View Full Version : Derry 2 Bohs 1
02/08/2005, 8:44 PM
Final score.
An absolutely key win for City tonight. Hutton with a peno and Martyn with a second-half goal. Mark Farren with a late, late one to give him 12 for the season.
McCourt made his debut as well.
Yeeeeeesssssssssss !
And the Celt$ are out. Tut tut........ :D
wonderful stuff. I was following on livescore. It looked like it would be a draw for a long time.
02/08/2005, 8:50 PM
3-1 it ended
02/08/2005, 8:54 PM
Great win for Derry, was McCourt any good?
02/08/2005, 8:58 PM
Congrats Derry, lets hope ye aren't so successful next Tuesday ;)
02/08/2005, 9:00 PM
Great win for Derry, was McCourt any good?
I believe he caused chaos when he came on (at 1 all) and second goal was from a free where he was fouled.
I think you are forgetting the fact that we had Oman sent off after 55 mins and had Rice and Cooney both go off injured to add to our desperate injury problems.(Grant and Farrelly both missed the game)
Derry won fair and square but dont cover yourselves in too much glory over the victory.
Bohs Till I Die!
02/08/2005, 9:04 PM
I think you are forgetting the fact that we had Oman sent off after 55 mins and had Rice and Cooney both go off injured to add to our desperate injury problems.(Grant and Farrelly both missed the game)
Derry won fair and square but dont cover yourselves in too much glory over the victory.
Bohs Till I Die!
Glad to see yer takin it well ;) . We ain't exactly injury free either BTID.
02/08/2005, 9:05 PM
Rice and Cooney both go off injured
Advantage Bohs if so.
02/08/2005, 9:07 PM
Bohs Till I Die!
You mean one of your players got sent off for being a dick ? :) We were missing players as well you know (e.g. Hargan is a key man for us). Anyways - you have more resources than us, so why don't you have more depth to your team ? :confused:
You can only play what it put out in the pitch against you BTID. 3:1 is a good result for that game by any standards - I was convinced we'd drop points tonight. Your injury list and player's inability to stay on the pitch is not a reflection on us.....
Glad to see yer takin it well ;) . We ain't exactly injury free either BTID.
Im taking it fine dancinpants but you surely cant try and compare your injury problems to ours.Honestly man we are down to the bare bones.We had 13 out of a squad of 20 fit to play tonight.
You lot just went and signed McCourt I wish we had that luxury.
But you did win on the night so fair play just try not to slap yourselves on the back too much!
Bohs Till I Die!
02/08/2005, 9:11 PM
just try not to slap yourselves on the back too much!
Bohs Till I Die!
Don't think its back slapping, don't forget this is a team thats been fighting relegation in the previous 3 seasons, I think most City fans are just enjoying the high life for a change.
You mean one of your players got sent off for being a dick ? :) We were missing players as well you know (e.g. Hargan is a key man for us). Anyways - you have more resources than us, so why don't you have more depth to your team ? :confused:
You can only play what it put out in the pitch against you BTID. 3:1 is a good result for that game by any standards - I was convinced we'd drop points tonight. Your injury list and player's inability to stay on the pitch is not a reflection on us.....
I accept that totally.Oman should have know better but we certainly dont have larger resources than ye lot.You beat us to McCourt signature by offering better wages.We couldnt match you.We had 6 or 7 U-21's in the squad tonight.You we missing Hargan thats it.
Bohs Till I Die!
Don't think its back slapping, don't forget this is a team thats been fighting relegation in the previous 3 seasons, I think most City fans are just enjoying the high life for a change.
Ok thats a fair point and its genuinely great to see SK doing such a great job with you lot.Lets just hope we both finish ahead of Shels :D
Bohs Till I Die!
02/08/2005, 9:15 PM
Im taking it fine dancinpants but you surely cant try and compare your injury problems to ours.Honestly man we are down to the bare bones.We had 13 out of a squad of 20 fit to play tonight.
You lot just went and signed McCourt I wish we had that luxury.
But you did win on the night so fair play just try not to slap yourselves on the back too much!
Bohs Till I Die!
Fair enough BTID.
Just to be clear - any excuses for us beating you in Dalymount earlier in the season as well....? :confused: ;)
And there's no reason why any other club couldn't have picked-up McCourt. He was already Dublin-based, ffs, and apparently took a pay-cut to join us !
