View Full Version : Sammie Szmodics M Blackburn Rovers b.1995

Pages : 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7

01/05/2023, 6:22 PM
Thumps the crossbar with a cracking volley from just outside the box in the 92’ - great technique.

Just finished now and they’re still in the running.

JR89
01/05/2023, 6:55 PM
Blackburn need West Brom and Sunderland now to drop points on the final day and beat Millwall themselves to overtake Millwall for that final play off spot.

They really needed the win tonight to avoid having to rely on West Brom and Sunderland to drop points as their goal difference is a lot worse on -3.

Eirambler
01/05/2023, 8:16 PM
Looks a very long shot for Blackburn now. I'm not sure how much game time Szmodics would have gotten if they'd been promoted anyway.

Looking at the other possible teams who could get promoted through the playoffs it looks a weak enough bunch this year. Any of them would need major investment to have much chance of staying up if promoted.

From an Irish point of view it's:

Luton - no regular Irish starters, Louie Watson is a squad player
Middlesbrough - Darragh Lenihan
Coventry - Luke McNally, but he's only there on loan
Millwall - Dan McNamara
Sunderland - no Irish players (Cirkin Irish born)
West Brom - O'Shea (injured) and Molumby

Lenihan at Boro or the West Brom lads would probably have the best hopes of playing regularly in the Premier League if promoted. Not beyond possibility that O'Shea might get a move up in any case as West Brom need to sell players if they don't go up.

JR89
01/05/2023, 8:47 PM
Could see McNally going back to Coventry if they get promoted. Though think he'll probably be back at Coventry even if they're not promoted. As for Szmodics I think he'd play enough games because financially Blackburn haven't got the money to spend.

They'd need serious investment just to have the slightest chance of competing to stay up. Strike me as the Norwich type to be like yup we've got the TV money now and will get the parachute payments on relegation. Let's strengthen a bit now but with the view of gaining promotion again once relegated.

Demesne Lad
12/08/2023, 3:41 PM
A mixed day so far for Sammie - missed a penalty in first half, scores two in the second.

Diggs246
15/08/2023, 3:34 PM
A mixed day so far for Sammie - missed a penalty in first half, scores two in the second.

Is that not a good day at the office! ?

Demesne Lad
15/08/2023, 3:57 PM
Is that not a good day at the office! ?

I forgot to mention that - after the penalty miss - Sammie, from a LWB position, passed the ball inside, straight to an opponent who scored. Szmodics also got booked in the first half and admitted after the game that he was not very happy at the interval. Fair play to him for pulling himself together and making amends.

JR89
16/09/2023, 3:25 PM
Has two goals to his name so far today.

third policeman
16/09/2023, 3:31 PM
Has two goals to his name so far today.

Yet clearly not good enough to force his way into an Ireland squad boasting a superfluity of world class midfield talent.

Trequartista20
16/09/2023, 5:19 PM
It defies all understanding how Kenny can continually overlook Szmodics' claims to a place in the squad. You'd have thought he was exactly the kind of midfield player the team is crying out for.

If nothing else, the Ireland manager should, as a minimum requirement, pick the best players available to him.

mark12345
16/09/2023, 6:28 PM
It defies all understanding how Kenny can continually overlook Szmodics' claims to a place in the squad. You'd have thought he was exactly the kind of midfield player the team is crying out for.

If nothing else, the Ireland manager should, as a minimum requirement, pick the best players available to him.

How dare you suggest that Szmodics is more deserving of a place in the squad before Jimmy Jeff Hendrick.

Trequartista20
16/09/2023, 7:07 PM
Maybe Kenny feels Szmodics is too much of a risk at international level. He's looking for someone who's been there and done that.

He needs the Jeffy Hendrick experience.

elatedscum
16/09/2023, 7:57 PM
Let’s not be disingenuous - Szmodzics is competing with Smallbone, Knight and maybe McGrath for a place.

16/09/2023, 8:09 PM
Horses for courses, I think he’s probably more competing with the likes of McGrath and to some degree Smallbone. I’d absolutely have him ahead of McGrath (who doesn’t let us down but doesn’t do much either - a Kenny favourite without doubt) and don’t think Hendrick has much of a future left in an Irish shirt.

16/09/2023, 8:11 PM
Let’s not be disingenuous - Szmodzics is competing with Smallbone, Knight and maybe McGrath for a place.

Sorry - had left my post sitting unposted and didn’t see this when I went back to it. Agree completely.

Crosby87
16/09/2023, 8:44 PM
He completed many passes today.

Paddy Garcia
16/09/2023, 10:37 PM

McGrath, should not be in contention. Szmodics tearing it up & offering something different

Olé Olé
17/09/2023, 6:19 AM
Horses for courses, I think he’s probably more competing with the likes of McGrath and to some degree Smallbone. I’d absolutely have him ahead of McGrath (who doesn’t let us down but doesn’t do much either - a Kenny favourite without doubt) and don’t think Hendrick has much of a future left in an Irish shirt.

I thought McGrath let us down against Netherlands. Portugal and Serbia where he could tuck in and then had a little space on the counter were times he has done okay. When the Dutch sat in and we were chasing the game, he was very exposed. There was one stage where he was played through and he didn't have the speed of feet or mind to take the ball with him to create the scoring chance.

In fairness, that is a high bar i.e. chasing a goal against the Dutch and one could say that the expectation is unrealistic but I thought there were another few times where he miscontrolled the ball or couldn't find a pass and he was just exposed in a way that Knight and Browne and other players were not in similar situations on the night.

Jolly Red Giant
17/09/2023, 2:25 PM
Szmodzics was impressive yesterday - zero reason for him not to be picked.

17/09/2023, 2:36 PM
I thought McGrath let us down against Netherlands. Portugal and Serbia where he could tuck in and then had a little space on the counter were times he has done okay. When the Dutch sat in and we were chasing the game, he was very exposed. There was one stage where he was played through and he didn't have the speed of feet or mind to take the ball with him to create the scoring chance.

In fairness, that is a high bar i.e. chasing a goal against the Dutch and one could say that the expectation is unrealistic but I thought there were another few times where he miscontrolled the ball or couldn't find a pass and he was just exposed in a way that Knight and Browne and other players were not in similar situations on the night.

No, I agree with you and more or less would see it the same in terms of what he contributes or doesn’t. Just a difference, maybe, in what it means to let the team down. He’s functional but not what is needed in that position. In his defence I think he does usually tend to his defensive duties pretty well and I thought he actually had one of his better games against Portugal.

Szmodics would appear to add a lot more dynamism to the position and a more credible goal threat. He’s playing at a way higher level too so his omission from squads is pretty boggling. Must be something else to it? The biggest thing against Szmodics is that we just don’t know if he truly is the answer but that is only because Kenny hasn’t taken a look. It’s weird.

ontheotherhand
17/09/2023, 3:04 PM
Weirder still as Kenny has actually called him up before. So he clearly wanted to have a look before the shoulder and passport issues.

Very strange given his form and our lack of creativity in midfield, particularly with Johnston out.

tommy_c12000
18/09/2023, 2:46 AM
I’ll hold my hand up and say I’ve never watched him play apart from highlights. Never excited me for some reason. Perhaps if he keeps going like this over the season I’ll watch a couple of his games… don’t think he will make or break Irelands international future despite the Twitter maniacs

ontheotherhand
18/09/2023, 3:00 AM
I’ll hold my hand up and say I’ve never watched him play apart from highlights. Never excited me for some reason. Perhaps if he keeps going like this over the season I’ll watch a couple of his games… don’t think he will make or break Irelands international future despite the Twitter maniacs

Ah it's always good to have one player who the manager should pick but doesn't. Sammie would have dominated the French.

third policeman
23/09/2023, 3:32 PM
Scores again.

23/09/2023, 3:33 PM
Gets the equalizer for Blackburn away to Ipswich. 5th league goal of the season I reckon.

Trequartista20
24/09/2023, 3:22 PM
Gets the equalizer for Blackburn away to Ipswich. 5th league goal of the season I reckon.

Excellent goal it was too.

Paddy Garcia
25/09/2023, 7:37 AM
My concern is that Kenny is so committed to defending his performance and selections, he is not open to admitting mistakes and therefore open to learning and improvement. Its not even a mistake, rather a decision at that point in time. All manangers make mistakes.

On that basis, I fear Kenny will be more focused on developing his narrative for not selecting Sammie , as opposed to making a change and it not being an issue. Having said that many of us were surprised at his ommission for the last squad.

25/09/2023, 8:45 AM
Is he actually eligible to play for us? He was called-up for the Andorra/ Hungary games in May 2021 with an apparent injury ruling him out. It has since transpired his paperwork wasn't in order with the Lancashire Telegraph reporting in March 2023 that he is finally eligible to play but with no direct quotes from the player or the FAI (https://www.lancashiretelegraph.co.uk/sport/23370184.blackburn-rovers-sam-szmodics-receives-international-eligibility/)

third policeman
01/10/2023, 12:19 PM
Another goal today against Leicester. Currently 2 - 1 down but Moran again looking class.

Trequartista20
01/10/2023, 12:53 PM
Playing as a striker it seems.

tommy_c12000
01/10/2023, 3:37 PM
The more I see of Moran the more impressed I am. Taking to senior football well. Classy classy player, forget about your Azazs, Crowleys, Johnstons etc…this is the exact creative youngster that we need to introduce to our senior team in the upcoming dead rubbers, massive ceiling

third policeman
01/10/2023, 6:55 PM
The more I see of Moran the more impressed I am. Taking to senior football well. Classy classy player, forget about your Azazs, Crowleys, Johnstons etc…this is the exact creative youngster that we need to introduce to our senior team in the upcoming dead rubbers, massive ceiling

Absolute quality player. We just need a manager capable of getting the best out of his talent.

liamoo11
01/10/2023, 9:39 PM

Tommy I'm glad to see you hadn't forgotten about Crowley

Razors left peg
02/10/2023, 4:46 PM

Agree he should be brought into Greek game, but dont dismiss Azaz and Johnston by mentioning them in the same breath a Crowley :)

Blackburn are a strange team, they play good football but leave themselves wide open. Moran on Sunday was goodish, he was better in previous games I thought but his ability to take the ball in tight spaces and keep possession is brilliant and something that we dont have with any other player.

03/10/2023, 9:26 AM
I'm not sure they're mutually exclusive either. Why not Moran and Johnston?

Diggs246
03/10/2023, 9:56 AM
I'm not sure they're mutually exclusive either. Why not Moran and Johnston?

100% why not have Mickey on the left and either sammie or Moran as a ten behind Evan

03/10/2023, 10:04 AM
The U21s are playing Latvia on the 13th, the same day we play Greece - a win in that game would put us top of the group because Norway aren't playing until the 17th, against Italy.
However, the U21s have no qualifier on the 17th, and I don't know if there's a friendly arranged for that date, so it's possible some players will be called into the squad to face Gibraltar on the 16th.

Diggs246
07/10/2023, 4:00 PM
An assist and a goal today!

05/11/2023, 11:34 AM

JR89
05/11/2023, 11:40 AM
That's his 8th league goal of the season and he's joint second in the championship for goals scored.

seanfhear
05/11/2023, 11:42 AM
Duffy almost made an effective interception ~ But it all went wrong.

I think Duffy is an old fashioned centre-back from a time that doesn't seem to exist anymore.

05/11/2023, 12:08 PM
Scores again; 3-0

You wonder can the Norwich manager survive this. Since the start of March, Norwich's record is 7-6-14. 27 points from 27 games - relegation form really.

joey B
05/11/2023, 12:09 PM
Second goal for him ,tap in at the back post…

JR89
05/11/2023, 12:10 PM
Moran with another lovely assist for the goal too.

05/11/2023, 12:11 PM
Moran with a beautiful cushioned assist. He had an assist for their second goal too.

seanfhear
05/11/2023, 12:17 PM
Is Gareth Southgate after Moran yet ? (wink)

JR89
05/11/2023, 12:50 PM

JR89
10/11/2023, 8:09 PM
Moran and Szmodics link up once again and that's his tenth league goal and makes him top scorer in the league.

JR89
10/11/2023, 8:35 PM

Moran's three assists in the league so far have been for Szmodics last three goals.

JR89
25/11/2023, 4:23 PM
His 11th goal of the season and puts him back on top as the championships leading goal scorer.