View Full Version : Matches Weekend 18th 19th March

Pages : 1 2 [3]

sbgawa
23/03/2022, 7:59 AM
I remember Bohs had an offer from Phillips the Dutch electronics company to change their name for a big sum of money. In relation to Bohs, Roddy Collins had an interesting piece in yesterday's tabloids. He feels the club has sort of lost their way in relation to what a soccer club/team competing in a national league should be. Winning the FAI cup or league cup even matters a lot more that a Bob Marley 2nd shirt. Also he thinks that the 'community relations work' angle the club promotes is exaggerated, and that Bohs was always involved in their local area. I don't know Dublin much, but has Roddy got a point?
Roddy is spot on here almost every initiative that bohs do is also done by other clubs , their PR is better but i think that is as much to do with the right on woke lefties running the place now being passionate about being seen to do the right thing as much as doing it.
Also the media in this country are lazy and happy to repeat the same narrative.

23/03/2022, 9:13 AM
Agreeing with Roddy is dangerous, dangerous territory. He is just another "spend big on the team + feck the rest of it = profit" merchant with a trail of destruction behind him.

sbgawa
23/03/2022, 9:17 AM
Agreeing with Roddy is dangerous, dangerous territory. He is just another "spend big on the team + feck the rest of it = profit" merchant with a trail of destruction behind him.

All of the above is 100% true re the Rodster but even a stopped clock is right twice a day.
Saying that i cant wait to read his buke

23/03/2022, 9:26 AM

Even a stopped clock and all that though. Bohs PR work is fantastic but undoubtedly there's an element of throwing the baby out with the bath water to what they're doing. First job of a football club is winning football matches but a growing number of Bohs fans I know - admittedly older lads - are becoming disillusioned with the direction of the club.

As sbgawa points out other clubs including Rovers have, for instance, been doing great work with people in Direct Provision for a while now but you wouldn't know it judging solely on media coverage.

Even the brilliant feature on Football Focus last week failed to even mention Bohs and actual football beyond a cursory nod. Ultimately it's none of my business but it's daft to write off what Roddy is saying just because it's Roddy (despite years of evidence to the contrary!)

23/03/2022, 9:27 AM
All of the above is 100% true re the Rodster but even a stopped clock is right twice a day.
Saying that i cant wait to read his buke

Snap!

23/03/2022, 9:56 AM
Yes Bohs have some stuff that can be a bit fluffy or whatever but there is a lot of really good things happening there too that can't be denied. The surge in membership and attendance can't be argued with, or the commercial success of some of the jerseys. That all enables the club to be stable and to invest in the team as well, albeit they have not gone mad with it. It's easy to say football clubs are about winning games, but we can't all win and there is a lot more to clubs than just the first team stuff.

I would be a lot more worried about the clubs shipping huge losses year after year, even if they are picking up trophies along the way, because history tells us it'll end in tears at least for some of them.

sbgawa
23/03/2022, 10:49 AM
Yes Bohs have some stuff that can be a bit fluffy or whatever but there is a lot of really good things happening there too that can't be denied. The surge in membership and attendance can't be argued with, or the commercial success of some of the jerseys. That all enables the club to be stable and to invest in the team as well, albeit they have not gone mad with it. It's easy to say football clubs are about winning games, but we can't all win and there is a lot more to clubs than just the first team stuff.

I would be a lot more worried about the clubs shipping huge losses year after year, even if they are picking up trophies along the way, because history tells us it'll end in tears at least for some of them.

Is it a surge though ? they have a limited capacity stadium with only around 2750 home fan capacity or 2250 when Rovers are in town and are selling membership for €115 more than a season ticket (365/250) so the membership surge is more about getting access guaranteed.....attendances are increasing everywhere.

Nigels latest figs (below) would say that Pats , Derry , Rovers, Sligo, Shels Harps are all doing as well and way better in some cases.
plus Bohs are not full for every match bar a few so the capacity is only a restriction in as much as Rovers could say we are restricted as we could sell out some matches or indeed Pats or Derry

Like i said though their PR is excellent and the lazy narrative parroted by the Press does the rest.

2022 2018
Bohs - 3,343 (2,878 {2019}; 2,148; 2,006; 1,627; 1,724; 1,395; 1,597; 1,496; 1,488)
Derry - 3,009 (2,878; 2,297; 1,517; 1,563; 1,124; 1,106; 1,446; 1,460; 2,135)
Drogheda - 1,599 (928 FD; 377 FD; 850; 583 FD; 813; 1,064; 817; 977; 811)
Dundalk - 3,274 (2,775; 2,738; 2,674; 2,738; 3,158; 2,534; 1,997; 949; 1,355)
Harps - 1,810 (1,153; 708 FD; 1,202; 1,216; 784 FD; 449 FD; 479 FD; 429 FD; 433 FD; 644 FD)
Pat's - 4,401 (1,887; 1,621; 1,504; 1,088; 1,321; 1,386; 1,687; 1,474; 1,346)
Rovers - 5,318 (3,445; 2,749; 2,809; 2,041; 2,890; 2,269; 2,763; 3,127; 3,779)
Shels - 3,246 (1,075 FD; 654 FD; 496 FD; 554 FD; 596 FD; 713 FD; 1,114; 1,187; 781 FD)
Sligo - 2,946 (1,995; 1,853; 1,717; 1,750; 1,750; 1,959; 2,342; 3,007; 2,103)
UCD - 1,200 (735; 365 FD; 236 FD; 297 FD; 216 FD; 397; 487; 506; 558; 610)

23/03/2022, 11:11 AM

No argument with any of that but bottom line is that they haven't won a trophy in over a decade and have finished behind their biggest rivals in the League every year for the past 12 years.

As a veteran of Rovers examinership, 400 Club and fan takeover I'm all for cutting your cloth but eventually year upon year of lack of success for a self-professed big club becomes an issue for fans or at least it should.

23/03/2022, 11:30 AM
I think there's a good argument to be had for a balance between good community work, bigger membership numbers, and translating that to on the pitch success.

Bohs definitely are a PR machine, and to be honest, other clubs could probably learn a thing or two from them in that regard, as quite a lot of what they do is being done elsewhere too, but you can only ride the crest of the PR wave for so long, as support will grow stale unless there's something for them to cheer. The European run done it to an extent last season, but they would need to start pushing their way up the table fairly soon.

RealJohn91
23/03/2022, 1:13 PM
Of course it's a surge. They've only had 500 members at most throughout their history, now they've close to 2k and a couple of hundred season ticket holders on top that. If that doesn't qualify as a surge I'm not sure what does.

Shinkicker
23/03/2022, 1:20 PM
Yes sir Mr Mod sir!
No need to call me sir in front of the others, but you did write a two page essay mentioning multi agency stratagies and national figures which are in no way connected to the thread.

patsdad
23/03/2022, 4:06 PM
The St Pats community programme is very highly regarded (ask the schools and voluntary groups in the Inchicore and wider area) but the club took a decision some time ago not to use it for PR purposes. I can see the arguments both ways.

Bunny Kelly
23/03/2022, 7:11 PM
I couldn't disagree more with Roddy & the sentiment of few others here, long term the focus should be on the football CLUB & not the football TEAM, create a sense of belonging & you will have sustained support with the accompanying finance that comes with that. How many clubs burn through money chasing success on the pitch & are left in shreds after.

As for the Rovers fans going on about Bohs not winning trophies under Long i find nauseating, the club were broke & facing a relegation battle when he came in, the club lose their best players every year yet are in a better shape on & off the pitch now. Given the resources worked with it I'm not sure who could have done a better job, a month into last season people were laughing at them for signing Georgie Kelly a cast off from Pats & because Long over achieves he is judged off an unrealistic bar

sbgawa
23/03/2022, 8:33 PM
Longs overachivement is as much about PR as the off field stuff. He finishes where his budget should finish , factor in the flow of kids from St Kevin's and its bang average.
Long may he continue

23/03/2022, 10:58 PM
Roddy is spot on here almost every initiative that bohs do is also done by other clubs , their PR is better but i think that is as much to do with the right on woke lefties running the place now being passionate about being seen to do the right thing as much as doing it.
Also the media in this country are lazy and happy to repeat the same narrative.

Yizzer sooo off thread...

The DFC Press Box podcast had a Roddy special a few weeks ago, thoroughly enjoyable regardless of opinion on Roddy.

redobit
24/03/2022, 2:11 PM
Snap!

FYI. think the correct term here is 'jink'. And if it happens to you then you cant talk till someone punches you on the arm. So my kids say!!!

sbgawa
24/03/2022, 2:26 PM
Yizzer sooo off thread...

The DFC Press Box podcast had a Roddy special a few weeks ago, thoroughly enjoyable regardless of opinion on Roddy.

He's hooring himself out everywhere he was on the TFTES a couple of weeks ago pushing his buke.
Very entertaining once you realise its mostly spoof

24/03/2022, 3:12 PM
No need to call me sir in front of the others, but you did write a two page essay mentioning multi agency stratagies and national figures which are in no way connected to the thread.

Bohs membership, attendances, their lack of silverware, Conor Hoey are to do with matches weekend 18th/19th? keep waving that backseat mod stick! The thread title specifics are long over, conversations digress, live a little!

24/03/2022, 3:29 PM
He's hooring himself out everywhere he was on the TFTES a couple of weeks ago pushing his buke.
Very entertaining once you realise its mostly spoof

Says he has a job lined up in England this summer. Be interesting to see if it comes to pass. Roddy doesnt lack self belief, he certainly can talk the talk, but I do find him entertaining if not always for the reason he'd intend. I think it was fashionable to dislike him and people enjoyed Roddy bashing which occasionally was harsh. I completely understand why fans of Rovers and Derry in particular would show him contempt, I dont know why eg Dundalk fans would have such a dislike of him though bar just joining in for the sake of it.

ontheotherhand
24/03/2022, 3:43 PM
I'll get us back on track Nesta....

Where's the 5 pages of demands for supporters of Dundalk, Drogheda, Bohs, Sligo, Cork, Bray and whoever else to prostrate themselves at the feet of the foot.ie pantheon and beg for forgiveness while condemning the recent behavior of the morons they don't know who caused all the trouble? Surely it's not just Rovers fans who have to go through that process in order to be clearly not in favour of anti-social nonsense?

That should do it yeah?

24/03/2022, 5:04 PM
Flares thrown on the pitch by Dundalk fans has been called out but by Dundalk fans, no excuses and thankfully nobody was injured or there could have been a bcd sanction (then overturned), it delayed the game and there will be a fine. I blame the inadequate Drogheda security so Drogheda should be the ones sanctioned for Dundalk idiots behaviour....I'm sure there are people who could have pointed out the culprits in all seriousness. Drogheda fans on the pitch in Drogheda has been criticised both after the goal and post match, Conor Hoey nipped criticism in the bud but yes you are correct, there hasnt been a wider condemnation from fans of other clubs here. Drogheda should be doubly fined for additional inadequate security arrangements. You will have to be more specific for the others oth if its not the general scourge of flares you are referring to. Its a back handed compliment that Rovers fans are held to an expectation of a higher level of restraint than Drogheda fans - they dont get too many opportunities to celebrate wildly, on this occasion a 1 nil league win over Dundalk, so possibly given a fools pardon.

ontheotherhand
24/03/2022, 5:19 PM
Yeow! Now we're back on something approaching a topic to do with matchdays....

It was 95% a joke. It does get a bit annoying to be called out more regularly than other clubs but, as you say, it is also something of a compliment. Nice to know we are often thought of....

I do think your point on security is fair though. In my opinion (which isn't educated obviously) all clubs should be upping their security and sending a message now. Gates are up so the time is right to invest a bit more. Rovers have for Category A games. You don't see much trouble in Tallaght regardless. If we stamp this ****e out (particularly the stuff happening in the grounds) now it may just die out as people get used to coming back to games after covid and you filter out the real headcases by charging them. The Rovers dopes who lit the firework, damaged the Harps door and punched the Derry fan, should all have been nabbed by security, removed from the ground and handed to the gardai. Bans are great but I'm not sure how you can enforce them across the board.

JC_GUFC
25/03/2022, 10:02 AM
Yeow! Now we're back on something approaching a topic to do with matchdays....

It was 95% a joke. It does get a bit annoying to be called out more regularly than other clubs but, as you say, it is also something of a compliment. Nice to know we are often thought of....

I do think your point on security is fair though. In my opinion (which isn't educated obviously) all clubs should be upping their security and sending a message now. Gates are up so the time is right to invest a bit more. Rovers have for Category A games. You don't see much trouble in Tallaght regardless. If we stamp this ****e out (particularly the stuff happening in the grounds) now it may just die out as people get used to coming back to games after covid and you filter out the real headcases by charging them. The Rovers dopes who lit the firework, damaged the Harps door and punched the Derry fan, should all have been nabbed by security, removed from the ground and handed to the gardai. Bans are great but I'm not sure how you can enforce them across the board.

I said pretty much the same earlier - crowds are going up but I'm not sure clubs have put in more security.

For me the one biggest issue and the thing that drives the most unsavoury scenes in pitch encroachment. If this is just stopped, or if fines are issued to the individuals who do it then it will stop pretty quickly. Catch lads running on to the field, hand them to Gardai and charge them with a €500 fine - they won't do it again in a hurry and neither will their mates.

25/03/2022, 1:08 PM
To fine people would need the introduction of legislation i'd imagine, or if fines are issued they can just be ignored. Chucking them out and issuing bans is the club prerogative. Its basically laziness or not wanting the hassle to not escort people to the gate and just send them back in to the crowd to do it again for the next goal. There's a culture element to it, i've been at international rugby matches in the old Landsdowne where people have ran on to the pitch when Ireland scored, for years the post match pitch invasion was the norm. We all know the scenes from Croke Park, when they wanted to stop the pitch invasion with stewarding the 1st year this was to be stopped fans (either Armagh or Tyrone) fans charged the lines and the stewards gave up. Following year there was a perspex barrier installed on Hill 16. There were the very unsavoury scenes after the 2010 Leinster Final also where Louth fans barged the ref about and stuff was thrown at the officials heading down the tunnel. Even with this I dont think for LoI a major effort is needed, a few extra professional security people at certain places in the various grounds.