View Full Version : Rovers "fans"

23/07/2005, 2:53 PM
http://www.eveningecho.ie/pdf/back.pdf

Passive
23/07/2005, 3:19 PM
My God, don't think I've ever read a worse piece of writing in my life.

For those who can't open the file, the article claims that Rovers were "back to their old tricks" in leaving "a trail of havoc" in two pubs, the Tory Top and the Horse Shoe House. The article goes on to give, well, no evidence and no examples of any "havoc".

Maybe the author had proof but just ran out of space after he decided to go on the following rant:

"It looks as if Rovers, already deducted eight points, will be relegated at the end of the season and certainly clubs like Cork and Bohemians will rest easier if they are demoted. These morons who repeatedly cause trouble on their sojurns to Cork and elsewhere should be ashamed of themselves at a time when the very survival of their club is at risk".

I can't believe any journalist would editorialise a back page article to this degree. Bizarre, even by the standards of irrelevant bogger papers.

The Evening Echo have that article on file, they print it almost word for word every time Rovers are in town. The Echo is the embodiment of Cork's inferiority complex.

An incidentally, using the word "sojurns" doesn't make you the European capital of culture.

23/07/2005, 3:20 PM

seems if you point out to Rovers fans what they got uptp last night they dont like it......

fascism is alive and well on the Ultras Board!

i always thought Rovers fans were a decent bunch with a few bad apples but there was a load of them causing trouble around Turners Cross last night.

Considering the plight thet find themselves in you'd think people would try and do something.

and now they own the Club!!! god help us! I pity the first division clubs next year!

23/07/2005, 3:23 PM
The Echo is the embodiment of Cork's inferiority complex.

A Corkman with an inferiority complex thinks he's only as good as everyone else! We are clearly the master race.

As for Rovers fans.........You'd think they'd concentrate on saving their club

joeraki
23/07/2005, 3:27 PM
The standard Rovers punchline of innocent women and children blah blah blah isn't in it !!! Whats going on :(

Ringy
23/07/2005, 4:14 PM
I know rovers fans try to act like big men but trying to pick fights with fellas no older than 14 last night what cowards, reminds me of what loyalists done to schoolgirls in the north a few years ago.

23/07/2005, 4:24 PM
The Echo is the Cork version of the Herald. Not exactly noted for its journalism.

I've no idea what went on last night but the Echo doesn't specify anything. From that article can see 1 fan (unknown affiliation) being escorted from the ground. Damage in the pubs could be anything from 1 glass broken to total destruction.

joeraki
23/07/2005, 5:29 PM
reminds me of what loyalists done to schoolgirls in the north a few years ago.

There used pipebombs as well last night ?? I knew it :( Kick Rovers out of the league before they have the know how to build a nuke. Its only a matter of time people !!

23/07/2005, 5:38 PM
Omfg!!!!!

Quick - Blame The gardaí!!!!!

23/07/2005, 6:03 PM
What I found hilarious was the way the Rovers fans were gesturing and throwing stuff at people in the St Annes end but didn't come near the Shed or the Corner boys!

There wasn't really any serious hassle at the match. That's just Spillane talking sh!t in the Echo as usual. The worst that happened is that a few bottles were thrown into the Rovers section from the St Annes end, Rovers fans then threw a few stuff back and for the rest of the game there was just a load of shapes being thrown by both sides.
I think one Rovers fans was thrown out and I was told that 2 City fans were arrested.

I didn't see what happened in the pubs but heard that Rovers fans were fighting with each other in the Tory Top. There weren't any Rovers fans allowed in the Horseshoe so don't see how they could have caused trouble there.

All in all there was a good atmosphere at the game. It was the only decent away support we'd seen at the Cross this season, not as much as we bring to most of our away games but still more than anyone else has managed to bring to Cork recently.

23/07/2005, 6:36 PM
Don't mind the Echo.
I can't comment on anything that might have happened outside the ground, but I thought the fans were great within the ground.
Biggest & Best away fans at the cross this season, they put every other club to shame, especially the big pub and their ludicrous claims about their travelling support. (The only other club to bring any decent fans are Derry, but their numbers are restricted by the distance)

Fair play to the team and Roddy as well, at least he puts out a team to try to get points and play football. You'd never fall asleep at a Rovers game.......

Fair play Rovers, I hope you stay up, because there are no games like Rovers game for atmosphere.

Billy Lord
23/07/2005, 8:59 PM
Beyond boredom with this nonsense. For the record, the row in the pub (The Tory Top, wher we're always made very welcome) was two young fans having a very brief encounter. I was standing at the bar at the time and it was over in less than five seconds, otherwise I'd have walloped both of them with my crutch and told them to cop-on.
No doubt Spillane didn't hear about the group of Rovers fans who stopped and stood silently at the roadside outside the Tory Top in respect for a funeral cortege, and gave a round of applause when it had passed.
We're not looking for medals, but the occasional ounce of truth would be a first, although patsh's post is good enough for me.

terry9
24/07/2005, 1:08 AM

typical cork sh!te.. :rolleyes:

24/07/2005, 2:55 AM
typical cork sh!te.. :rolleyes:

i thin we'd all appreciate if you did not equate noel spillane with Cork

24/07/2005, 2:57 AM
stood silently at the roadside outside the Tory Top in respect for a funeral cortege, and gave a round of applause when it had passed.

i agree with the post but this bit got me; is applauding herses a dublin thing?

24/07/2005, 12:16 PM
Two teenagers were shaping up to each other in a standoff that lasted all of 2 seconds, hardly "wreaking havoc" or up to their old tricks. They didn't even raise their handbags.

Yeah, I accept that. I'd take your word over Spillane's anyway!!

24/07/2005, 8:16 PM
The fan in the picture is a cork fan.

How can you tell that, or are you talking about the one who isnt being held by the cop? :confused:

24/07/2005, 8:23 PM
Its a well known fact that Noel Spillane's word isn't worth ****. He bases his "stories" on hearsay and rumour, and its not the first time he's been found out. There's enough bad publicity in the league without this kind of thing going on- SRFC should demand an apology from the Echo.

24/07/2005, 9:23 PM
Because he was sitting in the St Annes end throwing coins at us.

Yer man was defo a Cork City fan, I was sitting up in the St. Annes and saw him being lead out, he didnt take to kindly to it either

Much a do about nothing really. Rovers fans came to the Cross in numbers that put everyone else to shame and unlike the Bohs fans at the last game actually made some noise. The only hassle started when City scored some brave City fans threw bottles at the Rovers fans. Some of the said bottles were returned with interest by equally brave Rovers fans. All over in 30 seconds.

As for Spillane:rolleyes: I was at the Horseshoe and Torytop after the game and there was no scenes of destruction, no sign of old Spillage either.

I hope the Rovers fans complain about Spillage, City fans have complained for long enough about him

24/07/2005, 9:25 PM
Yer man was defo a Cork fan, I was sitting up in the St. Annes and saw him being lead out, he didnt take to kindly to it either

Much a do about nothing really. Rovers fans came to the Cross in numbers that put everyone else to shame and unlike the Bohs fans at the last game actually made some noise. The only hassle started when City scored some brave City fans threw bottles at the Rovers fans. Some of the said bottles were returned with interest by equally brave Rovers fans. All over in 30 seconds.

As for Spillane:rolleyes: I was at the Horseshoe and Torytop after the game and there was no scenes of destruction, no sign of old Spillage either.

I hope the Rovers fans complain about Spillage, City fans have complained for long enough about himSpillane should be hung out to dry for this. He keeps getting away with printing stuff that is borderline factual or based on rumour and hearsay- this time he's been nicked and I hope he pays for it.

