View Full Version : Weekend games 29th April to Monday 2nd May

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Finlay Harp
30/04/2022, 11:50 AM
Harps and Shelbourne was a poor enough affair settled by a great strike from McNamee. We’re ravaged by injuries and N’Zeyi getting taken off on a stretcher hasn’t helped our plight.

30/04/2022, 11:58 AM
A win is a win is a win. Finally getting a home win, a clean sheet, and all the while missing some very big players, it's a big positive to take from last night.

Injuries and suspensions taking their toll on an already very thin squad. Fingers crossed N'Zeyi won't be out for too long as he's been immense for us.

Good strike from McNamee and a perfectly good goal ruled out because Brendan Clarke told the referee it was handball. Hopefully we turn a corner and can go on a bit of a run from here.

total hoofball
30/04/2022, 2:59 PM
Grim performance from a bad Shels team last night, Harps not up to much either. One of those games that deserved a 0-0 but if you don't score any goals that is what can happen to you at this level with a nice strike by McNamee

I like Duff and most of the fans have his back we know he is in a tough job that he did not need to take on. I can see the way he would like to play football but he knows by now the squad assembled by many heads at club is mostly poor, they have underestimated the standard of the Premier Division and thought assembling any full-time squad would cut it. Expectations now are he will be backed to add some decent players in the July transfer window to ensure avoiding a relegation play-off following the recent investment into the club

ontheotherhand
30/04/2022, 3:05 PM
Few more negative incidents around the league last night, a couple of minutes after going 3-0 up Derry fans shot a firework during the match which actually ended up exploding closest to their own goalkeeper Brian Maher who looked over and gestured to the Derry fans with his arms out as if to say ‘cop the f on’.

Just seeing on twitter also that RTE had to remove one of their camera operators after Sligo fans threw a flare at shams fans over the head of the camera man: https://twitter.com/jamesotoole18/status/1520178116890615808?s=21&t=rGRvPbd-PlIu2TGXei07yQ

Something happened with Mannus as well but I didn't see what. Referee talked to both managers about it so I assume it's in the report.

We need to collectively get a hold of the flare situation before they are completed eradicated and/or someone gets hurt. I'm a fan of them and it's something we have that other leagues don't..but it's getting out of control. Fireworks are a different story for me and anyone using them should be brought straight to the guards but controlled use of flares should be possible. There's some awful clowns following clubs.

total hoofball
30/04/2022, 3:08 PM
Noticed Bray Wanderers/Cabinteely/Pat Devlin FC have only allowed selective replies on their twitter feed following their 7th game in a row without a win :)

30/04/2022, 6:11 PM
Noticed Bray Wanderers/Cabinteely/Pat Devlin FC have only allowed selective replies on their twitter feed following their 7th game in a row without a win :)

Their highlights were literally somebody recording a laptop screen with, presumably a phone in their hand. Nightmarishly amateur looking.

Nah Nah Nah Nah
30/04/2022, 6:53 PM
Something happened with Mannus as well but I didn't see what. Referee talked to both managers about it so I assume it's in the report.

We need to collectively get a hold of the flare situation before they are completed eradicated and/or someone gets hurt. I'm a fan of them and it's something we have that other leagues don't..but it's getting out of control. Fireworks are a different story for me and anyone using them should be brought straight to the guards but controlled use of flares should be possible. There's some awful clowns following clubs.

Hard to know with Mannus but looked like someone behind the goals said something to him as the linesman was inspecting the nets

Flares need to just be 100% barred. They cause more hassle then they’re worth. Absolute dopes from our side last night if that Twitter message is true. Cops should just stand in that section in between the fans.

D24Saint
30/04/2022, 6:53 PM
Their highlights were literally somebody recording a laptop screen with, presumably a phone in their hand. Nightmarishly amateur looking.

Thats amateur, our media lads do an amazing job in fairness to them.

placid casual
30/04/2022, 7:22 PM
What's the opposite of the aphorism "A rising tide lifts all boats"?
A sinking tide sinks all ships, perhaps.

Whatever it is, its that bray/cabo/devlin mess. A stain on LOI.

D24Saint
30/04/2022, 7:42 PM
Just seen the harps goal on instagram, cracking finish to win a game.

joey B
30/04/2022, 8:31 PM

Great for us to see McNamee off the mark,our most important player…

da bishop
30/04/2022, 9:24 PM
Some finish at the Markets Field last night.Treaty ,at the risk of repetition,duly did what they do ,eleven behind the ball in their own half waiting for the odd break,setpieces ,did the business with two Treaty type goals the first a brilliant finish by Dean George,Galway dominated most of the game huffed and puffed up top until Caulfield[his usual animated self] made 4 changes all at once and it must be said probably deserved all three points with the three goals all coming in final fifteen minutes,the first another cracker by Manning.Looked like a decent crowd and as usual when Treaty lose Tommy Bs interview to local radio was car crash stuff.

