View Full Version : Official Ekranas v Cork City FC - UEFA Cup Thread

14/07/2005, 2:37 PM
Latest texts from the travelling Rebel Army suggest that the starting XI will be;
Devine
Hoggie - Beno - Murray - Murphy
Greg - Georgie - Gamble - Kearney
O'Donovan - O'Flynn

No surprises there.

adamd164
14/07/2005, 2:49 PM
thats not it.

it's
............mick....................
hoggie benno murray murphy
............greg...................
o'donovan gamble kearney
............georgie..............
...........flynny................

14/07/2005, 2:50 PM
rico talking about getting a draw out of it, but i suspect its his usual "no pressure" appraoch :)

REBEL ARMY... REBEL ARMY... REBEL ARMY... REBEL ARMY... REBEL ARMY... REBEL ARMY... REBEL ARMY... REBEL ARMY...

14/07/2005, 2:51 PM
Well done lads...the exact same 11 players, yet ye disagree....how lovely!! :D

14/07/2005, 2:53 PM
Hmm... defencive but flexable.

Could go 4131 or swap to 442 (with Roy up front and Greg or George on the right). Plenty of attacking options with Kearney Roy George and JOF, but Gamble and Greg should keep things tight. Wouldnt have thought of that line up myself but it looks good now that Ive seen it.

adamd164
14/07/2005, 2:56 PM
Well done lads...the exact same 11 players, yet ye disagree....how lovely!! :D
I'm telling him what 96fm's reporter who is at the game said. It's the formations that vary.

shedite
14/07/2005, 2:57 PM
Are there people on the board getting texts from the game? What;s the best place on the net for updates? Aertel or livescore?

Jack_2001
14/07/2005, 3:00 PM
Maybe we can keep updates here and anyone at work can subscribe to the thread to get an email alert when city score? :-)

shedite
14/07/2005, 3:03 PM
Yeah keep the updates coming please. Perfect way to pass a few hours at work. It's 11am here so I can watch updates for City for a few hours, go for lunch, come back and keep an eye on Longford, and then go home. Sweeeeet :D

adamd164
14/07/2005, 3:05 PM
I'm listening to 96fm and they'll go live as soon as there's a goal I'll let ye know :)

phillyla*ger
14/07/2005, 3:08 PM
I was thinkin the same.......watch for updates till lunch and then onto Longford for the avo. C'mon CITY!!!!

shedite
14/07/2005, 3:12 PM
Looks like Lokomotiv Tbilisi are pretty safe anyway. 3-0 up away from home in the first leg after 52mns. Any idea where Banants Yerevan are from???

Dotsy
14/07/2005, 3:13 PM
Looks like Lokomotiv Tbilisi are pretty safe anyway. 3-0 up away from home in the first leg after 52mns. Any idea where Banants Yerevan are from???

Armenia

stickyjoe
14/07/2005, 3:15 PM
due to my vast knowledge of european football there from armenia(thanks google ;) )

Ruairi
14/07/2005, 3:19 PM
just read on ccfc.ie that biscuits in on, devine off injured

adamd164
14/07/2005, 3:23 PM
...and theyve hit the post

Jack_2001
14/07/2005, 3:23 PM
96 said ekranas were in in the 9th minute and shot past devine, hit post and we scrambled it away.

Then mick came for a cross hit his own player and another player, and had to go off injured after a long stoppage. Biscuits is on now.

Ruairi
14/07/2005, 3:27 PM
GOOOOOOOAAAALLLLL LACCCIIIIOOOOO!!!

Roy the boy!!! :)

shedite
14/07/2005, 3:27 PM
Legend ;)

wiseman
14/07/2005, 3:28 PM
City one up. O'Donovan. Come on!!!!!

Hecko
YESSSSSSS!!!! Doubtya Roy boy

adamd164
1-0 City - Roy O'donovan!

Brilliant lads

Real ale Madrid
14/07/2005, 3:30 PM
yyyyeeeeeeeeeesssssssssssssssssss!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!

Ozymandias
14/07/2005, 3:30 PM
top class....dowtcha roy boyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

TheOwl
14/07/2005, 3:31 PM
Keep it going lads.

Great news!

BOF
14/07/2005, 3:37 PM
Why was'nt Nults on the bench??

fosterdollar
14/07/2005, 3:37 PM
Biscuits is on now.
1-0, you're not crumbling anyway....

shedite
14/07/2005, 3:39 PM
1-0, you're not crumbling anyway....

Here's your coat sir. Goodnight....

Ozymandias
14/07/2005, 3:39 PM
Why was'nt Nults on the bench??

injured

14/07/2005, 3:43 PM
Excellent news lads! Nearly half time, make it to the break and regroup! Fvcking delighted, G'wan the City! :D

14/07/2005, 3:52 PM
Half time, and CCFC one to the good! Come on lads! :D

14/07/2005, 3:53 PM
Oh joy .... oh sweet sweet joy !! :p

The job !!

Wiseguy
14/07/2005, 3:53 PM
So far so good,c'mon city.

14/07/2005, 3:57 PM
Hows the game actually going? I know it's 1-0.

Ozymandias
14/07/2005, 4:16 PM

finished 3-2....lol :)

14/07/2005, 4:21 PM
Yerevan is the capital of Armenia.

Albert
14/07/2005, 4:25 PM
Keep it up Cork, how is it going since? any scares? What a week this could be for the league if we can do the business in Flancare tonight too, Ill be saying a rosary on the way down, just finishing up one for Cork!

ger121
14/07/2005, 4:26 PM
Forgot about the game, great stuff lads, could be a good 24 hours for Irish clubs. Hope it finishes that score or 2-0 :D

Drumcondra Red
14/07/2005, 4:27 PM
http://www.xscores.com/LiveScore.do

Still one up at 68' Come on Cork, this could be a great week for the EL if Longford can do the job and Cork hang on!!!

Gareth
14/07/2005, 4:33 PM
FAIR PLAY CORK!!! I just got home and checked and I am delighted. I actually cheered out loud. :) Come one Cork!!!!

14/07/2005, 4:47 PM
McCauliffe on RTÉ said Devine had been taken to hospital with a suspected broken collarbone. Cork worth a second goal, but Ekranas almost equalised with a chipped shot which cleared Harrington but drifted wide. 5 mins left.

liamon
14/07/2005, 4:50 PM
george 2-0

Yesssss

Thanks tiktok.

14/07/2005, 4:50 PM
Excellent!!!!!!!!!!! :D

liamon
14/07/2005, 4:52 PM
And it's over.
2-0 FT.

Can't wait for the return leg.
We should certainly go through now with 2 away goals.

Real ale Madrid
14/07/2005, 4:53 PM
Yes doucha Georgie boy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hecko
Incredible!!!! - One of the best ever eL results away from home, no doubt about it!!!

Ozymandias
its over..2:0 city..magic.....

great result

Great work Cork. You've done Ireland and yourselves proud. Not only do I hope you go through but also win the home tie to pick up maximum coefficient points.

TheNorthsider
14/07/2005, 4:54 PM
go on georgie :o