View Full Version : McCourt moves to Derry

soccerc
29/07/2005, 6:34 PM
Pat McCourt is on his way to Derry on a free transfer (http://www.soccercentral.ie/viewstory.asp?id=15248&mainheading=Eircom&viewstory=yes)

29/07/2005, 6:45 PM
Pat McCourt is on his way to Derry on a free transfer (http://www.soccercentral.ie/viewstory.asp?id=15248&mainheading=Eircom&viewstory=yes)

FFS ..... i wonder did many clubs go in for him .... Gone on a free, that is a serious kick in the teeth for Rovers and the deal of the century for Derry .... even better than the Kevin Doyle one :eek:

Passive
29/07/2005, 7:10 PM
We got him for nothing, he left for nothing, what have we lost: nothing!

29/07/2005, 7:24 PM

You lost a great player there fella .... and you know it !!

Any club in the league would slot him straight into their team !!

student
29/07/2005, 7:54 PM
Great signing for Stephen Kenny. He has done some shrewd business up there. Disappointing day for Rovers, bu thats a significant chunk off the wage bill with Gavin gone as well

29/07/2005, 7:56 PM
Lads apart from soccercentral this story isn't being carried anywhere else. So I don't think theres been any official confirmation yet.

29/07/2005, 8:25 PM
Lads apart from soccercentral this story isn't being carried anywhere else. So I don't think theres been any official confirmation yet.

If its on soccercentral then there must be something to it. It run by people in the know !!

Drumcondra Red
29/07/2005, 8:54 PM

What??!!?? Thats a massive loss!!!

29/07/2005, 9:08 PM
We spent winter signing Richie f*cking Baker and Bobby f*cking Ryan and McCourt goes on a free :(

McCourt with Byrne Hoolahan Moore and Ndo would be incredible, any four of those five would be amazing together.

Massive massive buy for Derry, him linking up with Farren will be something else.

I thought Gavin had all but signed for Hartlepool? I don't think he's upto much anyway.

29/07/2005, 9:12 PM
We spent winter signing Richie f*cking Baker and Bobby f*cking Ryan and McCourt goes on a free :(

McCourt with Byrne Hoolahan Moore and Ndo would be incredible, any four of those five would be amazing together.

Massive massive buy for Derry, him linking up with Farren will be something else.

I thought Gavin had all but signed for Hartlepool? I don't think he's upto much anyway.

I'd have rathered Gavin than McCourt myself

29/07/2005, 9:17 PM
I'd have rathered Gavin than McCourt myself

He hasn't impressed me at all when I've seen Rovers and I think we're alright in defence when everyones fit which has been rare this season.

McCourt on the right wing would add alot to the team though.

29/07/2005, 9:26 PM

And we have yet to play them in the Brandy and at home !!

Passive
30/07/2005, 10:15 AM
Of course McCourt is a massive loss, but we have to look at the bigger picture. Gavin is a good defender but so is Paulo Maldini, that doesn't mean we can afford him.

McCourt hasn't officially signed for Derry yet and is still "in talks" with Bohs. However, he is travelling to Derry today and I expect him to be a Derry player by this evening.

Looks like Jason McGuinness is going back to Bohs; our goalie has been contacted by Limerick but I'd be hopefully of him staying put; Dave Mooney is talking to Culchie Bohs, but hopefully he'll see sense and stay with us. UCD apparently are in for Keith Doyle and they are more than welcome to him, while Leeds United are sniffing around for Will McDonagh, which just shows that the spirit of Peter Risdale is alive and well at Ellend Road.

30/07/2005, 10:36 AM
our goalie has been contacted by Limerick but I'd be hopefully of him staying put;
as in Barry Murphy? Surely someone in the Premier is after him?

30/07/2005, 10:42 AM
Of course McCourt is a massive loss, but we have to look at the bigger picture. Gavin is a good defender but so is Paulo Maldini, that doesn't mean we can afford him.

McCourt hasn't officially signed for Derry yet and is still "in talks" with Bohs. However, he is travelling to Derry today and I expect him to be a Derry player by this evening.

