View Full Version : Sligo Rovers WILL win this league

garykelly
29/07/2005, 9:22 AM
Well last night we got beat 3-1 and said already, if that's the best of the rest i'm not too worried. It wasnt a 3-1 game and Rovers were unlucky not to have at equalised by the time Dub City scored with a fluke goal to make it 3.

The first goal was a free header and there can be no qualms about it. O'Hara stayed on his line when he should really have come and punched it clear. The 2nd goal was offside and the linesman on that side let the play go on. Shocking decision but a neat finish from their guy as he round O'Hara and scored from a tight angle.

The officiating at the game bordered on blatant cheating. How three different officials can either be that bad or that biased is beyond me. Really and truly there were shocking and gave 90 % of everything to the 'home' team. It was a disgrace. Liam Burns went off after coming out of a 50-50 tackle he won badly. their no 11 just slid through with the studs showing. although it was a 50-50 tackle and the tackle was only light in comparision to the rest of the assaults that went on all night. We managed to get one back before half-time although i was full sure the 'linesman' on our side would flag for something. She should never be allowed back into an Eircom League ground.

Second half was all rovers and the linesman who failed to flag a blatant offside in the first half was suddenly able to call them against rovers by the narrowest of margins, everytime. Paul brown ran from behind a defender and around him, for example, and was flagged offside. Dublin city never intended to play football and the amount of coward thug tackling they produced was a disgrace. The ref wouldnt book for these cynical fouls yet was only too willing when rovers tackled back. there were two incidents in the second half were both raf and faz i think were taken out in successive tackles yet the 'independant official' waved play on. Dublin resorted to kicking , fouling and diving - if my team were doing that i'd feel ashamed. Dublin got down the line once in the second half and and crap cross was missed by o'hara and the ball hit carr and rolled in. Bad mistake from our keeper. However if the previous passage of play, McNamara was blatantly pulled back when in possession which he then lost as a result of the shirt pulling.

I wouldnt worry about this one. chalk it down, get on with it. In hindsight we were never going to win that game no mattered what happened. Dublin's brand of 'football' will ensure they will lose a couple of more games at least.

Well done to all Sligo Rovers supporters, who were noisy the whole way through the game. It was excellent stuff.

As I said if that's the best of the rest, we neednt worry too much. Focus now on Monday's game against dundalk. 3 points a must. Rossiter, McTiernan and Murtagh to start.

nephin
29/07/2005, 9:31 AM
Totally agree. The officals were a disgrace. Rovers played some lovely football in the second half. Ouplayed the Dubs. But thats the way some games go.
Great Rovers support last night too. Outnumbered the home support and outsang them. Great atmosphere. Dublin had their usual Rent a Crowd there.
We now need to move on and 3 points on Monday and we're back on track again. :cool:

terry9
29/07/2005, 9:39 AM
there sayin thay outsang ye

garykelly
29/07/2005, 9:44 AM
they'll also say their team are able to play football. They didnt outsing us, both set's made noise. Rovers supporters kept it up for all the game.

nephin
29/07/2005, 9:46 AM
there sayin thay outsang ye

They would say that.
Mind you it wasn't too difficult to out sing them. There wasn't that many of them in it.

SRFC Head
29/07/2005, 10:08 AM
We defo out sang and out drumed them... i can still hear the drum in my head...

terry9
29/07/2005, 10:11 AM
how did they manage to beat ye?? :confused:

dublinred
29/07/2005, 10:24 AM
how did they manage to beat ye?? :confused:

Sloppy defending and scandalous officals , if that bird on the line was a bloke she would be fired , reckon she is hanging on due to the novelty of being a female offical , I have seen better standards in u12 matches waht a joke.

29/07/2005, 10:54 AM
dublin city wouldn't outsing their gran! pants support, they are sad cases. the linesperson last night was woeful, a disgraceful performance. after going to the kilkenny game & seeing her ref, i can confirm she isn't cut out for this officiating lark!

the support last night was excellent, congratulations to all the rovers supporters who made it up. we are premier division supporters, hopefully we can do the business vs dundalk & give galway the beating the hippies deserve!

dublinred
29/07/2005, 11:10 AM
dublin city wouldn't outsing their gran! pants support, they are sad cases. the linesperson last night was woeful, a disgraceful performance. after going to the kilkenny game & seeing her ref, i can confirm she isn't cut out for this officiating lark!

the support last night was excellent, congratulations to all the rovers supporters who made it up. we are premier division supporters, hopefully we can do the business vs dundalk & give galway the beating the hippies deserve!

Reckon yer man with the red cowboy hat would have done a better job on the line.

Ringo
29/07/2005, 11:33 AM
Well last night we got beat 3-1 and said already, if that's the best of the rest i'm not too worried. It wasnt a 3-1 game and Rovers were unlucky not to have at equalised by the time Dub City scored with a fluke goal to make it 3.

The first goal was a free header and there can be no qualms about it. O'Hara stayed on his line when he should really have come and punched it clear. The 2nd goal was offside and the linesman on that side let the play go on. Shocking decision but a neat finish from their guy as he round O'Hara and scored from a tight angle.

The officiating at the game bordered on blatant cheating. How three different officials can either be that bad or that biased is beyond me. Really and truly there were shocking and gave 90 % of everything to the 'home' team. It was a disgrace. Liam Burns went off after coming out of a 50-50 tackle he won badly. their no 11 just slid through with the studs showing. although it was a 50-50 tackle and the tackle was only light in comparision to the rest of the assaults that went on all night. We managed to get one back before half-time although i was full sure the 'linesman' on our side would flag for something. She should never be allowed back into an Eircom League ground.

Second half was all rovers and the linesman who failed to flag a blatant offside in the first half was suddenly able to call them against rovers by the narrowest of margins, everytime. Paul brown ran from behind a defender and around him, for example, and was flagged offside. Dublin city never intended to play football and the amount of coward thug tackling they produced was a disgrace. The ref wouldnt book for these cynical fouls yet was only too willing when rovers tackled back. there were two incidents in the second half were both raf and faz i think were taken out in successive tackles yet the 'independant official' waved play on. Dublin resorted to kicking , fouling and diving - if my team were doing that i'd feel ashamed. Dublin got down the line once in the second half and and crap cross was missed by o'hara and the ball hit carr and rolled in. Bad mistake from our keeper. However if the previous passage of play, McNamara was blatantly pulled back when in possession which he then lost as a result of the shirt pulling.

I wouldnt worry about this one. chalk it down, get on with it. In hindsight we were never going to win that game no mattered what happened. Dublin's brand of 'football' will ensure they will lose a couple of more games at least.

Well done to all Sligo Rovers supporters, who were noisy the whole way through the game. It was excellent stuff.

As I said if that's the best of the rest, we neednt worry too much. Focus now on Monday's game against dundalk. 3 points a must. Rossiter, McTiernan and Murtagh to start.

You were obviously at a different game. :confused:

Ringo
29/07/2005, 11:35 AM
they'll also say their team are able to play football. They didnt outsing us, both set's made noise. Rovers supporters kept it up for all the game.

3 - 1 to the city boy's. You were quiet for most of the game, except for some clown with a duck call, or something

nephin
29/07/2005, 11:40 AM
3 - 1 to the city boy's. You were quiet for most of the game, except for some clown with a duck call, or something

Eh.. what game where you at. We were singing right up until the end.

Ringo
29/07/2005, 12:00 PM
Couldn't here ye, must have been the drum & air horns i was in the middle of :D

garykelly
29/07/2005, 1:01 PM

er no i wasnt. But no point talking to ye lot cos ye have absolutely no clue.

garykelly
29/07/2005, 1:02 PM

yer city boys alright, playing all around the city. Quiet most of the game ? are u sure it was dublin city game you were at. It was in Richmond not tolka or the other various pitches ye lease.

Ringo
29/07/2005, 1:29 PM
yer city boys alright, playing all around the city. Quiet most of the game ? are u sure it was dublin city game you were at. It was in Richmond not tolka or the other various pitches ye lease.

A bit a red :o last night sneeking out of the stadium last night.

Maynard
29/07/2005, 2:17 PM
Jaysus there's a fierce smell of sour grapes around here... :D

blueviking1980
29/07/2005, 2:58 PM
Totally agree. The officals were a disgrace. Rovers played some lovely football in the second half. Ouplayed the Dubs. But thats the way some games go.
Great Rovers support last night too. Outnumbered the home support and outsang them. Great atmosphere. Dublin had their usual Rent a Crowd there.
We now need to move on and 3 points on Monday and we're back on track again. :cool:

Man, we WERE louder than you.. face it. That's why we won... our players could actually HEAR us & that gave them motivation.. our drums made your drums look like Flamanco clappers :p

29/07/2005, 3:12 PM
Well last night we got beat 3-1 and said already, if that's the best of the rest i'm not too worried.

I agree completely, Dublin City are a disgrace to this league. They're are a shower of cheating, diving scumbags. They dont deserve to be where they are in the league. They are a **** team with **** support and no football ground and I hope to God that Cobh or Limerick or even Galway(unlikely, I know) catch up with them and get promoted, because all of these teams have support and their own ground and would add something to the premier division unlike the second hand Dublin reject team that was playing last night. I never really minded Dublin City to be honest until I seen their tactics last night and that was disgraceful. :mad: :mad:

29/07/2005, 3:19 PM

What the **** is that we dont even have fans with long hair.

Its very amusing to hear sligo fans slagging of other teams fans the last game i was at in the showgrounds last season tere was barely 300 at the game and now yere all Massive again.

29/07/2005, 3:23 PM
You were quiet for most of the game, except for some clown with a duck call, or something

:confused:WTF? Unless by "you were quiet", you mean Dub fans then fair enough. We sang for the whole match. City fans sang "The Vikings", very rarely, but that was it. Rovers fans never stopped singing and the drum was done very well last night Gary, well done. Apart from one of the shedheads complaining that the drum was drowning out there own singing. This is the type of stuff that isn't needed, our own fans telling the guys with the drum to shut up cos it's too loud :mad:

29/07/2005, 3:25 PM
Its very amusing to hear sligo fans slagging of other teams fans the last game i was at in the showgrounds last season tere was barely 300 at the game and now yere all Massive again.

That was last season and I'm sure they're was a bit more than 300. This season the attendances have gone up as a result of us doing well.

garykelly
29/07/2005, 3:26 PM
i wasnt playing the drum last night sligoman.

blueviking1980
29/07/2005, 3:26 PM
I agree completely, Dublin City are a disgrace to this league. They're are a shower of cheating, diving scumbags. They dont deserve to be where they are in the league. They are a **** team with **** support and no football ground and I hope to God that Cobh or Limerick or even Galway(unlikely, I know) catch up with them and get promoted, because all of these teams have support and their own ground and would add something to the premier division unlike the second hand Dublin reject team that was playing last night. I never really minded Dublin City to be honest until I seen their tactics last night and that was disgraceful. :mad: :mad:

Your disgraceful... cant belive I sent ya a pm of condolence on ur loss...
Dublin City will achive more than any other team around.. gonna put it all on the map, wait & see. So.. from the words of Maynard... "stick it up ur horse-box!" :D

29/07/2005, 3:28 PM
i wasnt playing the drum last night sligoman.

I know you weren't but I'm just saying that it worked well and well done. I know who was playing it but I dont know if they're on here so I cant thank them :D

29/07/2005, 3:29 PM
Your disgraceful... cant belive I sent ya a pm of condolence on ur loss...

I got your pm but I cant reply cos your inbox is full

29/07/2005, 5:19 PM

That's exactly what ive been saying they have a good support now caus there winning just like any other team in the world-Shels are a prime example.
Hard luck to Sligo i don't like to see Dublin doing well at all and agree with Sligoman 100% i'd prefer to see us(obviously)Sligo,Limerick all do well caus we have fans and proper structures, supporters clubs and our own ground.Dublin are no great team but it will more than likely be themselves and yereselves who get promoted which is really sickening to think that they will be playing in the premier and out numbered every week by away fans :rolleyes: .
Roll on Friday the 5th.

29/07/2005, 5:39 PM
A bit a red :o last night sneeking out of the stadium last night.
can you please translate this into english? and when your done can you and all your friends f**k off to your own forum. no-one asked ye to come onto ours! just because ye have no fans and therefore a f***ing sh!t forum dosn't mean ye can come onto our annoying the best supporters in this sh!tty division. cant wait till next year when we (the only team dat actually play a bit of football) are back where we belong and ye will be rotting away in the 1st division for a long long time!!

29/07/2005, 6:45 PM

Some gobsh!te logged in as wild rover and said that.
It was clearly not him and anyway,dont take it so personally....

Derek
29/07/2005, 11:02 PM
I'm sensing a lot of anger around here :p

Lets face it, the best team won on the night.
I here a lot of complaints about "Dublin City this" and "Dublin City that" and Dublin City fans are the other" but wont I don't see is one man among the lot of you, can you not just say well done! if you want to blame someone then have a close look at your team.

As far as I could tell both sets of fans did their part to help thier players raise their game, the officials as far as I could tell were bad for both teams.

So cheer up and stop making excuses, you lost, it's not the end of the world :D

Oh and by the way if the Dubs had lost(which they didn't) I would be making the same excuses, blaming everyone and name calling everyone in sight.

I'm already looking forward to the away match.

29/07/2005, 11:09 PM
I here a lot of complaints about "Dublin City this" and "Dublin City that" and Dublin City fans are the other" but wont I don't see is one man among the lot of you, can you not just say well done! if you want to blame someone then have a close look at your team.

If you were a nice team that deserved to win then I would say well done. If you played nice tactics then I would say well done and if your fans did sing well then I would say well done. But when you are a team that did'nt deserve to win, played dirty by diving and kicking players, and didn't create a slight bit of atmosphere then I WONT say well done,:mad:. You should even be embarassed by asking someone to say well done when you were at the game last night.

Petmuller
30/07/2005, 12:38 AM
I was at the game last night and all day today was sick because of the result.
Reading the various threads here hasn't helped matters much. Why do we have to blame the world and his mother because we had a bad night at the office? Let's face it we were sh1t in the first 45, super in the other 45 but they did enough in the first have to have deserved to get all three points. We were far too slow out of the blocks. There's loads of reasons why but realistically why's, maybe's, but's and if's wont win any games for us. Simply we were the instigators of our own downfall.
Thier first goal came from a corner. How many goals have we conceded this season from set-pieces? The answer in my opinion is too many. Again last night we failed to defend a set-piece. Their number four had a free header at goal. We had no one on the front post. Both our central defenders were no where to be seen. Sean Flannery was our nearest player to the goalscorer. Who do we blame ... the Referee?? Hilda?? Their number 4??
Once their second went in we started to drop like flies. First Burns, then Feeney ... the list went on. I don't see any point in having a pop at the Dubs. This team is managed by one Dermot Keely. I think that says enough. This guy is a true professional and no matter what we may think or say DK will do everything in his power to get his team back to where they think they belong and that's back with the big boys. We too have aspirations of this and we too think we belong with the big boys so I think it's about time we started to act like big boys. A defeat is a defeat, let's take it on the chin. Having a go at the Referee, Hilda, the Dubs or whoever won't change anything only help us to be branded sore loosers and whingers. Do we want to be known as sore loosers or whingers ... I don't think so. So let's get on with it.

Last night both sets of supporters were a credit to the league. Simply brilliant. The best athmosphere I have witnessed at a National League game for years and I have attended my share of games. I was over-whelmed with the reception the team received at the final whistle. A stranger walking into the ground at that time would be excused for thinking we had won the game. Our supporters are a credit to the club.

Yes today has been a bad day for us all but we are accustomed to bad days. This season has turned things around 360 degrees. We have a lot to be proud of, lets not spoil it by becoming sore loosers and whingers. Well done to the Dubs, the score line didn't exactly reflect the true performance of our side but we have to learn that we can't win them all. We start all over again on Monday with a home game against Dundalk ... the beauty of football.

30/07/2005, 7:48 AM
Lets face it, the best team won on the night.
WRONG!! :mad:

Da Real Rover
30/07/2005, 10:14 AM
That's exactly what ive been saying they have a good support now caus there winning just like any other team in the world-Shels are a prime example.

Bullsh!t we have always had better support than yee only when yee're in the premier and we're not. Look at the facts, read the attendance figures last season. Yee wer ahead of us and bordering on a chance for promotion while we were rotting in mid table and yet yee still got smaller crowds than us. Please dont try and deny the facts. But granted we do have a larger 'support' this season because of the amount of sunshiners we have and every club have. But our core support has always been there and saying we had 300 is just a fabrication. We never, never have attendances that bad. So look at yourselves when i remember yee stated that yee had 150 at a game, terrible.
But being honest i would much rather seeing yee in the premier than Dublin in fact id rather see any other team other than Dublin, sh!t fans no ground = no contribution to the premier.
Ive said it before that was not a competitive game and should not be treated like one. In a fair game you have independant officials that didnt happen. And Petmuller how can you have constant stabs at Sean Conner when there is a clear and evident bias against us.We didnt deserve to win but we didnt deserve to lose. We were in full voice last night while the only time ya heard the dubs wer when they scored. Them claiming they outsang us sums up the whole match, cheating dubs and im glad Keelys found a club that matches his ideoligy.

red metal
30/07/2005, 10:58 AM
you had 1 chance in the second half and that was the one that end,ed up in the net!you could say it,s the sign of a good team when playing bad and still picking up the wins but.we gifted ye the first with some shocking defending and the second was offside!any neutral that was there will tell you we played ye off the park!the officials were a disgrace and that all i have to say about them!i counted 4 time dublin city players coming staight through the back of our fella,s

Petmuller
30/07/2005, 11:15 AM
Petmuller how can you have constant stabs at Sean Conner when there is a clear and evident bias against us.We didnt deserve to win but we didnt deserve to lose. We were in full voice last night while the only time ya heard the dubs wer when they scored. Them claiming they outsang us sums up the whole match, cheating dubs and im glad Keelys found a club that matches his ideoligy.

Let's get things straight I'm in no way having a stab at anyone, I'm just saying it as I see it.
The whole debate as to who out sang who is in my opinion a silly one. Both sets of supporters were brilliant, why can't people just accept that. Rovers supporters sang for the majority of the game. When one is singing at the top of one's voice it's very difficult to hear someone else sing ... would you agree?
As I say it's a silly debate. The athmosphere at the game was super.
Also the concept that there's bias towards us is again in my opinion childish thinking. We have to get away from this train of thought otherwise we just might start to believe it. I hear people ask the question an hour prior to kick-off, who's the referee ... oh it's so and so ... he/she is biased towards us ... ah we're beaten before a ball is kicked. Does anyone honestily think that any referee has their mind made up prior to a game that they are going to give all decisions to any one side? I doubt it.
What is a huge problem with our club and if something isn't done about it then we really will be in trouble and that's the abuse the officials receive from our players and coaching staff. Just imagine you were brave or stupid enough to take on the job of referee and one side were constantly snipping at you over every decision, how do you think you'd react?

Get on with the game, concentrate on the football and let the officials concentrate on the job they have to do. Remember not all decisions will go in our favour so it's something we just have to accept.

Battery Rover
30/07/2005, 12:16 PM
The last 2 matches of the season for us are against yourselves and DC.

12/11/05 Sligo Rovers Vs. Athlone Town
18/11/05 Athlone Town Vs. Dublin City

The match yourselves have against us will be a tough one but you have the home advantage.

The one thing I am sure of is that if DC need something down here in ST Mels to win the league or even get a play off position then they are fcuked. They will leave with nothing.

In what will probably be the last ever game played on that pitch before we move to our new stadium I am expecting big crowd to say goodbye to the hallowed turf and an super support for the town. Plus the players will really be up for that one as will John Gill I am sure to leave Mels on a winning note.

Another thing is that we play Dublin on a Friday night and the last match that you have against Kilkenny is a Saturday. You can come and say goodbye to the house of tin down here and watch DC lose. A good weeekend out I would say.

We need Athlone, Sligo, Limerick and Galway in the premier.

30/07/2005, 12:40 PM
yer rented crowd was a ****ING DISGRACE!!!

couldnt hear a thing ye sang, we were way louder ,there was about 100 of us ,and 12 of ye

Dublin cant play football,theyre a crowd of hoofers and cheaters.

only thing they achieved was to injure 4 of our players

we threw everything at ye second half,yer first was a free header,second was offside and third was an own goal,yer only tactics were to hoof the ball from yer makeshift back four up to yer front 2,and when ye lost the ball ye kicked and screamed till ye got the ball back, *****S!!

oh well,well hammer ye come 1st october!! :D

30/07/2005, 5:21 PM
We need Athlone, Sligo, Limerick and Galway in the premier.[/QUOTE]
Ya i agree.

Da Real Rover
30/07/2005, 5:33 PM
We need Athlone, Sligo, Limerick and Galway in the premier.
Ya i agree.[/QUOTE]
I dont think many people will disagree with that, we're the only ones who have a bit of support and history, Dundalk would be good back in the league too they got a bit of pedigree.

rockstar
30/07/2005, 9:39 PM
:D Dont lose control people! were still top of the pile not anybody else lets move on down the road next Friday and show our neighbours why were tops.

(by the way whos the ref!!!). :cool:

Ringo
01/08/2005, 9:03 PM

LOL :D :D :D

garykelly
01/08/2005, 10:06 PM
go back to your own forum if you know where it is. cant blame you for wandering. seem's it just the way with "dublin city".