View Full Version : Shels 6 - 2 Glens

Pages : 1 [2] 3

ThatGuy
20/07/2005, 3:50 PM
I cant understand how any Irish football fan would not support shels tonight, and LFD and cork tomorrow. Come on shels, fancy them to win by 2/3. Were miles better in belfast.
I have nothing against the Shels fans, all that I know (in the real world not on this site) are sound lads, but I can not stand Ollie Byrne (to put it mildly) or Pat Fenlon.
Also, after their "success" last year they could afford to offer the likes of Glen Crowe money that we could not match (well we did, then they offered an even bigger contract unless of course you believe the Shels fans who claim he left for a pay-cut!) so obviously their success in Europe is detrimental to the club that I support, Bohemians. Also, I want Shelbourne's fan base to remain as crippled as it is now and not to swell as a result of success in Europe. If that wasn't enough, the disgracefull comments made by Ollie Byrne during last year's European campaign about fixture changes when he was lying through his rotten teeth, his comments about Bohs when Shels won the league, and Pat Felon's comments about our team during the close-season ended any chance of goodwill from the Bohemians support.

I don't begrudge Cork any success this year, I hope they do well. As for Longford, despite it being the most unwelcoming town in Ireland I still wouldn't mind seeing them doing well either.

20/07/2005, 4:30 PM
I think that Shels will win 1 or 2-0 tonight. I can't remember what I predicted last week. I hope it's a tough, intense and gruelling game so they'll be knackered for Friday night!!! I want Shels to win though, and if they don't I'll be supporting Glens in the next round.

I thought the Uefa matches are a week from tomorrow seeing as there is only two qualifying rounds there's no need to rush the fixtures.

20/07/2005, 5:17 PM
I think that Shels will win 1 or 2-0 tonight. I can't remember what I predicted last week. I hope it's a tough, intense and gruelling game so they'll be knackered for Friday night!!! I want Shels to win though, and if they don't I'll be supporting Glens in the next round.

I thought the Uefa matches are a week from tomorrow seeing as there is only two qualifying rounds there's no need to rush the fixtures.

The UEFA Cup is a week tomorrow

ShelsTim
20/07/2005, 8:35 PM
What's it like to be outplayed Glens? We can start stacking up all the quotes from Glens heads saying they were going to shock us all and win the tie, 6-2, looks like yous were a bit off eh? Bring on the Steaua.

20/07/2005, 8:38 PM
excellent, shelbourne doing what eL teams have never really done in the past: made european opponents look poor. watching glens shocking efforts was like watching City in Europe years ago, not up to the standard.

20/07/2005, 8:39 PM
oh, and Forza Glens: AMATEUR :p :D

oh number 2... change your "location" ShelsTim (top of the league) :D

20/07/2005, 8:41 PM
Well done tonight. Hopefully you can get a good result next week against Steaua to bring to Romania. Would be great for an Irish club to knock a former European Cup winner out. I watched the match on TV. Anyone else notice George Hamilton call Ritchie Baker "Dessie Baker" at least twice?

jorge
20/07/2005, 8:44 PM
Doolin had nothing good to say about Glentoran.Too harsh.

20/07/2005, 8:45 PM
Anyone else notice George Hamilton call Ritchie Baker "Dessie Baker" at least twice?

the whole game through. he'd always a few seconds later, not exactly to correct himself, but call him richie again... clearly someone whispering in his ear :D

20/07/2005, 8:46 PM
Doolin had nothing good to say about Glentoran.Too harsh.

Dolan? They were ****e. what good can you say about them? if that ould fella Walker is a "legend" then i truely feel for them.

20/07/2005, 8:48 PM
Well done Reds

hard luck boys in Green . Dolan was right though prep for Europe was too slipshod. Too reminiscent of EL teams 15 years ago :D

ShelsTim
20/07/2005, 8:53 PM
oh number 2... change your "location" ShelsTim (top of the league) :D

I clearly mean top of the Champions League, just give us a short while.

ccfcgirl
20/07/2005, 9:18 PM
Great result ....well done (Glentoran team jersey looked like Goalkeepers)

20/07/2005, 9:19 PM
(Glentoran team jersey looked like Goalkeepers)
apart from the fact that one was black and one was green ;) ;)

kenbo
20/07/2005, 9:28 PM
excellent performance by shels outplayed glens all over the park! even though the pitch looked like sh!t! fair play to the glens fans outside the ground they were a good laugh!!

Bring on bucharest!!

hamish
20/07/2005, 9:30 PM
Smashing game again. Only word I can think of to describe Shelbourne's football = gorgeous.

Fabulous to watch. Congrats the Shels.

I've one question - what the fcuk happened to the pitch???? There seemed to be rugby league lines on it and I saw something recently that there was some students rugby league championship in Dublin - was that played in Tolka?? Surely the bobs that Shels would get from a student RL organisation wouldn't be great and certainly no compensation for the savaging the pitch got - it seemed to be cut up in places too. I couldn't believe that was the same pitch I saw only a few weeks ago in the Setanta. Anyone know anything about that????

20/07/2005, 9:37 PM
I was thinking the same thing Hamish. Seeing it on TV in the Setanta I thought it looked immaculate and then I turn up and see patches of grass missing and things. It wasn't horrendus but not as nice as it looked months ago. I have to ask Shels fans what the hell goes on at Tolka? I stupidly sat in the 2nd row of the Richmond Rd. end and I was constantly blocked by a stream of passers by. The same people over and over again? Do people just lap the ground or something?

On the positive side great performance by Shels. 2 wins and maximum coefficient points. I thought there was a very good crowd too. The Glens fans and the Brigoid Dearg created a good atmosphere of colour and noise. A satisfying experience to see an eL side demolish their opposition in Europe. Could and should have been 5 goals, not sure what Byrne was thinking with that tame shot when put through on goal.

20/07/2005, 9:37 PM
Well done to Shels, classy finish...but what is up with the pitch, looked awful on tv

20/07/2005, 9:41 PM
Heat wave anyone? :)

ccfcgirl
20/07/2005, 9:45 PM
apart from the fact that one was black and one was green ;) ;)I meant the style of the jersey. :D ;)

hamish
20/07/2005, 9:57 PM
Heat wave anyone? :)

Seriusly EnDaI - I wasn't trying to take a cheap shot at Shels but wasn't there a wet period recently when that students competition was on which would have cut the sh!t out of the pitch. :confused:
I know clubs need money from a variety of sources but to let a shower of mullockers on what was a fantastic pitch only a few weeks ago is a shame.

20/07/2005, 10:01 PM
What's it like to be outplayed Glens? We can start stacking up all the quotes from Glens heads saying they were going to shock us all and win the tie, 6-2, looks like yous were a bit off eh? Bring on the Steaua.

Shels, ever humble in victory......

I suppose after following Shels for a while you all end up taking on Ollie's character.

20/07/2005, 10:01 PM
Aye, it did look bad :( But still, it seemingly played well! ;)

20/07/2005, 10:03 PM
Jaysus,I don't even know what to say.....

20/07/2005, 10:04 PM
Shels, ever humble in victory......

I suppose after following Shels for a while you all end up taking on Ollie's character.

OLLIE BYRNE IS A LEGEND

hamish
20/07/2005, 10:07 PM
Was there some students' RL competition on it though lads????????

20/07/2005, 10:20 PM
I was shocked at the state of the pitch, went from the best in the league to absolute crap. There was obviously some event on there but I had heard nothing about it anyway. It didn't seem to concern us too much, mind.

This now makes Shelbourne Irelands most successful ever team in Europe as far as winning ties is concerned. Funny that, two years ago all you would hear is how shít we were in Europe :p

We beat Glentoran today because we played football, that's how we should have played all season. Hopefully, to quote the great man Houllier, a corner has been turned. Play passing football like that and we will get results. I'm more confident about the next round than I was when the draw was made. Yes glens were poor, but you can only beat what's in front of you and the way we did it was impressive. A few changes will probably be made for friday, that's what the squad is for, but the injuries are clearing and we're looking good. Byrne and Crowe are playing like a partnership now and that is the biggest positive from the past few weeks.

hamish
20/07/2005, 10:24 PM
I was shocked at the state of the pitch, went from the best in the league to absolute crap. There was obviously some event on there but I had heard nothing about it anyway. It didn't seem to concern us too much, mind.

This now makes Shelbourne Irelands most successful ever team in Europe as far as winning ties is concerned. Funny that, two years ago all you would hear is how shít we were in Europe :p

We beat Glentoran today because we played football, that's how we should have played all season. Hopefully, to quote the great man Houllier, a corner has been turned. Play passing football like that and we will get results. I'm more confident about the next round than I was when the draw was made. Yes glens were poor, but you can only beat what's in front of you and the way we did it was impressive. A few changes will probably be made for friday, that's what the squad is for, but the injuries are clearing and we're looking good. Byrne and Crowe are playing like a partnership now and that is the biggest positive from the past few weeks.

Jesus Slash/ED, you Shels fans must be gobsmacked at all the praise you're getting, given the slagging you usually get. Shels deserved every kudo going tbf as their football was brilliant to watch.
No doubt about it, Footie is getting very nicey nicey these days. :D

20/07/2005, 10:26 PM
Jesus Slash/ED, you Shels fans must be gobsmacked at all the praise you're getting, given the slagging you usually get. Shels deserved every kudo going tbf as their football was brilliant to watch.

I'm still speechless

20/07/2005, 10:26 PM

Yeah, we need a good old Éanna Olly rant to get his back to normality :p

Watching the tape of the match again though, I get the distinct impression Pat Dolan really, really wanted us to lose, so some things never change.

20/07/2005, 10:28 PM
Watching the tape of the match again though, I get the distinct impression Pat Dolan really, really wanted us to lose, so some things never change.

Can't blame him after the abuse he got when he walked past the new stand :D

hamish
20/07/2005, 10:28 PM
I'm still speechless

Don't worry - it won't last long Anto. You now what we're like in Footieland. :D

hamish
20/07/2005, 10:30 PM
Yeah, we need a good old Éanna Olly rant to get his back to normality :p

I thought he gave Shels a good bit of praise but he's certainly not a favourite with Glens fans.
I'd say Eanna is waiting for City to see off Ekranes before he starts letting fly. :D

20/07/2005, 10:34 PM
I thought he gave Shels a good bit of praise but he's certainly not a favourite with Glens fans.
I'd say Eanna is waiting for City to see off Ekranes before he starts letting fly. :D

and they will too,we'll get a clean sweep when Cork and Longford finish the job they started

hamish
20/07/2005, 10:48 PM
and they will too,we'll get a clean sweep when Cork and Longford finish the job they started

This forum is getting too nicey nicey by far. :D Dahamsta must be despairing. :D

sonofstan
20/07/2005, 10:54 PM
This forum is getting too nicey nicey by far. :D Dahamsta must be despairing. :D
Note complete absence - till now obviously - of Bohs or Rovers fans on this thread. Keeping the powder dry

20/07/2005, 11:01 PM
OLLIE BYRNE IS A LEGEND

He`s certainly something ending in END, but legend wasn't what I was thinking.

hamish
20/07/2005, 11:02 PM
Note complete absence - till now obviously - of Bohs or Rovers fans on this thread. Keeping the powder dry

I think, sonofstan, there is one Bohs fan on the other Shels/Glens thread with a bit of praise.
Jesus, I hope you beat Steau because you know what will happen if you don't. :eek:

20/07/2005, 11:03 PM
Just in the interests of balance :D ;)

No doubt the Poisonous Little Dwarf Fenlon will consider himself the greatest manager of all time after beating a Ten man, understrength, unfit team of part timers from one of the lowest rated leagues in Europe.

Come on the Steaua!!!

That do for the time being? :D

hamish
20/07/2005, 11:07 PM
Just in the interests of balance ;)

No doubt the Poisonous Little Dwarf Fenlon will consider himself the greatest manager of all time after beating a Ten man, understrength, unfit team of part timers from one of the lowest rated leagues in Europe.

Come on the Steaua!!!

That do for the time being?

:D :D :D LOL

Over to you Shels guys.

20/07/2005, 11:08 PM
The Glentoran fans need to think about their team's preparation for this tie.
Pat Dolan's comments about Glentoran's offhand attitude to playing in Europe were spot on for once.

They had some of their best players missing on holiday for the first leg for example. The sort of crap that EL clubs used to indulge in 15 years ago.
They had a part time " ah sure we have no chance anyway "attitude to the games despite the fact that Linfield won the Setanta Cup at Tolka Park a few short weeks ago.

20/07/2005, 11:08 PM
I know Réiteoir is being tongue in cheek a bit but not entirely wrong. However I would point out the unfit team of part timers used to be us. Now we're whipping these boys around. It's a progressive step.

20/07/2005, 11:16 PM
I know Réiteoir is being tongue in cheek a bit but not entirely wrong. However I would point out the unfit team of part timers used to be us. Now we're whipping these boys around. It's a progressive step.

That's exactly it, yeah they're poor, but how nice is it to win a European game 6 bloody 2 and think that we should have won it by even more. That used to be us.

21/07/2005, 12:03 AM
excellent, shelbourne doing what eL teams have never really done in the past: made european opponents look poor.

city 4 malmo 1 ;) ...swedish champions looking very poor ;)

crc
21/07/2005, 12:32 AM
Whatever about winning 6-2 (which is great BTW), how about taking a look at this elite list of leagues (http://sathanasias.bravepages.com/f-res/f-2006-crank.html) :

1. Germany
2. England
3. Ireland
4. France
5. Italy
6. Portugal
7. Spain
... :) :) :)

we keep good company!

hamish
21/07/2005, 1:04 AM
Whatever about winning 6-2 (which is great BTW), how about taking a look at this elite list of leagues (http://sathanasias.bravepages.com/f-res/f-2006-crank.html) :

1. Germany
2. England
3. Ireland
4. France
5. Italy
6. Portugal
7. Spain
... :) :) :)

we keep good company!

This may be temporary - obviously hope it's not - wouldn't that make a great story for Irish newspapers? The lazy fcukers who write on sports won't even know about that table and if they did, either wouldn't bother to mention it or use it as an excuse to badmouth the EL.

21/07/2005, 1:12 AM
Great win for Shels, I think they will do very well against Steau. They should keep the pitch the way it is, at least Steau can't complain about the grass being too long.

Do away goals count extra in these qualifying rounds?
It would appear not if the following report is factual.
I was checking out the soccer reports on sportinglife.com about the games last night and I came across this game.
Kairat won the first leg 2-0 at home, this report is from the 2nd leg.
"Artmedia Bratislava who beat Kazakhstan's Kairat Almaty 4-1 for a 4-3 aggregate win. It was a dramatic match with goals from Balazs Borbely and Daniel Tchur scoring for the Slovakian side to level the aggregate scores. When Andrey Bogomolov scored a stoppage time goal for Kairat it looked as though the Kazakhs would progress but Jan Kozak's spot kick took the match into extra time. In the last seconds of the extra period Pavol Stano netted the decider."

21/07/2005, 1:13 AM
No, away goals count. We progressed via away goals in the first round last season.

I've no idea what happened in that report, sounds very odd.

BohsFans
21/07/2005, 2:53 AM
Anyone no the attendence or roughly what it was?

hamish
21/07/2005, 5:10 AM
Anyone no the attendence or roughly what it was?

Sky Sports text gave a crowd of 6,000.