Looks like Jason McGuinness is going back to Bohs; our goalie has been contacted by Limerick but I'd be hopefully of him staying put; Dave Mooney is talking to Culchie Bohs, but hopefully he'll see sense and stay with us. UCD apparently are in for Keith Doyle and they are more than welcome to him, while Leeds United are sniffing around for Will McDonagh, which just shows that the spirit of Peter Risdale is alive and well at Ellend Road.

is relegation accepted by most fans now?they will have no players left soon!

kdjaC
30/07/2005, 10:51 AM

Wow i agreee with Slash Ed!!!!!!!!!!

But find it weird you werent in for him.

kdjac

martyc
30/07/2005, 10:53 AM
Well its official now!

from bbc sport:-

Former Northern Ireland Under-21 player Pat McCourt has signed for Derry City until the end of the season.
Midfielder McCuort moves from Shamrock Rovers where he had been since leaving Rochdale in January.

"Patrick is an exciting player who will add a new dimension to the team," said Brandywell boss Stephen Kenny.

"We are still in three competitions and the matches are going to come thick and fast. We needed reinforcements and this will give us a fresh impetus."

Derry hope to have McCourt registered in time to play against Bohemians in the Premier Division on Tuesday.

dcfc_1928
30/07/2005, 10:54 AM
I think he has only signed until the end of the season, still waiting to hear the full story yet though.

Passive
30/07/2005, 10:59 AM
is relegation accepted by most fans now?they will have no players left soon!

I won't accept relegation until the division one fixture list comes out and I see Shamrock Rovers listed.

We're two points behind a managerless and fairly brutal Harps side; and six behind a managerless, chairmanless, pennyless Waterford side who have lost their last ten games.

Hardly mission impossible.

Our next four games are against Bray, Pats, Waterford and UCD. We'll know a lot more about our chances in a month's time.

Drumcondra Red
30/07/2005, 12:40 PM
Yeah, but you're laying a group of kids and your manager admited to not knowing half their names, I don't like to say this but the odds are stacked against Rovers atm!!!

Drumcondra Red
30/07/2005, 12:43 PM

Of course McCourt is a massive loss

Which one is it Passive, just a little bit contradictive don't you think???

steveyg2004
30/07/2005, 12:48 PM
This is probably confirmed by now, but just in case, here's another website running with the story:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/irish/4730621.stm

Edit: I've just noticed MartyC beat me to it. :o

sullanefc
30/07/2005, 12:58 PM

I think he was talking in monetary terms that they have lost nothing, but player-wise they have lost a big gun.

Passive
30/07/2005, 1:17 PM

Well, I was being slightly light-hearted in my initial comments.

Paddy McCourt is a footballing genius, there is no doubt about that. He's the best player I've seen since Tony Sheridan, and that's the highest praise I can offer any footballer.

I'd have love to have held onto him, but in the current situation it wasn't possible and, like every other Rovers fan, I wish Paddy the best. To be honest, I'm happy he's gone to a club like Derry because it would have killed me to see him join b***s.

As for relegation, of course we're massive favourites to go down, but we still have to play Harps and Waterford. I do think both Harps and ourselves might stay up at the expense of our friends in the south-east.

30/07/2005, 1:54 PM
It was on BBC Ceefax p. 391. And they quoted Kenny commenting on his latest signing.

Drumcondra Red
30/07/2005, 6:56 PM
Well, I was being slightly light-hearted in my initial comments.

Paddy McCourt is a footballing genius, there is no doubt about that. He's the best player I've seen since Tony Sheridan, and that's the highest praise I can offer any footballer.

I'd have love to have held onto him, but in the current situation it wasn't possible and, like every other Rovers fan, I wish Paddy the best. To be honest, I'm happy he's gone to a club like Derry because it would have killed me to see him join b***s.

As for relegation, of course we're massive favourites to go down, but we still have to play Harps and Waterford. I do think both Harps and ourselves might stay up at the expense of our friends in the south-east.

Just for the record mine was also a lighthearted comment!! Shero, what a player! Rumour has it he's gone to rovers???

30/07/2005, 7:05 PM
I'm delighted this talent is staying in our league. Are Derry totally full time by the way?

30/07/2005, 7:46 PM
Are Derry totally full time by the way?
I think so. Kenny got all the players to move to Derry at the start of the season.

30/07/2005, 7:53 PM
I think so. Kenny got all the players to move to Derry at the start of the season.

