View Full Version : Most memorable...

Pages : 1 [2]

03/08/2005, 1:35 PM
Btw Aberdonian, I've heard you don't "do" away games even in Dublin. Is this true? :eek:

Maynard
03/08/2005, 1:55 PM
Erm...probably away to Waterford last year. Think it turned out to be Giller's last League match in charge (don't quote me on that) either way ANY points from the game would've given us a shout of getting off the bottom.
Went 3-0 down in the first half and were playing absolute muck.
Dave McGill and Weso Byrne (where is he now?) scored for us in the second and we played some great stuff. In the last minute of the game we were awarded a penalty when Dan Connor punched Gary O'Neill in the face ( :eek: ) ...
Keith Foy stepped up to face the sub goalie after Connor had been sent off...his shot hit the butt of the right-hand post, flew across the length of the goal-line and out for a goal-kick :o

The rest as they say, is misery.

phillyla*ger
03/08/2005, 2:04 PM
has to be 1991 against dundalk...never saw so many people packed in the cross only to be let down.
for some reason one of me first ever games as well against shels when some bulgarian fella on trial scored an OG (Borissov or something like that?) Anyone remember the 3 or 4 Bulgarian lads who were with city for a short spell around 87-88?????????

garykelly
03/08/2005, 3:01 PM
95/56 League Cup Aggregate Shels 2 Sligo Rovers 2

Had to be this game. Went up to dublin a goal to the good in the first leg. Ended up losing 2-1 at full time. Hit the bar in the last minute of extra time and then lost on penalties.

I was sickened cos it was the best game of football I had ever seen between two irish sides. It was open attacking football all night. We had never won the league cup and Shelbourne had once again gotten one over on us. We managed to win it two years later against shels, in what was prob the worst game (2nd leg) i've ever seen. All downhill after that though, until now.

03/08/2005, 9:49 PM
An awful lot of results you'd expect here.....I hadn't expected three pages... :o :eek:

Results like Derry and Athlone and Shels and Cork on last days etc. and 1-0 by Bohs in the semi in 2001, but not as many hammerings as I thought...

Maybe goes to prove how close the league is that the niggling, close defeats are often the worst for the fans...

03/08/2005, 10:36 PM
Glad to see pats featuring so high on your lists... To the Cokr lads about the 1-0 98 game in Inchicore, get over it, it was never over the line, and it was never handball....

Mine is the Cup Final defeat to Longford. Worst performance ever... At least againstZimbru we can say we should've been a goal or two up. Against Longford we just never turned up...

03/08/2005, 10:47 PM
To the Cokr lads about the 1-0 98 game in Inchicore, get over it, it was never over the line, and it was never handball....

I assume you're taking the pi$$ :eek: :o Always hated loosing to Dolan and felt that we were a great team that season. Unfortunitly, so were ye :o

Bad memories of those games :(

wanderette
04/08/2005, 2:09 PM
cup semi final vs bohs in 2000. daylight robbery. perfectly good goal disallowed, tarzan punched in the face, just one dodgy decision after another. i honestly amn't usually one to complain about refs, but that match sickened me.

first round of the cup, losing 4-0 at home to fanad united. i still have a deep fear of non-league teams

Bosco
04/08/2005, 8:04 PM
Longford 0-2 Bohs, in the cup after beating them 2-0 the week before in the league the night after kenny left,which was one of my most memorable victories.The programme was full of stuff on kennys departure unlike the week before because of short notice.I'll always remember when kenny came into the stand and got a standing novation and spent the rest of the game in tears.It was a tough defeat as we finally thought we had got one over on bohs only for them to knock us out of the cup,which was more important to us at the time

04/08/2005, 9:52 PM
1) Losing 2-1 away to Bohs in the FAI Cup Semi Final in 2000.

2) Its not a defeat but it definitely felt like 1. We drew 1-1 with Dublin City in 2003. They got the dodgiest penalty ever and meant we lost out on promotion. How the ref gave a penalty when he was on the half way line I’ll never know!

The other way 'round for me :( , both cr*ppy day's though.

hamish
05/08/2005, 11:39 PM
Used to play the odd game with Lough Harps before injury and laziness took over :)

They have a fine ground/clubhouse RonnieB - I remember a bloke with a beard/glasses used to run them but can't remember his name. Nice guy.

I played my last ever competetive game of football against Lough Harps in 1978 here in Beeslow and scored 4 goals - ok two were disallowed by a blind referee. :D

ultrafan
06/08/2005, 4:21 PM
Bray wanderers 1-2 Bohemians May 2005

1-0 bray at half time and its all going smoothly. bohs equalise and the pitch gets invaded. 92nd minute and eamo misses a one on one. 93rd minute and harkin scores a winner for bohs. pitch is invaded by scumbags and the final whistle blows

daveh
06/08/2005, 11:31 PM
The 1-0 loss up at inchicore,98/99 season,1 decision cost us the league,it was a clear handball on the line,still havent forgiven that ref!!

The cup semi-final defeat against derry was hard to take aswell,i practically had my train ticket booked to go up for the final!!all i remember is the ball being stuck in the corner for the entire last 20 mins,it was 1 of the most frustrating games of football ive ever been at

08/08/2005, 9:36 PM
my worst moment as a supporter was when we got hammered 6-1 by shamrock rovers at flancare in lawlors time in charge. if i rem correctly earlier that week we also got a hammering in the league cup from them as well! touigh days they were!

Juz the Hoop
09/08/2005, 8:47 AM
my worst moment as a supporter was when we got hammered 6-1 by shamrock rovers at flancare in lawlors time in charge. if i rem correctly earlier that week we also got a hammering in the league cup from them as well! touigh days they were!

Ah yes January 2002 6-1 on the Wednesday in the League cup 1/4 Final at Tolka Park (Cousins (3(1 Pen)), Hunt, Robinson, Palmer) and 5-1 on the Saturday in the League at Flancare Park (T. Grant (2), Woods, Cousins, Byrne (OG)). That was some week at the time we were looking at a possible treble :eek:

JUZ

Wiseguy
09/08/2005, 9:23 AM
Ah yes January 2002 6-1 on the Wednesday in the League cup 1/4 Final at Tolka Park (Cousins (3(1 Pen)), Hunt, Robinson, Palmer) and 5-1 on the Saturday in the League at Flancare Park (T. Grant (2), Woods, Cousins, Byrne (OG)). That was some week at the time we were looking at a possible treble :eek:

JUZ

Those were tough old times to be a Town supporter alright but the Carmarthen Result still cuts very deep.At least here at home we have a chance to put poor league results right but the fact is we may never qualify for Europe again so we may never get a chance to put it right although i hope i'm wrong.
It's amazing how clubs fortunes change.Since those hammerings to Rovers we gone from strenght to strenght while Rovers have probably reached their lowest point ever and still have a remote chance of being relegated.What a funny old game football is.

09/08/2005, 10:21 AM
It has to be 1990 game at home to Dundalk, Liam Duggan gave the ball away and McNulty scored, could barely breathe in the Shed there was such a huge crowd.
A more memorable defeat for me was the first time i went to the Brandywell, it was 92/93, we went up twice and lost 3-2 with the last kick of the game to a Fergie og. Was pretty intimidated by the whole place and was just glad to get out of there and on the road home.
We had left Cork at 6am on the Sunday morning and got home for 4am on the Monday and I still made work. As I don[t get to travel as much now those were Happy Days.

09/08/2005, 10:31 AM
The worst one was Levadia Tallinn at home last season :mad:

"Best" one has to be Rosenborg in the Lerkendal a couple of years back. 3 of the 4 goals RBK scored that night were of the highest quality - especially the one from outside the box that flew like an Exocet into the top corner of Shay Kelly's net.

09/08/2005, 10:44 AM
The 1-0 in Inchicore was heartbreaking, the amount of points we'd amassed would have won us the league in any season before or since, whatever Dodge says, I think we were robbed ;) . The handball on the line robbed us of a goal, but Hanlon missing Clarke's 'professional foul' and the penalty (and red card) it was, followed by sending Kelvin off was a kick in the teeth.

Losing 1-0 in Lausanne in the UEFA Cup to a offside goal five minutes from time hit me pretty hard for a while, I'm not a fan of moral victories so I took liitle consolation from a great performance.

10/08/2005, 1:36 PM
1) Losing 2-1 away to Bohs in the FAI Cup Semi Final in 2000.

2) Its not a defeat but it definitely felt like 1. We drew 1-1 with Dublin City in 2003. They got the dodgiest penalty ever and meant we lost out on promotion. How the ref gave a penalty when he was on the half way line I’ll never know!

Both of these stick out in my mind, big time...... F-uck you Feighery and Buttimer you's w-ankers....

bluemovie
10/08/2005, 5:27 PM
FAI Cup Final 2004 v Longford Town. Two balls on the pitch, Dan Connor taking the ****, Paul Keegan bawling crying. How different things could have been this year.

I'd go with the play-off defeat to Kilkenny at the RSC in 2000. We shouldn't have been in a play-off if it wasn't for a stupid defeat to Galway at home a couple of weeks earlier. We thought we'd be ok against Kilkenny in a play-off. Lost 1-0 away, still not too bad. Played terribly at home, but got a penalty with 5 mins to go. Derek McGrath missed it, then Kilkenny scored down the other end. As if to rub our noses in it, Kilkenny won ONE game the next year. We had a horrible team, an idiot of a manager in Mike Sheephead Flanagan and played terrible football. We ended up with all bt a couple of players leaving and had to put up with 3 years of Athlone and Cobh.

That was as bad as I've ever felt after a match. We were robbed in the cup final, but at least we were there. I was proud of the team and felt they had done their best.

bigmac
11/08/2005, 9:25 AM
I'd go with the play-off defeat to Kilkenny at the RSC in 2000. We shouldn't have been in a play-off if it wasn't for a stupid defeat to Galway at home a couple of weeks earlier. We thought we'd be ok against Kilkenny in a play-off. Lost 1-0 away, still not too bad. Played terribly at home, but got a penalty with 5 mins to go. Derek McGrath missed it, then Kilkenny scored down the other end. As if to rub our noses in it, Kilkenny won ONE game the next year. We had a horrible team, an idiot of a manager in Mike Sheephead Flanagan and played terrible football. We ended up with all bt a couple of players leaving and had to put up with 3 years of Athlone and Cobh.

That was as bad as I've ever felt after a match. We were robbed in the cup final, but at least we were there. I was proud of the team and felt they had done their best.

Jesus Bluemovie, I'd managed to just about forget about that. Everyone heading up the road to Buckley Park next season. Was absolute nightmare

11/08/2005, 12:19 PM
The playoff final 2 or 3 years ago is the worst defeat as a Galway fan for me,maybe the older lads have one worse.We were 2-0 up from the 1st leg and lost 3-2 after AET in Drogheda and had 2 goals dissalowed after dodgy refereeing from who else but Alan Kelly. :rolleyes: