View Full Version : Trouble at Pats-City game
I can't believe anyone is defending the 10 on 1 of the innocent Pats fan.
10 (or probably more) on 1 was a bit OTT but to be saying your man was innocent is totally inaccurate, he was goading the City fans with come and get me type gestures. If he's stupid enough to do that he deserves a few slaps (not from 10+ though obviously).
As for the fella who got his nose broken at full time, you've got to question why he walked onto the pitch and along nearly the length of the stand in order to walk through the middle of 300+ City fans after there had already been trouble. Then he starts gesturing and mouthing off, what did he expect would happen? He's just a lucky boy that someone smacked him before he got up the back where the really angry crowd of City fans were.
That's the way it happened. Obviously Pats fans will come on here and defend their own which is fair enough and some City fans who have personal differences with certain people will do likewise but that's my account of it and I have no personal problems or differences with any of the people who were involved.
Now can we just let it go please.
02/08/2005, 6:14 PM
None of those incidents would have happened if it wasn't for a City fan nearly being killed by a rock that was thrown at us by a Pats fan.
The other 2 incidents were in reaction to this. Obviously City fans were going to fight back when under attack.
Obviously all these incidents are regrettable and it would be much much better if they never happened but the Rebel Army have to be able to defend themselves if Dubs try to attack us.
So the basis of your argument is "they started it". Like to see you try that one in court.
You seem to have a problem distinguishing between self-defence and retaliation. What the Cork fans did was the latter, not the former. 10 lads kicking the crap out of someone is equally as cowardly as someone throwing a rock at someone else, if not more so as its took 10 brave souls to do it.
One criminal act doesn't excuse another criminal act in response.
And as for the "Dubs" v "the Rebel Army" purlease....... :rolleyes: you've either been watching too much Braveheart or listening to Dolan too much. Talk about over-dramatic?! Where you under attack from hordes of jackeens?
Shame on you as thank God these views aren't held by all the decent Cork fans most of us know.
I find it objectionable that somone with these views moderates this Forum.
Oh, and its clear why you want to let it go now that you've realised that some of your lot might be in trouble with the law. If this involved Rovers it would be stirred up for weeks.....
So, we deserve a bad name because we threw till-roll on the pitch? Jesus man, either get a grip or go and follow ballet.
To be honest, threads like this annoy me because everyone just ends up blaming everyone else. I've had rocks thrown at me or worse in Cork, Waterford, Richmond Park and Dalymount Park. This is football and, unfortunately, football attracts its share of idiots. It's the same the world over, despite what Sky tells you.
The incident at the Pats v Cork game sounded nasty, but the best way to avoid it is to have total segregation (something I approve of for several reasons; it did my nut in having Bray fans sitting near us on Sunday) and police doing their job.
For all the talk about violence at the EL, any football game in this country is still safer than walking down O'Connell Street after midnight. Violence effects society and, luckily, it doesn't effect the EL half as much as ********s in the Evening Herald and Evening Echo think.
Well said. Excellent post.
Where you under attack from hordes of jackeens? .
We didn't need to be. It only takes a small few. I'm sure the lad whose face could be scarred for life will agree with you ill informed BS! :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
I find it objectionable that somone with these views moderates this Forum.
What views?? The fact that I don't like seeing my friends or fellow City fans being attacked??
I find it objectionable that somebody who wasn't there and hasn't actually a clue what went on would see fit to comment on the matter.
Passive
02/08/2005, 6:23 PM
If this involved Rovers it would be stirred up for weeks.....
As one of the lads said on the Rovers forum, if this had involved us the Dail would have been recalled.
We don't mind though, it's one of the drawbacks of being the country's only big club.
Oh, and its clear why you want to let it go now that you've realised that some of your lot might be in trouble with the law. If this involved Rovers it would be stirred up for weeks.....
No I want to let it go because too many people on here haven't actually got a clue what happened and a re talking out their holes. I'll lock the thread unless people can deal in facts.
btw, if the law had actually been there, it probably wouldn't have escalated.
Also, I think you'll find that when Rovers were accused of causing hassle in Cork a couple of weeks ago. Myself and a few other City fans actually defended them on this forum.
02/08/2005, 6:35 PM
We didn't need to be. It only takes a small few. I'm sure the lad whose face could be scarred for life will agree with you ill informed BS! :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
What views?? The fact that I don't like seeing my friends or fellow City fans being attacked??
I find it objectionable that somebody who wasn't there and hasn't actually a clue what went on would see fit to comment on the matter.
Care to point on which bits are the ill-informed BS for my benefit?
Facts appear to be clear from various posts:
1) Cork fan hit with large piece of rubble and split open
2) 10 Cork fans get another Pats fan on the ground and kick the crap out of him
3) independently Cork fan slaps another Pats fan and breaks his nose
I'll give you a simple choice:
a) you can't get your head around why its not okay to retaliate when someone else starts something
b) you support the retialiation
You choose.
To most reasonable people the three acts above would be dealt with by the guards and hopefully result in a conviction.
That is the bottom line.
soccerc
02/08/2005, 7:24 PM
The same situation as I outlined above. Rovers fans came into the Horseshoe throwing their weight around and causing hassle, City fans were bound to react.
So, explain to me the behaviour of Cork fans in McDowells at half time, had someone reacted would that have been fair game?
Pat's fans and other locals didn't react to their goading and slagging, execept to laugh it off.
One Cork fans questioned me as to why I wouldn't clap hands to their singing of "If you hate Shamrock Rovers....".
My reply, simply because I don't. He seemed perplexed :eek:
So, explain to me the behaviour of Cork fans in McDowells at half time, had someone reacted would that have been fair game?
Pat's fans and other locals didn't react to their goading and slagging, execept to laugh it off.
One Cork fans questioned me as to why I wouldn't clap hands to their singing of "If you hate Shamrock Rovers....".
My reply, simply because I don't. He seemed perplexed :eek:
I wasn't aware City fans caused any trouble in McDowells at HT. I was in there and saw nothing, although it could have been out in the beer garden but I doubt it.
02/08/2005, 7:39 PM
If the mod gets involved in a discussion, and then locks it because he doesn't approve of its drift, surely that's a severe dent in foot.ie's credibility?
Need a bit more detachment there Colm.
If the mod gets involved in a discussion, and then locks it because he doesn't approve of its drift, surely that's a severe dent in foot.ie's credibility?
Need a bit more detachment there Colm.
I haven't locked it yet BohDiddley and I won't as long as people who weren't there and/or don't know what they're talking about don't get too involved.
soccerc
02/08/2005, 7:47 PM
It was in the beer garden, so why does that surprise you. Some of those there were very obvioulsy the worst for wear.
I responded to your post which seemed to give the green light for City fans to react in the Horseshoe.
As I said the behaviour of City fans there left a lot to be desired, maybe in Cork it is ok to insinuate that all Dubliners are junkies, mothers are on the game and father is out stealing.................
It was in the beer garden, so why does that surprise you. Some of those there were very obvioulsy the worst for wear.
I responded to your post which seemed to give the green light for City fans to react in the Horseshoe.
Well I was inside the pub at HT so won't comment about what went on in beer garden but unless they were throwing ash trays around and so on you can't compare it to that evening in the Horseshoe.
maybe in Cork it is ok to insinuate that all Dubliners are junkies, mothers are on the game and father is out stealing.................
They're not??!! :eek: ;) :D
02/08/2005, 8:01 PM
Actually, they're not, despite opinion in Sligo and Cork, where no doubt yis are all good Gaelic broths of boys. :rolleyes:
Roverstillidie
02/08/2005, 8:54 PM
do i have this straight colm?
its acceptible for a group of fans to batter 1 guy if he takes the p iss out of you?
its acceptable to scar a guy for life if he sings an anti roy keane song in a cork bar? (you infer he attacked someone, you should really clarify)
according to colm in general you can do anything if you are a ****ie :confused:
if you werent a moderator you would have been lashed by now.
this is a worrying thread, and if a rovers or bohs fan was talking such s hite, there would be outcry
do i have this straight colm?
its acceptible for a group of fans to batter 1 guy if he takes the p iss out of you?
its acceptable to scar a guy for life if he sings an anti roy keane song in a cork bar? (you infer he attacked someone, you should really clarify)
Well I was in the Horseshoe that night and I saw a group of Rovers fans storm into the pub.
I'll be one of the first to stick up for ye when ye're wronged like ye were a few weeks ago but on that occasion (to the best of my knowledge) ye were in the wrong.