Clive Delaney does not live in Derry, travels up

30/07/2005, 7:54 PM
I heard that Clive trains with us during the week. I was just wondering if McCourt is full time as I had heard he likes to enjoy himself if you know what I mean.

30/07/2005, 7:54 PM
Clive Delaney does not live in Derry, travels up
My apologies Roo ;)

dortie
31/07/2005, 10:11 AM
Now we can really challenge the 'Langers' :D ;)

01/08/2005, 11:03 AM
I won't accept relegation until the division one fixture list comes out and I see Shamrock Rovers listed.

We're two points behind a managerless and fairly brutal Harps side; and six behind a managerless, chairmanless, pennyless Waterford side who have lost their last ten games.

Hardly mission impossible.

Our next four games are against Bray, Pats, Waterford and UCD. We'll know a lot more about our chances in a month's time.

stick to harps!..roddrick you never cease to suprise me.you can beat those other 3 teams too

01/08/2005, 12:12 PM
Surprised there was no fee involved, he was the only one that they wanted money for.

I'd have thought they could have had plenty of takers even for a small fee of say EUR10,000. That would have helped along with getting him off the wage bill.

01/08/2005, 10:23 PM
We will see if McCourt is as good as we all think when playing with good team now.

Think he might ensure 2nd place for Derry now.

01/08/2005, 10:25 PM

You think Shelbourne will leapfrog them too for the title? :eek:

01/08/2005, 10:31 PM
We will see if McCourt is as good as we all think when playing with good team now.

Just to refresh your memory Pete - the gap in the league between Derry and Shels and Derry and Cork are both 7 points, and we have a game in-hand over you's. We're therefore probably less likely to get overtaken by Shels than we are to overtake you at the top. And if we do finish the year in 2nd place, then it will be due to the work done by the team up to now - and not due to McCourt.

I fully expect Cork to be Champions this year - but I wouldn't go making arrangements for your celebration party just yet..... :p

daveh
01/08/2005, 10:43 PM
You just said you "fully expect" us to win it, but not to plan any celebrations at the same time??why not if you "fully expect" us to win :confused:

01/08/2005, 10:48 PM
I think you read my post incorrectly. I was saying McCourt will ensure 2nd place i.e. signing of McCourt will ensure Shels don't have chance at 2nd place.

I think ye will need to win at the Brandywell when City visit in few weeks - then title race will be very close.

daveh
01/08/2005, 10:58 PM
If we beat shels and derry in the next few weeks then i think that should wrap up the title,but a win against shels and a draw up in derry would be fairly handy aswell considering we'll have derry at home again,2 draws wouldnt be a disaster either but im fully convinced we'll win at least 1 of those games,if not both,not forgeting the battering we'll give waterford friday of course!

02/08/2005, 12:09 AM
You just said you "fully expect" us to win it, but not to plan any celebrations at the same time??why not if you "fully expect" us to win :confused:

Two reasons :

1) Expectations and reality often differ - especially in football (though also with women when you meet them again the following week sober.... :D ) Everyone 'fully expected' Longford to beat Carmarthen last Thursday...

2) I'm superstitious and am avoiding making any claims at all re Derry :D

I still expect yee to win the league though, especially if we don't get 3pts against a resurgent Bohs tomorrow night...

02/08/2005, 8:48 AM
2) I'm superstitious and am avoiding making any claims at all re Derry :D
I'm the same with CCFC and I think anyone who makes noises about us winning the league should be beaten severely. Saw some pup in the St Annes End last Thursday night with Champions on the back of his shirt, if I wasn't a peace loving person he'd have got a hiding.

02/08/2005, 9:55 AM
I think anyone who makes noises about us winning the league should be beaten severely.

But why ? Sure you've definitely won it already. Wee buns, no pressure..... :D

02/08/2005, 10:56 AM
Definitely. Rico has it in the bag! All he has to do is keep a steady course and avoid the wobbles.

Aaron GUFC
02/08/2005, 4:21 PM
...and on a free aswell. Good one lads he'll be great at Derry. Signing of the season imo. :rolleyes:

Roverstillidie
02/08/2005, 4:22 PM
...and on a free aswell. Good one lads he'll be great at Derry. Signing of the season imo. :rolleyes:
as opposed to rovers getting him for free at the start of the season :confused: