View Full Version : Trouble at Pats-City game

exile
31/07/2005, 4:30 PM
a big thank you to all the st pats stewards who allowed a city fan to be split open with a rock by a pats scumbag and taken to hospital and allowing to trouble to esaclate outside that the grond great work another shamefull day for the el ,fcuk you pats scum

31/07/2005, 5:34 PM
They extended their Inchicore welcome to Cork as well,nearly every game i've ever went to in Inchicore,I've seen the same thing.

31/07/2005, 5:43 PM
I saw your man who got hit with the rock, he did not look in good condition at all. Did the scumbag who threw it get caught?

jfogarty
31/07/2005, 5:59 PM
whoever done it is a sorry excuse of a human being but there were 900 pats fans there and 99% were just there to watch the match so dont paint us all with the one brush

optimus
31/07/2005, 6:07 PM
whoever done it is a sorry excuse of a human being but there were 900 pats fans there and 99% were just there to watch the match so dont paint us all with the one brush
now ye know how rovers feel.

question is what are pats going to do about the **** that threw it... wel ye get fined by the league will ye fu(k

jfogarty
31/07/2005, 6:16 PM
now ye know how rovers feel.

question is what are pats going to do about the **** that threw it... wel ye get fined by the league will ye fu(k

hopefuly catch the **** and hand him to the gards.

jofyisgod
31/07/2005, 6:26 PM
When i was there last summer with on Ian's coach, some faggot with a knife or baton or something ran on and had to be chased off by the blazers from St Pats.

Sort it out guys! Any updates on the fella who got hit?

Dr.Nightdub
31/07/2005, 6:41 PM
No doubt nothing will be done about whoever threw the stone in the first place, we've named and repeatedly pointed out troublemakers to the club but no action's been taken. A big fine might make them pay attention, but I doubt it.

If it's any consolation to whoever posted the original message, the Pats teenager who had his nose broken in "retaliation" was waiting to be brought to hospital afterwards. Considering the stone came from the turnstile end and he was in the stand, looks like innocents from both sides shed blood. All totally needless. All totally preventable.

Not a single copper in the ground, they must've all been off in Croke Park for the afternoon.

soccerc
31/07/2005, 7:13 PM
allowing to trouble to esaclate outside that the grond great work another shamefull day for the el ,fcuk you pats scum

Get the full facts before you tar all with the same brush.

Don't get me wrong I am as p*ssed off with the events as you are, but, and this is a big but, some of the Cork fans' behaviour left a lot to be desired,two of them in particular, who are not known as travelling supporters. (FACT)

Also, it's a bad day when opposition fans felt the need to change from their colours before having an after match pint in McDowells.

31/07/2005, 8:38 PM
When i was there last summer with on Ian's coach, some faggot with a knife or baton or something ran on and had to be chased off by the blazers from St Pats.

100% not true. And if it was it seems the pats stewards did their job...

Anyone involved in trouble at a game is a fuking idiot

31/07/2005, 10:48 PM
No doubt nothing will be done about whoever threw the stone in the first place, we've named and repeatedly pointed out troublemakers to the club but no action's been taken. A big fine might make them pay attention, but I doubt it.

If it's any consolation to whoever posted the original message, the Pats teenager who had his nose broken in "retaliation" was waiting to be brought to hospital afterwards. Considering the stone came from the turnstile end and he was in the stand, looks like innocents from both sides shed blood. All totally needless. All totally preventable.

Not a single copper in the ground, they must've all been off in Croke Park for the afternoon.
Agreed Doc. I saw the young pats fan after and he looked in a bad way the poor fella, he was totally innocent in all of it. The City fan is ok, but will need a stitch in it. From talking to yer security after, looks like they know the culprit and will ban him. A sad day. Pats and City have always had a good rivalry down the years, I'd hate to see it spoiled by the actions of a few scumbags on either side. :(

BTW, I'm changing the title of this thread, because its unfair on Pats fans in general. Éanna

31/07/2005, 10:52 PM
Problem is this might give a few Corkies ideas about attacking pats fans when we're down there next and none of c.unts involved will be down and it'll be the genuine fans fgetting grief.

31/07/2005, 11:12 PM
Problem is this might give a few Corkies ideas about attacking pats fans when we're down there next and none of c.unts involved will be down and it'll be the genuine fans fgetting grief.
I hope that doesn't happen, I really do. Whatever rivalry there's been between City and Pats has always been peaceful- abusive and nasty maybe!- and one incident like this shouldn't change things. Pats fans are always welcome visitors to the cross in my eyes anyway

31/07/2005, 11:13 PM

well thats a possibility. hopefully it wont come to that but when people see the damage they'll get their backs up

31/07/2005, 11:18 PM
well thats a possibility. hopefully it wont come to that but when people see the damage they'll get their backs up
Hopefully not indeed. Its the last thing anyone wants or needs.

31/07/2005, 11:20 PM
Hopefully not indeed. Its the last thing anyone wants or needs.

well Pats were the one Dublin side we never had a niggle with off the field, this may change that

31/07/2005, 11:22 PM
well Pats were the one Dublin side we never had a niggle with off the field, this may change that
Of the big four, they were yeah, and I hope that doesn't change. Not trying to dismiss the seriousness of this incident, but it was just one incident.

Dr.Nightdub
01/08/2005, 12:41 AM
I'm totally sick of this sh1t. Totally, totally, totally. Just off the top of my head, from this season alone:
- Pats v Cork: Cork fan with his head split by a rock, Pats fan with a broken nose
- Cork v Rovers: missiles lobbed into Rovers fans from St Annes End
- Rovers v Bohs: Rovers and Bohs casuals at each other beforehand, cops and Rovers at each other at full time, Rovers "pitch invasion"
- Rovers v I can't remember who: Bohs "fans" throw missiles through the windows of the pub Rovers are drinking in afterwards
- Bohs v Shels: Ollie and Shels players inviting Bohs fans to step outside
- Shels v Rovers: Ollie swings for Roddy
- Shels v Pats: Shels fans try to retrieve a robbed flag, more aggro and missiles from Pats "fans"

The point I'm making is that this stuff is getting endemic now. Not by the standards of Italy or England, but in LoI terms, it's getting out of hand. Half the League is at it, none of the clubs I've mentioned can claim the high moral ground, so spare me the holier-than-thou cráp - unless you're a Derry, Harps, Waterford, Bray or Drogheda fan (interesting observation: all the innocent parties are "country" teams; only exception being Longford, who just institutionalise the aggro). Nor am I interested in comparisons with the 70s and hooligan cavalry charges and "it was much worse back then".

A couple of years ago, it looked like this League was beginning to develope a halfway-decent fan culture, probably led at first by the Rovers Ultras and the Pats SEI and then everyone started joining in. Now it seems that's largely gone by the board and the tifosi are gradually being replaced by the sh1theads.

All any of us can do is get our own house together first. As a Pats fan, I know we have probably the most tangible reminder of how bad things are as the view from the Shed is fúcked since the "hooligan fence" had to be erected after golf balls were thrown at the Rovers keeper three years ago. It's soul-destroying that the club have, for years, ignored complaints, fingering of culprits and repeated demands to get a grip of the situation. The cops say it's the stewards' job to sort it out, the stewards say it's the cops' job. No-one wants to take reponsibility and yet they spout on about making matches family-friendly? Me arse.

Pats probably deserve to get hit with a big fine after today. As people have pointed out elsewhere, UEFA licencing (and before that, eL Regulations) require that grounds are free of rubble. If there was no rubble in Richmond, there'd be no stones to throw.

What kills me is that we'll probably get fined a big whack of money for this and deservedly so. That's money that the club could be using to compete on the wages front, or for signing new players. As far as I'm concerned, whoever pegged that rock today was engaged in an act of sabotage against the club that I support and I'm getting awful fúcking close to the point where if those who should be responsible won't do their job then someone else is gonna have to do it for them.

