View Full Version : LoI Matches Friday 30th Sept - Monday 3rd October 2022.

ToberonaTornado
28/09/2022, 1:41 AM
A huge weekend of LOI football ahead, Friday to Monday.

Premier Division:

Friday -

Saint Patricks Ath. V Derry City 7:45pm [Ref: D.Tomney]
Dundalk FC V Drogheda UTD 7:45pm [Ref: J.McLoughlin]
Bohemian FC V UCD 7:45pm [Ref: R.Matthews]
Finn Harps V Shelbourne FC 8pm [Ref: A.Reale]

Saturday -

Sligo Rovers V Shamrock Rovers 7:45pm [Ref: P.McLaughlin]

Monday -

Shelbourne FC V Saint Patricks Ath. 7:45pm [Ref: N.Doyle]

First Division:

Friday -

Waterford FC V Cobh Ramblers 7:45pm [Ref: P.Norton]
Treaty UTD V Galway UTD 7:45pm [Ref: M.Moynihan]
Wexford FC V Bray Wanderers 7:45pm [Ref: J.Moore]
Athlone Town V Longford Town 7:45pm [Ref:R.Dowling]

Monday -

Longford Town V Waterford FC 7:45pm [Ref: O.Moran]

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Bookie best odds:

Oddschecker Prem Division Odds - https://www.oddschecker.com/football/ireland/premier-division
Oddschecker 1st Division Odds - https://www.oddschecker.com/football/ireland/first-division

Glen Of Aherlow
28/09/2022, 8:39 AM
Massive weekend for Pats , been on a good run but this weekend could be make or break for 3rd place . Going to be tough for Joe Redmond after his U21 exertions

sbgawa
28/09/2022, 10:17 PM
Hopefully Pats can take some points off Derry on Friday and give us a chance to extend our lead before Europe kicks back in. Always hard up in sligo they always seem to raise their game against us. The bohs ucd match will be interesting. Ucd needs points badly and bohs season is over.
Fancy dundalk to beat drogs, they need it more.

Dundalk v drogs

28/09/2022, 10:59 PM
Harps to win 5-0 and raise all expectations again before losing every game for the rest of the season.

sbgawa
28/09/2022, 11:24 PM
Shels might be still celebrating the cup run but harps have been very dissapointing. Time running out and a win or two now is worth a season

oriel
29/09/2022, 11:49 AM
Dundalk have 6 left, and 4 at home, if we win two we can't be beaten for 4th, win 3 or 4 including beating or drawing with Pats at home, that might sneak 3rd.

But christ the form has to improve, then again its all home results really this year (10 wins and still unbeaten), but last month or so has been awful with 5 of the 6 being away, with almost very little return, only Bohs away win really to note, (Mid August) well that and the free 3 points re Sligo away.

Jack B
29/09/2022, 2:03 PM
We've done a great job of getting into the mix again for 3rd and having it in our own hands, but I don't massively fancy our run in comparison to Dundalk's who have more home games, no Rovers fixture etc.

If we can follow up those 5 wins on the bounce before the break even with a draw on Friday I'd be quite content given how well Derry have been going and how much of a disaster it was the last time they were in town.

DCWA
29/09/2022, 3:59 PM
Derry have to go for the win obviously put some sort of pressure on Rovers ahead of a tough away game, it wouldn?t be a surprise to see them drop points this weekend. It?s a long shot but a Derry win and Rovers drop points and we actually do have a 3 game title race.

I think however both Derry and Rovers will draw and that will see the league over.

Must say fantastic campaign from us to even be in with an interest in the title race with 4 games left, especially allowing for us losing our biggest signing for most of the season 9 minutes into his debut.

ontheotherhand
29/09/2022, 4:11 PM
Derry have to go for the win obviously put some sort of pressure on Rovers ahead of a tough away game, it wouldn?t be a surprise to see them drop points this weekend. It?s a long shot but a Derry win and Rovers drop points and we actually do have a 3 game title race.

I think however both Derry and Rovers will draw and that will see the league over.

Must say fantastic campaign from us to even be in with an interest in the title race with 4 games left, especially allowing for us losing our biggest signing for most of the season 9 minutes into his debut.

Ah look you're a very good team. I think you'll win it to be honest. We look a bit broken at the moment. If so you can dust off your old post!

2 Year Contract
29/09/2022, 5:23 PM

There’s 6 games left this season not 4

oriel
29/09/2022, 7:16 PM
We've done a great job of getting into the mix again for 3rd and having it in our own hands, but I don't massively fancy our run in comparison to Dundalk's who have more home games, no Rovers fixture etc.

If we can follow up those 5 wins on the bounce before the break even with a draw on Friday I'd be quite content given how well Derry have been going and how much of a disaster it was the last time they were in town.

Could say same really for Dundalk, as things stand if either wins all remaining games (they won't) that confirms 3rd. I think a lot will go down to Fri week, Pats visiting Dundalk, depending if both get a result tomorrow, whoever wins that game on 07/10 is on the home straight then for 3rd spot.

29/09/2022, 7:38 PM
Could say same really for Dundalk, as things stand if either wins all remaining games (they won't) that confirms 3rd. I think a lot will go down to Fri week, Pats visiting Dundalk, depending if both get a result tomorrow, whoever wins that game on 07/10 is on the home straight then for 3rd spot.

Think we?re due a win against Dundalk this season. We?ve played well against them in all the games, and really should have won n Richmond. Unlucky to lose the last game in Oriel too.

Glen Of Aherlow
30/09/2022, 9:02 AM
Think we?re due a win against Dundalk this season. We?ve played well against them in all the games, and really should have won n Richmond. Unlucky to lose the last game in Oriel too.

Hopefully the 'Goal Machine' will bring his shooting boots with him tonight

nr637
30/09/2022, 11:37 AM
Is the St. Patricks Ath. v Derry City game @ 7.45 pm on RTE 2 tonight........anyone! :rolleyes:

30/09/2022, 12:20 PM
TV listings say Leinster Egg Chasing is on

oriel
30/09/2022, 12:39 PM

Not so sure about that, I think Kelly scored mid point first half in a 1-0 win, had plenty of time to get an equalizer.

That said pats should have won the first game in Richmond, the 0-0 draw.

30/09/2022, 4:18 PM
Derry have to go for the win obviously put some sort of pressure on Rovers ahead of a tough away game, it wouldn?t be a surprise to see them drop points this weekend.

Do we? Sorry to come across all negative, but I simply can't believe there is a title race. I'd be more concerned with looking at the teams behind us.
I think it's vital we don't lose tonight. If we did, Pat's would be four points behind us, with a game in hand. If Dundalk beat Drogs, that would be them two points behind us. The chances of us finishing third/fourth seem much greater than the chances of us finishing first.

sbgawa
30/09/2022, 4:27 PM
Do we? Sorry to come across all negative, but I simply can't believe there is a title race. I'd be more concerned with looking at the teams behind us.
I think it's vital we don't lose tonight. If we did, Pat's would be four points behind us, with a game in hand. If Dundalk beat Drogs, that would be them two points behind us. The chances of us finishing third/fourth seem much greater than the chances of us finishing first.

Well i think i'm a known worrier but you are 5 points behind (2 if you beat us when we play) and have won your last 5 games including beating us.
We on the other hand drew 0v0 with Shels in a turgid performance and were booed off the pitch against UCD on Monday winning 1 nil in our last two games.
We already look jaded and have to play Thursday Sunday from now to season end.....
If you dont think you are in a title race now when will you think it? Do you need to be ahead on points to be in a race?

Come on Pats :)

Philosophizer
30/09/2022, 6:39 PM
Burt starts on the bench at Dalymount. Can't understand why he isn't an automatic starter. I hope it's not because there are rumours he'll leave in the off season. That would be daft imho.

ger121
30/09/2022, 8:48 PM
Cup game aside, that?s 3 wins in 4 under Detser. 3 clean sheets too. Only loss was 1-0 away to Derry. We are still awful to watch, but I would not be surprised if we keep this ?form? up that Pender gets the gig.

