View Full Version : Duff v Milan

24/07/2005, 11:43 PM
Just watching Chelsea v Milan here and Chelsea are all over them. Duff and Robben are running amoc. Last season Mourinho seemed to prefer Duff making the pass instead of beating his man but tonight he's doing superb whenever on the ball.

Its 1-0 after almost 40 minutes. Robben with the goal.

Good to see Duff allowed to play freely again.

*Edit - Half time. Duff, Robben and Gudjonhson (in midfield) were the best players of the first half. Duff and Robben gone off to be replaced by Cole and SWP. Rest assured, Duff and Robben will start the season as first choice on the wings after seeing them play tonight.

25/07/2005, 9:21 AM
Duff had a great shot saved too, would have been almost identical to Robben's goal.

If Chelsea sign Essien, I expect their first choice starting midfield to be Duff Essien Lampard Makele Robben, with Essien and Makele hanging back and spraying out passes to other 3 in attacking positions.

25/07/2005, 9:34 AM
Is Wright Phillips going to get a look in with Duff and Robben on song? Hopefully not. Good news re Duffer.

onenilgameover
25/07/2005, 12:31 PM
Is Wright Phillips going to get a look in with Duff and Robben on song? Hopefully not. Good news re Duffer.

The Socialist Workers Party won't be starting as many games as Robben or Duff but will prove to be better cover than Jole Cole. If the get Essien I can't see em not winning the league again.

FarBeag
25/07/2005, 12:37 PM
If Duff and Keane continue to play like they are we have an excellent chance of progressing,so keep it up lads.

25/07/2005, 2:44 PM
Duff on SWP: "It should make me better"
http://www.soccerway.com/news/full/?page=details&area=1122298038

25/07/2005, 2:48 PM
Another report.

http://www.manchesteronline.co.uk/sport/football/s/167/167044_swp_debut_wows_robben.html

25/07/2005, 4:18 PM
Judging by Gudjohnsen's performance in central midfield last night they don't need Essien. Although, it does mean Lampard has to do a lot more defensive work so won't be scoring half as many. Since defensive work isn't recognised by those in the media (re Duff) they'll say Lampard is not at his best. :rolleyes:

jorge
25/07/2005, 10:17 PM
What channel was it on?Chelsea tv i pressume.

Im still depressed Crespo dint sign for AC. :mad: :( :mad:

26/07/2005, 7:33 AM
Since defensive work isn't recognised by those in the media (re Duff) they'll say Lampard is not at his best. :rolleyes:

Too true.

29/07/2005, 9:16 AM
Duff scored for Chelsea in a 2-1 win in the US overnight, goal set up by SWP.

29/07/2005, 10:03 AM
Superb goal by Duff:

http://www.uploadtemple.com/view.php/1122601584.zip

Metrostars
29/07/2005, 11:42 AM
Nice goal by Duffer. But the best part of the game which was shown here in the US on ESPN was midway during the second half after John Terry was substituted. A sideline reporter was interviewing Terry and right near the end someone shouted out which was caught for all the world to hear "Mourinho's a w*nker". Funny stuff. The commentator commented "well I guess that was maybe an Arsenal fan".

ken foree
29/07/2005, 12:19 PM
whoa that's up there with that lazio goal for me, he had a bit of time from the dozy dc defense but what a finish, the f*ckin angle of it! brilliant duff we love you :D

29/07/2005, 2:45 PM
Pity he couldn't score from 5 feet against Israel.

ken foree
29/07/2005, 2:54 PM
Pity he couldn't score from 5 feet against Israel.

or 5 inches

29/07/2005, 3:12 PM
I watched the game last night and I have to say that Duff got kicked all over the park. Nice goal though and thank God he was taken off at half time. Yer man that yelled into the mike during the John Terry interview had me in knots! Fair play to the US commentators for the quick retort. Was anyone impressed with the young US lad Freddie Adu? I thought he looked pretty good.

29/07/2005, 3:35 PM
You mean Freddie "Much Adu About Nothing" Adu? If he is half as good as Americans keep saying why isn't he in Europe in a decent league?

His mother wants him to stay in the US until he turns 18 and then his intentions are to head to Europe. Nothing wrong with that.

29/07/2005, 4:11 PM
Has he even got a passport?
I'm not sure where you are going with that :confused:

Metrostars
29/07/2005, 4:59 PM
I've watched Adu fairly closely since he has come on the scene in MLS last year. For 16 he is pretty good, scored some nice goals, has great close control and dribbling ability. The problem is that great 16 year olds don't neccessarily translate into having a star career. Also it is a little unfortunate that he is hyped up too much. He has mainly been used as a sub by DC United (aka Scum :p). Some fans are clamoring for him to be included in the US Squad for the World Cup next year but I don't see that happening unless he starts to get more starts for da scum.
Also on one question posted earlier, current rules don't allow kids under 18 to work overseas. Plus he is contracted to MLS for a few more years. I'm guessing if he keeps progressing, he might transfer to a Euro team after 2-3 years.
And yes, he does have a passport as he has played for the US at underage level.
He did pretty well when he came on as a sub last night, for a kid who just turned 16. Indeed, that Diarra guy for Chelsea was lucky not to receive a red card for his consistant fouling of Adu.

29/07/2005, 6:08 PM
We're constantly told that most Americans don't have a passport! I was just joking. You've obviously spent far too long in the land of the Bush family. :D
It's sounds like you spend too much time listening to people about Americans :p :D and plus the fact when Bush and his cronies get to rule the world, there won't be a need for passports :D :D

Fergie's Son
29/07/2005, 7:15 PM
His mother wants him to stay in the US until he turns 18 and then his intentions are to head to Europe. Nothing wrong with that.

If you believe he is really 14.....the kid looks a damn sight older than 14/15 and I would wager that he is already 18. It's a common trick in baseball and I have no doubt it happens in football as well.

29/07/2005, 7:32 PM
If you believe he is really 14.....the kid looks a damn sight older than 14/15 and I would wager that he is already 18. It's a common trick in baseball and I have no doubt it happens in football as well.
Right now he is 16, but like you said, it would not be a shock if he is older than they say he is.

Metrostars
29/07/2005, 7:50 PM

Actually he is 16. And it's been researched in the US and Ghana and nothing has be found to be otherwise. If anything, he would have more to gain if he said he was older than he is.

Either way, he is not doing too badly as it is with $500K a year and a few more bucks from Nike.

Tony Montana
29/07/2005, 11:38 PM
He is good for a kid of 16 but how was he ever allowed to sign a professional football contract at 14?beggars belief :eek:
No way he would have had such a high profile if he'd broken into a team at 17/18 like most players.Had to be a marketing ploy all the way.

dr_peepee
30/07/2005, 12:25 PM
When players are known about for a while it's too easy to forget how young they actually are. A couple more years in america could serve him better that 3 or 4 years in the reserves in england.

Inter Milan apparently offered $750k for him a few years ago (according to MTV's fake ID club)

Metrostars
30/07/2005, 3:46 PM
When players are known about for a while it's too easy to forget how young they actually are. A couple more years in america could serve him better that 3 or 4 years in the reserves in england.

Inter Milan apparently offered $750k for him a few years ago (according to MTV's fake ID club)

Thats true, also Man Utd and Chelsea were interested in him. But his mother wanted to keep him at home so MLS signed him up. Probably a wise decision considering his age.

Fergie's Son
30/07/2005, 5:58 PM
Actually he is 16. And it's been researched in the US and Ghana and nothing has be found to be otherwise. If anything, he would have more to gain if he said he was older than he is.

Actually he would not. If he is considerd "underaged" then he has a few more years to develop and improve his game. He could then get a massive contract as a 22 year old rather than as a 24/25 year old. It's very common in baseball. Moreover, an investigation in Ghana doesn't mean much. He did not have a Ghanian birth certificated until about 2 years ago so I am highly dubious about his real age.

BobbySands
31/07/2005, 1:02 AM
But his mother wanted to keep him at home so MLS signed him up. Probably a wise decision considering his age.[/QUOTE]

I'd doubt Mom was too concerned about keeping him home considering they're from Ghana.