View Full Version : Certain 400 Club Members.........

02/08/2005, 10:52 AM
Right i'm here to have a moan and vent at the 400 Club members that verbally and almost physically attacked Stevie Gough and Robbie Doyle on sunday evening after Rovers 3-2 win over Bray in the Carlisle Grounds.

They should be fcuking ashamed of themselves to say they are offical members that run there once great and famous club.....

I was appaled to hear some of the stuff they were saying, all i can say is thank fcuk we don't have them out in Bray again this season.

Carlin
02/08/2005, 10:58 AM
I was appaled to hear some of the stuff they were saying, all i can say is thank fcuk we don't have them out in Bray again this season.

It's football not ballet.....can't see what the problem is with verbal abuse as long as it's not of a racist nature. Too many threads on this board making something out of nothing :rolleyes:

Can't believe I'm after sticking up for the scum :o

Roverstillidie
02/08/2005, 11:01 AM
Right i'm here to have a moan and vent at the 400 Club members that verbally and almost physically attacked Stevie Gough and Robbie Doyle on sunday evening after Rovers 3-2 win over Bray in the Carlisle Grounds.

They should be fcuking ashamed of themselves to say they are offical members that run there once great and famous club.....

and you know they were 400c members how?

BrayZil
02/08/2005, 11:06 AM
Jesus that’s terrible! Didn’t see any trouble in the ground and thought the Rovers fans were quite well behaved. I did hear from WOM that there was a bit of trouble with Rovers fans in Dustys on Sunday night but I don't know how true that is.

02/08/2005, 11:06 AM
It's football not ballet.....can't see what the problem is with verbal abuse as long as it's not of a racist nature. Too many threads on this board making something out of nothing :rolleyes:

Can't believe I'm after sticking up for the scum :o

So your telling me it is ok for a bunch of offical club members to walk over to a table, well after when an ex player and say your ****ing dead, we paid you X amount every week and now you leave, we know were your girlfriend lives (then proceed to give her address) well see you there during the week. your a dead man etc.....

If you agree with that then your just as bad.

At one stage Pat Dvelin had to step in and ask them to stop it was getting so bad

I know they are 400 Club members because another 400 club member that i am friends with told me as he was with us.

If he had'nt of moved in time it would have turned very nastey

02/08/2005, 11:37 AM
How are the 400 club culpable for what an individual might or might not have done away from a football field?
I see your point, but any member of the 400 club is an "owner" now, and they need to take cognisance of this and behave themselves with a little more cop on?

02/08/2005, 11:39 AM
I see your point, but any member of the 400 club is an "owner" now, and they need to take cognisance of this and behave themselves with a little more cop on?

especially when there decked out head to toe in Rovers gear ! They now own the club and speak for the club

manic da hoop
02/08/2005, 1:00 PM
There was mention of this incident over on the Rovers Forum. I wasn't there myself, but I do believe something along the lines of what is discribed above did happen. Whether or not this particular individual is a 400 Club member I couldn't say, IMO it doesn't matter. This is TOTALLY unacceptable behaviour and should not be tolerated by the club. If there are Rovers fans who witnessed what went on they I hope they have the courage to report it to our head of security or one of the trustees. This person should either get the message and cop the fcuk on, or never be seen at a Rovers game ever again.

02/08/2005, 1:21 PM
There was mention of this incident over on the Rovers Forum. I wasn't there myself, but I do believe something along the lines of what is discribed above did happen. Whether or not this particular individual is a 400 Club member I couldn't say, IMO it doesn't matter. This is TOTALLY unacceptable behaviour and should not be tolerated by the club. If there are Rovers fans who witnessed what went on they I hope they have the courage to report it to our head of security or one of the trustees. This person should either get the message and cop the fcuk on, or never be seen at a Rovers game ever again.