01/05/2022, 1:02 AM
Couldn't get up to sligo for the game so watched it on RTE. Hard to really tell from the TV but the pitch looked a bit of a leveller. Andy Lyons is really going from strength to strength in this Rovers team, and showing whats possible when you put him into a club demanding success.
Agree that Bradley should have made substitutions prior to sligo getting level - Rovers have never had that ruthless streak under Bradley, and to be fair to Derry they are showing why they are top of the league - A long, long way to go, of course, and the game in tallaght in a few weeks should be a belter.

Something we actually agree on PC. That said Rovers havent really needed that ruthless streak winning the league the last few years, but missed it in Europe. I think this is the first league challenge that not having a ruthless streak will be a problem. Really the league should be decided in the most by the head to head games v Derry. It's being efficient and effective against all the sides outside the top two that really there shouldnt be points dropped sloppily. Derry could have their rough patch yet but so far the just are playing with that freedom and swagger you associate with champions. Rovers have the players to do the same but seem almost dull in comparison to how Derry are performing.

placid casual
01/05/2022, 6:54 AM
Yeah cos losing at home to shels is playing like champions.. 🙄
Im not even remotely worried about Rovers not being champions, just pointing out that Rovers have never really been flat track bullies under Bradley. We've managed to be successful nonetheless.

01/05/2022, 11:53 AM
Yeah cos losing at home to shels is playing like champions.. 🙄
Im not even remotely worried about Rovers not being champions, just pointing out that Rovers have never really been flat track bullies under Bradley. We've managed to be successful nonetheless.

You are not worried about Rovers not being champions - thats a pity as all you'd have left is hating Dundalk and Bohs a bit PC. I think you have to acknowledge that a ruthless streak or being flat track bullies would be welcome addition to Bradley's side. It may not have been needed previously domestically but that wont always be the case. I'm not sure whether your air of 'meh' dismissiveness of this is arrogance, complacency, or simply not seeing that this season is the first real test of this Rovers league winning side's mettle and where going through the motions wont be enough.

Neish
01/05/2022, 1:27 PM
a perfectly good goal ruled out because Brendan Clarke told the referee it was handball. .

Its strange when Ollie Horgan does similar he tends to get yellow or red cards

Neish
01/05/2022, 1:29 PM

Great dummy by young Rudden just before it too, too a couple of the Shels back line out of the equation

sbgawa
01/05/2022, 3:05 PM
Something we actually agree on PC. That said Rovers havent really needed that ruthless streak winning the league the last few years, but missed it in Europe. I think this is the first league challenge that not having a ruthless streak will be a problem. Really the league should be decided in the most by the head to head games v Derry. It's being efficient and effective against all the sides outside the top two that really there shouldnt be points dropped sloppily. Derry could have their rough patch yet but so far the just are playing with that freedom and swagger you associate with champions. Rovers have the players to do the same but seem almost dull in comparison to how Derry are performing.
Have to say I am worried about not winning the league, how could I not be we are a third of the way through 3 points behind and already beaten by derry once....

Calcio Jack
01/05/2022, 3:49 PM
Have to say I am worried about not winning the league, how could I not be we are a third of the way through 3 points behind and already beaten by derry once....

I fully expect us to win it but I’m always worried until the league is won -

Asterix
01/05/2022, 5:11 PM
I think I was a bit more worried last year when we were third going into July. This year after 13 games being 3 points behind first and 6 ahead of third picking up 16/18 points in April is pretty good to me.

01/05/2022, 5:55 PM
I fully expect us to win it but I’m always worried until the league is won -

I don’t think Rovers fans can afford to be so confident about winning the league this year. Not to say you won’t, but Derry are really going to put it up to you this year. They did a number on us on Friday, the like of which I haven’t seen in a long while. Now maybe we were just really bad on the night (which we were) but Derry were outstanding.

The Bowler
01/05/2022, 6:38 PM
The new owner seems in thrall to Devo, but Devo ball isn't gonna bring them any progress, it's awful muck, and they need to get in someone progressive. They had Collie O'Neill in as a coach and he thru the towel in after less than a couple of months falling out with Devo. Bad and all as it was under ODriscoll, this doesn't represent progress on the pitch

placid casual
01/05/2022, 6:51 PM
It really was a surprising result on Friday Tony. Most would have expected a tight game with a goal in it one way or the other, but 4 nil at home was a statement victory certainly - I'm just not really convinced, at this moment in time, that derry will be able to sustain it. If there's a definitive result for either team in tallaght in a few weeks, similar to Fridays 4 nil victory, that would probably shape people's thinking about who is likely champions. Rovers dropping points away to sligo, on a pitch that suited neither team, is not going to be season defining, in my view anyway.

ontheotherhand
01/05/2022, 8:39 PM
Everytime I try to edit a post on my phone I delete it. It's like my phone is policing me.

I'm not that surprised by Derry leading the way even if I predicted they'd finish second. They had a decent team last year that went on a great run after Higgins arrived. They ran out of steam of course but then went and added some of the best talent in the league. Add in the local pride buzz and you've got a great mix there. I thought they'd take longer to gel but Higgins has done a great job so far. I also underestimated McGonigle. Looks like the best striker in the league by a distance now and that would sometimes be enough to challenge even if you didn't have Fats, Patching and the rest behind him. Add in Duffy and it's a stellar lineup. Overall they signed really well. The local angle was one thing but getting some of the best players in the league, some with a point to prove after the Dundalk ship sank was obvious but effective business.

If we win it will be down to either squad depth or Jack getting back to his 2019 levels. Squad depth might do it alone but Derry may just stay fit. Europe will be interesting. If Derry go out they will have an advantage in the league. If we stay in it will remove.our squad depth advantage to a degree. There's not much at all between the two best 11s. Few on either side would walk into the other team.

DCWA
02/05/2022, 1:05 AM
Not exactly sure how many times you all have to be told there was no good football teams in Ireland until Derry this year and now there is one? Please listen and thanks in advance to those who do.

Of course this means since Stephen Kenny’s Dundalk. Obviously we remain well behind that level as the greatest Irish club side ever, but the statement is intended in the context of today.

ontheotherhand
02/05/2022, 1:17 AM
You were really quiet while Derry lost to Shels at home.

DCWA
02/05/2022, 1:19 AM
You were really quiet while Derry lost to Shels at home.

Must have been busy, sorry. In the past now anyway let bygones be bygones.

ontheotherhand
02/05/2022, 1:22 AM
Must have been busy, sorry. In the past now anyway let bygones be bygones.

Ah no. What margin to Derry need to win by to prove that there are no good teams?

DCWA
02/05/2022, 1:31 AM
Ah no. What margin to Derry need to win by to prove that there are no good teams?

Correction - as previously stated there is one good team and they were mentioned in your post. They don’t even have to win to prove that.

ontheotherhand
02/05/2022, 1:43 AM
Screenshot.

joey B
02/05/2022, 2:56 PM
Big win for Waterford playing half the game with 10 men against Athlone….

kksaints
02/05/2022, 2:58 PM
Good few Devo out chants from the Bray fans here in Ferrycarrig. 1-1 at halftime.

joey B
02/05/2022, 3:05 PM
Good few Devo out chants from the Bray fans here in Ferrycarrig. 1-1 at halftime.

Is Devlin part of the ownership there?

The Bowler
02/05/2022, 4:09 PM
Bray cannot progress under Devo, time for him to move on, dinosaur football

02/05/2022, 4:19 PM
Jamie McGonigle there was a great piece on him in the Irish Sun today he and Ruaidrhi Higgins were teammates at Coleraine and even then McGonigle showed his class!

sbgawa
02/05/2022, 4:27 PM
Is Devlin part of the ownership there?

Yes so he's going nowhere except upstairs maybe

joey B
02/05/2022, 4:40 PM
Yes so he's going nowhere except upstairs maybe

He might be there quick enough

https://mobile.twitter.com/HayesPodge/status/1521160418923888641

joey B
02/05/2022, 5:26 PM
Cork just scored 3 goals in 3 minutes against Treaty!

trevy
02/05/2022, 5:49 PM
Waterford struggled to a 1 0 win v Athlone. Athlone had the better chances in first half so when Taylor was sent off for 2 yellows just before half time things were not looking good.
Athlone struck the crossbar in 2nd half but soon after Phoenix Patterson and Louis Britton combined for a nice goal from Britton. Waterford managed the rest of game well for a 2nd win in a row.

El-Pietro
02/05/2022, 6:25 PM
Cork just scored 3 goals in 3 minutes against Treaty!

Our 4-1 win against Longford on Friday flattered us somewhat. Not so today. Treaty are poor. I've seen them twice and they were two of the worst performances I've seen this season. Granted I wasn't at Bray for the 6-0.

First half was relatively even but we had a goal disallowed early on for what looks like a nothing foul in the build up and had a really good spell just before half time. Slow start to the second half before making a double change bringing in Bargary and Murphy for Doona and 17 year old Mark O'Mahony.
We immediately raised our game and it was very quickly over. The first goal was perhaps a little foruitous, a combination of a lucky bounce and poor goalkeeping allowed Keating to score but once it went in Treatys heads dropped and we took advantage.

This Cork City team is a lot of fun, it helps that they keep winning. All eyes are on the game in Galway at the end of the month.

sbgawa
02/05/2022, 6:26 PM

Thats not a good look alright, he needs to move up for himself as much as anything at this stage

2 Year Contract
02/05/2022, 6:26 PM

Longer video below, looks like a few objects were thrown at Devlin too

https://twitter.com/owene2220/status/1521163219410243586?s=21&t=hXOP3Gd1iK2m2Qk5HcyqBQ

total hoofball
02/05/2022, 6:49 PM
Bray instructed Wexford not to let in a bus full of Bray fans into the ground and they got in anyway. Not even mad aul' Denis O'Connor could top this crazy stuff

Crosshead
02/05/2022, 6:51 PM
Handy win for us today - was really surprised at what a poor crowd travelled from Limerick, I'd have thought a bank holiday 5pm KO would have been ideal for them

oriel
02/05/2022, 6:56 PM
I don’t think Rovers fans can afford to be so confident about winning the league this year. Not to say you won’t, but Derry are really going to put it up to you this year. They did a number on us on Friday, the like of which I haven’t seen in a long while. Now maybe we were just really bad on the night (which we were) but Derry were outstanding.

I would agree, plus Derry have the best striker in the country too in McGoingle, also P McEleney getting up to speed, but they were unlucky with Michael Duffy's long term injury, I think it will be neck and neck with Derry and Rovers.

oriel
02/05/2022, 7:05 PM
Good god that was as bad a home performance I’ve seen in a very long time. The performance on the bench and from the lads on the pitch was horrendous. Where do we go from here , haven’t a clue right now.

Pats may still finish ahead of Dundalk, but even though they lost loads of players I still thought they had a more settled squad to us. That said I think Clancy is overrated, did a ok to good job at Drogs, but not sure he is a top 3 manager, he might prove me wrong and push on but that was a dreadful score to lose at home by on Friday.

Joe Strummer
02/05/2022, 7:57 PM
Bray instructed Wexford not to let in a bus full of Bray fans into the ground and they got in anyway. Not even mad aul' Denis O'Connor could top this crazy stuff

Not the first time they tried that. Years ago bus load went to Galway for a match and the Supporters club told Galway not to let them in as they were not with the official club.

Kiki Balboa
02/05/2022, 8:29 PM
Pats may still finish ahead of Dundalk, but even though they lost loads of players I still thought they had a more settled squad to us. That said I think Clancy is overrated, did a ok to good job at Drogs, but not sure he is a top 3 manager, he might prove me wrong and push on but that was a dreadful score to lose at home by on Friday.

He did a really fantastic job at Drogheda. Turned them from a near amateur outfit to a solid mid-table premier team. Found plenty of talent and were always picking up points here and there. Really hard to think of anyone else that can say the same. Maybe the moving to a club with more expectations doesnt suit his talents though, I dont know, but his record at Drogheda was pretty impressive.

The problem in this league is because it is somewhat shallow in the number of teams, there are not a lot of managers with positive LOI experience, while also the league isnt really able to attract talent from the outside. Hypothetically, if Pats (or any team) were to look for a manager now, who could they get with manager experience, Vinny Perth ? Same for Rovers... there is no obvious canidate to go and get. Clancy and O'Donnell was rare that there was two managers primed to join bigger clubs. So they would probably then need to give the role to an inexperienced manager.

joey B
02/05/2022, 8:44 PM
He did a really fantastic job at Drogheda. Turned them from a near amateur outfit to a solid mid-table premier team. Found plenty of talent and were always picking up points here and there. Really hard to think of anyone else that can say the same. Maybe the moving to a club with more expectations doesnt suit his talents though, I dont know, but his record at Drogheda was pretty impressive.

The problem in this league is because it is somewhat shallow in the number of teams, there are not a lot of managers with positive LOI experience, while also the league isnt really able to attract talent from the outside. Hypothetically, if Pats (or any team) were to look for a manager now, who could they get with manager experience, Vinny Perth ? Same for Rovers... there is no obvious canidate to go and get. Clancy and O'Donnell was rare that there was two managers primed to join bigger clubs. So they would probably then need to give the role to an inexperienced manager.

Paddy McLaughlin at Cliftonville is someone teams should be keeping an eye on,came 1 point behind Linfield with I think a part time squad,knows the League of Ireland too,definitely seems a talented manager…

oriel
02/05/2022, 8:50 PM

Yes that's fair, in hindsight he did a really really good job at Drogs, I was wrong to say 'ok to good job'