D24Saint
30/09/2022, 9:02 PM
Derek Tomney is pure evil.

Philosophizer
30/09/2022, 9:29 PM
Cup game aside, that?s 3 wins in 4 under Detser. 3 clean sheets too. Only loss was 1-0 away to Derry. We are still awful to watch, but I would not be surprised if we keep this ?form? up that Pender gets the gig.
I thought Bohs were decent tonight actually. It was only 1-0 but could easily have been 3/4 only for some very good saves.
Looks like Bohs might be finding some form. McDaid looked decent and Clarke and Murphy showed some good stuff at times. A fairly solid performance I would say. Only thing was the keeper Ryan looked a bit shakey with the ball a couple of times.

Jack B
30/09/2022, 9:35 PM
First half Derry battered us without really creating anything clear cut that I could tell from where I was, then McEleney went off at HT and despite him playing out on the right they were a completely different and less dominant team second half. Naturally for Pats though that's when they then got their goal, but I found it strange all the same.

On the balance of the second half it feels harsh to lose but I probably would feel differently had Derry scored in the first 45.

RealJohn91
30/09/2022, 9:52 PM
Burt starts on the bench at Dalymount. Can't understand why he isn't an automatic starter. I hope it's not because there are rumours he'll leave in the off season. That would be daft imho.
He's been injured on and off all season. Missed the Harps game last week and was ruled out of the game tonight in the previews so it was a surprise to see him come off the bench.

joey B
30/09/2022, 9:59 PM
Looking at the fixtures 1 point from the last 2 home games won’t cut it,we battled tonight but probably should have lost,our most dangerous player went off injured in the first 15 minutes aswell ,so it’s a point but not much to cheer you up….

patsdad
30/09/2022, 10:09 PM
I have no complaint about the result in Richmond. Derry took their chance on a breakaway very well, we had far better chances not taken (albeit one was cleared off the line and one hit the post).
I do have a complaint about the allocation of the referee to this game. It was clear for weeks that this would be a high stakes game. It deserved a competent referee. Everyone who watches games in our league knows that there are three categories of ref - good ones, bad ones and Derek Tomney. The mayhem in the last ten minutes was a direct result of his incompetence.

Jack B
30/09/2022, 10:17 PM
Yeah for what it's worth the officiating was terrible for both sides tonight. I never really bother to care about it at this stage but I was even laughing at decisions we were getting at times.

30/09/2022, 11:35 PM
Yeah for what it's worth the officiating was terrible for both sides tonight. I never really bother to care about it at this stage but I was even laughing at decisions we were getting at times.

I don't know, it was strange. He let lots of strong tackles go that would normally be given, which I liked, and probably it helped the game. Then he would give yellows for fouls that didn't really deserve them.
The craic at the end, no complaints. Graydon was acting the mouth. His first yellow was absolutely deserved. He didn't do much for the second, but he did seem to try and wind up Forrester. Forrester should have known better and just let it go. Utterly pointless nonsense from the pair of them with literally five seconds to go.
Forrester probably could have seen red earlier for his kick, which was only a yellow.

On the rest of the game, we were decent in the first half, but, as is often the case, couldn't turn possession into goals. Second was much more even, and a lovely strike from Kavanagh sealed it. Could have gone either way really, so delighted with the win.

As an aside, still not sure what I think about Cotter. He is very lively going forward, but he is liable to leaving himself away from his man at the back. Maybe he'd work better with a five at the back formation?
Is he away back to Rovers at the end of the season?
His throws are an asset, mind.

Jack B
01/10/2022, 12:53 AM
I don't know, it was strange. He let lots of strong tackles go that would normally be given, which I liked, and probably it helped the game. Then he would give yellows for fouls that didn't really deserve them.
The craic at the end, no complaints. Graydon was acting the mouth. His first yellow was absolutely deserved. He didn't do much for the second, but he did seem to try and wind up Forrester. Forrester should have known better and just let it go. Utterly pointless nonsense from the pair of them with literally five seconds to go.
Forrester probably could have seen red earlier for his kick, which was only a yellow.

On the rest of the game, we were decent in the first half, but, as is often the case, couldn't turn possession into goals. Second was much more even, and a lovely strike from Kavanagh sealed it. Could have gone either way really, so delighted with the win.

As an aside, still not sure what I think about Cotter. He is very lively going forward, but he is liable to leaving himself away from his man at the back. Maybe he'd work better with a five at the back formation?

I couldn't believe Forrester wasn't given a straight red for the kick to be honest. I was on the terrace the other side so possibly it wasn't as bad as it seemed but it was so blatant with no attempt to play the ball I was stunned it wasn't pulled up. The situation for the red was daft, obviously something was said by Graydon but if nothing else I'd have liked Forrester's teammates removing him from the situation which didn't happen at all.

Cotter has been amazingly hit and miss with no in between. Definitely suits the wing back position in a back 3/5 which tbf we have been playing outside of when chasing the game tonight. Given his pace/physicality I'd like to keep him but who knows what Rovers have in mind for him.

DCWA
01/10/2022, 5:10 AM

I wish had seen this earlier as now looks like aftertiming but gone catch yourself on you clown of course a title challenge is a long shot (even after victory) but how would we not have to go for the win in the situation?. Dear jaysus like? at this stage of season haven?t won the league in 25 years and probably won?t this year either but we have half a chance and you think we should be avoiding defeat gone away.

trevy
01/10/2022, 7:04 AM
Comfortable 3 1 win for Waterford last night in front of a big crowd. Raul Uche scored after good play from Roland Idowu to set him up. Phoenix Patterson scored a brilliant free kick for the 2nd week in a row. The management made a few changes to starting team and used all his subs so is trying to keep players fresh for busy end of season. Wassim Aouchria came on and got the 3rd and Cobh got a consolation goal in last 10 minutes.

placid casual
01/10/2022, 7:49 AM
Can't see cotter coming back to Rovers next season, he dirtied his bib somewhat whilst there.
Not especially confident about Rovers winning up in Sligo tonight, as this will the only thing sligo have left now before seasons end - can't see the making Europe anyway. Bradleys team selection will be interesting, the team needs a shot of adrenaline from somewhere it appears. A draw may have to do and with derry knocking out the wins there most certainly is a title race.

2 Year Contract
01/10/2022, 7:58 AM

He did/does play in a five at the back formation. Brockbank, Redmond and Grovosti are the 3 centre halves while Cotter and Breslin (last night Curtis due to Breslin's suspension) are the wingbacks

Jd2793
01/10/2022, 8:19 AM
cotter isnt good enough for rovers, no chance they'll want him as a first choice option. hes average as it gets, fairly athletic but not much outside of that. reminds me of colm horgan.

D24Saint
01/10/2022, 9:48 AM
cotter isnt good enough for rovers, no chance they'll want him as a first choice option. hes average as it gets, fairly athletic but not much outside of that. reminds me of colm horgan.

If he could improve his decision making he would be a good player. He has a habit of picking out the wrong ball.

01/10/2022, 11:26 AM
Shelbourne are a dreadfully boring team to watch. It's like that Simpsons football skit, "half back passes to the centre, out to the wing, back to the centre", rinse and repeat. They had about 70% possession, and it was almost entirely just passing it back and forward among their backline before attempting a long ball up front.

Harps are going to struggle. We all know that much already. In this respect, every point on the board is important, and it could have been three only for a big Brendan Clarke save late on. Likewise, McKeown in the Harps goal made a number of big saves too, although he'll be very disappointed with Shels goal.

Philosophizer
01/10/2022, 11:46 AM
He's been injured on and off all season. Missed the Harps game last week and was ruled out of the game tonight in the previews so it was a surprise to see him come off the bench.
Ah ok I didn't know he was carrying knocks. Fair enough so.
McDaid is starting to show some real quality on the wing anyway.

joey B
01/10/2022, 12:46 PM
What happened at the end of the Pats/Derry game? Just seeing the rake of yellows and red cards….

D24Saint
01/10/2022, 2:14 PM
What happened at the end of the Pats/Derry game? Just seeing the rake of yellows and red cards?.

I think the referee lost control of the game and it allowed bad blood to build until it just all went off at the end.

01/10/2022, 2:27 PM
What happened at the end of the Pats/Derry game? Just seeing the rake of yellows and red cards?.

After the two sendings off the trouble continued down into the tunnel. I sit beside the wall at the directors box, so could se a bit of it. Lots of bodies piling in, pushing and shoving etc.one Derry player had a Pats player in a headlock (think it was Grivosti but I wasn?t sure - he had squared up to a Derry player on the pitch.) I?d agree that frustration with the ref was a big factor in it all kicking off. Whenever I see him down to ref a Pats match I just expect the worst.

oriel
01/10/2022, 2:34 PM
Not a great game last night at Casey's Field, not even sure we were value for 2-0 lead at HT, a peno and a crazy OG that Massey got the last touch for.

Still its 3 points, hard worked too, chances of finishing 3rd increasing with 5 games to go (and 5 points clear) with 3 of them at home, but would think we will need to get a result next Fri at home to Pats to keep hopes intact.

Unless Sligo beat Rovers tonight, that's 4th almost guaranteed now as even if we lose last 5, Bohs / Sligo would need to win same 5 and overturn GD swing of 20 / 17 respectively, so its 90% confirmed now.

However that's entering the hoping favours scene, looking for Derry win the cup..............3rd spot is the target to avoid all that stress and 3 more wins will hopefully get that.

sbgawa
01/10/2022, 3:10 PM
If we don't beat sligo tonight I think we are done and dusted. The team look jaded and I can't even remember the last time we looked good. 3 points needed and we kightbstumble over the line. Derry look ominous and on current form will win in tallaght , we need to be 4 points clear before that game.

ontheotherhand
01/10/2022, 5:25 PM
If we don't beat sligo tonight I think we are done and dusted. The team look jaded and I can't even remember the last time we looked good. 3 points needed and we kightbstumble over the line. Derry look ominous and on current form will win in tallaght , we need to be 4 points clear before that game.

Agreed. We need a complete turnaround in form and I don't see where it's coming from at the moment. Maybe Jack will spark....but he's actually holding us back lately.

Derry are on league winning form. Beating Pats last night was massive.

oriel
01/10/2022, 7:29 PM
2-0 now for Sham Rovers, should be home and dry now for the run in.

Bigger challenges lie ahead next season in the shape of Derry less so from Dundalk but we are in re-build mode, Europe is our aim for the next few seasons.

Dermobohs
01/10/2022, 7:37 PM
Done and dusted now, Sligo with a spineless showing, hoops in auto mode tonight, no contest.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
01/10/2022, 7:46 PM

Don?t look too jaded out there tonight. Running around like lunatics. Totally outclassed although don?t know how we didn?t get a penalty at the end of the half.

joey B
01/10/2022, 8:17 PM
I hope Sligo are better next week:(

Calcio Jack
01/10/2022, 8:20 PM
Don?t look too jaded out there tonight. Running around like lunatics. Totally outclassed although don?t know how we didn?t get a penalty at the end of the half.

Different Hoops tonight.. Best performance in ages? helps having Byrne ( or Jack Football as N?Do refers to him on commentary) looking like he?d almost recovered from his bout of imposter syndrome and also Burke. Looking match fit?. Agree we got a break not conceding a peno?

ger121
01/10/2022, 8:24 PM
Derry really need to win all 5 now and hope Rovers lose 2 of their 5. Yes one of those losses they could inflict themselves in the game in Tallaght. Stranger things have happened but it would be some achievement to win it from here.

ger121
01/10/2022, 8:25 PM
Is any one else seeing ? instead of ? in the content of posts? And yes I meant that last question mark.

Yup, an apostrophe is appearing as a question mark in posts.