View Full Version : wat the f-ck happened in dundalk

kenbo
21/07/2005, 10:04 PM
read on aertel tat the glentoran supporters buses got there windows smashed wile passin through dundalk.

the shelbourne supporters were givin a police escort to and from the border and dey got through perfectly fine.

i doubt a lot of people from dundalk were at the match and therefore could not see how absolutely class the glentoran fans were!!

if the attacks were sectarianistly motivated i wouldnt see a case i only saw bout 2 rangers jerseys and less then 5 union jacks inside the stadium compared to linfield in the setanta cup final glentorans supply of british icons were in drought.

shame on all involved :mad:

ThatGuy
21/07/2005, 10:06 PM
What kind of brain-dead idiots would do something like that?

The fans of their football team are racist arseholes too and I hope they never get promoted.

Dundalk is just an embarassment to Ireland.

kenbo
21/07/2005, 10:08 PM
Dundalk is just an embarassment to Ireland.

never a true word spoken

Munchie
21/07/2005, 10:10 PM
i agree wit kenbo, glen fans wer brilliant(pity bout the team)! even outside the ground, they created a gud atmosphere and wer no trouble!! never liked dundalk!! should be kicked out of the league!!

21/07/2005, 10:11 PM
Dundalk is well and truly the arsehole of ireland, hate the place.

perfect example of a kip :mad:

21/07/2005, 10:30 PM
Isn't it, supposedly, a IRA stronghold for recruitment??

crc
21/07/2005, 10:55 PM
I don't know much about Dundalk, but it used to irk me a little that Drogs fans on here refer to it as 'craptown', but now I'm not so sure.

The irony is, assuming these were republican 'chuckies', that they make the cause of a united Ireland even harder to obtain. You'll never get people to live in the same house as you if you keep throwing stones at them! :( :mad:

It'll be great when the M1 get finished and goes around Dundalk. ;)

22/07/2005, 4:57 AM
Dundalk is like a time warp to the middle in more ways than one.

joeraki
22/07/2005, 6:49 AM
Idiots big day out on this thread :rolleyes:

22/07/2005, 6:59 AM
No, it was idiots big day out for whoever threw those stones.......

22/07/2005, 7:08 AM
inever liked dundalk!! should be kicked out of the league!!

I think you'd find it hard to prove they had a connection with the club Munchie.

22/07/2005, 7:33 AM
'I don't know much about Dundalk, but it used to irk me a little that Drogs fans on here refer to it as 'craptown', but now I'm not so sure.'

Now ye know why we call it craptown so :D

What were glentoran going through the town for anyway - why didnt they use the bypass?

Also, i remember a few of the linfield buses in the setanta cup final having union jacks hanging from their roof. If glentoran fans did the same going through craptown of all places, its hardly surprising it happened is it?

All in all though, it is very embarrassing for dundalk :D

crc
22/07/2005, 7:42 AM
What were glentoran going through the town for anyway - why didnt they use the bypass?because it doesn't open until 2007!

22/07/2005, 7:47 AM
Are ye sure its still quicker to go through craptown though?

I saw a couple of people say on their mb that ye didnt have to go through it at all :confused:

22/07/2005, 8:44 AM
Well then, does anyone else think there could be 2 sides to this story?

Not that I'm defending craptown, just putting it out there

CuanaD
22/07/2005, 8:49 AM
Well then, does anyone else think there could be 2 sides to this story?

Not that I'm defending craptown, just putting it out there

Nah, driving coaches you are going to take the main roads. Sooner that bypasss opens the better.

22/07/2005, 8:58 AM
No one approves of that kind of idiocy, but it's a massive leap to blame Dundalk fans.

22/07/2005, 9:42 AM
Surely it dosn't matter what road anyone takes, they should be able to travel along it without being attacked.

Is there any evidence whatsoever to show that Dundalk fans were involved?
Has anybody even claimed they were?

fosterdollar
22/07/2005, 9:49 AM
eh, sense. You gotta love the bandwagonism though, eh Joe? ;)

Dave drummerboy
22/07/2005, 10:14 AM
Well i have read all the posts so far about this .
If the Glens fans did have union jacks hanging out the windows when they went past the estate that the incident happened then it does not surprise me , and im glad that someone brought up that it might not have been dundalk fc fans , I could nearly say it wasnt but i would not be to sure , the road the bus would have taken is at the side of one of the not so nice areas about the town every place has them and some gob****es did it cus they think they are big men with all there ira stuff. But if glens thought something might happen when they were going through dundalk they should have contacted the gardai . That still does not justify the reason for the windows being smashed , but just dont judge all dundalk fans just cus of that incident.

22/07/2005, 10:25 AM
but just dont judge all dundalk fans just cus of that incident.

Don't judge any! :) They mightn't have been Dundalk fans, mightn't have been football fans even (but most filthy scumbags are, so lets assume they are! ;)), I'd imagine it was just a group of mongs looking for trouble and to "get one up on the Northies".

Hopefully this won't have ruined the visit for the Glens fans, they were fantastic and I for one would welcome them back anyday.

eamoss
22/07/2005, 10:51 AM
I very much doubt that it was Dundalk fans. They where driving beside a very rough area called Muirhevna Mór, meny of them would never go to an eircom league game never mind a Dundalk game only exception would be a big game like Dundalk V Drogs. Never the less they are the people who bring down the name of Dundalk. :mad:

Very sorry for all the Glentoran Supporters who had to go through that!

exile
22/07/2005, 10:52 AM
Well i have read all the posts so far about this .
If the Glens fans did have union jacks hanging out the windows when they went past the estate that the incident happened then it does not surprise me , .

is that the estate across the way from the retail park ?

terry9
22/07/2005, 11:08 AM
how could it of been dundalk fans when they have none?

harpskid
22/07/2005, 11:14 AM
They where driving beside a very rough area called Muirhevna Mór!

Ah...Muirhevna Mor - that would explain that incident then so! :mad:

For those of ye slaggin' Dundalk there earlier in the thread. It really isn't as bad as it's made out to be ye know - good aul nightlife :D

Granted, it's a bit of a kip, but it certainly isn't the worst

Passive
22/07/2005, 11:28 AM
Much a do about nothing.
Rovers have had windows put in by loyalists when driving to Derry. Linfield had windows put in by "republicans" leaving Derry. We went up to Portadown pre-season and our windows were put in there. But in all these cases, the guys who put the windows in had nothing to do with football. They're just little knackers out for trouble, so it's a pity that this incident gets linked with football.

22/07/2005, 11:34 AM
I'm surprised nobody has mentioned this but I heard it was the Rovers fans that all went up to dundalk on wednesday night to throw rocks at them :D

LFC in Exile
22/07/2005, 12:25 PM
Great to see that we don't go in for sweeping generalisaitons on this board. An incident happens in Dundalk - "sure all Dundalk fans are scum lets kick 'em out of the league". Then its a particular estate - "oh well, they're all scum bags in there I'm not surprised - they never go to eL matches (Herr Goebbels)". The funniest is Dundalk is a recruiting ground for IRA- of course it is - its on the bloddy border for christs sake. Crossmaglen and West Belfast are recruiting grounds too etc etc. But that doesn't mean everyone in Dundalk is in the IRA. The Northern Bank money was found in Cork so I must be a Provo as well even though I didn't realise it.

Just as well we don't make generalisations like all eL fans are sad anoraks that are bitter and twisted about supporter of foreign clubs. :rolleyes:

eamoss
22/07/2005, 1:52 PM
is that the estate across the way from the retail park ?

Yes it is, was never really up around that area till the retail park & JJB soccer dome went there.

Thanks harpskid, hope to see you up in Oriel when the pitch is installed and then off to Vicars! :p

Remember "ORIEL PARK the home of football" :eek: :D

exile
22/07/2005, 2:01 PM
Yes it is, was never really up around that area till the retail park & JJB soccer dome went there.

Thanks harpskid, hope to see you up in Oriel when the pitch is installed and then off to Vicars! :p

Remember "ORIEL PARK the home of football" :eek: :D

jez thats a rough spot i remember when we were on the bus going to portadown for the santa cup and we werent doing anything and we had these random teenagers/youngmen and children giving us the finger and making slashing throat signs at us reminded me of a documentry i saw about the road from bagdad airport well thats road is irelands road to baghdad airport :D

harpskid
22/07/2005, 2:27 PM

You will indeed dude!

Ahh Vicars.....mmmmmm :cool: I've been in that place about a dozen times and yet somehow I can't recall what it's like :eek: :cool: :D

fbtn
22/07/2005, 2:48 PM
Great to see that we don't go in for sweeping generalisaitons on this board. An incident happens in Dundalk - "sure all Dundalk fans are scum lets kick 'em out of the league". Then its a particular estate - "oh well, they're all scum bags in there I'm not surprised - they never go to eL matches (Herr Goebbels)". The funniest is Dundalk is a recruiting ground for IRA- of course it is - its on the bloddy border for christs sake. Crossmaglen and West Belfast are recruiting grounds too etc etc. But that doesn't mean everyone in Dundalk is in the IRA. The Northern Bank money was found in Cork so I must be a Provo as well even though I didn't realise it.

Just as well we don't make generalisations like all eL fans are sad anoraks that are bitter and twisted about supporter of foreign clubs. :rolleyes:

Was going to write something until I read this. Great post and nothing I can to it to be honest.

Well said.

Da Real Rover
22/07/2005, 4:32 PM

Thank god there is a voice of sense here, looks like the moralist bandwagoners are out in force today. What sickens me is that DUP scum who comes on saying how disgusted he is by it when its them that insite half the sh!te up there. Ya never seem to hear when it happens to people in the south.

joeraki
22/07/2005, 5:42 PM
eh, sense. You gotta love the bandwagonism though, eh Joe? ;)

Ah you get used to it on here. ;)
Rants x Idiots = multi page thread.
Rants / Facts = doesn't go

seansouth
22/07/2005, 6:32 PM
the shelbourne supporters were givin a police escort to and from the border and dey got through perfectly fine.

No we weren't, we only got the escort from just outside Belfast to The Oval.

kenbo
22/07/2005, 9:18 PM

No we weren't, we only got the escort from just outside Belfast to The Oval.

did we get our windows put through! :rolleyes:

crc
22/07/2005, 9:22 PM
You gotta love the bandwagonism though, eh Joe? ;)well said! :D