View Full Version : Glentoran v shels

kenbo
20/07/2005, 9:26 PM
jus wanted to thank the glentoran fans for there support tonight-no need for all the security as the fans were fine! a good game with some excellent goal especially glen crowe and his volley!!

Bring on bucharest!

20/07/2005, 9:30 PM
Yeah. I walked right down the Richmond Road in the opposite direction right through a mass of them when going to buy my ticket. There wasn't an ounce of trouble from them. I saw some lads wearing Rangers jersies which seemed a bit odd (considering it is the colour of their bitter rivals Linfield) but nothing else out of sorts. They were decked out well in their colours and came in numbers and chanted fairly well for fans who's team was well outclassed.

kenbo
20/07/2005, 9:34 PM
they have a good squad but they looked absolutely knackered!! heard they found out about bertie aherns offica and draped some statue wit union jacks

20/07/2005, 10:22 PM
They clapped our players off the pitch after the game and not a hint of trouble from them at the game. Great supporters.

town73
20/07/2005, 10:23 PM
What was the story with the pitch? Rugby league game?

20/07/2005, 10:24 PM
Haven't a clue but it was terrible espically compared to earlier this season.

Forza Glentoran
21/07/2005, 7:03 PM
I have to disagree with Poor Student, regarding his "outclassed" comment. I believe that to have truly been outclassed, would have required both teams to be at the same point in their respective seasons, in order to truly evaluate which team is stronger. Since that is not possible for the forseeable future, I don't think using a term such as "outclassed" is either relevant or correct.

Regarding the whole experience at Tolka, I found it very good. We were well received by Shels fans and players alike, and we acknowledged this and reciprocated. I was greatly touched by the wonderful reception your lads gave our players as they left the pitch at the end, and the rapturous applause from the Glenmen showed our appreciation of the gesture. It was also great to see the handful of your fans who stayed behind and clapped every last one of us as we left the ground, especially considering it took us quite a while to leave. Superb, lads. Thanks.

jorge
21/07/2005, 7:27 PM
Shels ARE the better team end of story.Better quality,better players better everithing.

I dont say this for the good of my health.

21/07/2005, 7:32 PM
I saw some lads wearing Rangers jersies which seemed a bit odd (considering it is the colour of their bitter rivals Linfield)

Im sure plenty of City fans will have €eltic shirts on when we play Rovers :rolleyes: :mad:

22/07/2005, 8:38 AM
I was greatly touched by the wonderful reception your lads gave our players as they left the pitch at the end, and the rapturous applause from the Glenmen showed our appreciation of the gesture.

That was special I thought. Two morons behind me started to boo, the guy beside them told them to STFU and within seconds the entire stand had erupted into a mass applausing epedemic. :D Made me smile! :) Really was great to see, from our end as well, especially when your players and fans returned the gesture. There's hope yet! ;)

fosterdollar
22/07/2005, 9:23 AM
Really was great to see, from our end as well, especially when your players and fans returned the gesture. There's hope yet! ;)
Aren't we all great...

Drumcondra Red
22/07/2005, 9:54 AM
Lets not forget up in the oval we also applauded the Glens team when they came back out to do their warm down too!!!

Glen fans on the most part were a credit to their club all bar about 3 outside the Cat and Cage at about 6, I walked by in a shels jersey and they started singing threatening anti Rovers songs towards me (for some reason) and pretty much taking the píss out of me, they were hammered at the time but its a shame to have idiots like that around!

Forza Glentoran
22/07/2005, 12:23 PM
Lets not forget up in the oval we also applauded the Glens team when they came back out to do their warm down too!!!

Glen fans on the most part were a credit to their club all bar about 3 outside the Cat and Cage at about 6, I walked by in a shels jersey and they started singing threatening anti Rovers songs towards me (for some reason) and pretty much taking the píss out of me, they were hammered at the time but its a shame to have idiots like that around!

Yeah, a handful of idiots is par for the course with most clubs. Unfortunate, but I believe that 99% of our fans were well behaved and a credit to the club.

22/07/2005, 4:21 PM
I have to disagree with Poor Student, regarding his "outclassed" comment. I believe that to have truly been outclassed, would have required both teams to be at the same point in their respective seasons, in order to truly evaluate which team is stronger. Since that is not possible for the forseeable future, I don't think using a term such as "outclassed" is either relevant or correct.

Forza you're being a bit pedantic. I am complimenting your fans for keeping in decent spirits while being clearly played off the park. 7 men or 11 it does not change the fact they outclassed you. I reckon you were outplayed for good stretches of the first leg and most of the second leg while you had 11 men apart from your well worked one touch movement goal. I also believe Shelbourne would have gone on to outclass you for a good deal of the rest of the tie had you retained all your men. We'll never know for sure of course but don't get too hung up words, afterall I said outclassed not truly outclassed and outclassed you were.

Forza Glentoran
22/07/2005, 5:18 PM
Forza you're being a bit pedantic. I am complimenting your fans for keeping in decent spirits while being clearly played off the park. 7 men or 11 it does not change the fact they outclassed you. I reckon you were outplayed for good stretches of the first leg and most of the second leg while you had 11 men apart from your well worked one touch movement goal. I also believe Shelbourne would have gone on to outclass you for a good deal of the rest of the tie had you retained all your men. We'll never know for sure of course but don't get too hung up words, afterall I said outclassed not truly outclassed and outclassed you were.

I'm not being pedantic, PS, far from it. What you're basically suggesting is that Shels are a classier side than us. How can we show our true class unless we're fit and match sharp? We're in pre-season, ffs. In fact, how can any team show its true class unless its players are fit and match sharp? Not looking to fall out with you over this, btw. :)

22/07/2005, 6:01 PM
How can we show our true class unless we're fit and match sharp? We're in pre-season, ffs. In fact, how can any team show its true class unless its players are fit and match sharp? Not looking to fall out with you over this, btw. :)
you cant keep using that as an excuse. Its not Shels fault that ye are in preseason. They went out and beat ye well and could have had at least another 2 goals if you consider the chances that they missed over the 2 legs.

Forza Glentoran
22/07/2005, 6:31 PM
you cant keep using that as an excuse. Its not Shels fault that ye are in preseason. They went out and beat ye well and could have had at least another 2 goals if you consider the chances that they missed over the 2 legs.

I'm not looking for excuses. Neither am I suggesting that Shels didn't deserve to win. Of course they did. I just don't think it's fair to say that we were outclassed. To suggest we were outclassed in this tie would also have to mean that we would have been outclassed even if we had been in mid-season (February, for example), and I just don't accept that. Well beaten, yes, but not outclassed.

22/07/2005, 7:11 PM
I'm not being pedantic, PS, far from it. What you're basically suggesting is that Shels are a classier side than us. How can we show our true class unless we're fit and match sharp? We're in pre-season, ffs. In fact, how can any team show its true class unless its players are fit and match sharp? Not looking to fall out with you over this, btw. :)

No prob Forza. I was sitting right beside your passing movement for the goal and was left thinking "Why the hell haven't they done this before?". I never really saw you in the Setanta so I can imagine and hope a fully fit Glens is a bit of a different prospect. Hopefully we'll see you in town again for the next Setanta where you can try and salvage pride after this.

steveyg2004
23/07/2005, 6:00 PM

Shels ARE a classier, fitter, better side than us, and they are of course full time - Let's be honest Forza, our best two performances last season were against Linfield (3-0 Irish Cup) and Larne away. In those performances, we didn't come close to playing as well as Shels did - They are just superior plain and simple - Their movement is better than ours (at our best), and the quality of their passing is better than ours at our best.

Quite simply, Shel's results in Europe do not lie - Very few teams in Ireland (absolutely none in Northern Ireland) are capable of going on the run Shels did last season.

Linfield beat Shelbourne fair and square in the Setanta Cup Final, but then Manchester City beat Chelsea last season and Burnley beat Liverpool, which is exactly why we had a chance of beating Shelbourne over two legs, but even I was shocked at how naive we were to believe this. Totally outclassed sums it up - Our legend of a captain Paul Leeman was outclassed by Glen Crowe, Darren Lockhart looked out of his depth as well....the 6-2 doesn't lie and this will go down in history as a tie in which the Champions of Southern Ireland gave the Champions of Northern Ireland a complete thrashing. :(

And I totally agree by the way that the fact we are out of season and clearly not fit is irrelevent to the fact that Shelbourne outclassed our players on the pitch over 2 games.

higgins
23/07/2005, 9:50 PM
Well said that guy !

I wouldnt think that 6-2 would always be the case when the sides meet but over the two legs shels did play well and you simply didnt. Of course the RED card played its part too and if it had of stayed 1-1 a little longer who knows what way it would have went.

There is not a whole lot between the side but my money would always be on Shels until your league turns fulltime.

The Setanta Cup next year will be fun. Hope we see you again.

24/07/2005, 11:17 AM
Shels ARE a classier, fitter, better side than us, and they are of course full time - Let's be honest Forza, our best two performances last season were against Linfield (3-0 Irish Cup) and Larne away. In those performances, we didn't come close to playing as well as Shels did - They are just superior plain and simple - Their movement is better than ours (at our best), and the quality of their passing is better than ours at our best.

Quite simply, Shel's results in Europe do not lie - Very few teams in Ireland (absolutely none in Northern Ireland) are capable of going on the run Shels did last season.

Linfield beat Shelbourne fair and square in the Setanta Cup Final, but then Manchester City beat Chelsea last season and Burnley beat Liverpool, which is exactly why we had a chance of beating Shelbourne over two legs, but even I was shocked at how naive we were to believe this. Totally outclassed sums it up - Our legend of a captain Paul Leeman was outclassed by Glen Crowe, Darren Lockhart looked out of his depth as well....the 6-2 doesn't lie and this will go down in history as a tie in which the Champions of Southern Ireland gave the Champions of Northern Ireland a complete thrashing. :(

And I totally agree by the way that the fact we are out of season and clearly not fit is irrelevent to the fact that Shelbourne outclassed our players on the pitch over 2 games.
fair play for your honesty :cool:

The Setanta Cup next year will be fun. Hope we see you again.
if ye keep going the way ye are ye wont be in it ;) :D

24/07/2005, 2:00 PM
Our legend of a captain Paul Leeman was outclassed by Glen Crowe, Darren Lockhart looked out of his depth as well....the 6-2 doesn't lie and this will go down in history as a tie in which the Champions of Southern Ireland gave the Champions of Northern Ireland a complete thrashing. :(

It may not be intentional but please don't call us "Southern" Ireland. Check any Atlas. I find it insulting.

steveyg2004
24/07/2005, 2:14 PM
It may not be intentional but please don't call us "Southern" Ireland. Check any Atlas. I find it insulting.

Oh for Christ sake, will you wise up, you pedantic arsewipe! How many f*cking times is it referred to as North V South in a sporting context. So what is your preference then, Eire, Southern Ireland, the South, the Republic of Ireland, or just 'Ireland'? :rolleyes:

I suddenly have a strong desire to see anyone, be it Shels or Derry, overhaul Cork's 11 point lead and ensure they are still trophyless since 1984 at the end of the season! ;)

24/07/2005, 2:34 PM
Oh for Christ sake, will you wise up, you pedantic arsewipe! How many f*cking times is it referred to as North V South in a sporting context. So what is your preference then, Eire, Southern Ireland, the South, the Republic of Ireland, or just 'Ireland'? :rolleyes:

I suddenly have a strong desire to see anyone, be it Shels or Derry, overhaul Cork's 11 point lead and ensure they are still trophyless since 1984 at the end of the season! ;)

If you want to continue posting here attack the post not the poster.

Would you be offended if i said Glentoran were Champions of the Occupied Counties?

Can we just stick with the eL & IL?

steveyg2004
24/07/2005, 3:00 PM
If you want to continue posting here attack the post not the poster.

Would you be offended if i said Glentoran were Champions of the Occupied Counties?

Can we just stick with the eL & IL?

Let's not be silly - The post wasn't being a pedantic arsewipe, you were. ;)
I simply can't believe someone could take issue with me saying 'Southern Ireland' - And if you said 'the occupied territories', I would know what country you were referring to. Let's not imply that it was I that brought a whiff of politics to this. Taking issue with 'Southern Ireland', well I bloody never!!! :(

24/07/2005, 3:05 PM
Let's not be silly - The post wasn't being a pedantic arsewipe, you were. ;)

Do you want a Ban?

Buller
24/07/2005, 3:06 PM
ladies, ladies... calm down! it doesnt matter! Lets get back to posting about football and not petty political issue's... ;)

steveyg2004
24/07/2005, 5:02 PM
Do you want a Ban?

Are you capable of dishing out a ban, Mr. Pedantic? :)

steveyg2004
24/07/2005, 5:32 PM
It's not pedantic to point out that there is no such place as 'Southern Ireland'. Nor, in fairness, do I think Pete was implying anything overtly political about it.

Anyway, back to the game...

Fair enough, though I am still surprised anyone finds it offensive.....had to swallow quite hard while I posted the bit about Shels giving us a thrashing, didn't see the 'Southern Ireland' thing coming to be honest.

Hay ho, back to the game as you say.......So Pete, fancy getting Liam Millar on loan? :D

24/07/2005, 7:06 PM
I am still surprised anyone finds it offensive
Kindergarten stuff Pete. Have to say, I'm surprised too. At this stage you'd think we were past that level of crap.

24/07/2005, 7:20 PM
Jesus wept. Are you living in a country called the 1950s?

24/07/2005, 7:29 PM
I think people should cop on here. I for one welcome the posters here from the Irish league as they offer a bit of variety, a different view point and are a sign of the forging links between fans of our two leagues. We shouldn't be jumping on them for a slight slip of the tongue.

steveyg2004
24/07/2005, 7:49 PM
I think people should cop on here. I for one welcome the posters here from the Irish league as they offer a bit of variety, a different view point and are a sign of the forging links between fans of our two leagues. We shouldn't be jumping on them for a slight slip of the tongue.

I have to admit I wouldn't normally refer to 'Southern Ireland', I only used the phrase by way of contrast between the Champions of the North, and Champions of the South. Boy, do I regret using it now!! :( Certainly, the phrase that someone is from 'the North' or from 'the South' is still in regular use, and to my knowledge is always understood and by and large inoffensive to people. I think it's time to move on from this though.

By the way, since the development of the Setanta Cup there has been a massive influx of new posters from Eire on Irish League Forums. It's all good! :cool:

24/07/2005, 7:55 PM
Stevey it should probably be said in the spirit of things you probably shouldn't fly off the handle as quick as you did either. I think if there's one thing that's common on this island it's the sense for craic and a laugh, we should lighten up a bit.

steveyg2004
24/07/2005, 8:34 PM
Stevey it should probably be said in the spirit of things you probably shouldn't fly off the handle as quick as you did either. I think if there's one thing that's common on this island it's the sense for craic and a laugh, we should lighten up a bit.

All true!

24/07/2005, 8:46 PM
Think I'm with SteveyG on this one. We regularly refer to the North, or Northern Ireland, doesn't that make us the South ? OK, it's not the official name of the country, but please :rolleyes: Could we lighten up a little. And remember it was Pete, not Stevie who brought the politics into it. Surely we want to encourage posters from the Irish League, not turn them away ?

24/07/2005, 9:08 PM
Think I'm with SteveyG on this one. We regularly refer to the North, or Northern Ireland, doesn't that make us the South ? OK, it's not the official name of the country, but please :rolleyes: Could we lighten up a little. And remember it was Pete, not Stevie who brought the politics into it. Surely we want to encourage posters from the Irish League, not turn them away ?

I'm with SteveyG and TonyD on this one

steveyg2004
24/07/2005, 10:15 PM

Still, I think a nice, cosy 'Friends' type response of "Could you be any more pedantic?" was more appropriate. A little too much anger in that post, apologies. :o