View Full Version : Devine

TheNorthsider
14/07/2005, 6:03 PM
major blow to us if his collar bone is broken,if it is will we have to bring someone in long term :confused:

14/07/2005, 7:08 PM
major blow to us if his collar bone is broken,if it is will we have to bring someone in long term :confused:

Whats the story with McNulty ??

14/07/2005, 7:17 PM
Can you recall yer man from loan?

14/07/2005, 7:18 PM
Can you recall yer man from loan?Who is on loan?

jorge
14/07/2005, 7:20 PM
Had Seamus Kelly not gone to Longford it would have been a good move.Maybe Williams?

14/07/2005, 7:20 PM
Who is on loan?
Is it O'Shea who's gone on loan to Cobh? Thought I saw mention of it on the Cork forum. Maybe he was sold.

14/07/2005, 7:21 PM
Is it O'Shea who's gone on loan to Cobh? Thought I saw mention of it on the Cork forum. Maybe he was sold.Not sure he was ever signed by us, Rico said he couldn't offer him a contract so he signed for Cobh instead.

iceman
14/07/2005, 8:17 PM
Ye could always make a bid for Dan Connor!

14/07/2005, 8:57 PM
We'd put some money down for his head, but it would want to be a good distance from the rest of his body :D

Russel Payne aint getting his game for Rovers no more.

Could we loan Mooney back? Its a shame we dont have Sweeney as a bargening tool anymore, talk about bad luck and bad timing! :o :(

14/07/2005, 10:29 PM
Russel Payne is back in Yankee land.

Stevie Williams has nothing better to do Friday night with Super Keeper Dean Delaney between the sticks at Tolka,give him a buzz :D

Rebal Boy
14/07/2005, 10:51 PM
Is it O'Shea who's gone on loan to Cobh? Thought I saw mention of it on the Cork forum. Maybe he was sold.

Alan O'Shea played for Avondale then he signed for Rams. Rico didn't offer him a contract in time and by then Rams had signed him. Thats what I heard anyway.

garykelly
15/07/2005, 7:02 AM
Could we loan Mooney back? Its a shame we dont have Sweeney as a bargening tool anymore, talk about bad luck and bad timing! :o :(

not limericks mooney ??? saw him against us and doesnt look up to much.

Sheephead
15/07/2005, 7:22 AM
limerick would be more than happy to let ye have mooney back..having a very poor season,at fault for numerous goals this season!!! good entertainer though...

TommyGaynor
15/07/2005, 9:49 AM
How about O'Dowd? It'd be like when we signed Jody Byrne, a previous target of abouse signing for us

15/07/2005, 10:01 AM
is alan gough still not getting a game?

15/07/2005, 10:16 AM
Not sure he was ever signed by us, Rico said he couldn't offer him a contract so he signed for Cobh instead.

Why was he taken off against Hibs?
Not good enough or injured?

15/07/2005, 10:21 AM
Why was he taken off against Hibs?
Not good enough or injured?

i thought it was a run out for biscuits, which, thankfully, must have been very helpful last night.

kevincronin2000
15/07/2005, 11:14 AM
is alan gough still not getting a game?

he is He played for galway in the two games against us

15/07/2005, 11:44 AM
i thought it was a run out for biscuits, which, thankfully, must have been very helpful last night.

why is Harrington called 'biscuits' by the way? What a story, a 41 year old Cork legend making his comeback and helping Cork City win away in Europe! :)

15/07/2005, 11:47 AM
why is Harrington called 'biscuits' by the way? What a story, a 41 year old Cork legend making his comeback and helping Cork City win away in Europe! :)

he's played in europe in 3 decades :D

when he signed for city someone told us that his nickname over accross the water was "biscuits", and they kept it up to slag him.

ive heard a story that he used to bring biscuits to training and put them next to the goal where most keepers would have a lucozade bottle, but it sounds fishy :D

Ruairi
15/07/2005, 11:47 AM
why is Harrington called 'biscuits' by the way?

think, but i'm not sure, but it's something to do with Phil Harrington/Harrington's Confectioners..

although i'd imagine i'm unbelievably wrong

15/07/2005, 12:27 PM
Pat Jennings (Jnr) isn't getting his game at Derry...has Premier Division experience with UCD.

shedite
15/07/2005, 1:01 PM
Anyone know of James O'Donovan? He played for the U-21's against Kerry on 25th June. Is he up to it? Is he even registered???

I reckon we HAVE to loan someone. Even a premiership reserve who might want some games. As a part-time Hammers fan, I know they have 4 keepers who would be suitable (Roy Carroll, Stephen Bywater, Russell Hoult and Jimmy Walker). Surely most other premiership teams have some suitable reserves who they would like to get some European experience. Obviously any teams in Europe won't though coz they'd be cup tied.

By the way, if someone played for us in UEFA cup, would they be cup tied for Champions League???

Ruairi
15/07/2005, 1:15 PM
By the way, if someone played for us in UEFA cup, would they be cup tied for Champions League???

not too sure about the qualifying stages

Ozymandias
15/07/2005, 3:28 PM

he's called biscuits because of his love for club milks at half time..thats where the name came from..

Comic Book Guy
15/07/2005, 6:16 PM
What about raiding Ramblers for Anthony Fennelly? I think he has been released and could do a job?

15/07/2005, 6:31 PM
Doesnt say much for him if he's not good enough for Ramblers! :eek:

iceman
15/07/2005, 11:00 PM
Gary Rogers is p1ssed off at not getting his place at Drogs in favour of Dan Connor

harry crumb
16/07/2005, 12:31 AM
Brenden O'Connell from UCC.

As good as any league of Ireland keeper.

16/07/2005, 10:53 AM

You must be joking. Don't think we'll be using a UCC keeper for Uefa Cup.

Seems Devine could be out forf 1 month. A keeper would need shoulder more than outfield player. McNulty is supposed to out for 2-3 more weeks.

Does anyone know if we allowed to register another keeper for Uefa Cup - i suppose we can get dispensation when no fit players?

We could probablt cope with Biscuits for couple of weeks if had to but we have a lot of games in short space of time & 2 weeks is not enough.

jorge
16/07/2005, 10:56 AM
Wayne Henderson of Aston Villa.What would his wages be like?

Too high maybe

harry crumb
16/07/2005, 12:02 PM
You must be joking. Don't think we'll be using a UCC keeper for Uefa Cup.

Seems Devine could be out forf 1 month. A keeper would need shoulder more than outfield player. McNulty is supposed to out for 2-3 more weeks.

Does anyone know if we allowed to register another keeper for Uefa Cup - i suppose we can get dispensation when no fit players?

We could probablt cope with Biscuits for couple of weeks if had to but we have a lot of games in short space of time & 2 weeks is not enough.

So you're dismissing him because of the team he plays for. :rolleyes:

He was on the Irish junior team that was in Poland last week. I think hes good enough.

16/07/2005, 2:16 PM
I wonder could we loan a Glentoran keeper if/when they get knocked out of the CL? I suppose he would have work committments though.

Citygirl
16/07/2005, 2:43 PM

Brendan played youths with City a couple of years ago.went from us to UCC.always impressed me when he was younger and has done well for himself since joining UCC

Coltron
16/07/2005, 3:13 PM
If someone is called biscuits its because they crumble under pressure. Or say some is called jigsaw - they fall to pieces in the box.

Note: I didn't invent these, I am only explained a common version of the said nicknames so I'm not trolling... :)

Put them in a box with Fragile on them so we'll know, ok lads.

16/07/2005, 4:23 PM
Im actually not that sure how important it is to get another keeper, except for the bench.
Theres not a lot of teams that have actually had many shots on target against us this year! Can anyone think of a few good saves that Devine has had to make? Prob only 4 or 5 all season!
I remember when Mooney got injured about 6 years ago and biscuits came into the team in his mid 30's after being on the bench/coach for ages and he did fine. Biscuits for ledgend! :D

16/07/2005, 7:58 PM
Who's been playing in nets for your U-21s lately? And don't tell me it's Harrington! :D

16/07/2005, 8:01 PM
Who's been playing in nets for your U-21s lately? And don't tell me it's Harrington! :D

Mark McNulty is injured and we just released the other keeper.

i blame this on my girlfriend. she said as soon as biscuits was signed up "watch now devine will get injured". devil woman.

16/07/2005, 10:07 PM
I see Tony O'Dowd is still at Drogs but is only 3rd choice behind O'Connor & Rogers.

Would Drogs want to release him to a rival club?

17/07/2005, 12:26 PM
Think there's a young fella from Douglas keeping for Birmingham or someone.

adamd164
17/07/2005, 2:38 PM
If someone is called biscuits its because they crumble under pressure. Or say some is called jigsaw - they fall to pieces in the box.

not true. harrington is called biscuits due to his love of them at ht.

Copa Mundial
17/07/2005, 3:03 PM
Graham Doyle.Was on loan at forest last season,3rd or 4th choice at birmingham afaik.From Douglas

17/07/2005, 4:24 PM
Cheers.
Another clean sheet for Biscuits.

daveh
17/07/2005, 4:35 PM
Colin Doyle i think copa

17/07/2005, 7:43 PM
I read in the Star today in an interview with Caufield who is now managing Avondale that Biscuits has played a few games for them this year when he's asked him to help him out. So he's not entirely out of practise.

17/07/2005, 7:48 PM
I see Tony O'Dowd is still at Drogs but is only 3rd choice behind O'Connor & Rogers.

Would Drogs want to release him to a rival club?

he could sign on loan till the end of the season , where's the harm in that?

17/07/2005, 8:39 PM
After we killed Drogs slim title hopes today i don't think City & Drogs are rivals anymore so he would be good option. Hes also most popular rival keeper after Digger.

Copa Mundial
18/07/2005, 9:55 AM
Colin Doyle i think copa

Yip,its Colin...my mistake! :eek: