View Full Version : The end of the IRA

Ruairi
28/07/2005, 11:19 AM
"The leadership of Óglaigh na hÉireann has formally ordered an end to the armed campaign.
This will take effect from 4pm this afternoon.
All IRA units have been ordered to dump arms. All Volunteers have been instructed to
assist the development of purely political and democratic programmes through exclusively
peaceful means. Volunteers must not engage in any other activities whatsoever.
The IRA leadership has also authorised our representative to engage with the IICD to
complete the process to verifiably put its arms beyond use in a way which will further
enhance public confidence and to conclude this as quickly as possible.
We have invited two independent witnesses, from the Protestant and Catholic churches, to
testify to this.
The Army Council took these decisions following an unprecedented internal discussion and
consultation process with IRA units and Volunteers.
We appreciate the honest and forthright way in which the consultation process was carried
out and the depth and content of the submissions. We are proud of the comradely
way in which this truly historic discussion was conducted. The outcome of our
consultations show very strong support among IRA Volunteers for the Sinn Féin
peace strategy. There is also widespread concern about the failure of the two governments
and the unionists to fully engage in the peace process. This has created real
difficulties. The overwhelming majority of people in Ireland fully support this process.
They and friends of Irish unity throughout the world want to see the full implementation
of the Good Friday Agreement.
Notwithstanding these difficulties our decisions have been taken to advance our
republican and democratic objectives, including our goal of a united Ireland. We believe
there is now an alternative way to achieve this and to end British rule in our
country. It is the responsibility of all Volunteers to show leadership, determination and
courage. We are very mindful of the sacrifices of our patriot dead, those who went to
jail, Volunteers, their families and the wider republican base. We reiterate our view
that the armed struggle was entirely legitimate.
We are conscious that many people suffered in the conflict. There is a compelling
imperative on all sides to build a just and lasting peace.
The issue of the defence of nationalist and republican communities has been raised with
us. There is a responsibility on society to ensure that there is no re-occurrence
of the pogroms of 1969 and the early 1970s. There is also a universal responsibility to
tackle sectarianism in all its forms.
The IRA is fully committed to the goals of Irish unity and independence and to building
the Republic outlined in the 1916 Proclamation.
We call for maximum unity and effort by Irish republicans everywhere.
We are confident that by working together Irish republicans can achieve our objectives.
Every
Volunteer is aware of the import of the decisions we have taken and all Óglaigh are
compelled to fully comply
with these orders.
There is now an unprecedented opportunity to utilise the considerable energy and goodwill
which there is for the peace process. This comprehensive series of unparalleled
initiatives is our contribution to this and to the continued endeavours to bring about
independence and unity for
the people of Ireland.
Irish Republican Army orders an end to armed campaign
The IRA is fully committed to the goals
of Irish unity and
independence and to
building the Republic
outlined in the 1916
Proclamation
Our decisions have
been taken to advance
our republican and
democratic objectives,
including our goal of a
united Ireland. We
believe there is now an
alternative way to
achieve this and to end
British rule in our
country
HISTORIC
STATEMENT
READ BY
SÉANNA WALSH
THE historic IRA statement was visually
recorded and read by Séanna Walsh at the
request of the leadership of Óglaigh na hÉireann.
Séanna served over 21 years as a
Republican Prisoner of War in both the Cages
and the H-Blocks of Long Kesh. He was among
the first republicans ‘on the blanket’ after his
arrest in 1976, the year the British Labour
Government began its policy of attempting to
criminalise IRA prisoners. Séanna was a friend
and cellmate of Bobby Sands, the Officer
Commanding in the H-Blocks and the first of
the Hunger Strikers who died in 1981.
Since his release Séanna Breatnach has
played a key role working with Sinn Féin’s
negotiating team and advancing the republican
peace strategy."

fosterdollar
28/07/2005, 11:24 AM
Good news :cool:

Baker
28/07/2005, 11:29 AM
Good news :cool:

I second that

28/07/2005, 11:30 AM
About bloody time!

But good news definitely.

terry9
28/07/2005, 11:42 AM
summary

28/07/2005, 12:13 PM
summary

The IRA has ended its armed campaign and has ordered all its units to dump arms at 4pm this afternoon.

It has also ordered its members not to engage in any other activities of any kind.

The IRA statement came this afternoon in response to a call from the Sinn Féin leader, Gerry Adams, earlier this year for the IRA to embrace peace and democracy.

The statement says all volunteers have been instructed to engage in the democratic process through exclusively peaceful means.

The statement also says that the IRA leadership has also authorised a representative to engage with the IICD to complete decommissioning with clergy as witnesses.

28/07/2005, 12:14 PM
Thats the step they've needed to take for quite some time now- fair play

28/07/2005, 12:20 PM
And it gives them the moral high ground and a cool £26m retirement fund for their efforts. Not bad. :rolleyes:

That said, I do appreciate the enormity and positive nature of the declaration. A brave move. Please God let it work.

:ball: PP

28/07/2005, 12:20 PM
What about this problem over the DUP needing photographic evidence of decommissioning? Will they go ahead and do it without?

harpskid
28/07/2005, 12:25 PM
What about this problem over the DUP needing photographic evidence of decommissioning? Will they go ahead and do it without?

"We have invited two independent witnesses, from the Protestant and Catholic churches, to testify to this."

Ringo
28/07/2005, 12:30 PM
Is it me or is it a bit an anti climax.

28/07/2005, 12:43 PM

Right on cue:

Paisley demands photographic evidence

28 July 2005 13:39

The DUP leader, Ian Paisley, said the decommissioning of IRA weapons must be verifiable through photographic evidence and the presence of independent witnesses.

Mr Paisley was reacting to today's statement from the IRA in which it ordered an end to its armed campaign.

A spokesman for British Prime Minister, Tony Blair, has welcomed the statement, calling it 'very positive'.

RTÉ News also understands Taoiseach Bertie Ahern is broadly happy with the statement.

The Sinn Féin leadership has said it will hold a news conference in Dublin at 4pm, with the party's president, Gerry Adams, accompanied by a number of the party's elected representatives.

Partizan
28/07/2005, 12:46 PM
35 years too late.

The recognition by the PIRA of the futility of their 'military' campaign has vindicated the long held position of the Workers Party, to those of Cathal Goulding and to our party comrades who gave their lives for the ideals of Class politics & peace.

The PIRA must now live up to its promises and fully disarm and enter constitutional politics and channel their politicies through peaceful means.

If only they had the foresight in 1972, thousands of lives would have been saved.

28/07/2005, 12:48 PM
He's as predictable as the setting sun. :rolleyes:

The way I see it, he cannot stop the decommissioning, no? So they go ahead and do it how they like under the IIDC and he has to accept it one way or another?

I'd say this is frightening the DUP. They could always play the arms card to justify their utter intransigence.

Does anyone feel the impact of this has been lessened as it is taking place in the backdrop of some of the biggest terrorism seen in the UK for a long time? Some people will almost feel they're doing it as it would be awful PR at this time to continue to hold onto arms.

rebs23
28/07/2005, 1:38 PM
Did they have any other choice given recent events involving their own members in Colombia, Belfast Bank robbery etc and the bombings in London, Madrid etc?
It's all a bit of an anti climax and it shows up the futility and sectarianism of their activities over the last 30 years. The way this has been built up over the last number of days with leaks to the media etc just shows the cynical media minupalting machine that SF/IRA are. How do we get max exposure and plaudits for doing what was only right and proper years ago?

28/07/2005, 3:45 PM
Right on cue:

Paisley demands photographic evidence

So members of the clergy from both religions are not good enough for him. Are they going to lie or something :rolleyes: :eek:

Muppet of the highest order.

Why no pressure now on the Unionist paramilitaries to follow suit??? Always puzzles me why no one ever mentions that....

28/07/2005, 3:59 PM
drinkfeckarse, agreed with you on that, its never mentioned like, and thats the "other" side of the community.

anto1208
28/07/2005, 4:11 PM
i think the ira should use this photograpic evedence he is looking for and make a big huge deal about it invite sky news rte every one to watch , keep saying things like there commited to peace etc etc really gain the moral high ground , every one will see them as the ones that started the road to peace not the unionists

Gareth
28/07/2005, 4:25 PM
Do they still state they are the real government of ireland?

liam88
28/07/2005, 4:52 PM
Brave great move which can only bring good!
Will the UDA/UVF/LVF follow?
IT's great that the Republican mvoement is now peaceful brilliant stuff over the moon :D

exile
28/07/2005, 4:58 PM
Brave great move which can only bring good!
Will the UDA/UVF/LVF follow?
IT's great that the Republican mvoement is now peaceful brilliant stuff over the moon :D

ya no more punishment beatings or intimidating the mccartney sisters :rolleyes:

liam88
28/07/2005, 5:07 PM
Yeah funny how McCartney is household name and Lisa Dorrian isn;t hey?

....I'm just glad that the IRa have been brace enoguh to do this.

28/07/2005, 5:27 PM
lisa is that the really good looking one who went missing after a party in a caravan or waht?? what happened there, was she catholic?

Gareth
28/07/2005, 6:03 PM
Time is a great tester of statements. Statements are just that. Statements. Following thru on Statements is what we want!!

28/07/2005, 6:18 PM
Bertie Ahern was on Today FM - The Last Word this evening and said it was a pity that the Provisional IRA had ever formed... Would he have rathered Irish Catholics in the north to sit on their hands and accept the discrimination and violence dished out to them by the British state in the late 1960's? :rolleyes:

Anyway regarding the statement - Positive move, needs to be followed through completely though and hopefully no dissidents will ruin it. :cool:

So United Ireland by 2016 anyone? :D

28/07/2005, 6:40 PM

....I'm just glad that the IRa have been brace enoguh to do this.

yes indeed liam, i was just explaining a few things to people in work today who had really no clue as all the hear is the IRA. I remember reading about Lisa. Happy to hear this news today, I just hope the other clowns, real ira, continuity ira do not fire up again. I don't think so, but you never know. It just sickens me that no matter what the Republican movement offer, those stubborn 'politicians' on the unionist side will not shift at all. You could offer the earth, but Big Gob Ian et crew will still have to mope and drag their feet. This stubborness sickens me.The sooner this bitter generation moves on the better. There is no mention of the current ongoings within the loyalist movement, fighting amongst themselves and are still active. It's all so one-sided, when you watch the news, it's as if there was only one terror group involved in 'the troubles' :mad:

I pray that it all works out. I am going home for 4 days on Saturday, so will get to see the local news more.

28/07/2005, 6:42 PM
So United Ireland by 2016 anyone? :D

Maybe the bookies are on to it already :D :D

28/07/2005, 7:30 PM
KT the inextricable link between Sinn Féin and the PIRA and the electoral strength of Sinn Féin has made republic decommissioning that much more an imperative than loyalist decommissioning. Loyalist groups do not have the same links to any meaningful or strong unionist party so there is not the same pressure. Republican armament has been a stumbling block (or convenient excuse by unionists?) in progressing things whereas loyalist armament does not prove the same as there is not the same link between guns and unionist politics.

28/07/2005, 7:39 PM
KT the inextricable link between Sinn Féin and the PIRA and the electoral strength of Sinn Féin has made republic decommissioning that much more an imperative than loyalist decommissioning. Loyalist groups do not have the same links to any meaningful or strong unionist party so there is not the same pressure. Republican armament has been a stumbling block (or convenient excuse by unionists?) in progressing things whereas loyalist armament does not prove the same as there is not the same link between guns and unionist politics.

The two main unionist parties may not be linked to paramilitary organisations but it is wrong to suggest that none are. The Progressive Unionist Party for example is most definately linked to the UVF - the party leader David Erivine has been imprisioned before for UVF activities.

28/07/2005, 7:42 PM
The two main unionist parties may not be linked to paramilitary organisations but it is wrong to suggest that none are. The Progressive Unionist Party for example is most definately linked to the UVF - the party leader David Erivine has been imprisioned before for UVF activities.

I said meaningful or strong unionist party. I believe the PUP have only one MLA being Mr. Ervine and no MPs.

28/07/2005, 8:07 PM
I said meaningful or strong unionist party. I believe the PUP have only one MLA being Mr. Ervine and no MPs.

Sorry missed the 'meaningful or strong' part. Although David Ervine is still a strong enough politician in my view.

28/07/2005, 8:15 PM
Sorry missed the 'meaningful or strong' part. Although David Ervine is still a strong enough politician in my view.

No problem holiday. I agree with you though he is a big figure. However if prior to today one were to exclude all of the parties affiliated to paramilitarism in NI you'd have one less MLA on the unionist side and over half of the MLAs on the nationalist side.

28/07/2005, 8:38 PM
No problem holiday. I agree with you though he is a big figure. However if prior to today one were to exclude all of the parties affiliated to paramilitarism in NI you'd have one less MLA on the unionist side and over half of the MLAs on the nationalist side.

Er.........John White and Billy Hutchinson would fit the bill also.
Anyway one of the biggest obstacles of all is that big arse Paisley and his sprog :rolleyes:

28/07/2005, 8:43 PM
Er.........John White and Billy Hutchinson would fit the bill also.

What seats do they have? :confused:

28/07/2005, 8:54 PM
What seats do they have? :confused:

haven't voted at home for 3 years now, so not up to date i'm afraid, but they were both party members not so long ago, late 1990's perhaps john white was in UDP and billy was PUP with david ervine

28/07/2005, 8:59 PM
Anyway one of the biggest obstacles of all is that big arse Paisley and his sprog :rolleyes:

You should have seen Paisley Snr. on BBC NI news this evening - God I dont think he would even be happy if Santa Claus came down his chimney and delivered him the IRA weapons in a big union jack sack!

28/07/2005, 9:11 PM
haven't voted at home for 3 years now, so not up to date i'm afraid, but they were both party members not so long ago, late 1990's perhaps john white was in UDP and billy was PUP with david ervine

They lost their seats in the last assembley election KT. All the wee parties were muscled out by the big 4.

Paisley would take the opportunity to attack Santa for his culpability in contributing to the commercialisation of a religous holiday.

28/07/2005, 9:12 PM
You should have seen Paisley Snr. on BBC NI news this evening - God I dont think he would even be happy if Santa Claus came down his chimney and delivered him the IRA weapons in a big union jack sack!

I know, that is what really makes me sick to the stomach, the unionists are so negative and stubborn, it is as if they don't want peace. :eek: Honestly, makes my blood boil. The ordinary people of Northern Ireland want a normal peaceful life and the unionists are not willing to give anything, they have to get round the table now........ :mad:

28/07/2005, 9:14 PM
They lost their seats in the last assembley election KT. All the wee parties were muscled out by the big 4.

Paisley would take the opportunity to attack Santa for his culpability in contributing to the commercialisation of a religous holiday.

aye, i said it was prob about 5 years ago or more ;)

28/07/2005, 9:15 PM
what happend that lisa oone??? i was asking a couple of lads at work about her but they didnt know, was she a catholic?

28/07/2005, 9:16 PM
I know, that is what really makes me sick to the stomach, the unionists are so negative and stubborn, it is as if they don't want peace. :eek:

The situation suited them perfectly. There was peace in all but decommissioning. They had the best of both worlds. A ceasefire which in all likelyhood would never be broken and a pile of unused arms which they could use to justify putting the brakes on whenever they liked. What excuse can the DUP come up with to scupper the deal now? You have to feel sorry for the big man. ;)

28/07/2005, 9:21 PM
He is an awful fecking eejit........ :D I would love to meet him to give him a grilling :D

28/07/2005, 9:26 PM
He is an awful fecking eejit........ :D I would love to meet him to give him a grilling :D

10 years ago he'd have roared you into the ground but he's ripe for the picking these days, the roar is more of a growl these days.

28/07/2005, 9:29 PM
10 years ago he'd have roared you into the ground but he's ripe for the picking these days, the roar is more of a growl these days.

true, he used to go on a rant and sometimes he'd get so angry he'd get high pitched, soooooo funny and even funnier was the weird voiceover they use to give gerry adams on the bbc way back...... :D

Orchard Celt
29/07/2005, 7:11 PM
"The leadership of Óglaigh na hÉireann has formally ordered an end to the armed campaign.
This will take effect from 4pm this afternoon.
All IRA units have been ordered to dump arms. All Volunteers have been instructed to
assist the development of purely political and democratic programmes through exclusively
peaceful means. Volunteers must not engage in any other activities whatsoever.
The IRA leadership has also authorised our representative to engage with the IICD to
complete the process to verifiably put its arms beyond use in a way which will further
enhance public confidence and to conclude this as quickly as possible.
We have invited two independent witnesses, from the Protestant and Catholic churches, to
testify to this.
The Army Council took these decisions following an unprecedented internal discussion and
consultation process with IRA units and Volunteers.
We appreciate the honest and forthright way in which the consultation process was carried
out and the depth and content of the submissions. We are proud of the comradely
way in which this truly historic discussion was conducted. The outcome of our
consultations show very strong support among IRA Volunteers for the Sinn Féin
peace strategy. There is also widespread concern about the failure of the two governments
and the unionists to fully engage in the peace process. This has created real
difficulties. The overwhelming majority of people in Ireland fully support this process.
They and friends of Irish unity throughout the world want to see the full implementation
of the Good Friday Agreement.
Notwithstanding these difficulties our decisions have been taken to advance our
republican and democratic objectives, including our goal of a united Ireland. We believe
there is now an alternative way to achieve this and to end British rule in our
country. It is the responsibility of all Volunteers to show leadership, determination and
courage. We are very mindful of the sacrifices of our patriot dead, those who went to
jail, Volunteers, their families and the wider republican base. We reiterate our view
that the armed struggle was entirely legitimate.
We are conscious that many people suffered in the conflict. There is a compelling
imperative on all sides to build a just and lasting peace.
The issue of the defence of nationalist and republican communities has been raised with
us. There is a responsibility on society to ensure that there is no re-occurrence
of the pogroms of 1969 and the early 1970s. There is also a universal responsibility to
tackle sectarianism in all its forms.
The IRA is fully committed to the goals of Irish unity and independence and to building
the Republic outlined in the 1916 Proclamation.
We call for maximum unity and effort by Irish republicans everywhere.
We are confident that by working together Irish republicans can achieve our objectives.
Every
Volunteer is aware of the import of the decisions we have taken and all Óglaigh are
compelled to fully comply
with these orders.
There is now an unprecedented opportunity to utilise the considerable energy and goodwill
which there is for the peace process. This comprehensive series of unparalleled
initiatives is our contribution to this and to the continued endeavours to bring about
independence and unity for
the people of Ireland.
Irish Republican Army orders an end to armed campaign
The IRA is fully committed to the goals
of Irish unity and
independence and to
building the Republic
outlined in the 1916
Proclamation
Our decisions have
been taken to advance
our republican and
democratic objectives,
including our goal of a
united Ireland. We
believe there is now an
alternative way to
achieve this and to end
British rule in our
country
HISTORIC
STATEMENT
READ BY
SÉANNA WALSH
THE historic IRA statement was visually
recorded and read by Séanna Walsh at the
request of the leadership of Óglaigh na hÉireann.
Séanna served over 21 years as a
Republican Prisoner of War in both the Cages
and the H-Blocks of Long Kesh. He was among
the first republicans ‘on the blanket’ after his
arrest in 1976, the year the British Labour
Government began its policy of attempting to
criminalise IRA prisoners. Séanna was a friend
and cellmate of Bobby Sands, the Officer
Commanding in the H-Blocks and the first of
the Hunger Strikers who died in 1981.
Since his release Séanna Breatnach has
played a key role working with Sinn Féin’s
negotiating team and advancing the republican
peace strategy."