I can confirm it did happen, i was out with Goughie and Doyler and a few other mates etc.... yeah drink was involved but it does not excuse there dispictable behaviour. 1 bloke told me he was a member and another bloke said he was'nt sure, but there was more than one of them involved in it and to be honest not all of them were as bad as the few "ring leaders"

We all know all Rovers fans are not like this, it's just a few bad eggs, but it's them who bring so much trouble on the club, so much so that word spread around Bray pubs and no Rovers fans were aloud in during the night etc... but on a bright note i did meet up with a genuine Rovers finatic from Foot.ie, NY Hoop, an absolute gent !

02/08/2005, 1:35 PM

Fair play Manic,If it did happen there is no excuse for it

hoops1
02/08/2005, 1:40 PM
Rovers cant be responsible for every headcase that throws a wobbler!
as appaling as it was,the 400club didnt have the luxury of assessing
every members moral fibre.We wanted the money to keep the club alive
not a referance from there parish priest before we accepted them.
Goughie knows the Rovers fans as well as anyone and how ott some are.
He was with Rovers fans on Sunday and knows its not what they all think.
It was a terrible thing to do all our fans would say that!
But lets concentrate on the positives the return of Mark Kenny and Tony' wonder goal' Sheridan and a well deserved 3 points for the hoops!
Who are now off the bottom

manic da hoop
02/08/2005, 2:17 PM
This isn't a question of whether or not 400 Club/SRFC should take responsibility for the actions of individual fans. For our own sake, as a club, we should see to it that scumbags like this are not welcome at our matches. Rovers is MY club along with hundreds of other decent, law-biding football fans, none of whoem who should, in their right mind, want to associate with people like that described above.

02/08/2005, 2:45 PM
This isn't a question of whether or not 400 Club/SRFC should take responsibility for the actions of individual fans. For our own sake, as a club, we should see to it that scumbags like this are not welcome at our matches. Rovers is MY club along with hundreds of other decent, law-biding football fans, none of whoem who should, in their right mind, want to associate with people like that described above.

You absolutey spot on there.

As i said anyone in there right mind knows all Rovers fans are not the same, there is justa small few intent of causing trouble no matter where they go and unfortunatlly these are the guys bringing your whole club down.

The club now needs to start taking actions against these people, The 400 Club want to run the club the way it should be run and these people will not help there cause anyway what so ever.

Goughie knows the Rovers fans as well as anyone and how ott some are.
He was with Rovers fans on Sunday and knows its not what they all think.
It was a terrible thing to do all our fans would say that!
But lets concentrate on the positives the return of Mark Kenny and Tony' wonder goal' Sheridan and a well deserved 3 points for the hoops!
Who are now off the bottom.

Yeah Goughie knows the fans, sure he was chatting away with some of the decent Rovers fans before and after this all happened, he knows (as we all do) that there not all the same, but that does'nt change the fact of what happened, or does'nt make it any less worse of what was said to him

I agree with ya, Rovers now need to concentrate on the positives alright, but ignoring stuff like this is not what they should be doing, it needs to be stamped out

hoops1
02/08/2005, 2:46 PM
Agree with you Manic that crap gets on my nerves to!
But just because your out of order and in the 400 club
doesnt mean that its some kind of club directive to go out and terrorise
former players(could you call gough a player???).This is what is going to be implied every time a 4oo club member steps out of line! Lets not get side tracked by this attitude.Hes probably a member of the Boy scouts and Catholic church but hes no more representing them by his actions than us!

bigmac
02/08/2005, 3:00 PM
just an idea, but why not write something into the constitution of the club that suspends members (or voting privileges) or gives out some other punishment for members who bring the club into disrepute?

I do sympathise with the Rovers situation though, we all know that if you took the 400 most fanatical supporters from any club there'd be a few nutters in the bunch. It could be a big problem for Rovers if it continues though, as it won't just be a few fans, it'll be a few of the owners! Can anyone see the press letting it go, what with their love of the Eircom league and all?

thomas
02/08/2005, 3:47 PM
Whats a pro footballer doin in the pub anyway?

ANdall this ratting business will just create bad blood. I said on the other forum that the guy should apologise to Gough. That would be enough.

02/08/2005, 3:55 PM
Whats a pro footballer doin in the pub anyway?

Shock horror - Athlete in 'enjoying couple of quiet drinks with friends after a game' scandal...! Are you gonna ring The Sun, or shall I....? :p

He was probably doing just the same as half the Ireland squad were doing in Tel Aviv and the Faroes the night after their games there. No wait - he didn't turn up at 4:30am with a random bird and/or dance like an idiot semi-naked on a nightclub stage..... :D

manic da hoop
02/08/2005, 4:02 PM
Lets not get side tracked by this attitude.Hes probably a member of the Boy scouts and Catholic church but hes no more representing them by his actions than us!

He is a Rovers fan, apparantly wearing a Rovers shirt at the time, and probarbly a member of the 400 Club. Whether we like it or not this person was acting as a representative of our club at the time - his actions were done in the name of Shamrock Rovers and we, as a club, have to take some form of responsibility for that. Simply collectively shrugging our shoulders and mumbling "sure, nothing to do with us" won't get us anywhere. Single this person out, let everyone at Rovers know who he is. Better still, don't turn him away at the gate - wait until the match has started, then send in some stewards and escort him out of the ground during the game - humiliate the sucmbag.

02/08/2005, 4:29 PM
He is a Rovers fan, apparantly wearing a Rovers shirt at the time, and probarbly a member of the 400 Club. Whether we like it or not this person was acting as a representative of our club at the time - his actions were done in the name of Shamrock Rovers and we, as a club, have to take some form of responsibility for that. Simply collectively shrugging our shoulders and mumbling "sure, nothing to do with us" won't get us anywhere. Single this person out, let everyone at Rovers know who he is. Better still, don't turn him away at the gate - wait until the match has started, then send in some stewards and escort him out of the ground during the game - humiliate the sucmbag.

Lads, there was'nt just 1 guy involved in this, there was a big group, with about 4/5 of them getting quite aggro, ranging from 17 or 18 up to there 50's, the rest just sat back, laughed and joined in hurling abuse

Passive
02/08/2005, 4:30 PM
What happened was bang out of order, but please don't bring the 400 Club into this. It's like whenever there's any hassle the gypos claim "senior 400 Club" people were behind it all, despite the fact that they don't know who was involved. Rovers is a members club and some of our members do things they shouldn't. Bohs is a members club and I bet most of their scum are members.

That's not condoning what happened. To be honest, I heard Goughie was in the pub just as I was leaving Bray and I was worried something like this would happen. Feel sorry for Goughie because he's a dead sound bloke, really genuinely a nice guy.

Oh, Roo69, if you think NY Hoop is a gent it's you with the problem ;)

Vitruvian Man
02/08/2005, 4:43 PM
It's like whenever there's any hassle the gypos claim "senior 400 Club" people were behind it all, despite the fact that they don't know who was involved...

...Bohs is a members club and I bet most of their scum are members.

A bit of hypocrisy there Passive.

Don't be bringing us into this as some kind of smoke screen.

PS
To be a member of Bohs you have to be sponsored by two other existing members. Therefore most of our "scum" are not members.

Passive
02/08/2005, 5:39 PM
But my point is that saying "400 Club member causes trouble" would be like saying "Bohs member causes trouble", it's just an attempt to blacken the name of the club because of one idiots actions. I'm only using Bohs as an example because they are the other members club in the league.

If a Bohs member did start trouble I wouldn't lay the blame at Bohs as a club, just at the idiot who did it. Same should be applied to Rovers and the 400 Club.

hoopy
03/08/2005, 8:58 PM
I did hear from WOM that there was a bit of trouble with Rovers fans in Dustys on Sunday night but I don't know how true that is.

I heard Neil Armstrong didn't really walk on the moon but I don't know how true that is