View Full Version : Official Ekranas v Cork City FC - UEFA Cup Thread

Pages : 1 [2]

14/07/2005, 4:54 PM
Great stuff City,Now all you have to do is finish the job at home.

crc
14/07/2005, 4:56 PM
2-0 is fcuking brilliant! :D Two away goals!

YYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!

BOF
14/07/2005, 4:57 PM
Georgie u legend!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Another triumph

yan
14/07/2005, 4:59 PM
u ****ing beauty!!!!

Drumcondra Red
14/07/2005, 5:00 PM
Well done lads, now Longford its your turn, don't let us down now...

14/07/2005, 5:02 PM
Well done boys

well chuffed for yous

Rebal Boy
14/07/2005, 5:14 PM
What a result. I just can't wait for the return leg. :) this should lead us into round 2. LETS PARTY! :D

Darco Ooragnak
14/07/2005, 5:22 PM
Fair play to you lads.......now don`t f/*k up.....

14/07/2005, 5:35 PM
Great work Cork, keep it going for the second leg ;)

14/07/2005, 5:40 PM
Am I right in saying that they subbed their keeper too? Thats the way is seems from the line ups.

Darco Ooragnak
14/07/2005, 5:56 PM
Am I right in saying that they subbed their keeper too? Thats the way is seems from the line ups.

.....aye did his Collar Bone in after fourteen minutes...was replaced by Grandad out of Only Fools and Horses......or so i`m told........

From RTE..

Advantage Cork with win in Lithuania
Thursday, 14 July 2005 6:33

Cork City's Roy O'Donovan opened the scoring in Lithuania today

Cork City's hopes of progressing to the UEFA Cup proper moved a step closer as they scored a deserved 2-0 preliminary round victory over FK Ekranas Panavezys in Lithuania this afternoon.

The early signs did not look good when 41-year-old goalkeeping coach Phil Harrington had to replace the injured Michael Devine between the posts after 13 minutes.

However, the visitors took the game to their opponents and their positive approach paid dividends with two precious away goals from Roy O'Donovan and George O'Callaghan in either half.

City manager Damien Richardson always stressed that this would be a stern test of City's credentials and their cause was further weakened with striker Neale Fenn ruled out because his partner is expecting a baby.

However, the visitors stuck to their task and, despite losing Devine to a suspected broken collar bone, were always in control and it was no surprise when they took the lead after 25 minutes.

O'Callaghan and Liam Kearney combined superbly to set up O'Donovan, who struck a powerful shot from the right hand side of the penalty area to the roof of the Ekranis net.

That gave City a deserved 1-0 half-time lead, and despite the hosts' best efforts they failed to find an equaliser after the break. And there was further cause for celebration amongst the vocal 150 or so travelling fans when O'Callaghan struck for a second a minute from time.

Kearney was again involved, his ball finding the lively O'Callaghan 15 yards out and the 25-year-old made no mistake with his rifled effort rebounding off the underside of the crossbar and into the net.

The two away goals mean City have to avoid anything more than a 1-0 defeat at Turner's Cross in two weeks' time if they are to advance to the first round proper of the UEFA Cup.

jorge
14/07/2005, 7:23 PM
.....The two away goals mean City have to avoid anything more than a 1-0 defeat at Turner's Cross in two weeks' time if they are to advance to the first round proper of the UEFA Cup.

Is there not two rounds?

I forgot it was RTE. :D

14/07/2005, 7:33 PM
Is there not two rounds?
As far as I know, there are.

Thought Harrington was older than 41?! He goes back years and years and years and years!

ramblers
14/07/2005, 7:43 PM
Well done City.

I am delighted for all the lads espically biscuits what a keeper.

Hope Mick recovers quickly that is a big blow.

14/07/2005, 7:44 PM
Excellent result tonight lads!! I got texted the result on my way home and it resulted in a little jig on the top deck of a 46A stuck in traffic! ;) Delighted so I am!

With Longford 1-0 up atm, we could be onto a clean sweep, g'wan de town! :D

14/07/2005, 9:05 PM
.....aye did his Collar Bone in after fourteen minutes...was replaced by Grandad out of Only Fools and Horses......or so i`m told........

I was talking about the other team, the first name on the team sheet was taken off at some stage.

And biscuits is only 41, and has a full head of hair :D

Mayo Red
14/07/2005, 9:49 PM
Fair play lads, excellent result! Hopefully that should see ye through to the next round! :) Are there any plans to show the 2nd leg on RTE or Tv3?

15/07/2005, 8:19 AM
DELIGHTED! :D

Thanks for the updates, Pete.
I hope this positive buzz around the league continues.
Safe trip home lads.

fosterdollar
15/07/2005, 8:30 AM
Is there not two rounds?

I forgot it was RTE. :D
What they said wasn't incorrect though.

15/07/2005, 8:54 AM
Well done lads. Fair play. :)

Ruairi
15/07/2005, 9:14 AM
And biscuits is only 41, and has a full head of hair :D

and a serious lack of a beard

Ronnie
15/07/2005, 9:47 AM
Well done City, super result. What was George's goal like?

15/07/2005, 10:06 AM
have i ever told ye the story of how its my doing that roy signed for city?! :D :D

kingcolers
15/07/2005, 10:16 AM
city featuring on the uefa website. second goal scored by john o'callaghan according to demselves...

http://www.uefa.com/competitions/UEFACup/news/Kind=1/newsId=317037.html

15/07/2005, 10:19 AM
well, i know flynny and george are close but come on :D

ce sera cera, what ever will be will be, we're going to PSV, ce sera sera :D

(the final is at Philips Stadion, Eindhoven, home of Philips Sport Voetbal)

cheekyais
15/07/2005, 8:49 PM
Well done City, super result. What was George's goal like?

It was class. Kearney crossed it to George who stuck in the top of the net after the kepper got a hand to it but it was too powerful for him. Some game!!!! The atmosphere and support was unreal and the plane ride home with the team was electric. We even got to see the highlights of the game on the Lithunain news while waiting in the airport to board the flight. :) :D

15/07/2005, 11:09 PM
well done lads on the excellent result!

ccfcgirl
16/07/2005, 2:20 AM
City played brilliant ,in very hot weather .Im going home from riga in a few hours .Well worth the trip. :D

16/07/2005, 11:01 AM
I'll accept any donations via paypal for my mobile text bill ;)

Make no mistake this was not a lucky result, there was no backs to the wall defending either. Ekranas i think had 1 shot on target in 90 minutes.

In first half some poor defending decision by Bennet gave Ekranas first effort that hit post & got Devine injured in follow up. I think Bicuits had 2nd shot covered that hit post. City had numerous chances in the 2nd half & ref gave free kicks way too easily for tackles yet only 1 yellow card for Georges when reacted poor refereeing.

Ekranas were ok going forward but their back 3 often exposted for pace so I fully expect city to finish off tie in 2nd leg.

Citygirl
16/07/2005, 2:37 PM
Well I've just arrived home there now...what a trip and what a game!I'm so proud to be a member of the rebel army..The team were great and the support was fantastic..Thanks to the lads for a memorable trip and lets hope the European Dream will continue for another while yet!

ccfcgirl
16/07/2005, 11:12 PM
I just got home now .....long story brilliant time .City were on fire. :)

26/07/2005, 9:53 AM
I made the mistake of telling my mum that John Spillane and his band will be playing before the game on Thursday. She made me watch wee Daniels TV show on Sunday then because he was on it. :mad:

Is it true that they're putting a stage in the Shed?
Hope he's a bit more lively than he was on Sunday.

26/07/2005, 12:09 PM
Is it true that they're putting a stage in the Shed?

That's what I've heard, though I think it'd be better to fill it with flags and banners

Kento
27/07/2005, 5:52 PM
Any predictions for tomorrows match? :) :)

shedite
27/07/2005, 5:54 PM
not telling ya

Rebal Boy
27/07/2005, 9:44 PM
2-0 City. ;) George and Johno.

28/07/2005, 12:51 AM
2-0 also.

City will have too much pace in the 2nd half.

28/07/2005, 7:45 AM
Well boys, what's the mood like on Leeside?
Has there been much demand for tickets?
What's the weather like?

28/07/2005, 8:50 AM
What's the weather like?

Don't know what it's like in Cork, but if it's anything like Dublin at the mo' the game migth even be called off :eek: , It's hammering down outside the window at work.

Still though, into the car at 12.00, collecting people on the way, in Cork by 5ish. UEFA Cup/Summer football.....it's fantastic :D

28/07/2005, 9:05 AM
Best of luck tonight lads, do us proud! :D Fingers crossed you get someone like Dundee in the next round, cause if you do, I'll be there cheering you on! :D Again, best of luck.

And Troy McLure, many thanks for dragging your bass drum to Tolka. Good job, sir, good job! :D

fosterdollar
28/07/2005, 9:12 AM
What was the eL supporters non-shels turnout like last night? I saw a lot of Bohs fans there. Spotted only one LTFC jersey on a guy in the opposite stand. Don’t think I saw jerseys of any other clubs there. Of course, they may not necessarily have been wearing their own club’s colours.

28/07/2005, 9:33 AM
Still though, into the car at 12.00, collecting people on the way, in Cork by 5ish. UEFA Cup/Summer football.....it's fantastic :D

Some savage rain in dublin alright, Might have to put skis on the tyres :eek:

Weather forecast says just raining in the ewast of the country. Rain like this would cost City a lot of money in ticket sales.

28/07/2005, 9:42 AM
According to Met Eireann (http://www.meteireann.ie/) things don't look good. :(

28/07/2005, 9:48 AM
I take those little grey clouds over the big blacks ones over dublin now.

If same weather in Cork i could see people who bought tickets skipping the match.

28/07/2005, 10:10 AM
Forecast is for heavy rain.

It's quite cold here too today, quite dark and overcast so far....:(

I just hope that most tickets have already been sold before today...

JackeenRebel
28/07/2005, 12:05 PM
Just checked the Met Eireann web page - the forcast is a heavy pour ...... on the Ekranas goal 4-1 City on the night!