View Full Version : Rosenborg

Pages : 1 [2]

01/08/2005, 10:26 PM
3 pages on Rosenborg & youse now even played in Romania yet.

01/08/2005, 10:30 PM
http://corkcityfc.ie/forums/index.php?showtopic=3725

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

02/08/2005, 4:00 AM
The media build up to the Deportivo game added to the attendance and if we could have had more then 24,000 there then they would have sold too. 3rd Round Champions League is BIG business no matter who you play. Papers will be full of 10million and made for life and dream come true and the usual crap they print. It all adds to the numbers going.
Shels will sell out 24,000 for the Rosenborg game if we get there. Tolka I am sure wont be able to hold that game so no use talking about it.

Just like to remind you that the Champions League starts in September, not July.

You would have sold more than 24,000 if possible, but most people went to watch Coruna. They didn't care about Shels. You'll only get games sold out if people know about the opposition. Fans watch La Liga every week on Sky, and know about Coruna. Bar Gerrit, nobody in our country gives a sh-it about Norwegian football, so Rosenborg won't sell out Lansdowne. They didn't even sell-out Tolka in 2000, so why would it happen now? It's more than capable of hosting a game against Rosenborg. You've done it before. Lansdowne should only be used for your CL group games at home, when the competition starts for real.

As for your point of Rosenborg V Steaua being better. Rosenborg are going backwards and Steaua are going forward. On the other hand Rosenborg went from winning the league by 14 points to winning it last season by 1 goal!! Now this year they are 9th and about 15 points off the pace or something.

By the same token, the NL champions Shels, are 14 points behind the leaders this season, and you're hardly pulling up any trees in the league at the moment, so you should look at yourselves before you begin looking down at Rosenborg.

02/08/2005, 12:11 PM
You would have sold more than 24,000 if possible, but most people went to watch Coruna. They didn't care about Shels

Complete and total b*ll*cks. They came to see an Irish side in a big champions league match in a round we'd never been in before, they didn't come to watch Coruna. Higgins is right, the media exposure before the game is what led to the sell out.

02/08/2005, 12:20 PM
http://corkcityfc.ie/forums/index.php?showtopic=3725

Typical :rolleyes:

02/08/2005, 12:31 PM
http://www.uefa.com/competitions/UCL/news/Kind=8192/newsId=322847.html

02/08/2005, 2:05 PM
Complete and total b*ll*cks. They came to see an Irish side in a big champions league match in a round we'd never been in before, they didn't come to watch Coruna. Higgins is right, the media exposure before the game is what led to the sell out.

I went to Lansdowne last season & it was to see Deportivo in the flesh. Obviously i also wanted to see how an eL side would match up against them.

02/08/2005, 2:09 PM
Would you have gone if Depor were playing in a friendly and would you have gone if the opposition was Rosenborg? If that's a yes and a no I think you'd be very unique in that crowd.

02/08/2005, 2:13 PM
Would you have gone if Depor were playing in a friendly and would you have gone if the opposition was Rosenborg? If that's a yes and a no I think you'd be very unique in that crowd.

I don't like friendlies.

I've gone to many European games in Dublin although like a few others i decided a while ago not to attend Tolka again. I suppose Lansdowne was an exception.

higgins
02/08/2005, 6:23 PM
The 3rd QUALIFYING round of the Champions League then is BIG business !! :rolleyes:

Rosenborg in the 3rd Round would be all over the news. The fact alone that we would have beat steaua would have everyone on a high.

One week later the game is in Lansdowne isnt it? People would still be wanting to see Shels!!

Steaua sold out Tolka last week. They are hardly the best supported Irish teams either. Ok there was 2 to 3 thousand away fans there but it sold out a day before the game.

3rd Round Champions League would sell out against any team. Im sure of it :cool: Most EL fans would be there for a start.

Tolka cant be used due to floodlighs I think and also the fact the media dont have any space in Tolka. We would have a good crowd from Norway over for that one Im sure along with all other countries keeping an eye on the new kids on the block. Tolka couldnt cope.

02/08/2005, 7:06 PM
nah, in tolka we can win the match so why move ?

beat rosenborg and you can play all the group stage games you want in lansdowne;)

higgins
02/08/2005, 10:21 PM
Ive just put up my reasons as to why we have to move .. Ive done it about 10 times in various threads..

Unless we have improved our stadium since last season or UEFA have different rules. You can keep saying keep it in Tolka we will win but its not an option as far as I know.

Even if it was, I feel 24,000 fans in Lansdowne is worth something!! Tolka will have about 8 with the Ballybough end for Rosenborg Id say. I dont think teams are too afraid to play there. This tight little ground thing doesnt matter to teams like Rosenborg. Get them to Lansdowne mark the pitch the way you want and get 22,000 EL fans shouting for the home team.

We should be better off having played there last season and of course with so many internationals on the team they will feel at home ;)

02/08/2005, 10:22 PM
IF the singers actually went to the Riverside we'd be better off in Tolka as the atmosphere would be amazing, far better than in Lansdowne.

Student Mullet
02/08/2005, 10:47 PM
I feel 24,000 fans in Lansdowne is worth something!! Tolka will have about 8 Chin up higgins, your support isn't that poor. There'll be four there from UCD alone.

02/08/2005, 10:56 PM
It'll be the first and only time i'll post in this thread.It's nearly 5 pages long now :rolleyes:

Can we please see if we get to the next round first

02/08/2005, 11:06 PM
It'll be the first and only time i'll post in this thread.It's nearly 5 pages long now :rolleyes:

Can we please see if we get to the next round first
Best post in the thread.....FFS, worry about it IF ye get there!

03/08/2005, 5:30 AM
3rd Round Champions League would sell out against any team. Im sure of it :cool: Most EL fans would be there for a start.

Er, no it wouldn't. Lansdowne sold out last year because everyone wanted to watch a Spanish side playing. They didn't care when Shels played Lille. You would do very, very well to sell 15,000 tickets if you played Rosenborg in a qualifier at Lansdowne. But sure Olly doesn't care whether his team wins the tie or not, if he thinks he'll get a half-full Lansdowne for a game, he'll throw away his home advantage, and play it in Lansdowne instead to get his money. :mad:

Tolka cant be used due to floodlights I think and also the fact the media dont have any space in Tolka.

What is this, the European Championships or something?? :confused: Only Irish and Norwegian media would bother coming to a CL qualifier. No other country's media would give a sh-it about it. As for Tolka's lights, are Lansdowne's lights better, with just a set of bulbs on one stand covering half the stadium?

We would have a good crowd from Norway over for that one Im sure along with all other countries keeping an eye on the new kids on the block.

Well, Rosenborg would have one fan there, namely Gerrit. But most Norwegian fans don't travel in numbers. In fact, most foreign fans don't travel to away games anywhere. Last year, Coruna brought with them a grand total of 8 fans to Lansdowne.

Tolka couldnt cope.

It coped in 2000, so it can cope now.

03/08/2005, 11:22 AM
Er, no it wouldn't. Lansdowne sold out last year because everyone wanted to watch a Spanish side playing. They didn't care when Shels played Lille. You would do very, very well to sell 15,000 tickets if you played Rosenborg in a qualifier at Lansdowne. But sure Olly doesn't care whether his team wins the tie or not, if he thinks he'll get a half-full Lansdowne for a game, he'll throw away his home advantage, and play it in Lansdowne instead to get his money. :mad:

Rovers fans were trying to convince themselves we wouldn't sell out v Deportivo too.

You can't seem to grasp the concept that the difference between now and 2000, if we get there and we probably wont, is that the winner gets a group stage spot. The media buzz after knocking out Steaua and with all the talk of us making the group stages would ensure a sell out, there was none of that in 2000. To say it would be exactly the same as then shows a complete lack of intelligence.

We have to get there though and we probably wont.

04/08/2005, 3:32 AM
As it turned out, the debate was much ado about nothing.

It seems to me that Shels think they own Lansdowne, and can play there when it suits them. Last time I looked, the IRFU owned it, and they decide who plays there, not Ollie Byrne or Finbar Flood.

You can have all the hype you like, but neutrals will only come to watch glamour teams in this country. Friendlies between NL clubs against the likes of Liverpool, and other well-known English sides/Celt-ic will sell out, games against the likes of Portsmouth/Kilmarnock won't. Rosenborg are not glamourous, Lille are not glamourous, but Coruna are, despite having no fans in this country. That's the only reason why your game against them was sold out, as you had no chance of beating them, so all the "10 million Euro" stories, and "made for life" hype was PR bullsh-it.

Will Cork demand to play in Lansdowne in next year's CL qualifiers? Highly unlikely. They'll demand home advantage, i.e. Turner's Cross, not Lansdowne. Playing your "home" games in Lansdowne, is like hosting your birthday party in someone else's house. It's just not the same.

04/08/2005, 1:02 PM
Will Cork demand to play in Lansdowne in next year's CL qualifiers? Highly unlikely. They'll demand home advantage, i.e. Turner's Cross, not Lansdowne. Playing your "home" games in Lansdowne, is like hosting your birthday party in someone else's house. It's just not the same.
If they make the third qualifying round, they'll probably have to. I don't think their floodlights are up to the required standard either (which forced Shels to play in Lansdowne against Deportivo and Lille, whatever crowd they expected).

04/08/2005, 1:05 PM
If they make the third qualifying round, they'll probably have to. I don't think their floodlights are up to the required standard either (which forced Shels to play in Lansdowne against Deportivo and Lille, whatever crowd they expected).

Is there a change in ground standard once you pass the 2nd qualifying phase? :confused:

ThatGuy
04/08/2005, 1:10 PM
I think a big crowd would have turned up had Shels progressed. Bohs sold out Dalymount (9000 tickets) for the Rosenborg game a couple of years ago a day or two before the game, in the 2nd qualifying round.

I would have fancied Shels to make the group stages in the circumstances surrounding Rosenborg this year. I think there would have been a lot of hype surrounding the games and the 20,000 or so seats in Landsdowne would have been filled I think (if the IRFU allowed them to play there).

04/08/2005, 1:38 PM
Is there a change in ground standard once you pass the 2nd qualifying phase? :confused:
Yes.

Needless text to lengthen my message to at least 5 characters.

05/08/2005, 4:40 AM

The floodlights at Tolka are like floodlights everywhere else. They light an arena, that's all. They should not be a factor in where you play a home tie in Europe. Shels use it as a flag of convenience to play CL qualifiers at the home of another sporting body, which can, and should veto it. There was no logical reason for Shels to play Lille at Lansdowne last year except greed. It backfired on Shels spectacularly, as only 7,000 showed up. Lille were never going to sell out Lansdowne, neither would Rosenborg.

Cork won't have to change. They have a stark choice: Play at your home ground and maximise your chances in the tie, or effectively throw the tie by playing somewhere else, just to get a few thousand Euro more from the gate. There's no reason why any Irish club in Europe in 2005, should move games elsewhere. It makes us look a laughing stock to the opposition, and provides the club concerned with extra unnecessary hurdles to overcome, as if they didn't have enough already.

higgins
05/08/2005, 6:37 PM
The floodlights at Tolka are like floodlights everywhere else.

Thats an idiotic thing to say !!! :eek:

You think that fllodlights are floodlights??? Its nearly as bad as saying they only have bulbs on one side of Lansdowne to light it up :eek:

How can someone who has the know how to use a computer post such a daft comment?

The FACT is and you may not agree but UEFA officials have visited Tolka before and measured the amount of light coming from the floodlights. They are not strong enough to host games in the 3rd round for some reason!! They mark the pitch out into small squares of about 10ft by 10ft and go around getting the strenght. It doesnt meet the standards required for the third round. Thats what they say.

You probably know better :(

Gerrit
05/08/2005, 7:49 PM
For us (and I'm referring to Rosenborg ; confusing I know when I use the same term for Shels) this game vs Steaua will be massively important. With the title going away from Trondheim for the first time in 14 years, it means we need the Champions League cash to stay the biggest club in Norway and to stay interesting for talented Norwegian players... I don't want Valerenga and Brann to pick them all from our dish :eek:

06/08/2005, 4:35 AM
You think that fllodlights are floodlights??? daft

The FACT is and you may not agree but UEFA officials have visited Tolka before and measured the amount of light coming from the floodlights. They are not strong enough to host games in the 3rd round for some reason!! They mark the pitch out into small squares of about 10ft by 10ft and go around getting the strenght. It doesnt meet the standards required for the third round.

And I think it's daft to rule out the use of a club's home ground, over the strength of light coming from floodlights. They're all the same everywhere, and unless they pose a serious threat to public safety (which the Tolka lights don't), their strength should not be an factor.

Tolka is one of the biggest grounds in the country, and can cope with European games, bar CL group phase games. You got your licence from the FAI partly because your ground's facilities were perceived to be up to scratch. Surely, yous have enough money available to upgrade them if they weren't.

Tolka has been hosting European club games, and Internationals for decades. The lights there haven't changed in all that time. If they were good enough to host them then, they're good enough to host them now.

06/08/2005, 10:05 AM
I think upgrades to the lights are overlooked due to the cost and that we don't expect to be in Tolka for much longer, so it would be wasted money.

If UEFA say Tolka can't be used, then it can't be used. No amount of bickering here will change that! :) If they say the strength is a factor, then it is a factor (it may have something to do with television).

06/08/2005, 2:05 PM
I think upgrades to the lights are overlooked due to the cost and that we don't expect to be in Tolka for much longer, so it would be wasted money.

You could bring the bulbs to your new ground.

06/08/2005, 4:48 PM
The floodlights in Tolka are an issue for Europe as the summer draws to a close, hence the ever earlier kick off times as we progress as there is less natural light later in the day as we get further. That was why we had to host the Lille game there or kick off very early. Not sure what time we would have had to kick off if we played Rosenborg there.

08/08/2005, 10:19 PM
For us (and I'm referring to Rosenborg ; confusing I know when I use the same term for Shels) this game vs Steaua will be massively important. With the title going away from Trondheim for the first time in 14 years, it means we need the Champions League cash to stay the biggest club in Norway and to stay interesting for talented Norwegian players... I don't want Valerenga and Brann to pick them all from our dish :eek:

Well if you insist on getting thrashed 5-1 by Fredrikstad then you don't deserve the Tippeligaen gold :D

'Enga for the title, Brann, Viking and Start for the Royal League.

Was in the Ullevaal for the Vålerenga - Tromsø match on Saturday just gone - and have to say I have seen THE worst refereeing performance EVER by an official (Kjell Alseth) - and that includes the eL!