A City fan may have been scarred for life too on Sunday because of a few little Inchicore scumbags and a players sister and a few young kids were nearly hit too so it could have been a lot worse. That's what City fans reacted and that's why I'm angry, it's not because somebody "took the **** out of us".
Opposition fans "take the ****" at every away game we go to but normally our fans don't react like that, it was a hell of a lot more serious this time though. A City could have been killed or blinded and I'm not being dramatic in saying that.
02/08/2005, 10:10 PM
Same goes for the Pats fan.
02/08/2005, 10:14 PM
Colm and pablo, you f.ucking pathetic cretins. "Attempted murder" :rolleyes: :confused: :confused:
If you've read every single post by any pats fans here or on our own board, you'll knwo that every genuine Pats fan is disgusted and ashamed at one idiot who lobbed a brick at the City fans. Every single one has condemned. ot one has, as you called it, "defended" our own. AFAIK the club has singled out who did it and I'm sure they'll take the neccessary steps.
Now on to Cork fans, goading locals in Inchicore (at the same tuime justifying beating a kid), beating the crap out of random passer bys (same kid and another lad), putting a glass into a Rovrs fan's face and all the other crap that has happened in turners Cross this year...
Colm and pablo, you f.ucking pathetic cretins. "Attempted murder" :rolleyes: :confused: :confused:
It could very easily have killed somebody Dodge. Did you actually see the size of the rock that hit the lad?
It narrowly missed women and children.
The only point I'm really trying to make in this thread (probably badly!) is that people should think about those facts before critisising the reaction of City fans. If that happened to any other set of fans they'd react in the same way, am I wrong??
02/08/2005, 10:37 PM
It could very easily have killed somebody Dodge.
Again, same for the Pats fan, in fact if anything he was in more danger.
soccerc
02/08/2005, 10:42 PM
The only point I'm really trying to make in this thread (probably badly!) is that people should think about those facts before critisising the reaction of City fans. If that happened to any other set of fans they'd react in the same way, am I wrong??
My point exactly - The incident happened with 10 mins or so to go in the game whereas the behaviour I witnessed was at half time.
It was not acceptable and had I reacted badly instead of laughing it off would you defend me? Would you defend me had I reacted badly to being slagged off and picked up a bottle and smashed it over someones head? Would you ****.
My point exactly - The incident happened with 10 mins or so to go in the game whereas the behaviour I witnessed was at half time.
It was not acceptable and had I reacted badly instead of laughing it off would you defend me? Would you defend me had I reacted badly to being slagged off and picked up a bottle and smashed it over someones head? Would you ****.
SoccerC, I already told you I don't know what happened at half time but from what you've posted it was only chanting and not violence?
The City fans reacted to a fellas face being seriously scarred by a flying rock and girls and kids nearly having their skulls smashed.
You're a sensible fella SoccerC, you're not seriously comparing the two incidents are you?
Student Mullet
02/08/2005, 10:50 PM
You're a sensible fella SoccerC, you're not seriously comparing the two incidents are you?I think he was comparing the chanting from City fans to the chanting from the Pat's fan who reportedly had the shít kicked out of him.
Do you accept that this fan was innocent of any violence, that his only 'crime' was that he slagged some cork fans and for this he was attacked?
Is this also true of the young lad who's reported to have had his nose broken after full time?
ShelsTim
02/08/2005, 11:11 PM
You're all a bunch of ****ing gob****es.
"You did it!"
"No you did it!"
Who gives a **** who did it??!?!?! We should all be getting on the line with Pats and Cork and giving them loads about what the **** they're playing at. Why weren't Finn Harps lauded for actually doing something and banning yer man? Why aren't we all agreeing that it was a horrendous action and something needs to be done? It's no wonder the eL is in such a ****ing state with ye cocklords behind everything. Cop the **** on.
Pat's e-mail: info@stpatsfc.com
Cork e-mail: info@corkcityfc.ie
Get on the line and stop this stupid ****ing in-fighting.
03/08/2005, 1:21 AM
EDITED. Éanna
and i think ur just stirring sh!t
EDITED. Éanna
I hope you're not suggesting that people post names on here accusing them of things which they have actually no proof of. That's very dodgy legal ground.
As thecorner said, people are just stirring sh!t now. This has been discussed to death both here and on the official forum and it's just resulting in people slagging each other off now and firing accusation and counter accusation. Thread closed.