View Full Version : Games weekend 17th/18th June
mcgonigle
17/06/2022, 11:12 PM
Yeah fair enough although I thought Gaffney had our better chances tonight. We were very limited in ideas though and should have come up with something better. Makes it even stranger than Lyons wasnt sprung as he offers a better outlet going forward than Finn or Kavanagh.
Burke is carrying a knock. Very worrying to have himself and Jack not up to speed with Europe around the corner.
Enjoy your night anyway.
Thought Gaffney was your best player, a real handful.
Yeah was surprised Lyons was on the bench, don't see what Finn offers anymore and then bringing on McCann was baffling. Even Gannon offers more IMO
It's a blip on Rovers inevitable title win, but nice to inflict it and see how far this team has come in a short time
ontheotherhand
17/06/2022, 11:33 PM
Thought Gaffney was your best player, a real handful.
Yeah was surprised Lyons was on the bench, don't see what Finn offers anymore and then bringing on McCann was baffling. Even Gannon offers more IMO
It's a blip on Rovers inevitable title win, but nice to inflict it and see how far this team has come in a short time
It's a funny one. The players have always been there for you. There's just been no structure for them to shine in. Some of the Dundalk starting 11 would walk into ours at the moment.
Wouldn't necessarily agree on Finn there in a general sense as he is more than solid and has put in some really inspiring performances but certainly tonight I think he was the wrong option or at least should have been whipped off before he was sent off. I think Lyons would have asked more questions but maybe he picked up a knock with the 21s that we don't know about.
Kiki Balboa
17/06/2022, 11:37 PM
Rovers were so poor. Offered next to none . Deserved to lose. Second half, by far the worse team. They would not have scored even if we were playing until now (amd whenever you are reading this).
Once Dundalk scored, all the fight was out of Rovers. Never really looked like they were threatening after.
Now thats there is actual pressure on Rovers, it will be intresting to see how they respond. Could have put away the league tonight against an over performing team, but failed to do so.
Bradley should have cashed in. Goodluck versus Hibernians.
placid casual
18/06/2022, 12:00 AM
There's not even the beginnings of a hint of pressure on Rovers but carry on I guess.
Enjoy watching other LOI teams take the place in Europe that the most expensive LOI team ever assembled couldn't achieve last season.
Kiki Balboa
18/06/2022, 12:17 AM
How long is Richie Towells contract? Might be embrassing to be finessed by the Americans. Glad the Bazunu money is going to good use. Btw... How many 30 year olds played tonight?
Rovers could have put away the league tonight against a team that only started signing contracts in December. Dundalk is still only battling for Europe, but , still Rovers looked like a team with zero appetite. Must be frustrating.
Btw , what a club which so much pride to bring on Aaron Greene... I wonder what club he played at in 2016.
Jack B
18/06/2022, 12:31 AM
Thought it was a shocking game in Richmond. Will take the 3 points and run but we're in desperate need of one or two in midfield to go with Forrester, because we're not capable of controlling a game otherwise.
18/06/2022, 12:37 AM
Dropping 6 points from 9 brings some pressure especially when it lets a team get on the coattails, a team that is not expected to be there while rebuilding. The mediocrity of domestic performances bring pressure to the CLQR1 as an essential game to win. There has been some dissent among the Rovers support on Bradley this season albeit he is secure in his job. When top of the league and reigning champions every one wants to have a go. Its all normal football stuff but no hint of pressure on Rovers is either a fallacy or a worry, If they dont put themselves under pressure to attain the highest level possible then there is something very wrong. Im sure we will all watch the leagues progress in Europe with interest. Its novel being on the sidelines, but PC maybe from your experiences around Dundalk getting to group stages could enlighten us about how it felt to watch others after Rovers were out? Its generous of you to call us the most expensive ever LOI team last year - Im not sure team is the right word!
ontheotherhand
18/06/2022, 12:38 AM
Rovers were so poor. Offered next to none . Deserved to lose. Second half, by far the worse team. They would not have scored even if we were playing until now (amd whenever you are reading this).
Once Dundalk scored, all the fight was out of Rovers. Never really looked like they were threatening after.
Now thats there is actual pressure on Rovers, it will be intresting to see how they respond. Could have put away the league tonight against an over performing team, but failed to do so.
Bradley should have cashed in. Goodluck versus Hibernians.
😅 You'd swear it was backs to the wall reading this. It was a scrappy game on the worst pitch in Ireland with very few clear cut chances that Dundalk just about edged. Fair play and all but if O'Neill scores his chance before Benson I think you're drinking a different tune.
Enjoy your cornflakes in the morning all the same. Good to have Dundalk somewhat back together. It was getting a bit sad.
ToberonaTornado
18/06/2022, 2:33 AM
😅 You'd swear it was backs to the wall reading this. It was a scrappy game on the worst pitch in Ireland with very few clear cut chances that Dundalk just about edged. Fair play and all but if O'Neill scores his chance before Benson I think you're drinking a different tune.
Enjoy your cornflakes in the morning all the same. Good to have Dundalk somewhat back together. It was getting a bit sad.
Crunchy nut cornflakes I bet he'll have 😉😜
Dundalk were much, much better than you suggest.
For a side only pulled together over last few months we matched and bettered yee all in all positions last night.yous looked jaded while we looked like a with a team with a bit of positive creativity and most likely winners.
Distractions like "sh*t pitch" push us on.
We'll finish 3rd but we'll annoy the feck out of a lot of people while we go about it.
ontheotherhand
18/06/2022, 3:52 AM
Crunchy nut cornflakes I bet he'll have
Dundalk were much, much better than you suggest.
For a side only pulled together over last few months we matched and bettered yee all in all positions last night.yous looked jaded while we looked like a with a team with a bit of positive creativity and most likely winners.
Distractions like "sh*t pitch" push us on.
We'll finish 3rd but we'll annoy the feck out of a lot of people while we go about it.
Ah yeah not belittling dundalks progress at all but to say you're a side pulled together over the last few months is a bit rich. That's a very familiar Dundalk side. It takes something to do a job on us even without jack and Burke although I wouldn't say you bettered us in all positions. If you had we wouldn't have been regretting chances missed. You were still worthy of the win all the same so enjoy those crunchy nuts. It always seems like your team played better when they play well against the best.
tbh I think Derry supporters should look at some of the players b4 the ref in terms of blame, poor finishing and in second half some very poor play. Not knocking Derry, just my observations as Drogs were very under strength and I was expecting a tough night.
That was in the first bit of my post - Several games we've held onto a point by the skin of our teeth by our own mistakes, Referee gave us nothing though.
Kiki Balboa
18/06/2022, 9:19 AM
Is Higgins starting to come under some pressure for his job? The last win was at the end of April, only 4 points from 21 since then. St. Pats are only 3 points behind for the automatic European place. UCD next, which must be a relief for Higgins. Still, pressure must be on....Drop points there and then in the game away to Bohs on July 1st, Derry could drop to 5th. Crazy run of form for Derry. Bohs have been pretty active in the summer window already too and seemed to have strengthened. With how things are going, it might be more possible for Bohs to catch Derry than St. Pats.
----
Great result for Drogheda. Didn't realise how far back Harps were from them, and it is hard to see Harps getting anyway close to 30 points by the end of the season. If Drogheda can pick up 9 or so more points by the end of the year, they will be pretty comfortably safe. Two wins and a couple of draws should do.
Funny league, only one win behind Shels now too. With all the movement in the winter, Drogheda must be very happy. Tougher run of games coming up though.
18/06/2022, 9:41 AM
UCD next, which must be a relief for Higgins. Still, pressure must be on....
Going to jinx myself here - especially as Derry beat us quite handily in the Bowl earlier in the season - but we've drawn more than we've lost at home this season. On Derry's form (and we've more points than them from the last seven games) it's a definite banana skin.
joey B
18/06/2022, 10:04 AM
Is Higgins starting to come under some pressure for his job? The last win was at the end of April, only 4 points from 21 since then. St. Pats are only 3 points behind for the automatic European place. UCD next, which must be a relief for Higgins. Still, pressure must be on....Drop points there and then in the game away to Bohs on July 1st, Derry could drop to 5th. Crazy run of form for Derry. Bohs have been pretty active in the summer window already too and seemed to have strengthened. With how things are going, it might be more possible for Bohs to catch Derry than St. Pats.
----
Great result for Drogheda. Didn't realise how far back Harps were from them, and it is hard to see Harps getting anyway close to 30 points by the end of the season. If Drogheda can pick up 9 or so more points by the end of the year, they will be pretty comfortably safe. Two wins and a couple of draws should do.
Funny league, only one win behind Shels now too. With all the movement in the winter, Drogheda must be very happy. Tougher run of games coming up though.
Given ourselves to much to do alright,not finishing bottom is our only realistic aim and UCD will fancy their chances of getting the play off….
18/06/2022, 10:45 AM
I've just spotted Bray tweeting about awarding one of their players with a "as good as new" phone for being the man of the match in a 5-1 loss at home. That's hilarious.
18/06/2022, 11:01 AM
Looking at Derry's GD - if it wasnt for the 7 against UCD and even the 4 v St Pats, it indicates a chronic shortage of goals in the side which you wouldnt have expected with the players they have. But is the main issue that they are not scoring very much - needs a change to formation, philosophy, another striker in july??
They've got the two top scorers in the league though (Patching and McGonigle)
Maybe the problem is a lack of goals from other positions?
Jd2793
18/06/2022, 11:20 AM
patching is a bit of a wonder goal merchant (not a bad thing) but relying on him heavily isnt the best policy.
joey B
18/06/2022, 12:09 PM
Michael Duffy barely playing for them is probably a big reason why they’ve fell off,best player in the league over the last few seasons …..
Kiki Balboa
18/06/2022, 12:20 PM
Duffy got injured in his debut game I think. They are missing Eoin Toal, Boyce, and Harkin. That enough for a club to go from best team in the league- to worst?
I never seen a droppoff in form like it before. I dont think anybody thought they were over achiveing in the first round of games. They really have to win vs UCD... It wont be an easy game either, especially because their last two games that they didnt win were home games to second and third last.
oriel
18/06/2022, 12:22 PM
The game was won by a piece of quality by Macari- aside from that nothing between the teams- anyway enjoy the moment ; it’s results/night like that we all live for
Fair play CJ, pity we won't have Macari for much longer, can absolutely understand why he and Stoke want him back, far higher standard and he should do very well in his career, good luck to him.
Agreed on the game, quite tight, but obviously delighted with the win, Rovers could have gone 11 clear with a win.
Since fans have been back in Oriel from late Sept or so, that's an unbelievable home record, only 1 defeat (Derry - final game), apart from 2 draws this season (Derry and Rovers) every other game has been a win !
oriel
18/06/2022, 12:34 PM
Jaysus - Dundalk beating Rovers. How they're doing so well I've no idea. Rovers down to ten too
And Bray 4-1 down at home to Galway. The town may burn tonight.
Drogheda (who've just lost their two (?) best players whose loans have ended) have equalised in Derry, who are evidently going to do ****e in Europe
Edit - Bray 5-1 down now
You are possibly basing your opinion on the 2-2 draw at the Bowl earlier in the season, which was a dreadful display by us, the two other poor games were losing 1-0 to Drogs away and a lame effort also losing 1-0 away in Tallaght, apart from that most other performances have been very good, home record is superb too.
oriel
18/06/2022, 12:43 PM
Dundalk look a proper side now. No real surprise I suppose. So much talent and experience in the team. And a solid goalkeeper makes a world of a difference. Comparing the two 11s tonight there wasn't much in them and we didn't use our bench to any great effect. Not sure what was going on there. Leaving Lyons on the bench when Finn was on a yellow and fading was a bit bizarre. I assume Bradley was involved in the decisions even without being there but I was struggling to make sense of them.
That's Shepperd's 8th clean sheet already in the league, his confidence is flowing right throughout the team and especially the back 4. Glad we have him signed perm.
Abibi was the biggest joke of a GK signing I have ever seen at PD level in this country, still convinced he never played pro football before as a GK.
18/06/2022, 12:45 PM
It's that and the Drogheda game (which I saw), but also a general impression of the squad. It's not great. Yes, there's some very good players (Hoban, Benson, etc) but there's no strength in depth and there's a few players whose best days are behind them (McMillan, Gartland). Ward and Doyle as pre-season signings wouldn't scream out "title challengers" either.
OK, the keeper problem has been sorted and that's a big deal. O'Donnell is clearly a decent manager. And looking at soccerway, and it seems 15 players have played 14 times or more this season (it's 13 for Rovers and Derry, and 9 for UCD) so maybe ye've avoided injuries to and that helps with consistency.
But I still don't think it's a squad that would have been challenging for the title in previous years. There's a bit of a vacuum at the top with Derry, Sligo, Pat's and Bohs all having disappointing seasons and I guess someone has to be second. And with others now off on European seasons, there seems no reason ye can't consolidate that spot.
It's good that Dundalk won last night as otherwise the title race would be more or less over. Shamrock Rovers should still win it with squad they have but at least the title race is alive for now. Derry City's woeful form over past 2 months means they are too far off the pace and the Derry owner must be questioning does he have the right man in charge for all the investment they put in.
Kiki Balboa
18/06/2022, 1:23 PM
No injuries is a big thing. Esp to Hoban.
But really, the back 5 is of league winning quality and beyond (...and it might be broken up mid-season..). Before this run, we still werent losing games. Only 2 losses this year. It is such a bedrock for a consistant team
Doyle is turning into a gem of player. Ward has had some cracking moments too. Garts and McMillian are not being asked to do much, but can still be counted on. There is something very Kenny-esque at Dundalk now, it is a team that picks itself, and everybody plays a role and is happy with it. Such a buzz about the place, and there has been since the first game. Another big thing is the players themselves have improved under O'Donnell than under Perth. Leahy, Sloggett and Dan Kelly were all stagnant in development. All have pushed on this year.
I said it at the start of the season, the squad had a very good spine. Connolly- Boyle, Sloggett- Benson, Hoban.... Experience and quality in the middle of the park also allows for a consistant run. Which is a big thing in this league (every teams story nearly changes week in- week out depending on the weekly result). I dont think the performances have been super high, but if you dont concede you only need to score once.
I still think Dundalk can get dragged into the middle pack, and suddenly be dropping points every other game.
It's that and the Drogheda game (which I saw), but also a general impression of the squad. It's not great. Yes, there's some very good players (Hoban, Benson, etc) but there's no strength in depth and there's a few players whose best days are behind them (McMillan, Gartland). Ward and Doyle as pre-season signings wouldn't scream out "title challengers" either.
OK, the keeper problem has been sorted and that's a big deal. O'Donnell is clearly a decent manager. And looking at soccerway, and it seems 15 players have played 14 times or more this season (it's 13 for Rovers and Derry, and 9 for UCD) so maybe ye've avoided injuries to and that helps with consistency.
But I still don't think it's a squad that would have been challenging for the title in previous years. There's a bit of a vacuum at the top with Derry, Sligo, Pat's and Bohs all having disappointing seasons and I guess someone has to be second. And with others now off on European seasons, there seems no reason ye can't consolidate that spot.
Never expected and still don't see Dundalk as title challengers, Europe still was and is the target, that's looking good now. The best signing was SOD, followed by Benson, Connolly and Shepherd, other players have been revitalised like Hoban, Boyle and Kelly, Macari has been very good, pity he will prob go back to Stoke, and Bone has played a great part too, as has Ward.
Would agree on McMillan, finished, Gartland prob not far off too.
ontheotherhand
18/06/2022, 2:48 PM
That's Shepperd's 8th clean sheet already in the league, his confidence is flowing right throughout the team and especially the back 4. Glad we have him signed perm.
Abibi was the biggest joke of a GK signing I have ever seen at PD level in this country, still convinced he never played pro football before as a GK.
I didn't know this. That's an unreal signing to be fair. Just reading up on him now. Brentford's u23 player of the season.
Abibi was hilarious. I thought you had unearthed a gem after the President's Cup....
18/06/2022, 3:44 PM
They've got the two top scorers in the league though (Patching and McGonigle)
Maybe the problem is a lack of goals from other positions?
Yeah that was I was getting at, they were expected to be almost free scoring with one of the best strikers available, were for a spell and still 2 of their players got topping the goal scoring charts but bar the 2 outlier like games v ucd and possibly St Pats their GD would be single digits. So nobody else chipping in, system not set up to be a scoring side and relying on their striker to just make it happen on his own. If they were a score and shut up shop, call in the ballboys, types side then grand. Whatever it is its time to go back to basics and try seek the form of the 1st round. I dunno, just trying to figure out what the difference is that happened so quickly and noted that their GD would be poor bar the UCD hammering. Im sure they will turn a corner but its getting on a bit in the easo now to be called the old blip. Higgins will be backed but if torn apart by Riga the supporters will turn. The owner will be brave about it imo and stick with the agreed pathway.
Out of interest, was their any targets publicly stated by DCFC, eg challenge for the title reach QR2 of the ECL etc. It was more LoI followers probably, that championed their potential to catch SRFC, myself included and up 'til April, with a much heavier schedule in prospect for Rovers after the break maybe to October/November, I thought that opinion was justifiable.
18/06/2022, 3:53 PM
I didn't know this. That's an unreal signing to be fair. Just reading up on him now. Brentford's u23 player of the season.
Abibi was hilarious. I thought you had unearthed a gem after the President's Cup....
I know players have to be diplomatic but Sheppard is thoroughly enjoying his football, and regularly comments on loving living in the area, finding hidden gems of coffee shops and the like. I think this is playing its part in good form as he just seem settled and content. Likeable chap who always has time for young supporters when around the town. He is almost as close to home as he was in West London anyway. What could have been a fly in the ointment and disrupted him would have been out of sight out of mind for Wales but instead he has established himself as first choice with Wales u21s. It all contributes to his performances and with having very experience lads just in front of him every game.
SeanDrog
18/06/2022, 6:56 PM
Sligo 2-0 Harps after 8 mins!
joey B
18/06/2022, 7:15 PM
Need another month break....
redarmyfaction
18/06/2022, 10:07 PM
Like a winters night in the Showgrounds cold rain and gusts wind whipping the ball over the place made for a scrappy game with a fair result.
joey B
18/06/2022, 10:28 PM
4 wins in 32 games for us,sums it up pretty much....
18/06/2022, 11:27 PM
Like a winters night in the Showgrounds cold rain and gusts wind whipping the ball over the place made for a scrappy game with a fair result.
Maybe drawing Bala wasnt the best, theyd be used to the worst of weather. A continental side, on the other hand, could have folded just looking out at the best of west of Ireland summer weather. Mad how the teams from the North West are showing such similar form atm!
Nah Nah Nah Nah
19/06/2022, 1:39 AM
If we’re relying on the weather to win the first round of a conference league we may as well forget about it
Played well first half. Second half not so good but the game was over at that stage.
Keena is unreal.
Jd2793
19/06/2022, 9:20 AM
harps were battered. ollies magic is wearing off.
The Bowler
19/06/2022, 2:33 PM
Fear for Harps. Can't see them picking up any obvious wins. Who finishes bottom is going to boil down to the two head to heads with UCD, who will be down both Whelan and Kerrigan for the remainder of season
Jd2793
19/06/2022, 2:51 PM
Fear for Harps. Can't see them picking up any obvious wins. Who finishes bottom is going to boil down to the two head to heads with UCD, who will be down both Whelan and Kerrigan for the remainder of season
wheres kerrigan going ?
The Bowler
19/06/2022, 3:09 PM
wheres kerrigan going ? genuinely don't know. Lincoln City and Rovers were mentioned, but I saw something on Twitter suggesting Derry might be in for him and Whelan, even with Whelan out fir the season. Let's hope it's not Celtic, the graveyard for Irish talent
20/06/2022, 9:39 AM
Out of interest, was their any targets publicly stated by DCFC, eg challenge for the title reach QR2 of the ECL etc. It was more LoI followers probably, that championed their potential to catch SRFC, myself included and up 'til April, with a much heavier schedule in prospect for Rovers after the break maybe to October/November, I thought that opinion was justifiable.
To qualify was for Europe was the stated goal.
Should have had Friday's game sown up in the first half hour. The second half was a non-event.
Yes, Drogs penalty was a dive, and McGonigle was fouled in the box at the end, but we should have been out of sight at that point.
More generally, there have been tactical mistakes being made by Higgins. Our midfield isn't settled, and is often bypassed when the opposition press up on us.
Friday, for example, Drogs switched formation at half time. No reaction from Higgins even when it clearly wasn't working.
I have concerns about our defending, we rarely keep clean sheets.
That would be more acceptable if we were scoring freely, which we're not. McGonigle is a cracking player, but we can't have him up front by himself. It doesn't work. Higgins seems to insist that we start Matty Smith, so why not put him up with McGonigle rather than on the wing?
All very frustrating.
I don't think his job is in any danger, way to early for that chat, but he'd certainly be expected to reduce the 24 point deficit to Shamrock Rovers last season.
That's looking less likely by the week though.
ontheotherhand
20/06/2022, 10:53 PM
Is it a case of not having enough bite or cover in the middle for Derry? Dummigan is playing that role now I think? Loads of creative players there but maybe missing an experienced base in midfield? You could say the same about us this season and last to a certain extent but we have O'Neill at least. We still have a McEneff shaped hole in the team though.
ToberonaTornado
24/06/2022, 1:36 AM
To qualify was for Europe was the stated goal.
Should have had Friday's game sown up in the first half hour. The second half was a non-event.
Yes, Drogs penalty was a dive, and McGonigle was fouled in the box at the end, but we should have been out of sight at that point.
More generally, there have been tactical mistakes being made by Higgins. Our midfield isn't settled, and is often bypassed when the opposition press up on us.
Friday, for example, Drogs switched formation at half time. No reaction from Higgins even when it clearly wasn't working.
I have concerns about our defending, we rarely keep clean sheets.
That would be more acceptable if we were scoring freely, which we're not. McGonigle is a cracking player, but we can't have him up front by himself. It doesn't work. Higgins seems to insist that we start Matty Smith, so why not put him up with McGonigle rather than on the wing?
All very frustrating.
I don't think his job is in any danger, way to early for that chat, but he'd certainly be expected to reduce the 24 point deficit to Shamrock Rovers last season.
That's looking less likely by the week though.
Its a difficult one.Higgins is a decent manager but has it all gotten too comfy for him at Derry.
I hope Derry dont do it (push the next manager button)
24/06/2022, 10:35 AM
The O'Doherty has always given managers time even to a fault. It would be out of character not to follow through on agreed plans and its always been said that challenging for the title would be over 2 seasons of developing the squad, it was us LoI armchair pundits that put Derry as main challengers to Rovers. As long as it doesnt involve a relegation battle (Finn Harps are doing their bit to help prevent that) i'd say he is safe enough. If Derry are struggling to get a European slot for next year, well the chairman can plug that financial hole so maybe not as essential for Derry as it would for other clubs to keep budgets competitive, so Higgins may be ok then too. If the chairman is trying to build the club as self sustaining and to not need him as benefactor, then Higgins will be on notice if there is no obvious progression or the dressing room is unsettled. It takes a really good man manager to keep things right especially against the backdrop of knowing that there's a big source of money.