01/08/2005, 12:54 AM
Excellent Post Dr Nightclub,I agree 100%

01/08/2005, 5:42 AM
I'm totally sick of this sh1t. Totally, totally, totally. Just off the top of my head, from this season alone:
- Pats v Cork: Cork fan with his head split by a rock, Pats fan with a broken nose
- Cork v Rovers: missiles lobbed into Rovers fans from St Annes End
- Rovers v Bohs: Rovers and Bohs casuals at each other beforehand, cops and Rovers at each other at full time, Rovers "pitch invasion"
- Rovers v I can't remember who: Bohs "fans" throw missiles through the windows of the pub Rovers are drinking in afterwards
- Bohs v Shels: Ollie and Shels players inviting Bohs fans to step outside
- Shels v Rovers: Ollie swings for Roddy
- Shels v Pats: Shels fans try to retrieve a robbed flag, more aggro and missiles from Pats "fans"

You missed the game when Cork fans fired missiles from the Shed at the Drogheda keeper in April.

Our fans have had to put up with all kinds of negative labels for years. It's Pats' turn now.

bohs til i die
01/08/2005, 9:14 AM

Rovers were at home to Cork that night, and it was no coincidence that the Bohs lads who went looking for trouble knew were to go. It was also a bit more serious then a few bricks through windows, one Rovers fan was seriosuly hurt after a pretty violent attack.

Da Real Rover
01/08/2005, 10:25 AM
Strange how all the incidents mentioned involved Dublin teams.

bigmac
01/08/2005, 10:27 AM
I'd be interested in hearing from any of the Rovers fans who are members of the 400 club as to what action they will be taking against any future troublemakers masquerading as Rovers' supporters.

I'm not trying to get on Rovers' case at all, I just ask because Rovers should be the most accessible club for information from now on, seeing as they will be completely run by the fans. We consistently see troublemakers ignored by clubs and token punishments handed out by the EL so I think it would be a great boost to the league if the 400 club set an example and really clamped down on aggro at games (although I realise there's little that can be done with incidents outside the grounds).

Any comments?

01/08/2005, 10:53 AM
The only ground I've ever been spit on (twice!) was Sligo's Showgrounds. Only ground we had to have a police escort to the bus too.

Strange...

jfogarty
01/08/2005, 12:08 PM

i think you should read this thread again

01/08/2005, 12:25 PM
Certain Rovers fans deserve their bad name. At the match yesterday, they threw till-roll (like every team's fans do when they score, I'm not being sarcastic), in stoppage time the ball was knocked into the seats where they were and one gobsh!te held onto the ball for about a minute (again every team's fan do this at one stage) and after the match they threw a banger onto the pitch (........). I've never seen that at a football match in the eircom League before and it is disgraceful.

harpskid
01/08/2005, 1:10 PM

Cork is in Dublin now is it... :p

higgins
01/08/2005, 1:18 PM
Rovers fans holding onto the ball always happens when they are ahead. Ive seen that one so many times. Their fans seem to be split when it happens. It starts of with loads of heyheyyy hooorayy then moves on to boos after a few secs and they throw it back.

Pats too have been throwing stones at away fans for years. All I have ever seen do this was young kids under the age of 15 or so. Anytime Ive been there little groups of what I can only call boys an dgirls walk around causing trouble. They are too small for a dig in the head so seem to get away with it. From kicking muck onto people or kicking their heels as they go by to throwing stones? One idea Pats would be to clear your ground of stones?? Ive never seen grown men throw stones it has to be said. Maybe the little idiots have grown up :(

01/08/2005, 2:18 PM
Come on, holding on to the ball when you're teams ahead is proper order ffs. I wish some of our lads started doing that when we're ahead

01/08/2005, 2:21 PM
I see the trouble at Richmond Park made it into Emmett Malone's match report in the Irish Times, that well-known bible of Eircom League reporting....

More bad publicity that we don't need.

Feech
01/08/2005, 2:34 PM
Cork is in Dublin now is it... :p

It was when Cork played a home game in Tolka V Bohs!

joeraki
01/08/2005, 4:13 PM
they threw a banger onto the pitch (........). I've never seen that at a football match in the eircom League before and it is disgraceful.

Just because he scored there 3rd goal, no need sulk about it :p

joeraki
01/08/2005, 4:21 PM
I'd be interested in hearing from any of the Rovers fans who are members of the 400 club as to what action they will be taking against any future troublemakers masquerading as Rovers' supporters.

I'm not trying to get on Rovers' case at all, I just ask because Rovers should be the most accessible club for information from now on, seeing as they will be completely run by the fans. We consistently see troublemakers ignored by clubs and token punishments handed out by the EL so I think it would be a great boost to the league if the 400 club set an example and really clamped down on aggro at games (although I realise there's little that can be done with incidents outside the grounds).

Any comments?

I'd imagine they win run the club in a fair way. If something happens outside the ground, it ain't their job to deal with. If they get arseholes throwing stuff on the pitch then ban them, no questions asked

Seen as they are also fans of the club, they'll probably ignore all the printed media "Rovers fans ate my hamster" type storys that get a good 5/6 page thread going on here. Example been the outcry from the official Bohs website about their hooligans flagged been "robbed/mislaid/given to them" and Bohs fans whinging about wanting some sort of punishment against Rovers

Da Real Rover
01/08/2005, 5:43 PM
The only ground I've ever been spit on (twice!) was Sligo's Showgrounds. Only ground we had to have a police escort to the bus too.

Strange...
How many stitches did you need from that and hows the counseling going. The incident with the Drogs keeper isnt an incident just a ***** gettin what he deserved. And if you do read me post i said all incidents invovled Dublin teams while they only have 5 out of the 12 clubs in the league. Seems more like Dublins problem than the everybodys problem.

01/08/2005, 5:52 PM
How many stitches did you need from that and hows the counseling going.
None, my point was that your comment was stupid. Any trouble I've ever been involved in has been at 'provincial' grounds when local hardmen come out to welcome dubs. Like I said your comment was stupid

The incident with the Drogs keeper isnt an incident just a ***** gettin what he deserved.And who's to say those fns attacked didn't deserve them. Another stupid comment

And if you do read me post i said all incidents invovled Dublin teams while they only have 5 out of the 12 clubs in the league. Seems more like Dublins problem than the everybodys problem.What incidents? Did you mention the Dundalk fans beating lumps out of themselves a few weeks ago. No dubs there either. Seems to me you're another person content on sifting blame an thinking it doesn't affect you. The topic is too serious for people to make stupid generalisations and sweeping comments

01/08/2005, 6:18 PM
Just because he scored there 3rd goal, no need sulk about it
:D :D he may be unfit but he's still got it (only 30 years old as well, thought he was older).

Still though :D :D

BohsFans
02/08/2005, 1:41 AM
We're getting off topic here.

Any Cork fans wish to point out the scumbag who assaulted an innocent Pat's fan, resulting in a broken nose, and get him banned from the Cross?? Well??

02/08/2005, 10:59 AM
We're getting off topic here.

Any Cork fans wish to point out the scumbag who assaulted an innocent Pat's fan, resulting in a broken nose, and get him banned from the Cross?? Well??

i didnt see who did it, but it'd be hard to ban him from the cross as it happened in inchicore..........

plus the guy who threw the rock is "well known to pats" whats being done there? banning isn't enough that was attempted murder IMO

02/08/2005, 11:02 AM
'Did you mention the Dundalk fans beating lumps out of themselves a few weeks ago.'

Not again :rolleyes: - where was this dodge, sure theyre only getting a handful of people at their matches :confused:

Roverstillidie
02/08/2005, 11:04 AM
banning isn't enough that was attempted murder IMO

sweet jesus..... attempted murder? and when missiles come from cork fans what is it?

is this guy for real?

still waiting for your apology over your comments on last weeks now retracted article pablo

02/08/2005, 11:37 AM
i didnt see who did it, but it'd be hard to ban him from the cross as it happened in inchicore...
Why is that?

02/08/2005, 11:39 AM
i didnt see who did it, but it'd be hard to ban him from the cross as it happened in inchicore..........

plus the guy who threw the rock is "well known to pats" whats being done there? banning isn't enough that was attempted murder IMO

What a weak response.

I think you'll find lobbing a rock at someone and 10 people kicking someone's head in while they are on the ground would both attract similar charges from the guards (whose absence no doubt contributed to these events). Breaking someone's nose with a punch in an unprovoked attack the same. All 3 have been known to seriously injure or kill people and the only positive thing out of Sunday's events was that this didn't happen.

At the end of the day if Cork fans know who did it from their side and keep schtum, they have no right to expect Pats to do any different.

And where the offence occured has no bearing on whether or not someone can be banned. I understand a Finn Harps fan is facing a ban from Finn Park after throwing a missile at a Derry player in the Brandywell.

02/08/2005, 12:45 PM
Regrettable incidents all round. Was surprised no "journo" tried to link in Rovers fans to it!

However when a Rovers fans was glassed in the face in the Horseshoe a couple of years ago there wasnt quite the storm there is now.

02/08/2005, 2:57 PM
Regrettable incidents all round. Was surprised no "journo" tried to link in Rovers fans to it!

However when a Rovers fans was glassed in the face in the Horseshoe a couple of years ago there wasnt quite the storm there is now.

was that the Rovers fan who just wandered in for a quiet pint?

Roverstillidie
02/08/2005, 3:30 PM
was that the Rovers fan who just wandered in for a quiet pint?
so when a pats fan launches a stone at a cork fan its attempted murder

when a cork fan grinds a glass into a rovers fans face he deserved it?

sort out your head pablo.

02/08/2005, 3:32 PM
A little less rhetoric and a straight answer to a straight question (above) might be more constructive right now Pablo.

fbtn
02/08/2005, 3:42 PM
And where the offence occured has no bearing on whether or not someone can be banned. I understand a Finn Harps fan is facing a ban from Finn Park after throwing a missile at a Derry player in the Brandywell.

This is true...the statement from Harps here http://finnharps.openhosts.com/News/05July25_brandywell.htm

Don't know how the Sligo Rovers fan can take the moral highground either. I personally know of a 15 year old Harps fan who had his nose broken outside the Showgrounds a few seasons back and I find it the ground with most potential for trouble. A lot more than the Harps-Derry derby games that is for sure.

A lot of regretable incidents but it is up to the fans of each club to point out the culprit - like happened in the Brandywell lately for the missle throwing incident.

BTW: As for holding on to the ball, I've done it myself. Wouldn't slag fans for that

02/08/2005, 5:54 PM
I think you'll find lobbing a rock at someone and 10 people kicking someone's head in while they are on the ground would both attract similar charges from the guards (whose absence no doubt contributed to these events). Breaking someone's nose with a punch in an unprovoked attack the same. All 3 have been known to seriously injure or kill people and the only positive thing out of Sunday's events was that this didn't happen.

None of those incidents would have happened if it wasn't for a City fan nearly being killed by a rock that was thrown at us by a Pats fan.
The other 2 incidents were in reaction to this. Obviously City fans were going to fight back when under attack.

when a cork fan grinds a glass into a rovers fans face he deserved it?

The same situation as I outlined above. Rovers fans came into the Horseshoe throwing their weight around and causing hassle, City fans were bound to react.

Obviously all these incidents are regrettable and it would be much much better if they never happened but the Rebel Army have to be able to defend themselves if Dubs try to attack us.

02/08/2005, 5:55 PM
By attacking innocent people? If someone from Cork attacks me tomorrow can I drive up to your house tomorrow and attack you as a result?

I can't believe anyone is defending the 10 on 1 of the innocent Pats fan.

Passive
02/08/2005, 6:09 PM
Certain Rovers fans deserve their bad name. At the match yesterday, they threw till-roll (like every team's fans do when they score, I'm not being sarcastic), in stoppage time the ball was knocked into the seats where they were and one gobsh!te held onto the ball for about a minute (again every team's fan do this at one stage) and after the match they threw a banger onto the pitch (........). I've never seen that at a football match in the eircom League before and it is disgraceful.

So, we deserve a bad name because we threw till-roll on the pitch? Jesus man, either get a grip or go and follow ballet.

To be honest, threads like this annoy me because everyone just ends up blaming everyone else. I've had rocks thrown at me or worse in Cork, Waterford, Richmond Park and Dalymount Park. This is football and, unfortunately, football attracts its share of idiots. It's the same the world over, despite what Sky tells you.

The incident at the Pats v Cork game sounded nasty, but the best way to avoid it is to have total segregation (something I approve of for several reasons; it did my nut in having Bray fans sitting near us on Sunday) and police doing their job.

For all the talk about violence at the EL, any football game in this country is still safer than walking down O'Connell Street after midnight. Violence effects society and, luckily, it doesn't effect the EL half as much as ********s in the Evening Herald and Evening Echo think.