Vitruvian Man
02/08/2005, 9:15 PM
You mean one of your players got sent off for being a dick ?
Did you see the incident dcfcsteve? If so what happened?
The radio report said the sending off (second yellow) was extremely harsh and he won the ball well.
I think the most Bohs fans were hoping for was a draw from this match.
02/08/2005, 9:18 PM
Talked to someone at the game who said Derry didn't play all that well but ground it out in the last 10 mins.
From where he was siting he wasn't even sure the Bohs goal was over the line.
3 points is 3 points, I'll settle for that.
Fair enough BTID.
And there's no reason why any other club couldn't have picked-up McCourt. He was already Dublin-based, ffs, and apparently took a pay-cut to join us !
Just like Crowe,Hawkins and Ryan then ;)
Bohs Till I Die!
kevin_devine
02/08/2005, 9:29 PM
You we missing Hargan thats it.
plus Kevin Deery, Damien Brennan, Stephen O’Flynn and Eddie McCallion
and i'm not sure if we have Doc injured???
02/08/2005, 9:33 PM
Yip Doc's injured, will be for a while...medial ligament I think.
kevin_devine
02/08/2005, 9:34 PM
Yip Doc's injured, will be for a while...medial ligament I think.
****e!!! :eek: good couple a months that!!
Huge game on the 19th August.
Very good result for Derry City. Showing ye have the class to win the big games.
Just a quickie in relation to a comment above re : Pat Mc Court, trust me he did anything but take a pay cut to join Derry, on the contrary he practically trebled his wages allowing for the rate of exchange for sterling! FACT!! He also said his expenses would also be significantly reduced as he could stay in his parents house & not pay rent etc
No other club came remotely close to matching Derry's offer BTW!
Koh
lofty9
03/08/2005, 7:56 AM
I accept that totally.Oman should have know better but we certainly dont have larger resources than ye lot.You beat us to McCourt signature by offering better wages.We couldnt match you.We had 6 or 7 U-21's in the squad tonight.You we missing Hargan thats it.
Bohs Till I Die!
We didn't offer Mc Court wages higher than anyone else.. he just wanted to come play for his home town team and took a paycut to play for the team his family supports. When the Bohs fans sang " you dirty dublin**S&A%D" to him last night when he came on - do they know he is from Derry or was this some ironic chant due to the fact he played for shamrock rovers?
03/08/2005, 8:01 AM
Showing ye have the class to win the big games.
In fairness Pete, it's been a while since a game v Bohs was considered "big."
City v Derry is the only big game left this season and we've got two of them to look forward to. :)
Number 4
03/08/2005, 8:17 AM
In fairness Pete, it's been a while since a game v Bohs was considered "big."
City v Derry is the only big game left this season and we've got two of them to look forward to. :)
Jeez....and Cork have been winning how many leagues over the last 5 or 6 years?
The nerve of some people !! Cork finally have a team to compete and this is what you get from their supporters. Just enjoy it but dont try to kid us that Cork are anything more than this season's form team......yet.
Krstic
03/08/2005, 8:45 AM
. When the Bohs fans sang " you dirty dublin**S&A%D" to him last night when he came on - do they know he is from Derry or was this some ironic chant due to the fact he played for shamrock rovers?
Lofty9, I think it was 'You Dirty Northern Bast**d' they were singing.
As for the match, Bohs had plenty of chances. The Derry defence made a few timely blocks in the the area.
I think had Bohs concentrated on playing football, which they did quite well for part of the game, instead of trying to kick lumps out of the Derry front men, we could have had a different score line.
Bohs were very lucky not to finish the game with 9 men as Des Byrne spent the entire game kicking McGlynn and on one occasion busted his mouth with a well placed elbow.
Wasn't the best display from Derry but we still managed a 3-1 victory :D
03/08/2005, 8:50 AM
Jeez....and Cork have been winning how many leagues over the last 5 or 6 years?
Face it boy, Bohs are has beens.
They can no longer be considered a "big" team.
Your home support shows that.
Just because you won the league a few years ago doesn't mean you earn the right to be called a big club forever. You're beginning to sound like Rovers fans now. :rolleyes:
But don't they call themselves the "big club". They even have flags with it printed. :eek:
Thats been changed to the "Big Pub", because we all know that Bohs fans are very self-critical and always tell the truth about themselves...
chippie0001
03/08/2005, 9:58 AM
Face it boy, Bohs are has beens.
Your home support shows that.
Just because you won the league a few years ago doesn't mean you earn the right to be called a big club forever. You're beginning to sound like Rovers fans now. :rolleyes:
Without getting into this debate, as I think it pointless and there are no big clubs, how does our home support show anything. Looking at the attendance thread we get the third highest average attendance after Cork and Derry, and last year I think it was the second highest average after Cork. So does that mean all clubs below us are even "smaller"!
03/08/2005, 10:01 AM
So does that mean all clubs below us are even "smaller"!
It just means that Bohs were a small club, are a small club and always will be a small club...with a big pub...
03/08/2005, 10:01 AM
So does that mean all clubs below us are even "smaller"!
Yes!
As I've said, Cork City and Derry City are the only two big clubs left.
Number 4
03/08/2005, 10:19 AM
Yes!
Shels must be tiny then - just forget their titles etc its all about attendances. Cork are massive - win **** all but put bums on seats and thats the main thing isn't it. :eek:
Jesus lads, talking about attendances in this league is pathetic and a pointless exercise.
Vitruvian Man
03/08/2005, 10:19 AM
Anyway, according to the Bohs fans coming back from the match 3-1 wasn't a true reflection as Bohs were much more in the game than that and had to suffer from some shocking home-town decisions. But fair play to Derry you can only beat what is put out in front of you.
I was wishing Cork well for their first title in ages because I always knew Bohs were never going to do it this year and, let's face it, who want's to see Shels win (apart from Shels fans) but where's all this anti-Bohs bitterness coming from Cork fans, from reading this board I think I'll switch my good will to Derry.
When we were in the Cross this year we were getting a really hard time from the over-aggressive stewards with one of them even going so far as stealing a bag from one of the Bohs fans. Cork fans don't get treated like that in Dalymount.
chippie0001
03/08/2005, 10:30 AM
Yes!
That explains it so, are you sure its City that are massive and not some other Cork team that have folded doen the years for lack of support etc. Its great when you are winning hey.
PS Slagging apart I hope Cork win the league, they play the best football in the league and do have the best support. Also if we can't get second I hope Kenny and Derry do, anything to get Shels into the inter toto :D
03/08/2005, 10:36 AM
'Slagging apart I hope Cork win the league, they play the best football in the league'
For me, Bohs are still the best team I've seen in the league - I must'nt have seen cork on their 'best' days, either live or on the box.
Btw out of the remaining potential winners I also hope cork win the league
Its Derrys title as far as I can see. amazing back to back 3.1 wins home and away, strengthened with mccourt - he offers a flair option - while no great 90 minute man that wont matter in a squad full of hard workers - it will all condense in the last 4/5 matches and both cities will be neck and neck - in those circumstances it wil be interesting to see how cork and rico in particular respond - shels late surge wont win them the league but it will knock cork or derry off their stride - all to play for - but I'll stick with Derry
Jeez ye certainly take the bait easily.
BTW City have 7 wins in Europe which puts them in 3rd place in eL European list. All this in only 21 years.
03/08/2005, 10:46 AM
Jeez ye certainly take the bait easily.
BTW City have 7 wins in Europe which puts them in 3rd place in eL European list. All this in only 21 years.
With the introduction of several qualifying rounds and the Inter Toto, European wins are easier to accumulate in recent times.
03/08/2005, 10:59 AM
'Slagging apart I hope Cork win the league, they play the best football in the league'
For me, Bohs are still the best team I've seen in the league - I must'nt have seen cork on their 'best' days, either live or on the box.
Btw out of the remaining potential winners I also hope cork win the league
Good to see your anti-Derry chip is still alive and well Cosmo.
Last time I checked we'd beaten you twice this season including playing you off the pitch in Draaweda. Your blinding hatred of us must have meant you missed that :p
03/08/2005, 11:08 AM
but where's all this anti-Bohs bitterness coming from Cork fans...
There's no bitterness, it's just a bit of banter between fans.
Bohs used to have people going to their games who knew what banter was all about. Shame they all seem to have left now.
