View Full Version : Worst band names

18/07/2005, 2:39 PM
Ok, so what band do you think have the worst name? Wheather it's pop, rock or country and western doesn't matter, just which one has a crap name?

I have to go for: yourcodenameismilo, that is terrible, for starters it's too long and also it makes no sense at all

18/07/2005, 2:42 PM
savage garden
crazy town
the darkness

18/07/2005, 2:45 PM
Savage Garden... based on Cruel Garden a Stranglers B-side perhaps?
Crazy Town... taken from a line in Nights On Broadway by the Bee Gees perhaps?
The Darkness.... because they can't see the light perhaps? :D

Westlife is a fairly cat name....given that North America is much further Wesht than Sligo... ;)

18/07/2005, 2:46 PM
Dogs Die in Hot Cars or something similar is one that annoys me. Also, the Go Teams. :eek: :confused:

18/07/2005, 2:54 PM
Michael Bolton ( enough said i think)

18/07/2005, 3:00 PM
Michael Bolton ( enough said i think)
His real name is Michael Bolotin but Americans cannot pronounce that hence Bolton :p

Gareth
18/07/2005, 3:28 PM
I have to go for: yourcodenameismilo, that is terrible, for starters it's too long and also it makes no sense at all

I love that band.....

The Scissor Sisters.
Busted.

18/07/2005, 4:13 PM
.....And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead.

too long by far!!

18/07/2005, 4:17 PM
David Devant & His Spirit Wife.

Their failure to crack the big time has been attributed entirely to their name. Great band, though.

hamish
18/07/2005, 4:29 PM
Christians in search of filth - punk band in the 70s
Peter and the Test Tube Babies - ditto
Vomit - late 70s East Galway attempt to jump on punk bandwagon - thankfully never made it out of rehersals. :D
The Red River Valley Boys - country n Irish combo - available for village pubs and weddings.

18/07/2005, 4:38 PM
wasnt there a band called ken dodd's dad's dog's dead? if so thats the best name ever

hamish
18/07/2005, 5:14 PM
I mean, it sounds like they were trying very very hard to impress those spotty kids that think about death a lot...instead of getting a job and a kick up the arse...

:D :D :D

18/07/2005, 5:33 PM
what about "jerry fish and the mud bug club"? really písses me off every time i hear it for some reason :o

ken foree
18/07/2005, 6:04 PM
most band names are awful when you think about it.

duran duran is dire..

duran duran duran is inspired though!

hamish
18/07/2005, 6:08 PM
Another crap name and band from the 80s - Kajagoogoo. :eek:

18/07/2005, 6:23 PM
Two truly daft names, in the 'Bowling for Soup' type vein :

Cactus World News
- Irish band from the 80's. Weren't up to much. Songs like 'World's Apart'.

Toad the Wet Sprocket
- Canadian outfit.
- Ignoring the truly woeful name, they do have at leats one cracking album (Dulcinea).

I'd say they are fairly hard to beat.

hamish
18/07/2005, 6:30 PM
Two truly daft names, in the 'Bowling for Soup' type vein :

Cactus World News
- Irish band from the 80's. Weren't up to much. Songs like 'World's Apart'.

Toad the Wet Sprocket
- Canadian outfit.
- Ignoring the truly woeful name, they do have at leats one cracking album (Dulcinea).

I'd say they are fairly hard to beat.

I do indeed remember Toad and I think I might even have an album of theirs or maybe a song or two on a a compilation album somewhere...must have a look...I've so many bloody albums, tapes, CDs etc but I do recall that there was one great tune they had.......Jesus my memory is fcuked.

REVIP
18/07/2005, 6:39 PM
The Teardrop Explodes - pretentious crap

Dead Kennedys - not even funny

Joy Division

18/07/2005, 7:04 PM
Neds Atomic Dustbin
Hootie and the Blowfish.

Band played ucc last year called Free Beer.
Looks good on posters.
I always maintained that if i'd a band i'd call it
Football.

Nah?
Any takers?

Gerrit
18/07/2005, 7:31 PM
Joy Division

Disagree here. Joy Division was a name with a history (named after the prostitutes in the sad decor or World War II) and I think the name bounces ideally with the band's gloomy messages. Ian Curtis is a genius...

Right Said Fred (do they still exist ?!) was a pretty dull name...

hamish
18/07/2005, 8:09 PM
Disagree here. Joy Division was a name with a history (named after the prostitutes in the sad decor or World War II) and I think the name bounces ideally with the band's gloomy messages. Ian Curtis is a genius...

Right Said Fred (do they still exist ?!) was a pretty dull name...

I read somewhere recently that they were doing a "gig" somewhere in Latvia or some place like that.

18/07/2005, 10:01 PM
Skinny Puppy ;) hehe.

CHUMBAWAMBA
[Happy now lads? :)]
Joy Division cannot, under any circumastances, be considered a bad name!

REVIP
19/07/2005, 6:38 AM

Sorry, but I can't cope with anything to do with the Nazis

I think Ian Curtis was a lot more sophisticated than some of the people who followed his band.

19/07/2005, 8:36 AM
Wow, what a low dig! :( ;)

19/07/2005, 9:12 AM
Funeral for a Friend is a pretty ****e name for a band. I mean, it sounds like they were trying very very hard to impress those spotty kids that think about death a lot...instead of getting a job and a kick up the arse...

I don't think they knew about it at the time, but Funeral For A Friend was the name of the Superman storyline in DC comics when he was killed

19/07/2005, 9:55 AM
Skinny Puppy ;) hehe.

CHUMBAWUMBA

Pretty certain that's CHUMBAWAMBA

Generally I think half the names on this list should be on a "best" band names ever rather than worst.

Many of my favouite bands have what strike me as rather uninspired monikers
-the Who, The Smiths, The Birthday Party, The Wedding Present, The Housemartins.

Always thought Metallica was a dumb corny name for a metal band. Only endears with time and association with the artists canon of work. ...ditto The Beatles.

Nirvana is a crappy name for a band of any genre -and they nicked it from a 1960's division 3 Mama's and Papa's type outfit ...and subseqeuntly paid dearly for it.

Always thought Oasis sounded like a name of horrible pop soul band ala M People (now there's a **** name for ye).

How about all the w@nkers who think it's really smart to replace Cs' with Ks' and Ss' with Zs'. Cutting Krew, Kriss Kross, Split Enz. (ah yes ...who became Crowded House ...the Sh1te just keeps on comin')

19/07/2005, 10:39 AM
Though some of them are good bands I hate the type who are trying to ironic and cleverly self-deprecating with their names... Garbage and Dodgy come to mind straight off.

A lot of band names are kinda cwap and uninspired anyway, Boyzone sounds a club of 12 year olds who don't allow girls to join because the puberty fairy has yet to pay a visit to the squeaky voiced youngsters.

One of my favourite bands but The Goo Goo Dolls is a dumb name.

Gay For Johnny Depp is possibly the best name ever.

REVIP
19/07/2005, 11:23 AM
Wow, what a low dig! :( ;)

Sorry, wasn't meant as a dig!! :)

I lived in London -79-83 - some of the Joy Division fans were NF types - sort of guys that followed Millwall.

Some of the NF boys were strange - they were into Two Tone/Ska stuff. Bad Manners used to get a big following amongst them - despite the fact that Buster Bloodvessel (can't think of his proper name!) was very anti-racist

19/07/2005, 11:30 AM
Sorry, but I can't cope with anything to do with the Nazis

I think Ian Curtis was a lot more sophisticated than some of the people who followed his band.

It's a valid point. They took their name from the concentration camp sheds were the guards would house prettier inmates trading better conditions for sex.

The famous "you all forgot Rudolph Hess" quip invited a lot of grief.

This continued after his death and Joy Divisions demise when the rest took the moniker 'New Order' and were accused of 'coat trailing to the skinheads again'

19/07/2005, 11:34 AM
Anyone remember

Flux of Pink Indians

or

The Bonzo Dog DooDah Band ?

ThatGuy
19/07/2005, 11:47 AM
Worst name for a band ever is, without a doubt, "Dave Dee, Dozy, Beaky, Mick & Tich".

19/07/2005, 1:07 PM
Pretty certain that's CHUMBAWAMBA

Yeah, your right it is CHUMBAWAMBA :D :D

19/07/2005, 1:32 PM
Did Carter USM ever go by the full title 'Carter Unstoppable Sex Machine'.

And did Fuzzbox ever use the full version 'We've Got Fuzzbox and We're Gonna Use It'

yes to both. Carter USM was merely a convenient abbreviation (particularly for print). Saw someone introduce them on TOTP one night -exactly the type of show you'd think such an abbreviation might be employed -but the guy made the point of emphasising every word as they started into the classic 'Only Living Boy In New Cross'

I have a couple of singles at home -'Love Is The Slug' (1987 -my earliest shoplifting memory! :eek: ) and 'Rules and Regulations' (1986) by 'We've Gotta Fuzzbox and We're Gonna Use It' both of which are class and also their 1989 LP 'Big Bang' (spawned singles 'Pink Sunshine' and 'International Rescue') which is pretty horrible and was released under the name 'Fuzzbox'

HomeBrewPlease
19/07/2005, 1:56 PM
.....And You Will Know Us By The Trail Of Dead.

too long by far!!

Oh no. I think that is a class name. Cant yoy just picture all the dead bodies trailing behind them.

19/07/2005, 2:04 PM
Everything But The Girl
Always thought that was a funny name with a female vocalist who was anything but a girl. :eek: :D

noby
19/07/2005, 2:14 PM
yes to both. Carter USM was merely a convenient abbreviation (particularly for print). Saw someone introduce them on TOTP one night -exactly the type of show you'd think such an abbreviation might be employed -but the guy made the point of emphasising every word as they started into the classic 'Only Living Boy In New Cross'

Wasn't there a certain ex-US president not too happy with posters of him with the words "Unstoppable Sex Machine" printed underneath.

Has this thread turned into the most interesting/unusual band names.

Some others:

? and the Mysterians
Q and not U
Death to tyrants (especially for REVIP)
Charles Wright and the Watts 103rd Street Rhythm Band

Everything But The Girl fall in to the category of "if we knew then that we'd still be going now, we'd have thought of a better name"

Duran Duran, as mentioned earlier fall into the category of Fictional character names. Along with Boo Radleys, Belle & Sebastian etc.

19/07/2005, 2:28 PM
Five
Blue
One True Voice
Steps
S Club 7
Bellfire
Simply Red
Bananarama
McFly

The list is endless...

19/07/2005, 2:54 PM
How come no one's mentioned Boyzone or Take That yet? Cheesier than their "music"

And Peadar, you forgot S Club Junior! :o

19/07/2005, 2:56 PM
Flock of Seagulls :rolleyes:
Haircut100 :rolleyes:
ABC :rolleyes:
Aha :mad:

You are right, the list is endless.

hamish
19/07/2005, 3:17 PM
Here's a double whammy - first single I ever bought was by Wayne Fontana and the Mindbenders. :o No kidding, it was called, "Um, um, um, um, um". :o It would probably be called the Humming Song nowadays. I think it was a big hit in 1964 or 65. They're probably better known for putting out the original version of "Groovy kind of love" which Phil Collins also had a hit with.

Dr.Strangely Strange was a Dublin band in late 60s and I remember them on The Late Late then singing a ditty called "Dublin Corporation". Oh Jesus, it was awful.

History lesson over :D

Hamish the Historian.

ken foree
19/07/2005, 4:25 PM
cool band names of bands i like:

sunburned hand of the man :D
jackie-o motherf*cker :eek:
acid mothers temple and the melting paraiso u.f.o. :D :D
the incredible string band
comets on fire

great bands. '..trail of dead' have a great name, possibly one of the best out there i've heard of. haven't listened to much of their music though which always makes the name mean so much more.

all the jazz greats have amazing names, ornette coleman, sun ra, pharoah sanders, miles davis, john coltrane, charlie parker - - the sh!t

wire magazine this month has 15 dodgy band names, some great: barbara's bush, the dead kenny Gs, to live and shave in l.a. (great name)

band names that sound like the band? motorhead for one... :cool:

19/07/2005, 5:11 PM
dumbass radio friendly US bands like... Matchbox 20, Maroon 5 and stupid rappers names like Fat Joe, Nelly (thats a lass's name surely!), Usher, Boyz II Men....

hamish
19/07/2005, 5:39 PM
!!!!!!!

http://www.timgoulding.com/music/dr_strangely_strange.shtml

I know Tim Goulding, Ivan Pawle and Joe Thoma, who all featured with the band at one time or another. Tim is now a very successful artist - great paintings, his burning heather series is in every well-to-do house in the area, and he lives in Beara in West Cork. Joe Thoma is an arts teacher in South Kerry. Ivan is from South Kerry but dunno where he is now.

Jesus Conor - you're a mine of information on music - is there anything you don't know about the scene. Respect.
That DSS song was still awful :D

Thomo
19/07/2005, 6:46 PM
joe dolan. terrible name :D

19/07/2005, 10:28 PM
dumbass radio friendly US bands like... Matchbox 20, Maroon 5 and stupid rappers names like Fat Joe, Nelly (thats a lass's name surely!), Usher, Boyz II Men....

God, I totally forgot about rap! Any rapper, ever! (that should cover it :D)

Flea
19/07/2005, 11:36 PM
Worst Band names heres a list :) :

Metallica
Maroon 5
Beatles
New Order
The Killers
The Bravery
Queens of the Stone Age
Bloc Party
Velvet Revolver
Whitesnake
Air Supply
Rainbow
Toto
Jet
The Hives
The Strokes (sounds like peddlin' :) )
Wheatus
The Dubliners (couldn't think of anything better no?)
Queen
Rush
Judas Priest
Slayer
Megadeth :mad:
Yes
Audioslave
Faithless
Cream
Prince :mad:
Guns n Roses
Iron Maiden
Ramones
Doors
Kiss
The Band
And theres hundreds more...

Cool names include:

Fats Domino
The Who
Led Zeppelin(which came from Keith Moon of "The Who")
Alice in Chains
Rage Against the Machine
Manic Street Preachers
At the Drive In
Beach Boys
Talking Heads
Radiohead
Pearl Jam
Nirvana
Sly and the Family Stone
Franks Zappa
The Box Tops
Canned Heat
AcDc
System of A Down
Mars Volta
White Stripes
Incubus
Beck
Interpol
Sigur Ros

and more...

19/07/2005, 11:49 PM
Neds Atomic Dustbin
Hootie and the Blowfish.

Don't be dissing the Neds now Risteard. Have been listening to nothing else in my car all week...!

Or if you're gonna dis them, then at least mention the 'New Fast Automatic Daffodils' (or New FADS) - as their name is similiar yet remarkably dafter....

19/07/2005, 11:51 PM
Worst Band names heres a list :) :

Metallica
Maroon 5
Beatles
New Order
The Killers
The Bravery
Queens of the Stone Age
Bloc Party
Velvet Revolver
Whitesnake
Air Supply
Rainbow
Toto
Jet
The Hives
The Strokes (sounds like peddlin' :) )
Wheatus
The Dubliners (couldn't think of anything better no?)
Queen
Rush
Judas Priest
Slayer
Megadeth :mad:
Yes
Audioslave
Faithless
Cream
Prince :mad:
Guns n Roses
Iron Maiden
Ramones
Doors
Kiss
The Band
And theres hundreds more...

Cool names include:

Fats Domino
The Who
Led Zeppelin(which came from Keith Moon of "The Who")
Alice in Chains
Rage Against the Machine
Manic Street Preachers
At the Drive In
Beach Boys
Talking Heads
Radiohead
Pearl Jam
Nirvana
Sly and the Family Stone
Franks Zappa
The Box Tops
Canned Heat
AcDc
System of A Down
Mars Volta
White Stripes
Incubus
Beck
Interpol
Sigur Ros

and more...

Aaaaah - come on Flea. There's nought wrong with half of those names. Faithless ? Interpol ? White Stripes ? The Beach Boys ? Audioslave ? Queen ? They mightened be what you would choose for your own band, but they all 'work'.

What would you class as a good band name then ?

Flea
20/07/2005, 12:02 AM
Aaaaah - come on Flea. There's nought wrong with half of those names. Faithless ? Interpol ? White Stripes ? The Beach Boys ? Audioslave ? Queen ? They mightened be what you would choose for your own band, but they all 'work'.

What would you class as a good band name then ?

I said that the beach boys interpol and the white stripes are cool names.
As for Faithless it just sounds like the band dont stand for anything. Its different if you call your band something like the Red Hot Chilli Peppers. Yes this too doesnt mean anything but its obvious there was no intent for it to mean anything.
Audioslave sounds like the previously referred to spotty kids are now adults and are been targeted here. Break it up Audio and Slave, oh its crap.Its sounds laboured. They should have stuck with their first name Civilian.
Queen is corny. :D

I dont know what is a good name, but I like names that are 1. not corny 2. not pretentous 3. If its ment to mean something mean something smart like the Mars Volta not faithless which ironically has similar meanings
4. If it doesn't mean anything keep it simple like Interpol not Kiss(which is corny)

I dunno I can't describe it just try and be smart with a name but don't overdo the 'smartness'

20/07/2005, 9:45 AM
Aw shucks!!!

just thought of an excellent moniker of an american power punk covers band
ME FIRST & THE GIMME GIMMES :cool:

they specialise in speed/power punk covers of movie classics like 'my favourite things', 'Somewher Over the Rainbow' 'Who Put the Bop in the Bop-Shoo-Wop-Shoo-Wop' etc...