View Full Version : What's the most stupid/ dangerous thing you've ever done?
26/07/2005, 4:28 PM
What's the most stupid/ dangerous thing you've ever done?
As in, actually had a think about something and went 'ya, I'll do that'. For me it would be either:
1 Sleeping on a park bench in Amsterdam for 2 nights
2 Bungee Jumping in South Korea - grand going up, grand jumping off, nearly had a heart atack falling down thinking 'isnt the rope supposed to be tightening up now?'
3 Walking home alone late at night passing various junkies hoping they wont mug me.
(Mentioned it on another thread) trying to fight off two moroccan guys, one of whom had a knife, who were trying to nick my phone off me in madrid.
the trip to latvia for the liepajas game a few years back had its fair share of idiotic moments too though
26/07/2005, 4:31 PM
3 Walking home alone late at night passing various junkies hoping they wond mug me.
Why did you want them to mug you
liam88
26/07/2005, 4:31 PM
1. Jumping off a 15 foot mouring post into the ocean
2. Wash riding on a the wake of a Malta-Gozo channel liner in a rowing boat with a motor
3. 300 ft vertical waterslide in Disneyworld and one in Six Flags, Texas
4. Waving an Ireland flag the night we beat England in the six-nations...
26/07/2005, 4:35 PM
Why I dont know what you're talking about D2 :)
Ruairi
26/07/2005, 4:35 PM
i've done far too many stupid things which were all alcohol related tbh, although the funniest one i can think of involves a mate of mine, he was over in my house one night and the drink ran out, so he decides to open a bottle of champagne that i kept for emergencies, he couldnt get it to pop so he tried opening it with his teeth....
so very nearly a "Darwin" award.....
i've done far too many stupid things which were all alcohol related tbh, although the funniest one i can think of involves a mate of mine, he was over in my house one night and the drink ran out, so he decides to open a bottle of champagne that i kept for emergencies, he couldnt get it to pop so he tried opening it with his teeth....
so very nearly a "Darwin" award.....
nah ba. bag of champagne ba :D
26/07/2005, 4:38 PM
Why I dont know what you're talking about D2 :)
You meant hoping they won't mug you(i think) and if that is what you mean it's a good thing you don't live in town,I've to walk past them all the time and i've never been mugged by them
26/07/2005, 4:43 PM
Accidentally brushing past a lad in Edinburgh who just my luck was a 'ned' and having him legging it after me, had to hide on a train going nowhere where i was going!
chatting up a girl in a Dublin nightclub. Who just happened to be a member of the 'local travelling community' and her brother/lover making threats against me before he was turfed out!
Wearing an ireland shirt for the six nations for the game against England. While serving customers at the bar too. Worked out grand though, got a few free pints for my cheek! :)
26/07/2005, 4:44 PM
I do live in town! I get to pass by a few methadone centres and homeless shelters on my way home! There's a certain filth that comes with junkies that you just dont seem to get elsewhere :mad:
You were right about my typo btw. (its all gone now though)
Drumcondra Red
26/07/2005, 4:59 PM
They were afraid you'd mug them!!! :D
1. Singing against Lazio fans in Rome the night they lost to... somebody.
2. Singing songs aimed towards a (big) bouncer with some fellow redsmen.
3. Jumping of a big boat in waters where sharks are.
4. Having a fight with two lads in Cork when crossing the Lee when I couldn't even stand myself!!!
5. Walking through Phibsborough before Bohs vs. Rovers, complete with bottles/ bricks/ stones/ punchs/ kicks being thrown, that was fun!!!
26/07/2005, 5:07 PM
I managed to set fire to my house whilst me and the (then) girlfriend were in it (I won't explain how - long story - it was a very, very stupid thing to do though :o ). We only just made it out before the smoke fumes got us both. We each spent a couple of hours on the oxygen and then a night under observation in the hospital. We were lucky. :o
:ball: PP
Who keeps a bottle of champagne 'for emergencies'? :D "Quick, theres a fire, spray the champagne on it to put it out!"/"There's a burgeler, shake the champagne bottle really hard and aim at his head" :p
Im asking for non-alcohol related, thought out things that you chose to do but in hindsight were not good ideas.
Walking to the San Siro and getting caught up in a mini riot involving Inter and Atalanta fans, and the Police.
While drunk, and concerned that someone trying to light a cigarette from a gas ring would torch themselves, I did it for them and singed my eyelashes off
I've also done a huge amount of damage to myself through falling over while very drunk
Driving in Texas
26/07/2005, 5:08 PM
(I won't explain how - long story - it was a very, very stupid thing to do though :o )
Ah go on!
You're lucky the heat didnt melt your plastic though :eek:
(Any one know where my coat is?)
Driving in Texas
Whats up with that? Are they all really fast/drunk/stupid?
26/07/2005, 5:14 PM
Are they all really fast/drunk/stupid?
Yes :D
It must be the only state in the US where defensive driving is not the norm. I had near misses almost every day. I was once driven off the road and onto a footpath by a hispanic Landscape gardener who thought that a four lane road in the city centre was the perfect place to do a U-turn.
hamish
26/07/2005, 5:19 PM
Accidentally brushing past a lad in Edinburgh who just my luck was a 'ned' and having him legging it after me, had to hide on a train going nowhere where i was going!
chatting up a girl in a Dublin nightclub. Who just happened to be a member of the 'local travelling community'
Likewise but I ....er..........went a little further than the chatting up stage. Only realised she was a member of the Travelling community when she told me she was arranged to be married since she was 12 or something and said, "My boyfriend would kill ya if he found out". :eek: TBH, she was a beautiful girl and I didn't give a toss what community she came from - she was just a nice person.
BTW she was 18 at the time in case any of you dirty minded fcukers think I was under aging. :D
Anyway, I'm still alive. :D
hamish
26/07/2005, 5:21 PM
Another dumb thing I did was go in to a bar in Chillicothe, Ohio and ask the barman, "have you any fags here?". Got a very intemperate response, to say the least. :D
hamish
26/07/2005, 5:24 PM
I managed to set fire to my house whilst me and the (then) girlfriend were in it (I won't explain how - long story - it was a very, very stupid thing to do though We only just made it out before the smoke fumes got us both. We each spent a couple of hours on the oxygen and then a night under observation in the hospital. We were lucky.
PP didn't I invite you to my house for a cuppa a while back? -...er.... take your time now, no hurry. :p :p :D LOL
Who keeps a bottle of champagne 'for emergencies'? :D "Quick, theres a fire, spray the champagne on it to put it out!"/"There's a burgeler, shake the champagne bottle really hard and aim at his head" :p LMAO. Poor ol' posh Ruairi and his champagne :D
26/07/2005, 6:17 PM
Tried to force a two prong plug into a three-pronged socket, almost amputating my hand in the process. :o
26/07/2005, 7:24 PM
chatting up a girl in a Dublin nightclub. Who just happened to be a member of the 'local travelling community' and her brother/lover making threats against me before he was turfed out!
:eek: :D
Metrostars
26/07/2005, 8:20 PM
A few things...
- Almost got killed one time when I turned into the wrong lane on O'Connell bridge in Dublin, just got back from the US and turned into the lane facing a ton of cars coming at me, luckily I jumped the median in the middle
- Thought I could put a new sink in my upstairs bathroom in my old house, didnt turn off the water at the main shut off valve, I busted the pipes and ended up having a nice flood down through the ceiling on the downstairs floor.
- Agreed to play my one and only game of rugby over here in the US about 10 years ago, my roomate played and they needed an extra player, I played on the wing but the other team hoisted a garryown in my direction. Sure enough I caught the ball but was immediately trampled upon by 3 linebacker types and ended up in hospital with a concussion.
- Went to Jamaica for our honeymoon, arrived early morning, went down to the pool and put the factor 45 sunblock on, jumped in the pool and had a great time. Later that night I was suffering from the worst sunburn to ever occur, with blisters the size of Leitrim on my shoulders and forehead. Could barely move my arms it was so painful. I missed the part on the label of the sunblock bottle about letting it try before going into water.
26/07/2005, 9:34 PM
working in a pub took a car with no papers for it, drove it up to manchester,hot wired wit a screwdriver. ran out of petrol up around wolves. cops drove by, the most stupid and dangerous thing i have ever done and could have made me potentially unemployable. :o :o :eek: :rolleyes:
aido_b
26/07/2005, 9:42 PM
Breaking into a golf course in Wales and stealing a golf cart whilst absolutely ****ed off my tits, being subsequently chased by security and jumping a wall which had a large oul drop on the far side and totally messing up my right ankle!
Once laughing at a guy who got hit by the matchball at a Bohs match without realising how big he was!
liam88
26/07/2005, 10:27 PM
Driving in Texas
TO fekin right !! Saw one bloke mount the central reservation to turn around on the moterway!! Everytime it raineed (and it rained!!) there were about 10 car crashes no exageration!
Elaboraign on the flag incident after Ireland beat England 16-13 (with an English tri dissallowed by the South African referee) me and my South African mate ran around college in our respective jerseys waving the tri before going up onto a bridge above the A310 and hanging the tri off shouting "1916....16-13!" at drivers and passers by......then went bowling with the flag tied around me.......not the msot dangerous thing ever but floggin good fun :D
One day I want to run down Sandy Row wearing a Ce1tic jersey....
26/07/2005, 11:58 PM
One day I want to run down Sandy Row wearing a Ce1tic jersey....
Why? Inciting people for a laugh- brave boy :rolleyes:
27/07/2005, 6:19 AM
potentially unemployable
Potentially? :D
27/07/2005, 6:44 AM
Ah go on!
You're lucky the heat didnt melt your plastic though :eek:
(Any one know where my coat is?)
I'm afraid it did, Troy, and that's what caused the fire. We'd been smoking too much of de 'erb and had left a table candle sitting on a plastic tray... we fell asleep, leaving the candle on (which duly melted down to the base and set the tray alight), and awoke to a fire gathering pace in the corner and the room full of smoke... :eek:
Another ten minutes, according to the doctor at the hospital, and we'd have been toast.
In mitigation, this was nearly fifteen years ago and I have grown up since then. Yeah, right... :rolleyes: :D
27/07/2005, 7:28 AM
Walking from Hanlons Corner, NCR to the Quays in Dublin after 23.00 in 1998
Some junkies decided they should take my possessions by means of force.
Drumcondra Red
27/07/2005, 7:48 AM
Watching Baddiel and Skinner last night reminded me of another one; Mistaking a lady friend, who I hadn't seen for a few months, for being pregnent, when in actual fact, she'd only put on a few pounds :o :o
That was both stupid and dangerous, woman scourned and all that!
'Mistaking a lady friend, who I hadn't seen for a few months, for being pregnent, when in actual fact, she'd only put on a few pounds'
Haha love it :D .
Too many to mention - and most couldnt be put on here or I'd be arrested for many unsolved crimes ;)
Though as with Plastic Paddy, I've grown up since :cool:
Ruairi
27/07/2005, 9:00 AM
LMAO. Poor ol' posh Ruairi and his champagne :D
makes a change from the snakebite i usually keep for emergencies i suppose..
aido_b
27/07/2005, 9:40 AM
Walking from Hanlons Corner, NCR to the Quays in Dublin after 23.00 in 1998
Some junkies decided they should take my possessions by means of force.
Yep hear where you're coming from there buddy, I still have to walk that when Im going home! Still a bit of an oul dodgy walk!
Drumcondra Red
27/07/2005, 10:07 AM
Thought of another one, more embarrassing then stupid though, when kissing a bird with tongue ring, I asked her if she had her tongue peirced or a gammy tooth, :o I never did hear from her again, shame really!!!
27/07/2005, 11:09 AM
Oh dear - I've a few of these from my more reckless youth, but the Top 2 would have to be :
1) Trying to run through a helicopter-speed revolving door whilst ****ed on holiday (a game I created called 'Run the Gauntlet'). Successfully managed to break my arm in 2 places, and required stitches to my head. One second earlier on impact and my neck would've got through the gap and been broken. Genuinely that close to death/paralysis....
2) Sleeping out overnight in the middle of Darndale in the late 1980's.
Myself and a group of friends were automatically on the guest list for any An Emotional Fish gigs around the country at that time. We were hoping to stay with a girl we knew in Harold's Cross who was a student. However, her Step-dad turned-up to stay before us, so no room at the inn. We then decided we'd just arse around for the night - so we WALKED all the way from HC to Darndale, before parking ourselves outside Darndale Community Centre for the night. Not a thing happened to us, though we did get plenty of odd looks (we were later told that people just assumed we'd been bucked out of our homes). We did acquire instant fame round Darndale-way the next day, were offered accommodation by about 50 different people (ended-up staying with Gerry Fish's mother in the area) and got mentioned in an article in NME about the band a week later... :D
We also slept out one night in Blackstaff Square in Belfast, and got questioned by the cops, as a protestant area nearby had been stoned that night :eek:
Oh - and we (it was always the same group of us...) kipped out in the doorway of that pub opposite Christchurch one night as well (think it's called The Ship..).
Ahhh - the joys of being very young, having no money and not a fear in the world..... :eek:
27/07/2005, 11:15 AM
Breaking into a golf course in Wales and stealing a golf cart whilst absolutely ****ed off my tits, being subsequently chased by security and jumping a wall which had a large oul drop on the far side and totally messing up my right ankle!
Once laughing at a guy who got hit by the matchball at a Bohs match without realising how big he was!
Reminds me of a very funny story of a lad I know in Liverpool.
He was out on the **** one night, couldn't get himself a taxi home, so he commandered a golf cart from a course and started driving it home. Got pulled over by the police literally about 100 metres from his front door. They asked hime "What do you think you're doing sir...?", to which he replied " I'm known for my long drives.....!" :D Needless to say he was arrested, but managed to blag himself off with a caution.
Friends of ours contacted The Sun about it, who ran the story and paid £200 for the pleasure. It then got picked-up by Chrtis Evans, and they had him on TGI Friday one evening to recount the tale ! Classic...
Will see if I can find the article on the Sun website....
Drumcondra Red
27/07/2005, 11:20 AM
Reminds me of a very funny story of a lad I know in Liverpool.
He was out on the **** one night, couldn't get himself a taxi home, so he commandered a golf cart from a course and started driving it home. Got pulled over by the police literally about 100 metres from his front door. They asked hime "What do you think you're doing sir...?", to which he replied " I'm known for my long drives.....!" :D Needless to say he was arrested, but managed to blag himself off with a caution.
Friends of ours contacted The Sun about it, who ran the story and paid £200 for the pleasure. It then got picked-up by Chrtis Evans, and they had him on TGI Friday one evening to recount the tale ! Classic...
Will see if I can find the article on the Sun website....
Oh please do, thats a class story!!!
27/07/2005, 11:31 AM
" I'm known for my long drives.....!" :D
Legendary! :D
27/07/2005, 12:00 PM
from what i remember though you always needed a "key" to start one of them which was always given by the golf club before you rented it. :confused:
Don Vito
27/07/2005, 12:04 PM
Leaving O'Sullivans bar in Paris on the Friday night before the Ireland game full as an egg to walk the 4 miles across the city back to my hotel. To this day I can't understand how I found my way back to the hotel, I remember thinking I was in Dublin and trying to figure out how to get to Rathmines. I met some amount of dodgy blokes and how I wasn't attacked or mugged I'll never know, got some great pictures on my camera though to piece the night together. The problem all started because of the queue for the drinks requiring three to be bought in one go and one drank by the time you got your change back. Happy memories though!
Metrostars
27/07/2005, 2:52 PM
Didnt happen to me but one of my old roomates when he was in college. One evening he needed iron his shirt before going out, so he gets the iron out and turns it on to heat up, goes into the kitchen to get a snack, comes back out and tests the iron to see if it's hot.
Except he tested the iron with his tongue. He got a nasty burn, had to go to the hospital for meds etc.
hamish
27/07/2005, 5:18 PM
tests the iron to see if it's hot.
Except he tested the iron with his tongue. He got a nasty burn, had to go to the hospital for meds etc.
:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:
Oh sweet Jesus.
27/07/2005, 7:32 PM
1) Driving to Dublin for a match a few years ago in a Scenic, one of the passengers went "I wonder what it would be like to crash with these tray tables up"(the car has them flip up tables). I turned round to see what he was on about and ten seconds later I hit a car in front of me. Still got down in time for kick off though
2) Playing football in a school corrider, I slipped in a puddle of water, hit a filing cabinet at full pelt. Filing cabinet titled over and landed on me. Ended up in hospital for over a year with multiple leg fractures, broked ribs, and the rest
3) Chanting for the entirety of the Ireland v Albania game a few years back in Lansdowne. Keane got the winner near the end- I only discovered after the game that my lung had collapsed with the effort :)
4) Falling asleep with a reading lamp on, woke up to find the bed on fire. I had shifted the pillow in my sleep and and it had started to melt under the heat of the light, the bed then went on fire. Like PP, the doctor said another couple of minutes it could have been a whole lot worse
hamish
27/07/2005, 11:38 PM
1)
2) Playing football in a school corrider, I slipped in a puddle of water, hit a filing cabinet at full pelt. Filing cabinet titled over and landed on me. Ended up in hospital for over a year with multiple leg fractures, broked ribs, and the rest
3) Chanting for the entirety of the Ireland v Albania game a few years back in Lansdowne. Keane got the winner near the end- I only discovered after the game that my lung had collapsed with the effort :)
4) Falling asleep with a reading lamp on, woke up to find the bed on fire. I had shifted the pillow in my sleep and and it had started to melt under the heat of the light, the bed then went on fire. Like PP, the doctor said another couple of minutes it could have been a whole lot worse
Holy Mother of God - I'm glad you're still with us Maribor. :eek: :eek:
One thing I'm always really wary of is electrical objects - it can be so fcuking easy for bloody things to overheat and catch fire - I don't care what precautions the experts tell us to take.
Brother in law bought a colour telly for the 1974 World Cup - after the WC ended he moved telly into the bedroom - it literally exploded/blazed up in a matter of seconds one night - flame soared up a corner of the bedroom and the Fire Brigade had to be called.
The most horrifying natural and beautiful thing all at one working in unison- nudity outside a certain station(and its not the train station) on Pearse Street :) envigourating
hamish
28/07/2005, 12:33 AM
The most horrifying natural and beautiful thing all at one working in unison- nudity outside a certain station(and its not the train station) on Pearse Street :) envigourating
I presume that's you Flea - like your namesake in TRHCPs - did you wear a big sock on your schlong??? :D
I tried on all the socks in Penneys but none would fit ;) so I decided on body paint I wasn't caught though
hamish
28/07/2005, 12:38 AM
I tried on all the socks in Penneys but none would fit ;) so I decided on body paint I wasn't caught though
:D :D :D
Not getting caught - that's the important bit. :D
Hell ye some poor bastrd got socks and an extra present for Christmas last :D