Friday 6th (All 19:45)

Cobh v Galway
Bray v Waterford
Athlone v Cork

Saturday 7th

Longford v Wexford 19:30

sbgawa
03/05/2022, 1:07 PM
With the 4 European qualified clubs playing Monday as well as Friday (good idea) another chance for movement at the top with 6 points all to be played for over the weekend before Friday Weeks Top two clash.
Bohs crises has eased with the win over UCD but Derry represent another chance for the 008 out brigade to come to the fore , alternatively they get a result and its put to bed for a while. Shels must be due a home win and Sligo despite two recent draws against Rovers didnt look like they were great to me.

The first division match between Bray and Waterford should be interesting , Devo was taking photos in the video of the crowd so i assume he will be looking to have a bunch of their fans banned .....mad stuff he should just move upstairs at this point before Bray turn into Athlone with more fans outside than inside. The merger between the clubs has been a disaster with nobody happy and some of the mistakes were avoidable.
On the pitch the 4 matches look predictable , Longford badly need a win over a Wexford side which has a bit about them.

The Bowler
05/05/2022, 9:53 AM
Pressure ramping up on Devo at Bray, a loss at home to Waterford and the natives will be further calling for his head on a plate. Personally think its time for him to step aside, but that will only work if he leaves. If he moves 'upstairs' that will be even worse, as he has shown in the past at Cabo that he can't let go. Personally, think Collie ONeill would be perfect for Bray, but can't happen while Devo is anywhere near the show, that went bad at Cabo when Collie went onto the coaching ticket. Think the UCD slide will continue this week, only a month or so left with Whelan and Kerrigan around, and in classic UCD cycle both look like the heads are elsewhere already. Word is that Myler lost the dressing room months ago, so he's surely on borrowed time despite being an insider. Dundalk hitting form so cant see UCD getting anything there. Both Prem and 1st Divisions will have a more balanced league next year, with Cork back where the league needs them and if Galway manage to get out of their own way in the playoffs....far from certain based in the last two seasons playing Caulfield ball.

joey B
05/05/2022, 10:15 AM
Pressure ramping up on Devo at Bray, a loss at home to Waterford and the natives will be further calling for his head on a plate. Personally think its time for him to step aside, but that will only work if he leaves. If he moves 'upstairs' that will be even worse, as he has shown in the past at Cabo that he can't let go. Personally, think Collie ONeill would be perfect for Bray, but can't happen while Devo is anywhere near the show, that went bad at Cabo when Collie went onto the coaching ticket. Think the UCD slide will continue this week, only a month or so left with Whelan and Kerrigan around, and in classic UCD cycle both look like the heads are elsewhere already. Word is that Myler lost the dressing room months ago, so he's surely on borrowed time despite being an insider. Dundalk hitting form so cant see UCD getting anything there. Both Prem and 1st Divisions will have a more balanced league next year, with Cork back where the league needs them and if Galway manage to get out of their own way in the playoffs....far from certain based in the last two seasons playing Caulfield ball.

Is Jack Keaney off in the summer aswell?

05/05/2022, 10:20 AM
He was announced as team captain at the start of the season, which would probably imply he has another year left in him. But not sure.

05/05/2022, 6:44 PM
Important for Pats to put in a performance against Drogheda, particularly with having to go to the Brandywell on Monday.

Glen Of Aherlow
06/05/2022, 7:54 AM
Important for Pats to put in a performance against Drogheda, particularly with having to go to the Brandywell on Monday.

Interesting to see what team / system Clancy goes with after last weeks debacle. Hope Ben McCormack is in midfield alongside Forrester and O'Reilly

sbgawa
06/05/2022, 9:39 AM
With the players getting the boost that the Management team are staying youd have to hope for a big performance today against Harps.
Can Bohs do us a favour?

06/05/2022, 11:09 AM
With the players getting the boost that the Management team are staying youd have to hope for a big performance today against Harps.
Can Bohs do us a favour?

Not sure what to think of Bohs this season, their results have been a bit all of the place. Fairly confident of us scoring against them though, and in truth, would be disappointed if we didn't win.

Is it Shel's time to get their first home win? Beat Sligo last time out. Drogs are a tasty price at home to Pat's, but you'd expect there must be some sort of a reaction to the lose in Richmond last week, mind.

nr637
06/05/2022, 11:47 AM
Why is there a set of Welsh match officials in charge of the Shamrock Rovers v Finn Harps Premier Division game in Tallaght on Friday night?

Is there some collaboration between both Associations or what!

Anyone in the know!

placid casual
06/05/2022, 12:46 PM
Thank the lord Rovers can return to such mundane matters after a week of turmoil. Should be a decent game tonight against Harps but I'd expect 3 points. We need to beat Sligo on Monday which will lead into a massive game against Derry on Friday - I'd assume Derry will dispatch bohs & pats in the meantime.

joey B
06/05/2022, 7:31 PM
We might concede 6 or 7 here….

wexfordned
06/05/2022, 7:42 PM
Lump on Derry to beat Bohs. Based on the farcical penalty decision in Derry tonight (even by moronic LOI ref standards) the fix is in and there's no way Derry don't get the 3 points with the incompetent/corrupt officials in charge

06/05/2022, 7:46 PM
Think a Harps fan got your login there :p

Boyle sent off for Dundalk; nice of him to even things up against his old side.

Doyle also kindly tried to make a mess of his goal but we deflected it in for him

06/05/2022, 8:06 PM
Interesting to see what team / system Clancy goes with after last weeks debacle. Hope Ben McCormack is in midfield alongside Forrester and O'Reilly

Well, you got our wish. Think we’ve been ok, without being great.

Terrible penalty decision in Derry.

sidewayspasser
06/05/2022, 8:42 PM
City VERY lucky to get three points in Athlone.

Shinkicker
06/05/2022, 8:49 PM
Absolute shocking decision

Shinkicker
06/05/2022, 8:53 PM
Have to say Derry are good at what they do long diagonal ball every time. If you stop the pass or squeeze the receiving player you will stop them. Very predictable for the money they spent. If every tean catches on they will take points of them

joey B
06/05/2022, 8:56 PM
Blessed to only concede 3 tonight,in fairness we put a decent shift in defensively in the second half when the game was over,Rovers are too good for us unfortunately...

Calcio Jack
06/05/2022, 9:16 PM
Blessed to only concede 3 tonight,in fairness we put a decent shift in defensively in the second half when the game was over,Rovers are too good for us unfortunately...

Can’t believe we didn’t score at least 6- some great defending , luck and poor finishing by us but overall the quality of our play was at times sensational even allowing for us making 5 changes by 60 th minute- but you hung in and Ollie non stop arguing with the 4th official even when decisions were in your favour was worth the admission alone

06/05/2022, 9:39 PM
Nice to get a not-a-defeat thing tonight. Had forgotten what they're like.

We're actually half decent at home, but wojus away, which isn't ideal with trips to Shels and Harps coming up.

Dundalk are very very ordinary, even when they had 11 on the pitch. Don't know how they've only lost twice this season

Kingswood Rover
06/05/2022, 10:05 PM
Rovers were excellent this evening how they only scored 3 goals i will never know i would say the Harps keepers Gloves will have surgically removed as they must be baked into his hands from the amount of shots they stopped. I have seen every game Rovers have played this season and the only one in which they should have been beaten was the presidents cup final. They do however need to get better at is putting teams away that they are so obviously better than.

2 Year Contract
06/05/2022, 10:36 PM
A million miles better from Pats tonight. Drogheda back 4 couldn’t cope with the front 3 of King, Doyle and Burns. 16 year old Sam Curtis was excellent at right back on his first start and Kyle Robinson with a goal on his league debut with his first touch, happy days!

thebronze14
06/05/2022, 10:38 PM
Safe to say we were beaten off the park there. Could/should have been 8. More than a suspicion of offside with a couple of them but credit were credits due shams were brilliant tonight. Some of their play was great to watch. Gaffney was brilliant in the first half, we had no idea how to handle him or mandroiu in particular. Thankfully poor finishing/good keeping and last ditch defending kept the score respectable. It's all about next week for us though

oriel
06/05/2022, 10:42 PM

We're actually half decent at home, but wojus away, which isn't ideal with trips to Shels and Harps coming up.

Dundalk are very very ordinary, even when they had 11 on the pitch. Don't know how they've only lost twice this season

That was Dundalk's worst performance of the season by a margin tonight, dreadful all over the park, not even sure we deserved to be 2-0 up either, shocking display and just about deserved a draw.

2 Year Contract
06/05/2022, 10:49 PM
That was Dundalk's worst performance of the season by a margin tonight, dreadful all over the park, not even sure we deserved to be 2-0 up either, shocking display and just about deserved a draw.
Mackey out?

patrickccfc
07/05/2022, 12:12 AM
Absolute muck from us tonight. Should've been beaten by a very poor Athlone side. On the flip side, winning a match that you definitely are undeserving of is definitely a good sign.

Jd2793
07/05/2022, 5:37 AM
Absolute muck from us tonight. Should've been beaten by a very poor Athlone side. On the flip side, winning a match that you definitely are undeserving of is definitely a good sign.

we've said that a bit too much since wexford away. big improvement needed , very hard to see performances like that keeping us top of the table.

trevy
07/05/2022, 5:41 AM
Comfortable win for Waterford over a poor Bray side at the Carlisle Grounds. Phoenix Patterson got a great goal to liven up the game after a slow start. Shane Griffin made it 2 midway through 2nd half and looked game over as Wanderers didn't threaten much. Bray got 1 back with a header from corner to make it a bit nervy but 2 similar well taken goals from Louis Britton made the game safe. Good away support there.

The Bowler
07/05/2022, 7:45 AM

Whelan looked razor sharp tonight, first goal was really excellent, when he gets into a team that isn't lumping long balls at him and gets decent service, he's going to be the real deal. Unfortunately for the students, only 4 games left for him and Kerrigan, and they could go pointless fir the entire season when are gone. Poor Dara Keane looks like he came off injured first game back having shown how much he has been missed in the 1st half. Still looked shaky as hell at the back. Yoro has got plaudits early season for no obvious reason, got caught badly for the pen and just kicks it away every time he gets it, he was awful at 19s, quite the mystery why some people think he's good, he's a very poor defender. For all Dundalk weren't great, think they'd have held on comfortably with 11 men.

07/05/2022, 7:53 AM
I don't think it's fair to say Yoro just kicks the ball away every time it comes near him.

Sometimes he fresh-air kicks too.

Antrim bob
07/05/2022, 7:58 AM
Two first half bookings for bohs players and no cards for Derry players for similar if not worse fouls, but the chips and battered sausages were good

DCSIL
07/05/2022, 9:01 AM
Listened on Radio, Struggled to get into the game. Seen the Peno, dubious but we will take it. Another hard game on Monday, not convinced that 4-0 down in Inchicore is something to go by.

2 Year Contract
07/05/2022, 9:26 AM
Listened on Radio, Struggled to get into the game. Seen the Peno, dubious but we will take it. Another hard game on Monday, not convinced that 4-0 down in Inchicore is something to go by.

I still think yous will get the win on Monday night but last nights performance from Pats was chalk and cheese to the previous week against Derry. A lot will depend on which Pats show up

sbgawa
07/05/2022, 10:51 AM
Felt sorry for Aidomo Harps keeper pulled off a super save to deny him and then smashes one off the inside of the post which i was up celebrating before realising it had come back out. Looked incredibly sharp hopefully we will see a lot more of him.
Should be 7 wins in a row except for the stupid draw in Sligo where we should have been 2 or 3 up before they equalised.
If we can keep rolling like this we look very good. Two huge games now , Monday chance to put things right against Sligo and then a massive 6 pointer against Derry

total hoofball
07/05/2022, 1:44 PM
Big improvement in performance from Shels last night to get a much needed win at Tolka, I think we have found our best starting XI now

Quite confusing to see how poor Sligo have been in both games against us after them looking ok against Rovers on the TV last week and how good Harps were against us, but Sligo are above both us and Harps in the table, alot more unpredictability in the Premier Division this season which is only good

07/05/2022, 2:47 PM
A million miles better from Pats tonight. Drogheda back 4 couldn’t cope with the front 3 of King, Doyle and Burns. 16 year old Sam Curtis was excellent at right back on his first start and Kyle Robinson with a goal on his league debut with his first touch, happy days!

Great to see Kyle Robinson score with his first touch. What I liked was his confidence in making the run and pointing to where he wanted the ball.

Glen Of Aherlow
07/05/2022, 4:11 PM
Well, you got our wish. Think we’ve been ok, without being great.

Terrible penalty decision in Derry.

Lot happier with that display

09/05/2022, 9:07 AM

We were very poor in the first half, Bohs dominated and for large parts, we couldn't get out of our own half.
Lucky to get in at HT level. Thought it was a penalty at the time, but having seen the replay, well, were we fortunate to get it.

Played a lot better in the second half, but the goal just wouldn't come. As we've said before, we need to be more clinical.

Both teams had chances to win the game, and a draw was a fair enough result. Decent sized crowd up from Dublin for it. Fair play to the Bohs fans.

Can't imagine we'll be winning by four against Pat's again tonight, but will be interesting to see how it's approached.

Multi-Quote This Message

sbgawa
09/05/2022, 3:40 PM
Looking forward to tonight, Can Sligo take points off us for the third time ??? If they do we may have to get a exorcist in as we are cursed against them this season.
I fancy Pats to get something tonight , pride alone must make it a match they will be desperate to give a good showing in after the debacle in Richmond.
Great idea pulling these matches forward for the teams playing in Europe and with all 4 playing each other again next Friday (Rovers/Derry, Pats/Sligo) there is a big chance for teams to get their heads out in front.

Jd2793
09/05/2022, 6:22 PM
got a lot of time for tim clancy , really loves trolling pats fans

Jack B
09/05/2022, 7:20 PM
I don't know what Ben McCormack has done to Tim Clancy but it must be horrifically bad to justify this.

joey B
09/05/2022, 7:25 PM
I don't know what Ben McCormack has done to Tim Clancy but it must be horrifically bad to justify this.

At least your U19s got a 30 goal a season striker 😀!!

Jack B
09/05/2022, 7:48 PM
At least your U19s got a 30 goal a season striker 😀!!

Haha was only saying yesterday to someone that I get a laugh every time Pats post an academy update at the moment as it seems to be a Tunde hat trick every other game. I'm sure that's exactly what he was expecting when he signed for us.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
09/05/2022, 7:49 PM
Shams have the gale for the second half so can only see one result here

joey B
09/05/2022, 8:11 PM
Haha was only saying yesterday to someone that I get a laugh every time Pats post an academy update at the moment as it seems to be a Tunde hat trick every other game. I'm sure that's exactly what he was expecting when he signed for us.

Yeah he seems well down the pecking order for youse now,young Robinson now ahead of him aswell…

joey B
09/05/2022, 8:31 PM
14 minute hat trick for Graham Burke of the bench…

09/05/2022, 8:33 PM

I actually would have been tempted to use Tunde tonight. With the way we’ve approached the game it might have suited him. We’ve only gotten into the game since Darragh Burns came on. Great chance for Forrestor to nick it.

Jd2793
09/05/2022, 8:36 PM
robinson on for mdoyle when mccormack is sitting on the bench. its hard to see much of a future there for the kid if this is where he is in the pecking order. send him down to cork please

Jack B
09/05/2022, 8:40 PM
Phone the police, there's been a robbery in Derry.

Think we'd be better off just playing our U19s at this stage because that's where our best performers are from.