Billy Lord
24/07/2005, 11:33 PM
Fair play to the Cork City fans who are not making mileage from the Echo bull. At this stage I hope yiz win the league. Not lying/spoofing about Rovers fans being nutters is a big plus in my book. We had a grand time on Friday (bar the result, of course) and were treated well by all and sundry (fans, cops, stewards) rather than being branded as instant criminals.
Cheers for setting a standard that others should follow. If every away trip went as well we'd easily double our numbers on the road, because it's not about the result but whether the trip can be predetermined as enjoyable.
Respect.

thomas
25/07/2005, 12:15 PM
How can you tell that, or are you talking about the one who isnt being held by the cop? :confused:

Yer man was being led away from the terrace behind the goal (opposite end to the shed) He threw a bottle at the rovers fans.

Btw the corner boys thing is laughable, all the rovers fans walked past the "corner" on the way into the ground and not a peep. Same after the game.

25/07/2005, 12:21 PM
Fair play to the Cork City fans who are not making mileage from the Echo bull. At this stage I hope yiz win the league. Not lying/spoofing about Rovers fans being nutters is a big plus in my book. We had a grand time on Friday (bar the result, of course) and were treated well by all and sundry (fans, cops, stewards) rather than being branded as instant criminals.
Cheers for setting a standard that others should follow. If every away trip went as well we'd easily double our numbers on the road, because it's not about the result but whether the trip can be predetermined as enjoyable.
Respect.
Yez hardly have to travel on Sunday and it oughta be an enjoyable trip. ;) :D

I don't know why but I'm really looking forward to this game......

Rover 2 U
25/07/2005, 12:24 PM
Are the darts still out southside at the weekends?

25/07/2005, 12:26 PM
Yer man was defo a Cork City fan, I was sitting up in the St. Annes and saw him being lead out, he didnt take to kindly to it either

I hope the Rovers fans complain about Spillage, City fans have complained for long enough about him

Fair play for telling the truth. You've no chance of being a journo! Players and fans stayed over and there was no trouble. Was in the tavern before and the evergreen after with no problems. Cops even helped take down flag after game. Honestly you would add numbers to the gate if crap like this wasnt printed.........

25/07/2005, 12:31 PM
Yer man was being led away from the terrace behind the goal (opposite end to the shed) He threw a bottle at the rovers fans.

Btw the corner boys thing is laughable, all the rovers fans walked past the "corner" on the way into the ground and not a peep. Same after the game.
In fairness, you're asuming that the corner boys are some sort of hooligans- they're not. They just gave themselves a name to differentiate themselves from the Shed, thats all.

Clondalkin Hoop
25/07/2005, 12:35 PM

Not sure about the dart, but you can get the Number 45 bus from town.

Clondalkin Hoop
25/07/2005, 12:39 PM
There weren't any Rovers fans allowed in the Horseshoe so don't see how they could have caused trouble there..

Thats not true Colm. I was in the Horseshoe on Friday. There was around 10 Rovers fans there. No problem getting in. No trouble, had good chat with some Cark lads.

Only problem was there fascination with singing about Liam Coyle :confused:

25/07/2005, 12:45 PM
They're still having work done on the DART.

25/07/2005, 2:58 PM

I very much doubt ye were allowed to walk past the Corner boys.
They are in the Corner next to the Shed i.e. ye'd have had to walk past the corner and the shed in that case and if ye had then there most likely would have been trouble so I doubt very much if the security allowed that??

25/07/2005, 3:00 PM
There's a retraction in tomorrow's Echo. Fair play, even if Spillane's an idiot at least his boss is man enough to admit they were wrong. Can we expect apologies from the Rovers bashers on here?

25/07/2005, 3:03 PM
There's a retraction in tomorrow's Echo. proper order

harry crumb
25/07/2005, 8:24 PM
I texted the BRB to tell Spillane that I thought his article was a heep of total garbage.

Is it supposed to be a report of the match or his opinion. How can he refer to Rovers fans as "morons" even though they didnt do anything to warrant it.

kevinito
25/07/2005, 10:35 PM
I was in the Tory Top pub after the game and saw no incidents of trouble. Noel Spillane is a stupid man who knows very little about soccer. His articles are crap and his writing is rubbish.
Rovers fans gave their team magnificent support and sang their heartsout throughout the entire 90 minutes. Also they gave their team tremendous applause at the end of the game. Rovers fans have been through hell in the last 10 years and are doing wonders to keep the famous hoops alive.

26/07/2005, 12:28 AM
Rovers fans gave their team magnificent support and sang their heartsout throughout the entire 90 minutes. Also they gave their team tremendous applause at the end of the game. Rovers fans have been through hell in the last 10 years and are doing wonders to keep the famous hoops alive.

Agreed .... great support ... fair play to all involved.

Noel Spillane is a stupid man who knows very little about soccer. His articles are crap and his writing is rubbish.

Come'ere .... you dont know the half of it ..... the guy is a complete tool and been caught out loads of times.

You are actually doing really well to get the retraction ..... but for alot of people, the damage is done. You are paying for his inept journalism, the guy is a complete clown !!

26/07/2005, 4:06 AM
Its a well known fact that Noel Spillane's word isn't worth ****. He bases his "stories" on hearsay and rumour, and its not the first time he's been found out. There's enough bad publicity in the league without this kind of thing going on- SRFC should demand an apology from the Echo.

We're being victimised for no reason again. The problem is that his readers believe all that rumour and rumour sh-it. Nobody pays any attention to retractions or apologies, so the mud sticks, and all our fans get tarred with the same brush......again! :mad:

green-blood
26/07/2005, 12:27 PM
anyoe in the village see the echo taoday - retraction???

26/07/2005, 12:37 PM
What village is that? I'm going to pick up a copy shortly, I'll stick it up on the ultras site if there is a retraction, as promised

26/07/2005, 12:58 PM

Back page of the Echo- clarification on top right corner

26/07/2005, 1:40 PM
The text of the retraction:

In an article in Saturday’s Evening Echo it was reported that Shamrock Rovers fans left a trail of havoc in two southside Cork pubs before and after their match with Cork City in Turner’s Cross on Friday. Our reporter who attended the match received information to this effect from several sources which he took to be reliable. It has now transpired that this information was not correct. There were
no incidents in the pubs mentioned. Aftermatch quotes from Rovers’ manager Roddy Collins clearly did not relate to the incorrectly reported trouble. We are
happy to clarify the error.

Bald Student
26/07/2005, 2:15 PM
havoc in two southside Cork pubs before and after their match
Our reporter who attended the match received information to this effect from several sources which he took to be reliable
Aftermatch quotes from Rovers’ manager Roddy Collins
He claims he received information at the match including comments from Roddy which related to incidents which didn't happen untill after the match? He's clearly printing rubbish.

26/07/2005, 2:37 PM
He's clearly printing rubbish.
NOTHING new about that...:rolleyes:

Juz the Hoop
26/07/2005, 3:11 PM
Wow an apology. But it was correct to do so.

I notice no Bohs fans or the ICBINHFEF bitter boy Ringo has commented on this :D

JUZ

Passive
26/07/2005, 3:22 PM
I presume Pablo will be man enough to admit he got it wrong too.

bigmac
26/07/2005, 3:56 PM
We're being victimised for no reason again. The problem is that his readers believe all that rumour and rumour sh-it. Nobody pays any attention to retractions or apologies, so the mud sticks, and all our fans get tarred with the same brush......again! :mad:

The mud only sticks because some people want to believe it. I'm delighted that a retraction was published but I don't think it'll do any good in the long run as you say. Spillane clearly has an audience of EL knockers that he writes for, probably the same people who consider Liverpool/Man U winning the Champions League as the highlight of their lives. Anyone who doesn't attend EL games should be barred from writing about it :mad: