> >>
> >>"....... and Brian Dooher is down injured. And while he is, I'll tell ye
>a
> >>little story. I was in Times Square in New York last week, and I was
> >>missing the Championship back home. So I approached a newstand and said
>'I
> >>suppose ye wouldn't have the Kerryman would ye? To which, the Egyptian
> >>behind the counter turned to me and said 'do you want the North Kerry
> >>edition or the South Kerry Edition?'... he had both... so I bought both.
> >>......and Dooher is back on his feet..."
> >>
> >>"Anthony Lynch the Cork corner back will be the last person to let you
> >>down - his people are undertakers" :eek:
> >>
> >>"I saw a few Sligo people at Mass in Gardiner Street this morning and
>the
> >>omens seem to be good for them, the priest was wearing the same colours
>as
> >>the Sligo jersey! 40yards out on the Hogan stand side of the field
>Ciaran
> >>Whelan goes on a rampage, it's a goal. So much for religion." :rolleyes:
> >>
> >>"Colin Corkery on the 45 lets go with the right boot. It's over the bar.
> >>This man shouldn't be playing football. He's made a Lazarus-like
>recovery
> >>from a heart condition. Lazarus was a great man but he couldn't kick
> >>points like Colin Corkery."
> >>
> >>"1-5 to 0-8... well from Lapland to the Antartic, that's level scores in
> >>any man's language." :rolleyes:
> >>
> >>"Pat Fox has it on his hurl and is motering well now... but here comes
>Joe
> >>Rabitte hot on his tail..... I've seen it all now a Rabbitte chasing a
>Fox
> >>around Croke Park." :D
> >>
> >>"I see John O'Donnell dispensing water on the sideline. Tipperary,
> >>sponsored by a water company. Cork supported by a tae company. I wonder
> >>will they meet up later for afternoon tae." :rolleyes:
> >>
> >>"Teddy looks at the ball, the ball looks at Teddy"
> >>
> >>"Danny 'The Yank' Culloty. He came down the mountains and han't he done
> >>well"
> >>
> >>"He grabs the sliotar, he's on the 50... he's on the 40.... he's on the
> >>30..... he's on the ground!!"
> >>
> >>"In the first half they played with the wind. In the second half they
> >>playe with the ball"
> >>
> >>"He kicks the ball Ian san aer, could've been a goal, could've been a
> >>point..... it went wide!!"
> >>
> >>"Stephen Byrne with the puck out for Offaly... Stephen, one of 12... all
> >>but one are here today, the one that's missing is Mary, she's at home
> >>minding the house... and the ball is dropping i lar na bpairce"
> >>
> >>"Pat Fox out to the forty and grabs the sliotar. I bought a dog from his
> >>father last week. Fox turns and sprints for goal, the dog ran a great
>race
> >>last Tuesday in Limerick. Fox to the 21 fores a shot, it goes to the
>left
> >>and wide..... and tje dog lost as well"
> >>
> >>"SeanOg O'Hailpin... his father's from Fermanagh, his mother;s from
> >>Fiji...... neither a hurling stronghold"
> >>
> >>"Teddy McCarthy to John McCarthy, no relation. John McCarthy back to
>Teddy
> >>McCarthy, still no relation"

tayto repairman
17/07/2005, 4:06 PM

the man's a living legend.

i'm listening to him right now on rté radio 1 online - dublin V laois - dubs are winning 0-7 - 0-3

come on laois!

17/07/2005, 8:25 PM

the man's a living legend.

i'm listening to him right now on rté radio 1 online - dublin V laois - dubs are winning 0-7 - 0-3

come on laois!

Methinks the man is a genius...... and bad luck old boy your lot seem to have lost :D

18/07/2005, 12:16 AM
He's great :D

tayto repairman
18/07/2005, 2:50 AM
Methinks the man is a genius...... and bad luck old boy your lot seem to have lost :D

my lot?

i'm a galwayman.

Thunderblaster
18/07/2005, 3:03 PM
Some weeks Nick likes to use Fanny, other weeks he prefers to do it by himself. :D

Ken Brown on Nick Faldo and his caddie Fanny Sunesson lining up shots together.

18/07/2005, 3:28 PM
Some weeks Nick likes to use Fanny, other weeks he prefers to do it by himself. :D

Ken Brown on Nick Faldo and his caddie Fanny Sunesson lining up shots together.

:D :D

Metrostars
18/07/2005, 9:58 PM
I always remember his line "The first half was even, the second half is even better".

Thunderblaster
02/08/2005, 2:42 PM
Minter, the undisputed world champion, leaves the ring not a champion. :eek:

Harry Carpenter

Thunderblaster
02/08/2005, 2:44 PM
This is really a lovely horse, I once rode her mother. :D

Ted Walsh.

Thunderblaster
02/08/2005, 2:46 PM
Tony has a quick look between his legs and likes what he sees. :D

Stewart Machin on Tony McCoy leading a race.

Thunderblaster
02/08/2005, 2:48 PM
He's pulling him off. The Spanish manager is pulling his captain off! :D

George "It's There/Danger Here" Hamilton

Thunderblaster
02/08/2005, 2:51 PM
Anyone remember Philip Greene's masterpiece when commentating on a Shamrock Rovers V Bohemians game when he took to a bit of plane spotting and then roared out "Oh f*ck it's a goal!!"? :eek: :D

Thunderblaster
02/08/2005, 2:53 PM
Ardilles strokes the ball like it was part of his anatomy. :D

Jimmy Magee

02/08/2005, 3:19 PM
This is really a lovely horse, I once rode her mother. :D

Ted Walsh.
I actually was watching RTE when Walsh said "I rode her mother down the Curragh".
Robert Hall completely lost it, couldn't carry on at all.
They took a break, came back and as soon as Hall tried to speak, he started laughing all over again.
For the rest of the broadcast, they both struggled through, neither man really regained any composure...superb television:D

02/08/2005, 3:36 PM
snooker 1 time some player was going for the blue

"and for those of you watching in black & white, the blue is behind the pink" :D

02/08/2005, 4:10 PM
legendary cricket commentary.

england v west indies

bowler michael holding of west ind bowling to peter willey of eng.the commentator said .......................

" the bowler is Holding, the batsman's Willey" :eek:

TheOwl
02/08/2005, 11:32 PM
I urge you all to download the best bit of sports commentary ever from here...

http://gummiwisdom.com/cal/the_play.html

You got to love it!

hamish
03/08/2005, 12:08 AM
I actually heard this back in the 80s or late 70s but it was a Sunday afternoon sports programme on RTE radio. Philip Greene is commentating on a game in Waterford and Liam ? (can't remember his second name) was the programme anchor. They got round to discussing Waterford's much travelled Paul Kirk. This is not too far from a direct quote.
Liam ? : "Paul Kirk, Phil, a man of many clubs, a peri-patetic player indeed"
Philip Greene: "Actually he's a very good player, Liam, very skilfull"
Liam ?: "No, Phil, I meant a peri-patetic player"
Philip: "No, no Liam, he's not very pathetic, he's having a fine game"
Liam: "I said peri-patetic, Philip......"

At this stage I was laughing so much I gleaned only bits of the rest of the conversation. I think Liam (what the fcuk is his surname) thanked Phil and went over to another live game.

I think it was Liam Nolan??? not 100% sure though.

03/08/2005, 8:41 AM
I actually heard this back in the 80s or late 70s but it was a Sunday afternoon sports programme on RTE radio. Philip Greene is commentating on a game in Waterford and Liam ? (can't remember his second name) was the programme anchor. They got round to discussing Waterford's much travelled Paul Kirk. This is not too far from a direct quote.
Liam ? : "Paul Kirk, Phil, a man of many clubs, a peri-patetic player indeed"
Philip Greene: "Actually he's a very good player, Liam, very skilfull"
Liam ?: "No, Phil, I meant a peri-patetic player"
Philip: "No, no Liam, he's not very pathetic, he's having a fine game"
Liam: "I said peri-patetic, Philip......"

At this stage I was laughing so much I gleaned only bits of the rest of the conversation. I think Liam (what the fcuk is his surname) thanked Phil and went over to another live game.

I think it was Liam Nolan??? not 100% sure though.
Liam Nolan is right SirHamish.
Was a tad more educated than Phillipp "C'mon the hoops and f*ck the rest of youse" Greene....;)

Tony Montana
03/08/2005, 4:28 PM
Big Ron:

'I would not say that he (David Ginola) is one of the best left wingers in the Premiership, but there are none better.'

'They've come out at half time and gone bang.'

'[Phil Neville] was treading on dangerous water there...'

'I've had this sneaking feeling throughout the game that it's there to be won...'

'I would also think that the replay showed it to be worse than it actually was.'

'I think that was a moment of cool panic there.'

'Beckenbauer has really gambled all his eggs.'

'If Glenn Hoddle said one word to his team at half time, it was concentration and focus.'

'They must go for it now as they have nothing to lose but the match.'

'Woodcock would have scored, but his shot was too perfect.'

'Someone in the England team will have to grab the ball by the horns.'

'He's not only a good player, but he's spiteful in the nicest sense of the word.'

'Tony Adams - he's the rock that the team has grown from.'

'...and he [Peter Schmeichel] extends and grows even bigger than he is.'

'They've done the old-fashioned things well; they've kicked the ball, they've headed it...'

'They've picked their heads up off the ground, and they now have a lot to carry on their shoulders.'

'Well, either side could win it, or it could be a draw.'

'He sliced the ball when he had it on a plate.'

'I'm afraid they've left their legs at home.'

'The keeper was unsighted - he still didn't see it'

'Zero-zero is a big score.'

'...in the other two games, the FA Cup Final and the Premiership.'

'You half fancied that to go in as it was rising and dipping at the same time.'

'Chelsea look like they've got a couple more gears left in the locker.'

'Now Manchester United are 2-1 down on aggregate, they are in a better position than when they started the game at 1-1.'

'Huddersfield will want to win this one.'

'That was Pele's strength - holding people off with his arm.'

'Stoichkov's playing on the wing, in this situation he likes to come in and scalp the centre-half.'

'[He's] the eqivalent of the Spanish David Beckham.'

'A ten-foot keeper really should have stopped that'

'There's a little triangle - five left-footed players.'

'I tell you what, if the Cameroons get a goal back here they're literally gonna catch on fire.'

'Well, Clive, it's all about the two Ms - movement and positioning.'

'He must be lightning slow'

'There's a snap about Liverpool that just isn't there'

'For me their biggest threat is when they get into the attacking part of the field.'

'If you score against the Italians you deserve a goal'

'He'll take some pleasure from that, Brian Carey. He and Steve Bull have been having it off all afternoon.'

'His white boots were on fire against Arsenal, and he'll be looking for them to reproduce tonight.'

'When Scholes gets it [tackling] wrong, they come in so late that they arrive yesterday'

'This is the best Man United have played in Europe this season and, conversely, the opposition has been excellent.'

'There's a few tired limbs in the blue legs.'

'Scholes and Van Nistelrooy drugged the last two defenders'

'Ryan Giggs is running long up the backside'

'Yes, Woodcock would have scored but his shot was just too perfect'

'Our fans have been branded with the same brush.'

'The Spaniards have been reduced to aiming aimless balls into the box'

'Liverpool are outnumbered numerically in midfield'

'There's lots of balls dropping off people.'

'The keeper should have saved that one, but he did.'

'Their strength is their strength'

'They are playing above the ground'

'He could have done a lot better there, but full marks to the lad.'

'Jari Litmanen should be made compulsory'

'Heskey needs to punch his own weight'

'Apart from picking the ball out of the net, he hasn’t had to make a save.'

'Scholes is very influential for England at international level.'

'At international level, giving the ball away doesn’t work too often.'

'You know when I say that things happen in matches? Well, it just happened there'

'They've certainly grown, the Japanese. I mean grown in stature, playing-wise.'

'Liverpool will think ‘we could have won this 2-2.’'

'I'm sure Bobby won't want them to be losing the match before winning it'

'Their forward got a lucky squeeze from the defender'

'Yordi circumnavigated Ledley King there'

'Lee Dixon will be up against two South American left-handers tonight.'

'Think of a number between 10 and 11'

'You don't want to be giving away free kicks in the penalty area'

'How are they defensively, attacking-wise?'

'The ball goes down the keeper's throat where it hits him on the knees to say the least'

'He should get his head to those. He is twelve foot tall.'

'He had acres of time there'

'That’s not the type of header you want to see your defender make, with his hand'

'His head just disappeared into his shoulders'

'They scored too early'

'Chelsea are the team who can break the Arsenal and Manchester United monopoly.'

'We haven't had a strategic free kick all night. No one's knocked over attackers ad lib'

'You can see the ball go past them, or the man, but you'll never see both man and ball go past at the same time. So if the ball goes past, the man won't, or if the man goes past they'll take the ball.'

'van Nistelrooy, predating as usual...'

03/08/2005, 4:45 PM
my lot?

i'm a galwayman.

Yeah your lot, the anti dublin brigade

Tony Montana
03/08/2005, 8:46 PM
Pat Dolan tonight:

"Pat Fenlon doesn't have Hans Christian Anderson on the bench,but Shelbourne need a fairytale" :D

03/08/2005, 8:57 PM
Pat Dolan tonight:

"Pat Fenlon doesn't have Hans Christian Anderson on the bench,but Shelbourne need a fairytale" :D

a dolan classic. i spat my dinner out! :D

08/08/2005, 5:37 PM
The best one I remember was Al Finucane of Limerick FC giving out about how Rovers treated winning the FAI Cup with contempt, having just seen Ronnie Nolan (no relation to Liam) dump the cup in the boot of his car:

Finucane: "The people of Limerick would cut off their arms to get their hands on the cup" :eek:

Thunderblaster
22/01/2006, 7:04 PM
I urge you all to download the best bit of sports commentary ever from here...

http://gummiwisdom.com/cal/the_play.html

You got to love it!

Commentator was certainly impartial.:rolleyes: The classic similarity was from the Norwegian commentator in 1981 with his "Lord Nelson, Winston Churchill, Maggie Thatcher, our boys have just beaten you!!", when Norway beat England 2-1.:D

Bosco
22/01/2006, 11:00 PM
Was watching one of those poker shows recently.There were 2 players left,cant remember their names,lets call them Phil and tony.Their was an english and an american commentator.The american fella suddenly goes "Things would no doubht be easier for tony if he could see phils hand",to which the english fella said something along the lines of "Did you really mean that,do you realise what you've just said,you my friend are an idiot"

Thunderblaster
23/01/2006, 12:46 AM
Was watching one of those poker shows recently.There were 2 players left,cant remember their names,lets call them Phil and tony.Their was an english and an american commentator.The american fella suddenly goes "Things would no doubht be easier for tony if he could see phils hand",to which the english fella said something along the lines of "Did you really mean that,do you realise what you've just said,you my friend are an idiot"

Great diplomacy I must say!!:rolleyes: George Hamilton might be in for that treatment yet?:eek: :D

ollie
31/01/2006, 1:55 PM
Clive Tyldesley: "… and Cisse's getting stripped off."
Andy Townsend: (long pause) ".... brilliant!"

Eamo - "Bayern, Arsenal, Real, Porto, haven't a hope. Chelsea good but won't win it, will struggle. AC Milan are not a top class side,
Barcelona lack a bit of steel. If United beat Milan they'll win it"

Gilsey - "I think Chelsea have a great chance"

Eamo - "I agree with John, I think Chelsea will beat Barcelona and reach the final."

07/02/2006, 1:44 PM
Gilsey (on rte when they used to show delayed coverage of the premiersh!t)
about six months after Grobbelaar had signed for Southampton "David james is doing a great job of keeping Grobbelaar out of this Liverpool side" feckin muppet do some research

Thunderblaster
06/03/2006, 9:26 PM
Anyone listen to the Ray D'arcy show on Today FM on Friday? He did a sketch on a commentator from a Tipperary U.21 game and it is meant to be on DVD. The clips from the game was something else with the commentator using a lot of language and giving out to the players and the referee. It is quite funny.:D I think that the DVDs can be got in Nenagh.

Thunderblaster
06/03/2006, 9:28 PM
On the NI game on Wednesday night, Jackie Fullerton beamed "There wasn't snow in the air, there is snow in the air now.":D

Aberdonian Stu
06/03/2006, 9:35 PM
Anyone listen to the Ray D'arcy show on Today FM on Friday? He did a sketch on a commentator from a Tipperary U.21 game and it is meant to be on DVD.

That is ancient, as in over ten years old at this stage. It's quite funny though.

12/03/2006, 10:09 AM
my lot?

i'm a galwayman.

Well you're an anyone but the Dubs fan then !:D

Ozymandias
14/03/2006, 3:14 PM
Anyone listen to the Ray D'arcy show on Today FM on Friday? He did a sketch on a commentator from a Tipperary U.21 game and it is meant to be on DVD. The clips from the game was something else with the commentator using a lot of language and giving out to the players and the referee. It is quite funny.:D I think that the DVDs can be got in Nenagh.

the commentator is eddie moroney (effin eddie) from aherlow. He did the commnetary for the under 21 football final between aherlow and nenagh...priceless stuff..this guy was not putting it on and is always like that...can be seen on a saturday in his brothers bar in lisvernane in the glen of aherlow..its like watching the unbelievables

14/03/2006, 3:42 PM
Lets hope Bobby Robson doesn't have to say this again:

"We didn't underestimate them. They were a lot better than we thought"

19/03/2006, 5:49 AM
CT, ITV commentator, France-Denmark, WC 2002:

"Zidane is playing in Djorkaeff's hole" :eek: :D

Reporter at Sharapova-Williams match/gruntfest, Wimbledon tennis championships, 2005:

"If you come in to your room, and don't know what's happening, just turn up the sound on the tv, and you'll think you're watching the
Fantasy Channel." True. :D

Thunderblaster
20/03/2006, 9:47 PM
CT, ITV commentator, France-Denmark, WC 2002:

"Zidane is playing in Djorkaeff's hole"

It must have been a serious tackle from behind!!:eek: :p :D

anto eile
22/03/2006, 12:16 AM
Big Ron:

'I would not say that he (David Ginola) is one of the best left wingers in the Premiership, but there are none better.'

'They've come out at half time and gone bang.'

'[Phil Neville] was treading on dangerous water there...'

'I've had this sneaking feeling throughout the game that it's there to be won...'

'I would also think that the replay showed it to be worse than it actually was.'

'I think that was a moment of cool panic there.'

'Beckenbauer has really gambled all his eggs.'

'If Glenn Hoddle said one word to his team at half time, it was concentration and focus.'

'They must go for it now as they have nothing to lose but the match.'

'Woodcock would have scored, but his shot was too perfect.'

'Someone in the England team will have to grab the ball by the horns.'

'He's not only a good player, but he's spiteful in the nicest sense of the word.'

'Tony Adams - he's the rock that the team has grown from.'

'...and he [Peter Schmeichel] extends and grows even bigger than he is.'

'They've done the old-fashioned things well; they've kicked the ball, they've headed it...'

'They've picked their heads up off the ground, and they now have a lot to carry on their shoulders.'

'Well, either side could win it, or it could be a draw.'

'He sliced the ball when he had it on a plate.'

'I'm afraid they've left their legs at home.'

'The keeper was unsighted - he still didn't see it'

'Zero-zero is a big score.'

'...in the other two games, the FA Cup Final and the Premiership.'

'You half fancied that to go in as it was rising and dipping at the same time.'

'Chelsea look like they've got a couple more gears left in the locker.'

'Now Manchester United are 2-1 down on aggregate, they are in a better position than when they started the game at 1-1.'

'Huddersfield will want to win this one.'

'That was Pele's strength - holding people off with his arm.'

'Stoichkov's playing on the wing, in this situation he likes to come in and scalp the centre-half.'

'[He's] the eqivalent of the Spanish David Beckham.'

'A ten-foot keeper really should have stopped that'

'There's a little triangle - five left-footed players.'

'I tell you what, if the Cameroons get a goal back here they're literally gonna catch on fire.'

'Well, Clive, it's all about the two Ms - movement and positioning.'

'He must be lightning slow'

'There's a snap about Liverpool that just isn't there'

'For me their biggest threat is when they get into the attacking part of the field.'

'If you score against the Italians you deserve a goal'

'He'll take some pleasure from that, Brian Carey. He and Steve Bull have been having it off all afternoon.'

'His white boots were on fire against Arsenal, and he'll be looking for them to reproduce tonight.'

'When Scholes gets it [tackling] wrong, they come in so late that they arrive yesterday'

'This is the best Man United have played in Europe this season and, conversely, the opposition has been excellent.'

'There's a few tired limbs in the blue legs.'

'Scholes and Van Nistelrooy drugged the last two defenders'

'Ryan Giggs is running long up the backside'

'Yes, Woodcock would have scored but his shot was just too perfect'

'Our fans have been branded with the same brush.'

'The Spaniards have been reduced to aiming aimless balls into the box'

'Liverpool are outnumbered numerically in midfield'

'There's lots of balls dropping off people.'

'The keeper should have saved that one, but he did.'

'Their strength is their strength'

'They are playing above the ground'

'He could have done a lot better there, but full marks to the lad.'

'Jari Litmanen should be made compulsory'

'Heskey needs to punch his own weight'

'Apart from picking the ball out of the net, he hasn’t had to make a save.'

'Scholes is very influential for England at international level.'

'At international level, giving the ball away doesn’t work too often.'

'You know when I say that things happen in matches? Well, it just happened there'

'They've certainly grown, the Japanese. I mean grown in stature, playing-wise.'

'Liverpool will think ‘we could have won this 2-2.’'

'I'm sure Bobby won't want them to be losing the match before winning it'

'Their forward got a lucky squeeze from the defender'

'Yordi circumnavigated Ledley King there'

'Lee Dixon will be up against two South American left-handers tonight.'

'Think of a number between 10 and 11'

'You don't want to be giving away free kicks in the penalty area'

'How are they defensively, attacking-wise?'

'The ball goes down the keeper's throat where it hits him on the knees to say the least'

'He should get his head to those. He is twelve foot tall.'

'He had acres of time there'

'That’s not the type of header you want to see your defender make, with his hand'

'His head just disappeared into his shoulders'

'They scored too early'

'Chelsea are the team who can break the Arsenal and Manchester United monopoly.'

'We haven't had a strategic free kick all night. No one's knocked over attackers ad lib'

'You can see the ball go past them, or the man, but you'll never see both man and ball go past at the same time. So if the ball goes past, the man won't, or if the man goes past they'll take the ball.'

'van Nistelrooy, predating as usual...'

hilarious stuff

24/03/2006, 3:46 PM
just check out my signature..............classic motson.

kevin keegan on some striker - "he literally has no left foot....well, not literally."

Thunderblaster
15/04/2006, 1:11 AM
"It was a good effort but he cannot pull it off" Peter Brackley and Trevor Brooking on ISS Pro Evolution 5:D

hamish
16/04/2006, 12:51 AM
Did anyone ever hear that Gah commentary from a club game in Tipperary or some place like that from about 10 years ago. Read about it. Apparently the commentator went mental with the referee, everyone and impartiality went out the door.
It was supposed - like that infamous Mr. Brennan advert (which I have on tape) - to be doing the rounds.:confused:

Thunderblaster
16/04/2006, 11:14 AM
Did anyone ever hear that Gah commentary from a club game in Tipperary or some place like that from about 10 years ago.

That is Effin Eddie. We spoke about him earlier.

stojkovic
16/04/2006, 1:53 PM
Gerald Sinsdat on Italian wing legend ;
"Franco Causio...purveyor of crosses to the aristocracy".

Kevin Keegan ;
"I know what's around the corner, I just don't know where the corner is".

Jimmy Greaves, on a snowbound White Hart Lane in the eighties ;
"At least Liverpool can keep an eye on Garth Crooks today".

Gerry Francis ;
"What I said to them at half-time would be unprintable on the radio".

Howard Wilkinson ;
"I'm a great believer that if you score one goal, the other team have to score twice to win".

Interviewer - "What is your nickname at Newcastle ?"
Shola Ameobi - "I don't have one".
Interviewer - "What does your manager Bobby Robson call you ?"
Shola Ameobi - "Carl Cort"

Brian Clough on Sven Goran Ericcson ;
"At least England have a manager who speaks better English than the players"

Northern Ireland's Steve Lomas ;
"It was very tough against Germany, they had eleven internationals out there tonight".

Bill Shankly ;
"If a player is not interfering with play or is not seeking to gain advantage then why isn't he"

Coup de grace ;
Reporter - "Gordon, can we have a quick word?".
Strachan - "Velocity".

Thunderblaster
27/04/2006, 12:51 AM
John Motson on a passage of play on Saturday in the FA Cup semi final.

Carvalho....Sissoko.......Graham Poll!!:D

Thunderblaster
18/05/2006, 12:26 AM
George Hamilton on the Champions League Final tonight. "Referee, will you get out of the ways please?":eek: Less than impartial commentary!!:D

Thunderblaster
18/06/2006, 12:55 PM
Jimmy Magee on the Italy V Ghana game. "Italy likes to play calm, gentle....and aggressive football":eek: :D

Emmet
18/06/2006, 8:17 PM
I remember years ago watching a Rory Bremner sketch where he was pretending to be Des Lynam:

"I was chatting up some birds on the gantry at last year's cup final when Motty suddenly came running up to say he had just gotten Ryan Giggs' autograph; put a bit of a damp towel on things ..."

19/06/2006, 2:04 AM
I remember a Channel 4 horseracing commentator making a huge gaff when commentating on a prize giving ceremony, it was a mother and daughter doing the presentation. He said something like "and there is Miss xxxxxxxx presenting the award. She is very pretty woman isn't she? And by her side is her mother who is not quite so............"
Then he makes a tortureous attempt to dig himself out of the hole he has dug for himself.
It then switches across to another commentator who say something like
"(comentators name) renegotiating his contract with Channel 4 racing"
It was hillarious!!

19/06/2006, 3:25 AM
SPORTS COMMENTARY SLIP-UPS!!!!! FUNNY STUFF!!!!! 87 days ago

>
>1. "Sure, there have been deaths in boxing, but none of them
>serious."
>(Alan Minter)
>
>2. "And this is Gregoriava from Bulgaria. I saw her snatch
>this
>morning and it was amazing ! "
>(Pat Glenn - weightlifting commentator)
>
>3. "Andrew Mehrtens loves it when Darryl Gibson comes inside
>of
>him."
>(New Zealand rugby commentator Murray Mexted)
>
>4. "This is really a lovely horse. I once rode her mother."
>(Ted Walsh - horse racing commentator)
>
>5. "I've never had major knee surgery on any other part of
>my body."
>(Winston Bennett)
>
>6. "The lead car is absolutely unique, except for the one
>behind it,
>which is identical."
>(Murray Walker - F1 racing commentator)
>
>7. "I owe a lot to my parents, especially my father and
>mother."
>(Greg Norman)
>
>8. "If history repeats itself, I should think we can expect
>the same thing again."
>(Terry Venables - Soccer Coach)
>
>9. "I would not say that David Ginola is the best left
>winger in the Premiership, but there are none better."
>(Ron Atkinson - soccer coach)
>
>10. "Ah, isn't that nice. The wife of the Cambridge
>president is kissing the cox of the Oxford crew."
>(Harry Carpenter at the Oxford-Cambridge boat race 1977)
>
>11. "Julian Dicks is everywhere. It's like they've got
>eleven Dicks on the field"
>(Metro Radio)
>
>12. "Strangely, in slow motion replay, the ball seems to
>hang in the air for even longer."
>(David Acfield)
>
>13. "What will you do when you leave football, Jack. Will
>you stay in football?"
>(Stuart Hall Radio 5 live)
>
>14. "And there goes Juantorena down the back straight,
>opening his legs and showing his class."
>(David Coleman at the Montreal Olympics)
>
>15. "One of the reasons Arnie (Arnold Palmer) is playing so
>well is that before each tee shot, his wife takes out his
>balls and kisses them....Oh My God! What have I just
>said?!!!"
>(US PGA Commentator)
>
>16. "For those of you who are watching in black and white,
>the blue is behind the brown."
>(Ted Lowe, Snooker commentator)
>
>17. True story... a female news anchor who, the day after it
>was supposed to have snowed and didn't, turned to the
>weatherman and
>asked...
>
>"So Bob, where's that 8 inches you promised me last night?"
>
>... Not only did he have to leave the set, but half the crew
>did too as they were laughing so hard!
>
>18."He's just smashed the world record, this is >unbelievable!!!what is he doing? he's still going. oh wait
> there's still another lap to go."