of injury time. It summed up Waterfords performance.
The Bowler
11/11/2022, 8:39 PM
Get in there, you beauties. The referee should never be allowed do another game in the league, that's hit Keaney in the back. Against all the odds, we go again in the top flight for another season
Dermobohs
11/11/2022, 8:39 PM
Get the **** in!!!
Get the **** in is right!! What a great scrap from your lads, absolutely top lads , all in all night!
Well done, congrats and enjoy the shared student pint.
placid casual
11/11/2022, 8:40 PM
Delighted for UCD, Waterford were a joke. But the biggest joke was that farce of a referee. Football in the last number of years has gone on and on and on about respect for referees, but that harvey is a shambles of a ref and deserves nothing but disdain.
Delighted for Andy myler shutting up the whingers on here as well.
MattB11
11/11/2022, 8:41 PM
Well done UCD, what absolutely shocking decision from Harvey
11/11/2022, 8:41 PM
John Delaney, John O'Shea, Daryl Murphy, John Treacy, Martin Cullen, Keith Barry...your boys took a hell of a beating. Partizan, can you hear me? Your boys took a hell of a beating.
SPXcyan
11/11/2022, 8:45 PM
Well, I'm done, cannot handle this any longer, gonna cut my ties and feck off for good out East.
Dermobohs
11/11/2022, 8:46 PM
That peno decision , wtf??? So close to Harvey spoiling a game yet again. Absolute joke of a ref.
D24Saint
11/11/2022, 8:47 PM
They are dancing in the streets of University College Dublin.
11/11/2022, 8:51 PM
UCD fully deserving of that win. Delighted for Andy Myler, especially in the face of some of the OTT personal abuse on here.
legendz
11/11/2022, 8:51 PM
A few Premier clubs are happy with tonight's result. Shelbourne, Drogheda and Cork will be battling to avoid the relegation playoff spot.
A few First Division clubs then are disappointed. Waterford will be the favourites to win the First Division next year, with Galway and Finn Harps nearest challengers.
Jd2793
11/11/2022, 8:55 PM
A few Premier clubs are happy with tonight's result. Shelbourne, Drogheda and Cork will be battling to avoid the relegation playoff spot.
A few First Division clubs then are disappointed. Waterford will be the favourites to win the First Division next year, with Galway and Finn Harps nearest challengers.
shels will be no where near that spot next year. huge result for cork and drogs. delighted with that gives us a real chance next year.
El-Pietro
11/11/2022, 8:55 PM
It is objectively funny that Waterford have now contested 9 seperate playoffs and have failed to win a single one.
On 8 occasions they have played in the final or equivalent of the final and lost
2022: UCD 1-0 single leg
2021: UCD 2-1 single leg
2012: Dundalk 4-2 over two legs
2007: Finn Harps 6-3 over two legs
2006: Dundalk 3-2 over two legs*
2000: Kilkenny 2-0 over two legs
1997: Dundalk 3-1 over two legs
1993: Monaghan 5-3 over two legs
In addition in 2010 they finished second behind Derry but lost to Monaghan in the playoff semi final 3-1 over a single leg. Monaghan were eventually defeated by Bray in the playoffs where I think the wall collapsed in Bray.
*Didn't matter, Galway got promoted because of their DVD.
11/11/2022, 8:56 PM
You've got to love this league
11/11/2022, 8:56 PM
I was watching the wrong game tonight as was watchin Coleraine Glentoran game which was a shocker! whatsapp group Im part of one of lads kindly recorded peno miss. We were comparing to Roberto Baggios effort in USA 1994. Congrats to UCD
SeanDrog
11/11/2022, 8:58 PM
shels will be no where near that spot next year. huge result for cork and drogs. delighted with that gives us a real chance next year.
Agree with that - although there is some discussion going on with potential investors for Drogs which may see us stronger - there was a public meeting for Monday but it’s postponed to allow talks with investors to be bottomed out (club states that progress is positive at the moment).