03/08/2005, 11:08 AM
Not blinded hatred whatsoever :rolleyes: - I'll say it as I see it and would say it if I thought I saw derry play better, the last 60 minutes Bohs played against us in United Park was the best I've seen all season from anyone. I'm not saying bohs are better than derry, just saying that the best ive personally seen 'live' or on the box is Bohs.
Btw, I wouldnt use playing us off the park in draaweda as saying you're great, because the fact is we are s**t :o !!!!
(you're wrong anyway, ye actually beat us 3 times :p )
Passive
03/08/2005, 11:43 AM
We didn't offer Mc Court wages higher than anyone else.. he just wanted to come play for his home town team and took a paycut to play for the team his family supports.
Derry are paying Paddy three times what we were. If that's a pay cut I wish my boss would give me one :rolleyes:
03/08/2005, 11:49 AM
I agree with Cosmo! :D
03/08/2005, 11:52 AM
By all accounts, even those that concede that the penalty might have been justified, the ref and one of the linos had a shocker. As a diversion from Cork crowing (jesus, what will they be like if they win it), would any Derry fans who were there like to comment?
Krstic
03/08/2005, 12:10 PM
By all accounts, even those that concede that the penalty might have been justified, the ref and one of the linos had a shocker. As a diversion from Cork crowing (jesus, what will they be like if they win it), would any Derry fans who were there like to comment?
You're spot on, the Ref and his assistants were not very good, but they were consistant in their mistakes, Des Byrne should have been sent off and the guy who was sent off shouldn't have been. Your goal didn't cross the line but you should have had a penalty for a hand ball in the box, so when you add it all up, it would have been 3-1 anyway ;)
lofty9
03/08/2005, 1:36 PM
Boh Diddley,
The ref was very poor last night... didn't take any notice of the linesmen as their ineptitude is par for the course. He is one of the first referees I could honestly say gave Derry more decisions than the away team. Normally the Dublin referees give decisons to their Dublin buddies ( presuming he was from Dublin) Maybe sometime we can get a Derry ref to officiate a Dublin team v Derry. Were else would you get it? Only in Ireland.
He started off in the first minute by awarding a free to bohs when a derry player won a good tackle by the dugouts. He had a word with player and this set the tone for the rest of the match. It was stop start all night and he was to blame. He was giving free kicks for absolutely nothing and bohs players didn't help their cause in the match by falling to the ground every time they challenged for an aerial ball as if they had been shot by a sniper from the cemetry.
As far as the main decisions went : bohs goal as I saw it was over the line. The penalty bohs gave away was clear from the jungle (good to be back!) - collins showed his inexperience by shoving brennan , who was just inside the box. Bohs were playing well up until the penalty. The ref booked Oman for kicking the ball away 3 meters (fair enough- some would say) but it really was innocuous. Molloy was booked a minute earlier for the same thing - so he had to book Oman. I was surprised when he gave Oman his 2nd yellow as I thought Martin was stumbling when the tackle was made. Harsh sending off. Molloy was withdrawn in the second half before the ref could do him again for persistant fouling.
However his poor performance got to the bohs players who completely lost their cool. He brandished yellow cards to the rest of the Bohs players for dissent - Hunt and no 25 come to mind. If Hunt had been able to get close to Higgins to stop his sublime passes last night then he might not have had the same frustration. That kid gave a lesson on how to pass a ball, shown when he set Beckett free for Martyn's goal.
Its a pity we only have the likes of Mc Court ,Cash, O Flynn, Deery, Doherty, Mc Callion, and Hargan to come off the bench or return from injury to oversee our expected collapse for the rest of the season. Cork are uncatchable, unbeatable, brilliant, have the best manager in the league and the best attendances with the greatest fans ever ;) All the best lads when you lift the trophy :D
ThatGuy
03/08/2005, 1:43 PM
[bohs players didn't help their cause in the match by falling to the ground every time they challenged for an aerial ball as if they had been shot by a sniper from the cemetry.
3 players going off injured I think proves that the Bohs lads weren't play-acting!
lofty9
03/08/2005, 2:05 PM
3 players going off injured I think proves that the Bohs lads weren't play-acting!
Sorry , I meant to say those who stayed on the pitch - Foley et al. Rice was in a lot of pain with his injury. Hope he gets back playing soon.
Mooney ( the red headed guy?) took his injury well - considering he looked as if he was shot by a sniper, his head was well busted.
They were dropping like flies when it was 1-1 and down to ten men.