Thank you very much for what you have achived for the Republican/Nationalist people of the north. No longer the days we were treated like 2nd class people and for the protection you have giving us the last 30 years.

God bless

Orchard Celt
29/07/2005, 7:15 PM

The lad mccartney was not murdered by the IRA. He got into a fight in a pub, well his mate did. His mate was the one who had the knife as confirmed by bar witnesses. Mccartney tried to stick up for his mate in the fight, been a bouncer he knew the risks involved with a knife fight but went on in anyway and ended up dead.

At no point did the IRA give a order to kill this man. FACT

But why let facts get in the way of a good story :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

jofyisgod
29/07/2005, 7:26 PM
Orchard fella, just calm down. We all have heard various stories, now is not the time to dig it up again.

I'm genuinely excited, cautious still, but very excited about the future. I honestly thought we wouldn't be seeing this event occur for at least another decade.

The ball is firmly in the Unionist court now. Their move...

Orchard Celt
29/07/2005, 7:34 PM
Orchard fella, just calm down. We all have heard various stories, now is not the time to dig it up again.

I'm genuinely excited, cautious still, but very excited about the future. I honestly thought we wouldn't be seeing this event occur for at least another decade.

The ball is firmly in the Unionist court now. Their move...

calm down :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :p nah, I seriously hope this is the end of the troubles myself, it'll be great when we don't have to live in fear anymore. But the lasting effects as you say may not happen for years to come.

The future is green :D ;)

-lamb-
29/07/2005, 11:56 PM
Thank you very much for what you have achived for the Republican/Nationalist people of the north.
aye, cheers for the bloodbaths, the gutless murders, the human bombs, the disappeared, the intimidation, the racketeering, the criminality, the loss of jobs, the ghetto-isation, the fear, the maimings, the "justice", the ethnic cleansing, the oxygen for extremism to thrive, the destruction of any intergration that existed before your campaign.
aye, thanks a fkn bunch.
now away and rot in hell and be so ashamed of your actions that you'll never raise your heads again.

Duncan Gardner
30/07/2005, 11:23 AM
I'd say this is frightening the DUP. They could always play the arms card to justify their utter intransigence

I doubt it. It's hardly a big surprise or even unprecedented, eh? But yes, unionists are worried about paramilitarism continuing.

Why no pressure now on the Unionist paramilitaries to follow suit??? Always puzzles me why no one ever mentions that....

Pressure on illegal paramilitaries to disarm is constant and widely covered in the media.

think the ira should use this photograpic evedence he is looking for...really gain the moral high ground , every one will see them as the ones that started the road to peace not the unionists

Moral high ground, yes. But not quite everyone will agree that SF/IRA started the road to peace. The unionists are the group that most needs to be convinced, after all.

It's neither "funny" [peculiar] nor even that obvious. The Dorrian case has been widely covered in the Irish media. Your implication that the Brit media has stressed the McCartney case for cynical reasons of their own is wrong- the lead came from the family itself.

the unionists are so negative and stubborn, it is as if they don't want peace. The ordinary people of Northern Ireland want a normal peaceful life

The unionists are the majority of the ordinary people of Northern Ireland. Of course there's also a large minority of ordinary people of NI who are nationalists...