View Full Version : LoI Matches Friday 7th October - Sunday 9th October 2022.
ToberonaTornado
05/10/2022, 2:22 AM
Match Week 32/36(PD)
Match Week 29/32 & 30/32(1st)
All k/o @ 7:45pm on Friday night except Shams V Shels.
Premier Division:
Friday -
Bohemian FC V Drogheda UTD [Ref: B.Connolly]
Derry City V Finn Harps [Ref: S.Grant]
Dundalk FC V Saint Pats Ath. [Ref: D.McGraith]
UCDAFC V Sligo Rovers [Ref: O.Moran]
Sunday -
Shamrock Rovers V Shelbourne FC - :ball:5PM [Ref: R.Harvey] **LIVE on RTE2**
First Division:
Friday -
Cobh Ramblers V Longford Town [Ref: C.Sheehan]
Cork City V Wexford FC [Ref: P.Norton]
Galway UTD V Athlone Town [Ref: D.Toland]
Waterford FC v Treaty UTD [Ref:K.O'Sullivan]
----------------------------------------------------------
Shinkicker
05/10/2022, 12:11 PM
Match Week 32/36(PD)
Match Week 29/32 & 30/32(1st)
All k/o @ 7:45pm on Friday night except Shams V Shels.
Premier Division:
Friday -
Bohemian FC V Drogheda UTD [Ref: B.Connolly]
Derry City V Finn Harps [Ref: S.Grant]
Dundalk FC V Saint Pats Ath. [Ref: D.McGraith]
UCDAFC V Sligo Rovers [Ref: O.Moran]
Sunday -
Shamrock Rovers V Shelbourne FC - :ball:5PM [Ref: R.Harvey] **LIVE on RTE2**
First Division:
Friday -
Cobh Ramblers V Longford Town [Ref: C.Sheehan]
Cork City V Wexford FC [Ref: P.Norton]
Galway UTD V Athlone Town [Ref: D.Toland]
Waterford FC v Treaty UTD [Ref:K.O'Sullivan]
----------------------------------------------------------
On Sunday the Ringsend Derby will be played nowhere near Ringsend!!!
culloty82
05/10/2022, 12:54 PM
Cork will be promoted if they can better Galway's result, but given the form of their respective opponents, neither side will be taking wins for granted.
refjohn
05/10/2022, 3:53 PM
On behalf of all Derry fans, in advance of the weekend can we wish Rovers all the best in Norway. Here's hoping they score early, play for their lives to hang on for a win or draw and are totally exhausted come Sunday ;-)
thebronze14
06/10/2022, 7:58 AM
Boyle suspended, McWoods did the hamstring it seemed and Tourish limped off again on Friday. Arguably our 3 star performers this season. I really fear for us tomorrow.
Jd2793
06/10/2022, 8:10 AM
Boyle suspended, McWoods did the hamstring it seemed and Tourish limped off again on Friday. Arguably our 3 star performers this season. I really fear for us tomorrow.
is mcwoods injury confirmed? gone for remaining games?
thebronze14
06/10/2022, 8:19 AM
is mcwoods injury confirmed? gone for remaining games?
Nothing ever gets confirmed with Harps but by the looks of it it looked like the hamstring went so I would assume he'll be out for a few weeks. Hope I'm wrong though!
06/10/2022, 10:19 AM
McWoods was due to get a scan this week, never heard any results.
Peaky Blinder
06/10/2022, 10:35 AM
Its a given Derry will win this weekend, the key bit will be how much their goal difference will be improved by.
06/10/2022, 12:36 PM
Its a given Derry will win this weekend, the key bit will be how much their goal difference will be improved by.
Wish I had your optimism. Table-wise, we should win comfortably, but it's Harps, so that doesn't matter. Two wins and a draw against them so far this season, every match had us scoring a late goal. Still haunted by those two losses against Harps last year too, especially the one at the Brandy.
I'd love us to get a couple of first half goals, the match to be done at HT, and we can go out for goals in the second. Realistically though, since it's a north-west derby, and Ollie seems to have a tactical edge over Higgins in our games so far, any sort of win will do.
Dundalk-Pats the most interesting of the PD matches. If Dundalk could avoid defeat, you'd imagine that's them finishing at least third, and leaves Pat's with nothing much to play for this season.
Peaky Blinder
06/10/2022, 2:12 PM
Wish I had your optimism. Table-wise, we should win comfortably, but it's Harps, so that doesn't matter. Two wins and a draw against them so far this season, every match had us scoring a late goal. Still haunted by those two losses against Harps last year too, especially the one at the Brandy.
I'd love us to get a couple of first half goals, the match to be done at HT, and we can go out for goals in the second. Realistically though, since it's a north-west derby, and Ollie seems to have a tactical edge over Higgins in our games so far, any sort of win will do.
Dundalk-Pats the most interesting of the PD matches. If Dundalk could avoid defeat, you'd imagine that's them finishing at least third, and leaves Pat's with nothing much to play for this season.
You're just too emotionally invested is all. Trust me, you'll be winning, as much as I'd love Harps to get something they're so poor its just the scoreline that's up for grabs in reality.
joey B
06/10/2022, 2:46 PM
If you can’t beat us you’ve no business being in a title race!!
06/10/2022, 2:56 PM
5-0 win for Harps incoming.
Yeah, if we don?t win it?s just about impossible to imagine us catching Dundalk. A big ask, but I do think we are due a win against them this year. Forester and Grivosti should be back, so hopefully should be able to avoid the defensive horror show of Monday night. It?s the hope that kills ya though, as a wise man once said.
D24Saint
06/10/2022, 8:14 PM
Looking forward to the Pats game. Haven?t been to Oriel in over five years. It’s looking like a good away following with five hundred sold so far. It’s do or die for us and win is needed to get us back into the hunt for third place. I think it will be a draw.
Cork City v Wexford, biggest game of the weekend and probably the biggest attendance! :cool:
placid casual
07/10/2022, 6:04 AM
I'll probably tune in to the pats game tonight as it should be tasty. A repeat of the game of the season from the other night in tolka pk would be just the job.
As much as I'd love to see our "fwiends" Harps get something in the NW derby I can't see it happening.
sbgawa
07/10/2022, 7:03 AM
Harps look dead and buried tonight and so obviously it's an away win.
I can dream but I think even ollie can't pull off this miracle. Rovers are well ahem rested for Sunday so no excuses . Turn up beat shels and say a novena for harps on Friday night.
Finlay Harp
07/10/2022, 7:08 AM
A pilgrimage to Lourdes wouldn?t help us at this stage.
As much as I hate to say it it?s a comfortable Derry win tonight.
First Division
Friday 07/11/2022
Ticket update on Cork City v Wexford FC
The original allocation of online tickets has sold out, but more are now available.
It is strongly advised that supporters buy tickets in advance, as they are selling very quickly.
Over 4,000+ sold already! :rofl:
07/10/2022, 9:06 AM
Making the long spin to Cobh for an essentially meaningless game. Otherwise I'd definitely have gone to Oriel tonight that's going to be spicy as hell. Reckon Dundalk will get something though
At least 3rd, well we won' be finishing any higher but I get the point. Think we need one more win, possibly 4 points to clinch 4th, but agreed on a result tonight, avoid defeat and Pats have probably too few games left to turn it around. Should be a spicey affair, hard to call this, hopefully we will maintain unbeaten home record.
07/10/2022, 3:23 PM
At least 3rd, well we won' be finishing any higher but I get the point. Think we need one more win, possibly 4 points to clinch 4th, but agreed on a result tonight, avoid defeat and Pats have probably too few games left to turn it around. Should be a spicey affair, hard to call this, hopefully we will maintain unbeaten home record.
Ah sure, there's as many points between us and Dundalk as there is between us and Rovers. It's not unlikely that we'll be dropping points away in Sligo and Tallaght, and we've to play each other on the last day of the season.
I do think we'll finish second though, and that it'll be settled before the last game. Not even that I care all that much if we finish second or third, so long as we keep that gap to the top as narrow as possible.
The Bowler
07/10/2022, 8:31 PM
Galway doing a Galway. Sure Caulfields last season in charge there
SeanDrog
07/10/2022, 8:39 PM
Drogs now officially safe
Oh my. What a win for Pats. Hard to beat a 93rd minute winner in a tight game. Race for third should go right down to the wire now.
culloty82
07/10/2022, 8:49 PM
All over at Turner's Cross, so Cork officially champions, and Treaty confirm the last play-off berth.
Jack B
07/10/2022, 9:07 PM
I love this game.
Philosophizer
07/10/2022, 9:24 PM
Open game at Dalymount. Bohs started well and had numerous good chances but couldn?t score. Varian has absolutely no confidence in front of goal at the moment. At one point he threw a faint and left 2 defenders on the ground, had a chance to shoot at goal but turned away and passed it to someone else. McDaid too had a great chance to bury a cross but just had no conviction. The longer the game went on the worse Bohs became and the more Drogs grew into it. Bohs were misplacing passes and just general sloppiness and poor decision making. It was painful to watch at times. Bohs we?re down to 10 for the last few mins and Drogs made them pay with a late winner well taken.
RealJohn91
07/10/2022, 9:30 PM
Burt and Coote were shocking when they came off the bench. Two lads who clearly have checked out and are running down their contracts. Less said about some of those still under deals for the foreseeable the better.
The Bowler
07/10/2022, 9:37 PM
I despair being a students fan that Harps haven't yet put us out of our misery, because of the hope that it provides. Awful tonight again. Not one for picking on players generally, prefer to pick on the fella who has driven the culture of what we are about into the ground, Myler. But I'm going to single out Keaney, he's an awful footballer. Wasn't good enough to play in the 6, so they've tried to turn him into a centre half, which just further exposes his cart horse pace, and that touch tonight to give the ball away for the first goal, jaysus wept. But he's the skipper, and a bit like Southgate and Maguire, the manager just can't let go. I guess time will look after it at some point when he finishes at the college, he's not even good enough for LSL Major, so I hope he gets a good degree. Nice lad by all accounts
Philosophizer
07/10/2022, 10:05 PM
Burt and Coote were shocking when they came off the bench. Two lads who clearly have checked out and are running down their contracts. Less said about some of those still under deals for the foreseeable the better.
Coote was terrible. Max Murphy had a poor night too I thought. Varian and McDaid look ok but Varian just doesn?t seem to have confidence. He gets into very good positions though. If they had put away one of those early chances they could have strolled it but their confidence as a group seems brittle and when a goal didn?t come they got worse and worse.
joey B
07/10/2022, 10:07 PM
I despair being a students fan that Harps haven't yet put us out of our misery, because of the hope that it provides. Awful tonight again. Not one for picking on players generally, prefer to pick on the fella who has driven the culture of what we are about into the ground, Myler. But I'm going to single out Keaney, he's an awful footballer. Wasn't good enough to play in the 6, so they've tried to turn him into a centre half, which just further exposes his cart horse pace, and that touch tonight to give the ball away for the first goal, jaysus wept. But he's the skipper, and a bit like Southgate and Maguire, the manager just can't let go. I guess time will look after it at some point when he finishes at the college, he's not even good enough for LSL Major, so I hope he gets a good degree. Nice lad by all accounts
We should both submit and let the first division sides play out for the promotion spot,2 awful sides that dont deserve to be in the division .....
2 Year Contract
07/10/2022, 10:14 PM
What a win up in Dundalk, Pat's with a 100% record up in Casey's Field ;)
Cotter and Breslin were excellent tonight and I thought Forrester, O'Reilly and Timmermans controlled the midfield well. Few local clowns still on the go up there, firstly shooting fireworks into the away end from behind the fence outside the ground and then a group of lads hung around waiting for Pats fans to leave the ground which resulted in a few little scraps outside
The Bowler
07/10/2022, 10:54 PM
We should both submit and let the first division sides play out for the promotion spot,2 awful sides that dont deserve to be in the division ..... yep, I concur
D24Saint
07/10/2022, 11:01 PM
Great night was had. Lovely win in Oriel and a grand pint in their club bars. I always enjoy the banter win lose or draw up there. It’s a great set up for a LOI club.
07/10/2022, 11:10 PM
We should both submit and let the first division sides play out for the promotion spot,2 awful sides that dont deserve to be in the division .....
I'd expect Waterford to come up without undue trouble given how underwhelming Galway are. We're not going to be doing much but I'd say we've pretty much met expectations for the year. We wouldn't have the money to be in any way competitive in the Premier Division anyway.
Yossarian
07/10/2022, 11:18 PM
That was a real sucker punch at the end. There was a real naivety from us at the end of the game. A draw would?ve kept us well enough ahead of Pats so there was no need to chase a goal in injury time.
Jd2793
07/10/2022, 11:52 PM
very subdued celebration from mccormack there considering he did a lot of the work for that goal.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=1GJr7qQOuro&feature=emb_title&ab_channel=StPatrick%27sAthleticFC
08/10/2022, 12:19 AM
I saw a longer clip of it on Twitter earlier. The move started with young Curtis whooshing a Dundalk lad off the ball. I see he won Pats player of the month too. Some going for a 16 year old. It'll be interesting to see where he ends up. Am I right in saying he was at Rovers first or was that his brother? Or were both there?
ger121
08/10/2022, 12:20 AM
The sooner this cluster**** of a season is over, the better. I pity whoever is coming in, having to work with most of that shower we call a squad.
Jack B
08/10/2022, 12:27 AM
I saw a longer clip of it on Twitter earlier. The move started with young Curtis whooshing a Dundalk lad off the ball. I see he won Pats player of the month too. Some going for a 16 year old. It'll be interesting to see where he ends up. Am I right in saying he was at Rovers first or was that his brother? Or were both there?
Himself and his brother Ben were both ar Rovers but now at Pats. Sam played for Rovers II when he was only 14 or something but signed for us not long after and has generally been around the first team squad before properly breaking through this season. Staggering that he's only 16, you'd never think it. As you say fantastic work for the goal but that just sums up his season really.
08/10/2022, 12:32 AM
You'd think he could go for more than Bazunu assuming that his family are happy enough not to rush things. I'd assume some of the European teams are sniffing around and the English teams are counting down until he's 18. Which sounds incredibly creepy.
ontheotherhand
08/10/2022, 2:30 AM
Both were. Ben, the older brother, left and Sam followed. Not sure if Ben is still in the picture at Pats but Sam was obviously a big loss for Rovers. Fair play to Pats. They've a great underage setup that maybe doesn't get it's fair share of attention. Ger O'Brien always impresses me when he is interviewed.
Comfortable 3 0 win for Waterford v Treaty last night. 5 wins in a row now and if we had made a decent start to the league we would have been competing with Cork for the title.
Galway have collapsed and now looks like Waterford could finish 2nd and if so will be facing Treaty again in the play offs.
patsdad
08/10/2022, 7:37 AM
Both were. Ben, the older brother, left and Sam followed. Not sure if Ben is still in the picture at Pats but Sam was obviously a big loss for Rovers. Fair play to Pats. They've a great underage setup that maybe doesn't get it's fair share of attention. Ger O'Brien always impresses me when he is interviewed.
Ben was on the bench against Shels on Monday. Sam is an unreal talent - right up at the Bazunu/Ferguson level. He will certainly be a big-money transfer in the next year. Top English and European clubs are already on the case.
Jd2793
08/10/2022, 8:26 AM
sam curtis is very impressive and it'll be hard to argue his experience in loi at 16 has been anything but good for his development. ive seen him a few times with ireland 17s and if im being honest hes stood out more than young henderson who is over with milan. hard to imagine that there wont be big european clubs looking at him over winter
08/10/2022, 9:45 AM
I'd expect Waterford to come up without undue trouble given how underwhelming Galway are. We're not going to be doing much but I'd say we've pretty much met expectations for the year. We wouldn't have the money to be in any way competitive in the Premier Division anyway.
Waterford red hot favs for the play offs but I'd fancy us two dump Galway out even having to go there for a second leg and then in a one off game against the Blues at a neutral venue anything could happen. We're certainly in far better form going into the play offs than the team who went up in 2020. I think we are a far gritter team as well. The likes of Hanratty has been a great addition
SeanDrog
08/10/2022, 10:17 AM
[
Welcome back Cork to the Premier
D24Saint
08/10/2022, 10:22 AM
[
Welcome back Cork to the Premier
Looking forward to the trips next year, no Mondays please.