View Full Version : Games weekend Friday 24th to Monday 27th

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4

joey B
27/06/2022, 6:50 PM
Looks a very healthy crowd at Richmond Park.....

27/06/2022, 6:56 PM
How come theres only one game in the top flight lads?

patrickccfc
27/06/2022, 7:48 PM
We're 4-0 up at half time away to Treaty. Couldn't ask for any better than that.

27/06/2022, 7:49 PM
We're 4-0 up at half time away to Treaty. Couldn't ask for any better than that.

I could...

D24Saint
27/06/2022, 7:51 PM
Looks a very healthy crowd at Richmond Park.....

Yeah good for a Monday , great atmosphere aswell.

joey B
27/06/2022, 8:14 PM
Waterford might be the bigger threat to Cork for the automatic promotion spot,8 wins on the trot with the win tonight …

Fine goal by Rovers in the Premier Division game aswell….

27/06/2022, 8:28 PM
Head has to rule heart with tonights game, ye want to stay as close as possible to 1st place side in hope of being in a title race. But realistically a top 3 finish to ensure a European spot means that St Pats not picking up points is the better result for us. Barring a crazy ending to the game, 6 points and 2 games in hand on one of the side that would have been considered one of the main competition for Europe is not a bad place to be.

D24Saint
27/06/2022, 9:02 PM
Meh we never looked like winning the game. In fairness to Rovers they did a professional job and got the points without playing brilliant. Overall the referee did a good job of handling the game. I reckon Tunde should have been on earlier , he was a bright spark in an overall dull enough performance. Imo Burns doesn’t want to be here anymore and would be best if he moves on. Great crowd and atmosphere for a Monday night so fair play to both sets of supporters.

sbgawa
27/06/2022, 9:11 PM
That is a great weekend with two derby wins.
Watts was brilliant tonight and what a goal by Greener.
Tunde did more in ten minutes then Doyle did all night, no idea how he isnt playing

joey B
27/06/2022, 9:21 PM
That is a great weekend with two derby wins.
Watts was brilliant tonight and what a goal by Greener.
Tunde did more in ten minutes then Doyle did all night, no idea how he isnt playing

Good weeks rest for your lads now,wrap them up in cotton wool!!!!

27/06/2022, 9:23 PM
Meh we never looked like winning the game. In fairness to Rovers they did a professional job and got the points without playing brilliant. Overall the referee did a good job of handling the game. I reckon Tunde should have been on earlier , he was a bright spark in an overall dull enough performance. Imo Burns doesn’t want to be here anymore and would be best if he moves on. Great crowd and atmosphere for a Monday night so fair play to both sets of supporters.

Honestly thought we played well and deserved something out of the game. Rovers were clinical, we weren’t and there is the difference. Poor from Jack Scott to let Greene by him for the second. Would definitely have liked Tunde to come on earlier. Probably after the first goal. He should have scored after rounding the keeper though.

DCSIL
27/06/2022, 9:25 PM
I was watching Pats - Rovers tonight(Pats wasteful in front of goal, Rovers took their chances), but just seen the Own Goal that gifted Wexford a point in Bray. Ouch!

sbgawa
27/06/2022, 9:41 PM
Honestly thought we played well and deserved something out of the game. Rovers were clinical, we weren’t and there is the difference. Poor from Jack Scott to let Greene by him for the second. Would definitely have liked Tunde to come on earlier. Probably after the first goal. He should have scored after rounding the keeper though.

Was very disappointing to see the Pats goalkeeper wasting time from the first minute.
Shouldnt be doing that at home, if Clancey is sending them out to do thta from the off he is basically telling them they arent good enough to play Rovers....which they were earlier this season

D24Saint
27/06/2022, 9:43 PM

He did well I reckon just to get himself in the position to have a shot on goal. He looked off balance taking the shot and was unfortunate that Rovers had a man on the line. He is great as an impact sub if he is used correctly.

Jack B
27/06/2022, 9:47 PM
I might be alone on this but I actually think we're only a few good signings off of actually being quite good, it's just the areas they're currently needed in are occupied by utter dirt right now. Big window for us (as it is for everyone tbf).

27/06/2022, 10:10 PM
Was very disappointing to see the Pats goalkeeper wasting time from the first minute.
Shouldnt be doing that at home, if Clancey is sending them out to do thta from the off he is basically telling them they arent good enough to play Rovers....which they were earlier this season

They were at the same in Finn Park on Friday. I put it down to them just doing it against Harps, but if they were at the same tonight, must be coming from Clancy.

Shinkicker
27/06/2022, 10:25 PM
Ward was allowed leave as unwanted, Lyons was leaving for years and 008 signed no cover, Breslin didn't leave for mega bucks at Pats i would put him and possibly some of the others down to poor man management.
Mandroiu went from not playing at bohs to being top scorer and a fantastic player at Rovers, Lyons has lifted his levels too.
To be fair to the Bohs board i suppose its easy enough to give him a pass based on last year and as a Rovers supporter that is a positive.
You just repeated what I said and named the player who was not a regular starter or influencer. Why Breslin left is not important. I agree Lyons has lifted his game, he has to with more and better competition in your squad and its a new challenge to rise to. Remember you can't replace a player until he gone.
As for DM I was glad to see the back of him. I believe he was causing turmoil among the squad. He has to work harder in a better squad. With Bohs he thought he was **** of the North when he was really a feather duster. The one name not on my list was George Kelly because you'll never replace a 20 plus man with a 20 plus man

D24Saint
27/06/2022, 10:30 PM
I might be alone on this but I actually think we're only a few good signings off of actually being quite good, it's just the areas they're currently needed in are occupied by utter dirt right now. Big window for us (as it is for everyone tbf).

Any side could argue that one. We need two full backs , a goalkeeper, a midfielder and a decent striker. We are a side that can hold our own and be competitive but we wont win feck all.

sbgawa
27/06/2022, 11:05 PM
You just repeated what I said and named the player who was not a regular starter or influencer. Why Breslin left is not important. I agree Lyons has lifted his game, he has to with more and better competition in your squad and its a new challenge to rise to. Remember you can't replace a player until he gone.
As for DM I was glad to see the back of him. I believe he was causing turmoil among the squad. He has to work harder in a better squad. With Bohs he thought he was **** of the North when he was really a feather duster. The one name not on my list was George Kelly because you'll never replace a 20 plus man with a 20 plus man

You can actually replace a player before he leaves its called forward plannoing and Management.
Breslin leaving might not be important to you but again its MANAGEMENT and DM's behaviour as you put it (assuming you are right) is again Management.........why couldnt 008 get a tune out of him??? hopefully the Bohs board when they are finished with Pride week, the Palestinian situation, the problems for Irish Musicians getting gigs post covid will remain as patient as you with 008.
010 here we go

RealJohn91
27/06/2022, 11:08 PM
hopefully the Bohs board when they are finished with Pride week, the Palestinian situation, the problems for Irish Musicians getting gigs post covid will remain as patient as you with 008.
010 here we go
How's that horse getting on? Hope many of your fans haven't had their addictions worsened backing it.

D24Saint
27/06/2022, 11:09 PM
You can actually replace a player before he leaves its called forward plannoing and Management.
Breslin leaving might not be important to you but again its MANAGEMENT and DM's behaviour as you put it (assuming you are right) is again Management.........why couldnt 008 get a tune out of him??? hopefully the Bohs board when they are finished with Pride week, the Palestinian situation, the problems for Irish Musicians getting gigs post covid will remain as patient as you with 008.
010 here we go

? Obscure take on things that.

27/06/2022, 11:13 PM

Funny you mention this as the exact same thing was said to me recently but with Rovers, that there are a couple of senior players not getting on with him, questioning his effort in training.

sbgawa
27/06/2022, 11:19 PM
How's that horse getting on? Hope many of your fans haven't had their addictions worsened backing it.

No idea to be honest , i think its been knocked on the head due to poor fan reaction but not 100% sure..............,
we are concentrating on football, you should kick out the revolutionary front comrades and try it.

27/06/2022, 11:32 PM
Any side could argue that one. We need two full backs , a goalkeeper, a midfielder and a decent striker. We are a side that can hold our own and be competitive but we wont win feck all.

One sitting on the bench every week.

We'll take him back if he's not wanted.

Jack B
27/06/2022, 11:42 PM

We're talking about comfortably being in the European places/ahead of the pack outside of the top 4, not realistically winning the league or anything. That hasn't been the expectation
for almost a decade. Anang/Breslin/Bermo/Doyle/Tunde are all well of that level, Scott isn't and nor is a midfield where only Forrester is capable of offering any kind of control in a game. Not to mention Mark Doyle stinking the place out. Get those areas sorted and we can still have a good season.

ontheotherhand
27/06/2022, 11:49 PM

If anything I'd say a few gave up the habit out of embarrassment.

Jack B
27/06/2022, 11:58 PM
Also Rory Gaffney is an awfully confusing footballer to me, he looks gangly and awful yet somehow comes away with the ball in every scenario by being bizarrely effective. Not a huge fan of how much of an arsehole he is towards his teammates mind.

ontheotherhand
28/06/2022, 12:22 AM
Also Rory Gaffney is an awfully confusing footballer to me, he looks gangly and awful yet somehow comes away with the ball in every scenario by being bizarrely effective. Not a huge fan of how much of an arsehole he is towards his teammates mind.

He's a footballer player trapped in a gaa player's body. No idea how he does some of what he does. And I don't mind him being a bit of an arsehole. Every body needs one.

DCSIL
28/06/2022, 6:25 AM
Expecting to see Sbgawa pop up on GB News this week, Well paid part time job it seems.

sbgawa
28/06/2022, 8:10 AM
Expecting to see Sbgawa pop up on GB News this week, Well paid part time job it seems.

My grumpy old man self would suit GB News alright, just fir the record i support all the issues i called out but they are personal issues not something i would want the board of my club prioritizing
It wont change though until the revolution against the revolutionary front for the formation of the workers republic committee who have taken over the club.

Edit: I'm not actually that bothered about the Irish Musicians plight, the noise annoys me when i am sipping my pint.

sbgawa
28/06/2022, 8:24 AM

Danny Mandroiu won fans player of the year but Gaffney was close.
His hold up play is the best ive seen in the league. He does look awkward but as you say he almost always comes out with the ball, even wins his own knock ons regularly .
I will be shocked if he plays against Harps we need him for Europe and he has put in two huge shifts against Bohs and Pats

placid casual
28/06/2022, 8:27 AM
Another straightforward Dublin derby win for Rovers. The 10 point cushion gives us the chance to concentrate on Europe for the next few weeks, although how long the European adventure lasts is hard to say. I'm quietly pessimistic about it, tbh.
Once again the standard of officials in LOI is hard to fathom - hennessy last night was a mess.
Andy Lyons is a decent bet for Player of the Year, even though it's only half way through . He has really blossomed in a club that defines itself by its success and he has thrived in the team. He will probably be gone to perfidious albion at seasons end, but we got a season out of him anyway.
As for Greener - He only scores screamers.

PartySaint
28/06/2022, 8:50 AM

*all Season

28/06/2022, 8:51 AM
Great win for Longford Town last night and the 2-0 scoreline flattered Galway if anything. We looked to have a stone wall pen not given, Magerusan hit the bar after 3 minutes with a good header, he also missed a good chance after a minute and a sitter after about 35. We also had a few other decent half chances. Galway never really threatened much or had any sustained period of pressure and couldn't really deal with our intensity from the first minute on. We were missing a couple of starters as well and our bench was only half full and majority of those on the bench were kids. Overall, for a part-time team with a paper thin squad to put in that level of performance, 3 days after our last game, against one of the pre-season title favourites was very impressive.

While I was very downbeat about our season when Gary Cronin was first appointed, I think he's done a good job and we're the "best of the rest" outside the top 3, which is where we should be. We don't have the money or squad depth to sustain a challenge against the other 3 but we've had some decent results against them (beating Galway twice, drew with Cork twice (should have won the 2nd drawn game) and drawing away to Waterford while conceding an injury time equaliser). A few rubbish performances/results along the way have cost us any potential challenge but that's to be expected with the squad we have.

As for Galway, what a complete mess they are when you consider the money being thrown at the manager and squad. No interest in playing football, just hoofing it constantly over the midfielders heads, lacking effort, players constantly moaning at each other, Caulfield and his sidekick Colin Fortune bouncing around the technical area crying about everything. They'll win more than they lose in this league because they have better players than most in the division but the return they're getting on the investment is very low and I don't see things improving until they get a manager in who isn't stuck in the dark ages.

sbgawa
28/06/2022, 9:07 AM
Great win for Longford Town last night and the 2-0 scoreline flattered Galway if anything. We looked to have a stone wall pen not given, Magerusan hit the bar after 3 minutes with a good header, he also missed a good chance after a minute and a sitter after about 35. We also had a few other decent half chances. Galway never really threatened much or had any sustained period of pressure and couldn't really deal with our intensity from the first minute on. We were missing a couple of starters as well and our bench was only half full and majority of those on the bench were kids. Overall, for a part-time team with a paper thin squad to put in that level of performance, 3 days after our last game, against one of the pre-season title favourites was very impressive.

While I was very downbeat about our season when Gary Cronin was first appointed, I think he's done a good job and we're the "best of the rest" outside the top 3, which is where we should be. We don't have the money or squad depth to sustain a challenge against the other 3 but we've had some decent results against them (beating Galway twice, drew with Cork twice (should have won the 2nd drawn game) and drawing away to Waterford while conceding an injury time equaliser). A few rubbish performances/results along the way have cost us any potential challenge but that's to be expected with the squad we have.

As for Galway, what a complete mess they are when you consider the money being thrown at the manager and squad. No interest in playing football, just hoofing it constantly over the midfielders heads, lacking effort, players constantly moaning at each other, Caulfield and his sidekick Colin Fortune bouncing around the technical area crying about everything. They'll win more than they lose in this league because they have better players than most in the division but the return they're getting on the investment is very low and I don't see things improving until they get a manager in who isn't stuck in the dark ages.

Brilliant result for Longford and shows that come the play offs you have a punchers chance against anyone else.
That is as much as you could have hoped for against 3 full time teams this year.
Bray missed a big chance to get back into the race for the playoffs last night losing a 2 goal lead with ten minutes to go.

28/06/2022, 9:27 AM
Rory Gaffney is probably the League's POTY so far IMO and definitely the most underrated, LOI centre-halves simply can't handle him. His work rate, running off the ball, physicality, assists and important goals (scored the winner in 3 Dublin derbies this season) all stand out.

legendz
28/06/2022, 10:37 AM
Galway are stumbling and Cork are flying.

joey B
28/06/2022, 10:47 AM
Galways top scorer is a 31 year old converted defender,is it not a pretty big failure on Caulfields part that he’s relying on him for goals?

Jd2793
28/06/2022, 10:51 AM
Galways top scorer is a 31 year old converted defender,is it not a pretty big failure on Caulfields part that he’s relying on him for goals?

its what you sign up for with JC. tbh cork have been poor enough in the last 10 games, longford battered us up there haunted to get a draw. stumbled past cobh but walked over treaty like we have in previous 2 games. hopefully we kick on from here as our performance levels were worrying even tho we were sneaking results. few players due back from injury now so lets hope the only way is up. Waterford are the biggest challenge to us IMO. They still have the best 11 in the league for me, hoping they draw friday.

sullanefc
28/06/2022, 11:05 AM
Galway are stumbling and Cork are flying.
Last week you would have said the opposite. What a difference a week makes.

Again, last week it was being hailed as a genius move, this week it's a failure.

But in general, Caulfield ball is horrible alright. I was worried that Caulfield ball was enough to be successful in the 1st Division, but they've faltered badly this weekend.

sbgawa
28/06/2022, 11:09 AM
The Comers you'd imagine might go for a change if they don't get promotion this year.

joey B
28/06/2022, 11:40 AM
Last week you would have said the opposite. What a difference a week makes.

Again, last week it was being hailed as a genius move, this week it's a failure.

But in general, Caulfield ball is horrible alright. I was worried that Caulfield ball was enough to be successful in the 1st Division, but they've faltered badly this weekend.

What’s genius about one of the better funded teams in the league firing a big man up front and lumping balls up? I mean it’s worked to an extent and fair play to him but it’s probably not going to get them promoted….

joey B
28/06/2022, 11:56 AM
https://youtu.be/R5TEG7_hX5c

About 1.45 into this video some lunatic launches a smokebomb over the top of the stand narrowly missing a player,never seen the perception of a club change so quickly as has happened to Bray this season….

sullanefc
28/06/2022, 12:13 PM
What’s genius about one of the better funded teams in the league firing a big man up front and lumping balls up? I mean it’s worked to an extent and fair play to him but it’s probably not going to get them promoted….

Oh I agree with you. But there were some in the media who were lauding it as a masterstroke.

28/06/2022, 12:56 PM

With the budget available and the fulltime squad put together Galway could finish in the top 2 with damn all input from JC. His efforts to coach and tactical decisions are akin to sabotage not football.

Glen Of Aherlow
28/06/2022, 1:01 PM
We're talking about comfortably being in the European places/ahead of the pack outside of the top 4, not realistically winning the league or anything. That hasn't been the expectation
for almost a decade. Anang/Breslin/Bermo/Doyle/Tunde are all well of that level, Scott isn't and nor is a midfield where only Forrester is capable of offering any kind of control in a game. Not to mention Mark Doyle stinking the place out. Get those areas sorted and we can still have a good season.

Bit harsh on Anang , I think he’s done ok and certainly hasn’t been a major weak link in the team

sbgawa
28/06/2022, 1:22 PM
https://youtu.be/R5TEG7_hX5c

About 1.45 into this video some lunatic launches a smokebomb over the top of the stand narrowly missing a player,never seen the perception of a club change so quickly as has happened to Bray this season….

Bray have banned a bunch of knackers that were following them around the place and clearly that smoke bomb over the stand was the response.
For anyone who hasn't been there it would be very easily done , the stand is literally up against the wall and not that high.
You'd reckon they will get bored fairly soon, or hopefully

D24Saint
28/06/2022, 1:34 PM
Bit harsh on Anang , I think he’s done ok and certainly hasn’t been a major weak link in the team

He isn’t great at all. Very poor with his feet and doesn’t come off his line. Not a bad shot stopper but an average LOI keeper at best. He certainly isn’t going anywhere with West Ham. I know he is young but I wouldn’t see him going anywhere above National league or League 2 at best in England.

Jack B
28/06/2022, 4:05 PM

That's what I was saying, it was mentioned that goalkeeper was an area that needs strengthening but I think he's been grand to be honest. Unrealistic regardless with Odumosu sat on the bench too.

sbgawa
28/06/2022, 4:17 PM
Funny moment with Anang last night, he was winding up the Rovers supporters from the first minute wasting time, at one point an elderly man (by my standards which makes him very old) shouted hurry up you English F**** , then said to those around him "i was tryig to think of what to call him" ;) The battle against Racism is definitely being won in the LOI.

The Rovers fans behind the goal settled for "Fat *******" which i though lacked imagination given he wasnt even fat.
Funny enough he got very quick with the kickouts later on ;)