View Full Version : Galway United

Pages : 1 [2] 3

Eminence Grise
18/05/2022, 9:45 AM
Looks like the cost of promotion has increased from producing a DVD to running your own railway.

EatYerGreens
18/05/2022, 11:57 AM
I dont mean to be awkward but what has this debate anything to do with Galway Utd?

Fair point. Talk of sustainability and treading lightly on the earth should be firmly reserved for Bohemians.

18/05/2022, 12:02 PM
All this talk of trains and buses, when and where they go, what should be provided, well we are all doomed to climate crises as long as there are no direct routes and spaceships!!!

18/05/2022, 8:54 PM
It's all gone a bit Daniel Lambert here

did anyone see Daniel Lambert on the Tonight Show on Virgin last nite by any chance?

18/05/2022, 9:24 PM
I googled Daniel Lambert and found this wiki article about a gaol keeper (not goal keeper) who got to 50 stone and didn't know why but said he didn't eat and drink all that much but modern view is that actually that's exactly what he did and I got thoroughly confused and entertained at the same time

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daniel_Lambert

sbgawa
18/05/2022, 9:36 PM
did anyone see Daniel Lambert on the Tonight Show on Virgin last nite by any chance?

no,,,, what non football topic was he discussing to please his woke buddies

18/05/2022, 10:09 PM
on one occasion he fought a bear in the streets of Leicester

As you do

18/05/2022, 11:01 PM
I googled Daniel Lambert and found this wiki article about a gaol keeper (not goal keeper) who got to 50 stone and didn't know why but said he didn't eat and drink all that much but modern view is that actually that's exactly what he did and I got thoroughly confused and entertained at the same time

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daniel_Lambert

Just wrong Stu in a cannot cant read way!

19/05/2022, 6:33 AM
Yup. I like this bit -

Sensitive about his weight, Daniel Lambert refused to allow himself to be weighed, but sometime around 1805, some friends persuaded him to come with them to a **** fight in Loughborough. Once he had squeezed his way into their carriage, the rest of the party drove the carriage onto a large scale and jumped out.

19/05/2022, 7:55 AM
Well if I got a bonus for every time a fatiatric blamed things on their hormones rather than KFC I could retire, one person actually had a KFC family bucket with them (on their own) at a clinic, which is no exaggeration!!

19/05/2022, 8:11 PM
no,,,, what non football topic was he discussing to please his woke buddies

It was about wot happened in the Playoff semis with Nottingham Forest and Sheff Utd with the assault on Billy Sharp.

sbgawa
19/05/2022, 10:03 PM
It was about wot happened in the Playoff semis with Nottingham Forest and Sheff Utd with the assault on Billy Sharp.

Surprised he hasn't issued a statement condemning the Forest fans.

JC_GUFC
20/05/2022, 12:16 PM

Was he on again?! Because I saw him on a few nights ago discussing the Blackpool player coming out!

Guitd
20/05/2022, 2:08 PM
https://www.advertiser.ie/galway/article/129464/hectic-month-continues-at-eamonn-deacy-park?fbclid=IwAR3-obHaUgKfv_8NxQBVv-bDVAS_pI60yzNd2Los0t6a3I4fQ2I6mL1716o

20/05/2022, 9:29 PM
Was he on again?! Because I saw him on a few nights ago discussing the Blackpool player coming out!

Sorry julian I couldnt think of the exact reason shouldnt have speculated!

WoodquayBoy
14/09/2023, 1:28 PM
Luke Comer just hit with 3 year horse racing training ban and a €750000 bill in fine and costs

14/09/2023, 9:12 PM
Luke Comer just hit with 3 year horse racing training ban and a €750000 bill in fine and costs

What way will that effect Galway Utd Woodquay Boy?

ToberonaTornado
15/09/2023, 2:37 AM
What way will that effect Galway Utd Woodquay Boy?

It prob wont even register in terms of Galway UTD as i dont think he is a director of the Comer Goup these days. ?
Could be wrong as usual but deffo his dq from Irish racing,3 years(poor decision,should have been lifetime) (ie WARNED OFF) and a 750,000 euro fine where he tanked no less than 9 horses with steroids will deffo leave an indelible mark. He is a fuqing disgrace and there will be more behind him.
But in football and LOI terms there prob wont be any attachment to gufc but thats just my op this morning.

2 Year Contract
15/09/2023, 7:30 AM
What way will that affect Galway Utd Woodquay Boy?

I’d imagine that all depends on how much money the Comer brothers have. If 750k won’t make a significant dent in the pocket then this could actually work out positively for Galway. Banned from one of his hobbies for 3 years maybe he’ll show a bit more attention and (financial) love to his other one, Galway United

15/09/2023, 9:04 AM
Todays game sold out.

WoodquayBoy
15/09/2023, 9:19 AM
It’s hard to know which way it will go. As 2YC says, he’s now banned from one of his hobbies, so he might be inclined to invest both more time and money in his other sporting ‘interest’; and anyway, €750k is small change to him.
He barely goes to any United games, nor does the other rich brother; but there is another brother not in on the construction billions who goes to every home game and the odd away one as well.
I suppose we’ll see has he upped the cash when Caulfield/Horgan starts announcing their new signings for next year

nr637
15/09/2023, 10:32 AM
Todays game sold out.

EDP Capacity (https://www.google.com/search?sca_esv=565618840&rlz=1C1GCEU_enIE1057IE1057&cs=0&sxsrf=AM9HkKlVbZOQZ6GuFVKulB_HaxMa6Z72hg:169477391 0072&q=eamonn+deacy+park+capacity&stick=H4sIAAAAAAAAAOPgE-LUz9U3SM5LMyvQUswot9JPzs_JSU0uyczP08_JT04EMYqtkhML EpMzSyoXsUqlJubm5-UppKQmJlcqFCQWZSvAJAENDrx6TQAAAA&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwiZmYfntKyBAxUDR0EAHcpQDroQ6BMoAHoECBsQA g): 5,000 (3,300 seated) ! :confused:

Guitd
15/09/2023, 11:08 AM
EDP Capacity (https://www.google.com/search?sca_esv=565618840&rlz=1C1GCEU_enIE1057IE1057&cs=0&sxsrf=AM9HkKlVbZOQZ6GuFVKulB_HaxMa6Z72hg:169477391 0072&q=eamonn+deacy+park+capacity&stick=H4sIAAAAAAAAAOPgE-LUz9U3SM5LMyvQUswot9JPzs_JSU0uyczP08_JT04EMYqtkhML EpMzSyoXsUqlJubm5-UppKQmJlcqFCQWZSvAJAENDrx6TQAAAA&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwiZmYfntKyBAxUDR0EAHcpQDroQ6BMoAHoECBsQA g): 5,000 (3,300 seated) ! :confused:

EDP capacity according to licencing is 4300

EatYerGreens
15/09/2023, 11:30 AM
Todays game sold out.

Great work by the club and fans.

Galway will provide a huge boost to the PD attendances next year.

EatYerGreens
15/09/2023, 11:33 AM
It prob wont even register in terms of Galway UTD as i dont think he is a director of the Comer Goup these days. ?
Could be wrong as usual but deffo his dq from Irish racing,3 years(poor decision,should have been lifetime) (ie WARNED OFF) and a 750,000 euro fine where he tanked no less than 9 horses with steroids will deffo leave an indelible mark. He is a fuqing disgrace and there will be more behind him.
But in football and LOI terms there prob wont be any attachment to gufc but thats just my op this morning.

Hopefully he won't be directing any leftover boxes of those steroids towards the Galway United changing room :D

Horse racing is a disgrace of a 'sport' in fairness. Rotten to the core really.

15/09/2023, 12:53 PM
I’d imagine that all depends on how much money the Comer brothers have. If 750k won’t make a significant dent in the pocket then this could actually work out positively for Galway. Banned from one of his hobbies for 3 years maybe he’ll show a bit more attention and (financial) love to his other one, Galway United

No dent in their pockets at all. The brothers are worth 5 or 6 billion, if I recall correctly.

Onapointoforder
15/09/2023, 10:47 PM
Hopefully he won't be directing any leftover boxes of those steroids towards the Galway United changing room :D

Horse racing is a disgrace of a 'sport' in fairness. Rotten to the core really.The Galway lads don’t need steroids….

16/09/2023, 5:38 PM
Luke was down in the bar after the game with the fans. Best night in Edp ever. Place was rammed and the team Delivered a fantastic performance.

bohsmug
16/09/2023, 7:49 PM
Is there ever any talk of extra development of the ground? It's already a very good ground by LOI standards but if they even put something small behind the goals it would really finish it off.

2 Year Contract
16/09/2023, 8:33 PM
Is there ever any talk of extra development of the ground? It's already a very good ground by LOI standards but if they even put something small behind the goals it would really finish it off.

If the comers could purchase land in the field across the road from the ground it would allow for a big car park there meaning they could build a stand at the end where the existing small car park is. This may well have been discussed internally by the club and I’m sure local politics are difficult to manage with regards to that but it would be great to see if they could do it

joey B
16/09/2023, 9:02 PM
I dont think Galway United own the ground,pretty sure the Galway FA own it,might affect them being able to change it themselves....

16/09/2023, 9:34 PM
I dont think Galway United own the ground,pretty sure the Galway FA own it,might affect them being able to change it themselves....

Correct , it's the Galway FA that own the ground. Hard to get anything approved by them.

yurt
18/09/2023, 12:49 AM
I may have the specifics muddled but I think it was during covid there was an audit on the safe capacity of all of the stadiums. EDP was reduced from something like ~6K to 4.3K.

Apparently the cut in capacity is related to the number of turnstiles, as well as some other relatively straightforward upgrades.

Would be deadly if I'm underestimating the latent support in Galway but I think we are a decade off requiring another stand (actually, I guess that would mean getting the ball rolling immediately).

If Galway were to win the cup I guess it'd start the conversation on what they'd need to do to host Conference league second and third round gamesssss.

nr637
19/09/2023, 9:50 AM
Galway could be First Division Champions and promoted if results go their way after Friday 22nd fixtures.

They will also have a second chance on Monday night 25th at home to Finn Harps.

Galway should bring a big away following to Kerry on Friday and will also get a huge home gate on Monday!

Exciting times at Galway! :o

culloty82
19/09/2023, 10:56 AM
And in anticipation of same, Virgin Media have announced that their TV cameras will have footage from Mounthawk Park on Friday in conjunction with their Premier Division broadcast.

EatYerGreens
19/09/2023, 11:38 AM
And in anticipation of same, Virgin Media have announced that their TV cameras will have footage from Mounthawk Park on Friday in conjunction with their Premier Division broadcast.

Fair play to them.

29/09/2023, 10:14 AM
Next week's Semi-Final vs Bohemians has sold out in advance ?

No more tickets are on sale, do not turn up to the Semi-Final without a ticket ?

Arrive early and get the amazing atmosphere going, same as last time ???

#ItsATribalThing

29/09/2023, 5:42 PM
Ahhh its always fun to see LoI noobs jump on board (present company excepted), the more the merrier as always but on a big match night like a once a decade cup semi final or the like, but is alwyas been a bit snooze or lose (or buy a season ticket)!

2 Year Contract
30/09/2023, 8:33 AM
Next week's Semi-Final vs Bohemians has sold out in advance ?

No more tickets are on sale, do not turn up to the Semi-Final without a ticket ?

Arrive early and get the amazing atmosphere going, same as last time ???

#ItsATribalThing

Have to say, I read this post in Ron Burgundy teleprompter fashion :D

https://youtu.be/X3zfP14pLxc?si=b03dHWf5-xVpA-W7

ger121
01/10/2023, 10:01 AM
Plenty of Bohs fans on social media very frustrated with the ticketing process for away tickets. People in nice and early in the queue and should get a ticket but end up with nothing.Not the first time either I don’t mind saying.

pateen
01/10/2023, 4:47 PM
How many did Bohs get? Guessing around 400 - 450

ger121
01/10/2023, 6:17 PM
How many did Bohs get? Guessing around 400 - 450

430. Which is what it is. It’s more the perception out there that not all 430 tickets went on sale.

02/10/2023, 10:23 AM
430. Which is what it is. It’s more the perception out there that not all 430 tickets went on sale.

Im sure that this issue is the same for any club that has a significant volunteer footprint, these people are fans and will use influence (not necessarily wrongly if not taken as freebies imo) to secure their ticket - id do it/have done it. In a small allocation it does chew u availability and will cause grumbling even if it is just preception when a lot are ticketless and it not often the way. At a guess say 30 club officials 'reserve' 2 or 3 tickets each its a lot off the allocation and thats probably a very conservative estimate. As frustrating as it is it is in many ways a good problem to have. People who miss out often make greater efforts in future eg membership/season tickets that they did both with before. Bohs are LoI experts in all publicty = good publicity and maybe they are right.

Philosophizer
02/10/2023, 11:20 AM
Plenty of Bohs fans on social media very frustrated with the ticketing process for away tickets. People in nice and early in the queue and should get a ticket but end up with nothing.Not the first time either I don’t mind saying.
I just experienced this for a home game. Tickets for the last home league match against Cork were released today at midday for non-members. I was on the website bang on time, selected a ticket for the Jodi, and had a 15 minute timer to complete the checkout. It probably took me about 30 seconds to input my details but when I clicked Continue I got an error saying the ticket was gone.
I’m not sure if the issue is with the Bohs website or Future Ticketing but the setup is a joke. The whole point of the timer is that they’re supposed to be holding the ticket and give you 15 mins to put in your card details and name and address etc. infuriating!

Dermobohs
02/10/2023, 12:56 PM
Im sure that this issue is the same for any club that has a significant volunteer footprint, these people are fans and will use influence (not necessarily wrongly if not taken as freebies imo) to secure their ticket - id do it/have done it. In a small allocation it does chew u availability and will cause grumbling even if it is just preception when a lot are ticketless and it not often the way. At a guess say 30 club officials 'reserve' 2 or 3 tickets each its a lot off the allocation and thats probably a very conservative estimate. As frustrating as it is it is in many ways a good problem to have. People who miss out often make greater efforts in future eg membership/season tickets that they did both with before. Bohs are LoI experts in all publicty = good publicity and maybe they are right.
Home game v shels was sold out early but as I left I noticed about 20 seats below the vip area reserved for one long time club volunteer , so I’d say our real away allocation is 300 at the most!

02/10/2023, 1:41 PM
Home game v shels was sold out early but as I left I noticed about 20 seats below the vip area reserved for one long time club volunteer , so I’d say our real away allocation is 300 at the most!

Yeah thats tacking the p1ss!!

ger121
02/10/2023, 9:04 PM

All members are suppose to be equal in the club. One member, one vote. Same when it comes to tickets. One member can get one ticket online. If our allocation is 430 and there are not 430 for sale, then say it and be transparent about the process. Anything else make a mockery of the ethos of a members club.

Another Bohemia
03/10/2023, 8:08 AM
All members are suppose to be equal in the club. One member, one vote. Same when it comes to tickets. One member can get one ticket online. If our allocation is 430 and there are not 430 for sale, then say it and be transparent about the process. Anything else make a mockery of the ethos of a members club.

All members should also be putting in equal efforts to volunteer because membership isn't just about getting preference for a ticket. We all know that there are a few members who put significantly more effort into volunteering to do things for the club than others. I'd wager a lot of those who are online complaining about not getting a ticket are also those who see membership as just an upgraded season ticket. Since the volunteers aren't being paid of course there's going to be situations where they will have the opportunity to get tickets they otherwise would have missed out on. And to be frank why shouldn't they? A lot of the time they are putting their time and money towards the club to do some vital work that would otherwise be left undone or cost too much to get done.

bohsmug
03/10/2023, 8:33 AM
All members should also be putting in equal efforts to volunteer

You can't really say that or else it ceases to be volunteering. Also, as a members owned club, that's where our version of the "owner pumping money in" comes from - the membership. If it comes with some kind of volunteer hours quota that's a much less attractive option and we'll have less members. Thats before you get into the myriad of reasons somebody might not be able to volunteer (disability, living/working situation etc). We need to keep promoting our volunteer ethos within the membership and wider club yes and a little social pressure nudge but we need to sell membership too.

10% of capacity to away fans for a cup semi in a league with grounds as small as ours is too few. The 10% thing may need to be looked at because that might hold true for the league too. Maybe it needs to be a higher percentage or 600 minimum when 10% is less than that figure. Would still leave the majority disappointed though. Up until this year we were offering 30% to away fans, which is a lot obviously for normal league matches and caused us problems with turning home fans away. However, we've had 3 semi finals in Dalymount during that time so it gives us a fair idea what 30% looks like in a cup semi and it's much more appropriate.

When games weren't selling out across the league we didn't really have this issue because, in most cases, you'd end up just being accommodated and away sections were generally large. I think it needs to be looked at again.

Another Bohemia
03/10/2023, 9:24 AM
You can't really say that or else it ceases to be volunteering. Also, as a members owned club, that's where our version of the "owner pumping money in" comes from - the membership. If it comes with some kind of volunteer hours quota that's a much less attractive option and we'll have less members. Thats before you get into the myriad of reasons somebody might not be able to volunteer (disability, living/working situation etc). We need to keep promoting our volunteer ethos within the membership and wider club yes and a little social pressure nudge but we need to sell membership too.

10% of capacity to away fans for a cup semi in a league with grounds as small as ours is too few. The 10% thing may need to be looked at because that might hold true for the league too. Maybe it needs to be a higher percentage or 600 minimum when 10% is less than that figure. Would still leave the majority disappointed though. Up until this year we were offering 30% to away fans, which is a lot obviously for normal league matches and caused us problems with turning home fans away. However, we've had 3 semi finals in Dalymount during that time so it gives us a fair idea what 30% looks like in a cup semi and it's much more appropriate.

When games weren't selling out across the league we didn't really have this issue because, in most cases, you'd end up just being accommodated and away sections were generally large. I think it needs to be looked at again.

Ownership implies responsibility. I agree that the volunteer hours is our equivalent of adding money to the club and that's why it's so important that those who go above and beyond are appreciated. If that's giving them preference to tickets they may miss out on I think that's fair within reason. I don't think there should be a volunteer quota or anything of the sort for members but everyone needs to realise that membership isn't just a better season ticket.